Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo won't win Sam next year according to Brady

• 07-11-2007 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Read the article on Hoganstand.com alright.David Brady telling us something we don't already know.:rolleyes:

In all seriousness,how could Mayo ever expect to win an All Ireland with this defeatist attitude?My uncles,aunts and grandparents would be beside themselves reading Bradys comments.On the flipside of the coin,I'm thinking that this could very well be a ruse to achieve underdog status for Mayo as they play better when written off.

Every county has to have the belief that they can win.While not necessarily an All Ireland,the weaker teams goals should be provincial honours.Mayo should be in a position where Connaught is not their main goal but the All Ireland.Dublin fans won't be content until Dublin lift Sam.While a provincial title is indicative of a successful season,a team should aim higher when they've established themselves as serious contenders.

Despite Mayos dour season,they are top contenders.I think they'll be back with a vengeance in 08 but it is not encouraging to read Brady say Mayo should not even dream of winning Sam.I think they'll be in the semi finals.Mayo did not play with flair or imagination.They wore themselves out in the League.Had they concentrated on surviving Division 1,they would have had more reserves come the championship.

I hate to see this defeatist attitude.I'm thinking if Brady thinks this,he should have not gone public but in saying this,if I were Galway,Sligo etc I wouldn't read too much into it at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

What you say to the media and what is said behind closed doors are two different things. If he was to go out and say that they will definitely win Sam Maguire then people would be giving out about arrogance, and it would give an extra incentive to any team that Mayo play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Ah yes but is it not the reverse?Mayo downplaying their own ability in the hope they will be taken too lightly and play better when tagged underdogs?

I find it strange that he'd come out and say this.I wonder if there is any anger by Mayo fans that he went public with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭JMULL

David Brady is well able to talk the talk and fair enough cause he is well able to walk the walk as well. He is dead right. We have to start teambuilding. Something i think mayo should have done last year but the election seemed to get in the way. If we start introducing new players we cant expect them to win an all ireland over night. But i know well the way people work if we bring in new players next year and lose at what ever stage (1st round or last round) people will be giving out. What Brady is looking for is patience.

On David Brady I think it is a disgrace the way he has been treated by Mayo. This year he was injured and Ballina threw him in full forward for the county semi final and final. This yielded 5 goals as well as the leadership it gave the other players. Last year in the limited time he was given by mayo he put Donaghy in his box and whelan on his arse.

To think we could start a final in 04 and 06 without him really gives me chest pains even at this stage. He was the best full back, midfield and full forward option for both those years but was not introduced until we were ten points down.

To be honest i hope he does not return for mayo so that maybe he can prolong his career with his club who appreciate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Not surprised Brady would say this. He's very outspoken and also doesn't necessarily think things through before he opens his mouth. Maybe he's right, maybe he's wrong but I personally think he shouldn't have said this.

He has been through a lot (I think he once said he has 12 All-Ireland runner up medals between all grades) and at times wasn't treated well by Mayo managers (particularly Maughan). I don't know his plans for next year but I'd be surprised to see him back. He right that the team has to change focus from the older players but I think a lot of that did happen slowly last year. Look at the team which lined out in the final in 06. This year I would expect Heaney, Brady, Nallen, McDonald, BJP and Kevin O Neill not to be in the team with some not in the squad at all.

The question then stands do we have replacements. In this regard Hanley's a massive loss. We have to see otherwise but I think we'll do alright upfront but Dillon has to step up and take leadership of the attack. He should be centre-forward this year. Midfield with McGarrity back should perform better. It's defence I'm worried about. No centre-back and no full-back. If Johnno finds someone for there we'll have a crack at it. But tbh I don't see anyone landing in there that doesn't need a year settling in period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭niallo32

JMULL wrote: »

Last year in the limited time he was given by mayo he put Donaghy in his box and whelan on his arse.

Indeed. His ability to hit Whelan from behind and knock him to the ground is truly unparalled.

Indeed. His ability to hit Whelan from behind and knock him to the ground is truly unparalled

Must say i never seen Ciaran Whelans arse, but i seen pictures of the incident of brady knocking him. Brady was not behind him, he was directly in front of him. Maybe some one with time to spare can post the picture for you - just as proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

What he said was right, but he wasnt right to say it! Not in the media anyway! Mayo wont win and we all know that, time to start from scratch and build a team to compete with kerry!

Indeed. His ability to hit Whelan from behind and knock him to the ground is truly unparalled

Must say i never seen Ciaran Whelans arse, but i seen pictures of the incident of brady knocking him. Brady was not behind him, he was directly in front of him. Maybe some one with time to spare can post the picture for you - just as proof.

I've seen the same picture and regardless of whether is was from the front or behind, it was a cheap shot. He'd bounce off Whelan if he tried to hit him fair and square.

Remind me who left McGarrity concust that day, dont think it was brady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

:rolleyes: well said!

That was an awful tackle. I can't recall any Dublin fans going around bragging about Whelans contributions on the day, including putting McGarrity on his arse.

BTW - is the same David Brady who in the run up to the AI final was telling any journalist who'd listen how he and the senior players had taken such greater responsibility in the tactics, in the win over Dublin, yet the same players washed their hands of responsibility after the debacle in the final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

niallo32 wrote: »
    I've seen the same picture and regardless of whether is was from the front or behind, it was a cheap shot. He'd bounce off Whelan if he tried to hit him fair and square.

Whelan had it coming in all fairness, the guy has been getting away with murder over the last few years, very dirty player. If you dish it out you gotta be prepared to take a hit aswell.

Brady would be just trying to play down expectations among the ever-optimistic Mayo fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭EoimarMuppet

Christ on a bike, not the Whelan McGarrity ****e again........
    AIDAN!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Kerry On Tour

Christ on a bike, not the Whelan McGarrity ****e again........
    AIDAN!!!:mad:

HAHAHA Liam, there's no escaping it! Thought you had left it back at HS with Ballboy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Lads,

This isn't the "Whelan vs Brady" thread.

Keep it on topic please.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Whelan had it coming in all fairness, the guy has been getting away with murder over the last few years, very dirty player. If you dish it out you gotta be prepared to take a hit aswell.

Brady would be just trying to play down expectations among the ever-optimistic Mayo fans.

I'm not going to get into a Whelan debate, but my point was that hitting someone a cheapshot is hardly something to brag about.

If it were a 50/50 ball, David 'haymaker' Brady would have been the one to end up on his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

smashey wrote: »
    Lads,

This isn't the "Whelan vs Brady" thread.

Keep it on topic please.
    niallo32 wrote: »
    I'm not going to get into a Whelan debate, but my point was that hitting someone a cheapshot is hardly something to brag about.

If it were a 50/50 ball, David 'haymaker' Brady would have been the one to end up on his arse.
    Niallo, enough already.

Maybe Brady said that because Mayo actually will not win Sam next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

It's true. As long as Kerry don't win it again I'll be a happy man! :p

An Citeog wrote: »
    It's true. As long as Kerry don't win it again I'll be a happy man! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Awwwh, don't be like that. We just can't have you lot dominating the AI. Stop being so greedy and share it around a bit! ;)

And I fúckin hate that roll eyes smiley!

Thats probably true but IMO there's no need to come out and say it. We have a lot of young players coming through and this sort of negative talk from a very good senior player isn't helpful. Next year I expect Mayo to have 7 starters who were on the U21 final team of 05 or the U21 winning team of 06. Along with about 4-6 more under 26. A lot of the oldies need to go or be used solely as impact subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 holymolyHS

I wouldn't read too much into statements like that from players at this time of year. Sure, Brady himself was supposed to be packing it in after 04!!

holymolyHS wrote: »
    I wouldn't read too much into statements like that from players at this time of year. Sure, Brady himself was supposed to be packing it in after 04!!

Yeah but that was only due to massive fall-out with Maughan. He told him off in the dressing room for almost losing the semi. Blamed it all on him despite at 14 other players being sh1te as well. Dropped him in the final for a mucker. Look what happened we won no ball midfield ended up gettin mauled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

the big problem with mayo is the mindset of their players, players that spend time checkin if their socks are pulled up to their knees and that their hair is bleached enough need to be reminded that their not invinsible!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

players that spend time checkin if their socks are pulled up to their knees and that their hair is bleached enough need to be reminded that their not invinsible

As a neutral who enjoys class football from any county I hope you're not referring to Ciaran McDonald, the ONLY Mayo footballer of recent years who hasn't consistently let them down on the big day.

There's a hell of a lot of substance behind his style !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

megadodge wrote: »
    As a neutral who enjoys class football from any county I hope you're not referring to Ciaran McDonald, the ONLY Mayo footballer of recent years who hasn't consistently let them down on the big day.

Have to agree wholeheartedly aswell. The amount of criticism he gets for being a flamboyant player who has more interest in his looks is ridiculous considering the man is built like an ox and does it week in, week out at club level aswell.

Then if you're talking about Conor Mortimer, you're talking about a player who has got roughly 70% of all our scores in the championship over the last number of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

megadodge wrote: »

If they(mcdonald & mortimer) haven't let them down at all why then has mayo not won any of their six(i think thats how many:confused:) finals since 1996?
    If i was from Mayo i wouldn't bother supporting them anymore!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Megadodge wrote:

The biggest problem with McDonald is his inability to stay in his position. I remember watching him over the course of the two matches against Laois and the semi-final and final in 2006. At one stage in one of the Laois matches he was standing on his own goal line clearing a ball. That's all well and good, but when the ball was coming down to where he should have been, there was nobody there to get it, except an opposing defender, with all the time in the world to get it away. He is capable of scoring some great points, but that is a bit difficult to do when you are a forward playing in your own defence.

I saw a number of balls heading up towards the Mayo forward lines, only to be easily cleared away because Mayo were a man short in that part of the field and the man in question was in a place where he was not needed. His touring of Croke Park cost them several points in those matches. If he had played in his designated position, Mayo would not have needed a replay to get past Laois; they may not have needed him to get a last minute point to beat Dublin and they could have had a few more scores against Kerry in the final.

He's a great forward, but he spends much of a game not playing where he should be and serving no useful purpose where he is. He may get a moment of magic here and there, but for much of the game he is doing nothing because he is out of position. It is one aspect of his play that often does end up letting Mayo down on the big day.

If they(mcdonald & mortimer) haven't let them down at all why then has mayo not won any of their six(i think thats how many:confused:) finals since 1996?
    If i was from Mayo i wouldn't bother supporting them anymore!:o

Fickle Galway man.

Because in 1996 we lost by a bounce a few minutes over the time that should have been played. Then McHale was sent off in the replay for nothing.
    1997, I would've liked to have seen anyone deal with Maurice Fitz in the form he was in.
    2004 we just had too many weaknesses but nothing to do with McDonaldo or Mort IMO, few defenders that shouldn't have been there. Plus Brady sat on the bench whilst Fergal Kelly and Brian Maloney started.
    2006 the same as 2004 but Kerry have gone on to prove just how good they are.

Simply, we weren't good enough in any of the last 3 but you can't blame one or two men for that or expect them to win you a game.

Flukey wrote: »
    The biggest problem with McDonald is his inability to stay in his position. I remember watching him over the course of the two matches against Laois and the semi-final and final in 2006. At one stage in one of the Laois matches he was standing on his own goal line clearing a ball. That's all well and good, but when the ball was coming down to where he should have been, there was nobody there to get it, except an opposing defender, with all the time in the world to get it away. He is capable of scoring some great points, but that is a bit difficult to do when you are a forward playing in your own defence.

I saw a number of balls heading up towards the Mayo forward lines, only to be easily cleared away because Mayo were a man short in that part of the field and the man in question was in a place where he was not needed. His touring of Croke Park cost them several points in those matches. If he had played in his designated position, Mayo would not have needed a replay to get past Laois; they may not have needed him to get a last minute point to beat Dublin and they could have had a few more scores against Kerry in the final.

He's a great forward, but he spends much of a game not playing where he should be and serving no useful purpose where he is. He may get a moment of magic here and there, but for much of the game he is doing nothing because he is out of position. It is one aspect of his play that often does end up letting Mayo down on the big day.

Best post that sums up MacDonald and his style and form of play.I was at the Mayo-Laois replay and I remember quite vividly he came back to the 20 metre line in the defence,missed a ball and then threw his hands up in the air whilst the Laois attack proceeded to kick over a point.His approach to getting back in position in the forward line was too casual for my liking and the exact same thing happened in the Mayo forward line.Again he missed a pass and threw his hands up in the air as if it wasn't his fault.

Then again,when he plays his position correctly,he's very dangerous.I didn't see the first Laois-Mayo match in 2006 but I can imagine Mayo sacrificing a win due to MacDonald not being in position to score some valuable points.In the 06 final,Mayo were everywhere and the team had no structure to it.I remember Mortimer soloing the ball on the spot in the half back position.He had nobody to pass the ball to or didn't make an attempt to pass the ball,was dispossesed and if I remember correctly,it ended up as another Kerry point.

If the management had good inter-personal skills and organisation,Mayo could have won an All-Ireland in recent years but the example of Brady not even being picked sums up the disarray Mayo are in.

First off blaming McDonald and Mortimer for not winning the last 6 AI Finals is obviously bollocks. Neither of them played in 89 or 96 and Mortimer didn't play in 97 either. So thats 4 of them straight away.

In 04 it was widely acknowledged that McDonald was one of the few players to play well that day. In 06 I agree for the whole season he really wasn't at his peak. He had injuries early on in the season and was just about hitting form in the Dublin game but hurt his back between then and the final.

I'll agree Mortimer didn't play well in either final but then people forget he's a corner forward. Our main problem in both 04 and 06 finals was that we were not winning any ball in midfield/half back area. Not much Mortimer can do about that. People also forget other times Mortimer stepped up on big occasions. The 2 semis in 04 he kept us in it, in the semi in 06 he was on fire, kicked a difficult last minute free to win Connacht in 06 as well.

Personally I blame no player individually for any of our defeats. We should have it in 96 but didn't. Every other year we were plainly second best on the day. AI finals are won before teams take the field 7 times outta ten. Brady has said recently that he feels a mistake was made before the final in 06 in that they ignored the Kerry team and the lessons they should have learned from 04 too readily. Thats why 06 went tits up so badly. Brady should have played full back with Heaney half back. Of course that would have meant dropping James Nallen. It would have taken a very brave manager to drop a Mayo legend for the AI final but in retrospect maybe it would have been best.

As for stopping supporting them? Not while I'm alive

I don't think blame can be accrued to any individual player.Teams win All Irelands by playing as a team except in the case of Kerry where individual performaces seem to be enough but if you look at Tyrone,they won Sam in 05playing ten matches as a team.

Mayo didn't play as a team in 04 and 06 finals and the management must take the blame as well as the team.Also,there was a post from a Galway man that is purely biased and non representative.It would be easy for me to say I wouldn't support Meath if I was a Meath fan because I'm from Dublin.

I remember those two players played out of their skin to overcome Fermanagh in 04.They were criticised to hell after the first match and came back to play the best match they played all season.Nobody could touch MacDonald in that second game.He'd collect the ball in midfield (out of position) and run down the wing while shrugging off a defender with ease with one arm.

96 wasn't Mayos fault.They were clearly the better team that day.It took Meath to start a melee to break Mayos momentum and a lucky bounce over the bar to steal a replay.Mayo just don't seem to get any breaks when they play a final.96 should have been their year anyway regardless of 97,04 and 06.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

i can safely say that mayo will never win sam in the forseeable future, because of one simple fact which also affects dublin.
    they win or two matches, goes straight to there heads and then blow up under pressure in the important games

Dublin not win Sam in the forseeable future???Whatever your opinion on Mayo is,you can never rule out Dublin.The two teams that really challenged Kerry for Sam in 07 were Dublin and Monaghan.With Paul Brogan,Fennell coming in as well as Shaugho getting more opportunity in defense,I think the team is set to get even stronger.Then Vaughan is getting more experience too.He was really nervous in the Kerry match as he had never started in a big match like that before.Thats why he missed 1-01 in the first half.Next year he will be more confident.

I can see Mayo coming back to reclaim Connaught.They don't look good now but they are playing in a league that is unimportant to Connaught football and they are only playing with a panel of 20.If the team doesn't kill itself now,they'll have a chance.Last years problem for Mayo was that they peaked way too early were burned out trying to win the league.Whereas Galway weren't.

I'd be more concerned for Galway.Your forwards are a shadow of what they used to be and in 05 and indeed 06,Galway would have beaten Sligo and Meath.They lost to Westmeath in 06 and were dumped out by Meath last year.The worst performances I've seen from a Galway team in recent years.They lost to Cork in 05 after owning Cork for long periods of the match.

Dublin will more than likely challenge this year.I can certainly see them getting an All Ireland in the next 3-4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

If they(mcdonald & mortimer) haven't let them down at all why then has mayo not won any of their six(i think thats how many) finals since 1996?
    If i was from Mayo i wouldn't bother supporting them anymore!

i think that attitude is what makes mayo support different..they still are one of the best supported teams in the country despite all the dissapiontments they've had.

blackbelt wrote: »
    Dublin not win Sam in the forseeable future???Whatever your opinion on Mayo is,you can never rule out Dublin.The two teams that really challenged Kerry for Sam in 07 were Dublin and Monaghan.With Paul Brogan,Fennell coming in as well as Shaugho getting more opportunity in defense,I think the team is set to get even stronger.Then Vaughan is getting more experience too.He was really nervous in the Kerry match as he had never started in a big match like that before.Thats why he missed 1-01 in the first half.Next year he will be more confident.

I can see Mayo coming back to reclaim Connaught.They don't look good now but they are playing in a league that is unimportant to Connaught football and they are only playing with a panel of 20.If the team doesn't kill itself now,they'll have a chance.Last years problem for Mayo was that they peaked way too early were burned out trying to win the league.Whereas Galway weren't.

Dublin will more than likely challenge this year.I can certainly see them getting an All Ireland in the next 3-4 years.

I think what happened Mayo last year was that after a long league campaign which ended in disappointment, the morale suffered a huge blow. You could even see it in the fans - it was almost as if they were tired!

The one bright aspect of last year was the discovery of some pivotal new players, ones which not much of the country will be aware of next year due to our early knockout. Barry Moran at full forward scored 2-2 against Cavan and Derry, destroying Kevin McCloy in the game at Celtic Park. Tom Cunniffe came into the backs and proved to be a real find, for a seemingly small player he has a serious amount of strength. Pierce Hanley would have been, IMO, one of the best footballers in the country in the next 2-3 years had he not gone to Australia but you can't begrudge him the opportunity. Trevor Mortimer I think has found his proper position, center back. He's a player who is impressive under the breaking ball and likes to be in the thick of the action but doesn't have the attacking abilities of a natural forward. I remember asking Martin Carney about him years ago and he believed his position was most definitely center back, that's where he has played for Shrule.

The team I would have to start the championship: Clarke, Higgins, Brady, Howley, Gardiner, T. Mortimer, Cunniffe, McGarrity, Heaney, Dillon, McDonald, Campbell, C. Mortimer, B. Moran, A. Moran.

So despite a disappointing year last season, there were a lot of positives also. And remember, O'Mahoney took over Galway in 1997 and it took him a year to get his groundwork done before an All-Ireland. I'm not saying it will be next year or anything but I think we'll be ready to challenge again most definitely.

I think what happened Mayo last year was that after a long league campaign which ended in disappointment, the morale suffered a huge blow. You could even see it in the fans - it was almost as if they were tired!

The one bright aspect of last year was the discovery of some pivotal new players, ones which not much of the country will be aware of next year due to our early knockout. Barry Moran at full forward scored 2-2 against Cavan and Derry, destroying Kevin McCloy in the game at Celtic Park. Tom Cunniffe came into the backs and proved to be a real find, for a seemingly small player he has a serious amount of strength. Pierce Hanley would have been, IMO, one of the best footballers in the country in the next 2-3 years had he not gone to Australia but you can't begrudge him the opportunity. Trevor Mortimer I think has found his proper position, center back. He's a player who is impressive under the breaking ball and likes to be in the thick of the action but doesn't have the attacking abilities of a natural forward. I remember asking Martin Carney about him years ago and he believed his position was most definitely center back, that's where he has played for Shrule.

The team I would have to start the championship: Clarke, Higgins, Brady, Howley, Gardiner, T. Mortimer, Cunniffe, McGarrity, Heaney, Dillon, McDonald, Campbell, C. Mortimer, B. Moran, A. Moran.

So despite a disappointing year last season, there were a lot of positives also. And remember, O'Mahoney took over Galway in 1997 and it took him a year to get his groundwork done before an All-Ireland. I'm not saying it will be next year or anything but I think we'll be ready to challenge again most definitely.

I think the 5 best players on that team that merit a starting place are Brady,Heaney,McGarrity,Motimer and Andy Moran.Incidentally the more experienced players.MacDonald is in bits.He's been riddled with injuries and isn't the player he used to be.McGarrity is essential in midfield.Won a lot of ball against Dublin in 06.The integral part of the Mayo team missing last year was McGarrity who was recovering from cancer.When he comes back in full swing in the championship,we'll see how good Mayo are then.

Andy Moran is the sneaky full forward that can create and score goal chances.Basically the catalyst for Mayos comeback against Dublin with that goal.Mortimer for the points and free kicks.Heaney is importannt in the half back line.At least thats where he used to play unless he changed to midfield based on your panel.

I'd like to see Gardiner and Barry Moran more this year.See how good they are.Unfortunately a lot of Mayos champo matches weren't televised this year so its difficult for the outsiders to see the potential there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

well galway are in a transitional period at the mo and i dont expect them to figure for another few years, but this is beside the point. mayo have had there chances but nerves and egos got the better of them and until thats sorted they will never figure.

there doesnt seem to be that hunger that is/was evident in galway, kerry and northern winning teams of the last decade. this extra motivation is what wins them AI's.
    it all seems to be excuses coming from mayo each year. just look at the time they played kerry, kerry where eight points up after eight minutes and what did brady and co do, fein injury/ raise the white flags and resort to fightin/handbags for the rest of that match, instead they should have regrouped , kept the head and competed, none of which they did.

blackbelt wrote: »
    Andy Moran is the sneaky full forward that can create and score goal chances.Basically the catalyst for Mayos comeback against Dublin with that goal.Mortimer for the points and free kicks.Heaney is importannt in the half back line.At least thats where he used to play unless he changed to midfield based on your panel.

I'd like to see Gardiner and Barry Moran more this year.See how good they are.Unfortunately a lot of Mayos champo matches weren't televised this year so its difficult for the outsiders to see the potential there.

I think McDonald still has a year left in him. He isn't what he used to be, but if he can deliver ball into Barry Moran then it could make a massive difference. Again it's all about if O'Mahoney could get him to stay at centre forward or in the middle of the field. If not I'd move Aidan Campbell (still U21) into the middle. He's very much like McDonald in that he has a lot of power and determination, and we need to find another center forward.

Heaney would do equally well at midfield or half-back. The reason I have him in midfield is our lack of players for that position plus he has a tremendous amount of stamina and running ability. Knowing the man himself, he actually hates full-back because he's itching to get involved in the play but he isn't one to argue or upset things because its for the good of the team.

Gardiner was dropped towards the end of last year because his form went ouy the window but it's hard to exclude him on his club form this year which was pretty decent. Possibly the only amendment I'd make to that team named would be to put Tom Parsons from Charlestown at midfield and Heaney at half-back with Gardiner on the bench.

Your right about TMort anyway we're screaming out for a centre back and he was the best Mayo player on the pitch against Derry playing at wing back.

I would have a few concerns though.
    I'd like to see Keith Higgins play wing back as he's great going forward.
    Brady. Is he up for another year? I don't know if he is and if he wants to play FB all championship them great. But we must remember he's only a stop gap at best. Maybe Stephen Drake should be given a whirl there during the league.
    Mac if fully fit would of course be a tremendous assest but tbh I don't think he will be. We need to plan without him rather than waiting for him to ride in and save the day. If he's fit a bonus if he's not make sure it affects us as little as possible. Add Kilcoyne to the half forwards if Mac not fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

no Mayo won't win Sam next year, you don't have to be an expert or current player to realise that, neither will Dublin or even Roscommon :eek:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

rossie1977 wrote: »
    no Mayo won't win Sam next year, you don't have to be an expert or current player to realise that, neither will Dublin or even Roscommon :eek:
    They're just all afraid of Cavan, that all... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭blast05

He has been through a lot (I think he once said he has 12 All-Ireland runner up medals between all grades) and at times wasn't treated well by Mayo managers (particularly Maughan).

This is typical Brady exaggeration and hyperbole. He has lost 7 All-Irelands - 4 senior, 2 U-21 and 1 club. He is not unique in this regard as there are a plethora of Mayo players who have lost 6 or 7 All-Irelands through colleges, Sigerson, U-21, junior, minor and senior. But sure better to say 11 or 12 thus evoking sympathy. At least he has the consolidation of a club medal
    Yeah but that was only due to massive fall-out with Maughan. He told him off in the dressing room for almost losing the semi. Blamed it all on him despite at 14 other players being sh1te as well. Dropped him in the final for a mucker. Look what happened we won no ball midfield ended up gettin mauled

Brady got a bollocking that day as did others i have been told. The reason was simple - the most effective player for Fermanagh that day was the guy Brady was due to be marking (McGrath was it ? can't recall). All Brady done was trotted forward and got his name on the scoreboard for a couple of handy points but besides that had as poor a work rate for a midfielder as was seen in Croke Park at that level in some time. The Fermanagh midfielder nearly pulled his team to vistory while Brady fannied about. In the lead up to the final he took a major hump when he wasn't picked as captain when Fergal Costello wasn't making it. Having said all that it was a very bad call to play Kelly in midfield but in the lead up to that final he undermined management, etc
    Because in 1996 we lost by a bounce a few minutes over the time that should have been played.
    You'll have to drag out that video again ! As i recall, the whistle was blown on the dot of 70 and Meath folk were giving out that more time should have been played as they had Mayo on the rack
    1997, I would've liked to have seen anyone deal with Maurice Fitz in the form he was in.
    Again look at the video of each of his scores. Fitzgerald got such an easy ride that day. Pat Holmes stood way too far off leaving Fitzgerald free to shoot unmarked for each of his scores from play - great scores but Holmes should have been in his face
    I can safely say that mayo will never win sam in the forseeable future, because of one simple fact which also affects dublin.
    they win or two matches, goes straight to there heads and then blow up under pressure in the important games

I honestly feel that the reality checks of 2004 and 2006 have gone a long way to changing that mindset for a long time to come
    there doesnt seem to be that hunger that is/was evident in galway, kerry and northern winning teams of the last decade.
    Jack O'Connor used lines to this effect in the Mayo dressing room after the 2006 final. I don't believe it for a second. The problem if anything is the hunger is so great that the players mentally flop

Couple of other comments:
    - Stephen Drake looked very good for NUIG in the FBS league at the weekend.
    - Any more talk of Brady is wasted breath. He has served his county with pride and honour despite the irritating manner of seeing him being quoted on everything (even the book 'House of Pain' contained excessive references to him almost giving the impression that he was the most important Mayo footballer of the last 50 years) but the time has come for him to retire (for the 4th time). I suspect the only reason he came out with the comment that started this thread was that he knows he will not be involved and he fears that they will actually win it once he leaves. Every player down to junior club level that hasn't won what they wanted during their career has this fear once they quit.
    - Its very hard to pick a proposed team for this years championship yet. We have no idea yet how U-21 lads have wintered, what appetite exsiting players will have, etc

blast05 wrote: »
    This is typical Brady exaggeration and hyperbole. He has lost 7 All-Irelands - 4 senior, 2 U-21 and 1 club. He is not unique in this regard as there are a plethora of Mayo players who have lost 6 or 7 All-Irelands through colleges, Sigerson, U-21, junior, minor and senior. But sure better to say 11 or 12 thus evoking sympathy. At least he has the consolidation of a club medal

Brady got a bollocking that day as did others i have been told. The reason was simple - the most effective player for Fermanagh that day was the guy Brady was due to be marking (McGrath was it ? can't recall). All Brady done was trotted forward and got his name on the scoreboard for a couple of handy points but besides that had as poor a work rate for a midfielder as was seen in Croke Park at that level in some time. The Fermanagh midfielder nearly pulled his team to vistory while Brady fannied about. In the lead up to the final he took a major hump when he wasn't picked as captain when Fergal Costello wasn't making it. Having said all that it was a very bad call to play Kelly in midfield but in the lead up to that final he undermined management, etc

You'll have to drag out that video again ! As i recall, the whistle was blown on the dot of 70 and Meath folk were giving out that more time should have been played as they had Mayo on the rack

Again look at the video of each of his scores. Fitzgerald got such an easy ride that day. Pat Holmes stood way too far off leaving Fitzgerald free to shoot unmarked for each of his scores from play - great scores but Holmes should have been in his face

I honestly feel that the reality checks of 2004 and 2006 have gone a long way to changing that mindset for a long time to come

Jack O'Connor used lines to this effect in the Mayo dressing room after the 2006 final. I don't believe it for a second. The problem if anything is the hunger is so great that the players mentally flop

Couple of other comments:
    - Stephen Drake looked very good for NUIG in the FBS league at the weekend.
    - Any more talk of Brady is wasted breath. He has served his county with pride and honour despite the irritating manner of seeing him being quoted on everything (even the book 'House of Pain' contained excessive references to him almost giving the impression that he was the most important Mayo footballer of the last 50 years) but the time has come for him to retire (for the 4th time). I suspect the only reason he came out with the comment that started this thread was that he knows he will not be involved and he fears that they will actually win it once he leaves. Every player down to junior club level that hasn't won what they wanted during their career has this fear once they quit.- Its very hard to pick a proposed team for this years championship yet. We have no idea yet how U-21 lads have wintered, what appetite exsiting players will have, etc

Just ask a certain Colm O Rourke how that feels.:D:D:D:D:D

In fairness Brady has said that is one of the reasons he stayed on but then it was one of the reasons for every Mayo player to stay on for the last 30 years.

I know your saying you can't pick a team now and you can't but it's still more of a wish list/ who we don't want to see (BJP at FB, O'Malley at CB, Gardiner at midfield)

Anyone know what the perfromance was like against Sligo IT today?

kevmy wrote: »
    In fairness Brady has said that is one of the reasons he stayed on but then it was one of the reasons for every Mayo player to stay on for the last 30 years.

I know your saying you can't pick a team now and you can't but it's still more of a wish list/ who we don't want to see (BJP at FB, O'Malley at CB, Gardiner at midfield)

Anyone know what the perfromance was like against Sligo IT today?

Wasn't at the game but was told by one spectator that it was one of the worst games they've ever been at and that very few players from Mayo played well barring Peadar Gardiner and Aidan McTigue (from Davitts on the Sligo IT team).

Was down in Ballinrobe last week myself and the standard was poor as well but thats kind of to be expected. Johnno himself has written of the FBD and probably rightly so it's not really any good from anything other than breaking up the training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Connacht football is way behind Ulster, Leinster and Kerry.

So, yes it's correct to say Mayo won't win (and neither will Galway, Leitrim (my home county), Sligo, Roscommon, .... ....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

JHMEG wrote: »
    Connacht football is way behind Ulster, Leinster and Kerry.

So, yes it's correct to say Mayo won't win (and neither will Galway, Leitrim (my home county), Sligo, Roscommon, .... ....)

well for a start its a bit unfair to compare connaught to ulster (where there are twice as many counties and leinster where there are nearly 3 times as many). Despite glimpses from others Armagh and Tyrone are the only teams to show true promise from ulster, don't forget Derry in 1998 are the last team outside the big two to actually win Ulster, 4 teams in Connaught have won it since 2001. Its the same story in Leinster, Laois and westmeath have won recent championships but how far did they progress, Dublin are by far the best team in Leinster but lost to Mayo in their own backyard last year, so they are certainly not the powerhouses the media portray them as.

Leitrim and Sligo are very weak outside of Connaught, they put up decent showings in their own province but aside from Sligos heroics in 2002 i cannot in my lifetime remember a decent showing by leitrim/sligo outside connaught. In fact Leitrim and Sligo are traditionally very weak at every level, senior, u-21, minor and club, i can't remember the last time a Sligo/leitrim team won the connaught club championships or were even in the final for that matter.

Roscommon usually produce a strong team every 10-15 years or so but our population is so small and many of our top players are ineligible to play for the county means we have traditionally struggled to be consistent over the years. Our current senior team is awful but at underage and club level we are as good as anyone in the country at present it seems (at least based on results over the last 2-3 years)