Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some News Concerning Valentia / aka Danny

• 05-11-2007 6:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭

Some of you already know this, but I was talking to Danny (Valentia) on the phone just now and he asked me to pass it on to the rest of you in case you were wondering why he has not been so active in the forum of late ...

In the next day or so Danny will be having a heart bypass operation ... I'm sure you all will join me in wishing Danny, Phil and the rest of his family the best of luck.

Our thoughts are with you mate ... get well real soon ...

I look forward to getting down to Valentia Island to see the Puffins with you next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Best of luck to you Danny. Get well soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Best of luck Danny and hope you have a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

holy !!

didn't know, but best of luck. Wonder will the surgeons take a pic for ya! :D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Best of luck, lets hope you're back upstaging us soon :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Typhoon.

Best of Luck Val

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Best of luck Danny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

All the best Danny.

Talk to you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Best wishes Danny for a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Best of Luck Danny, hope your back on your feet soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

Hope all is tip top Danny... sure you'll be back lugging the big glass around before you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Danny best of luck mate, can't wait for your back on your feet photos to hit the forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

speedy recovery Danny, and look forward to seeing the new creativity in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Best of luck Danny.

I hope all goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,552 ✭✭✭CH3OH

As someone who peeps in to the forum and who was in complete awe of the photograph of the gannets, I would like to wish Valentia a speedy recovery. He probably will produce some photographs of the op for comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭CraggyIslander

Hope the op goes smoothly and wishing you a very speedy recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭gonker

Hope everything goes well and will be thinking of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Best of luck dude !

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

All the best Danny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Thanks everyone. :)

Heading in tomorrow for the op on Wednesday and I'm nervous as fúck. Not half a bad as Phil and the clan though. Anyway I know these things are very successful these days but I'd still prefer if it was over and I was back complaining about some unimportant annoyance ;)

Surreal is the feeling I think.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Take photos! Light shouldn't be a problem, I suggest wide angle to get all the cool grisly details.

We can discuss post processing later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Nearly fell off the chair when I read the email from you the other day Danny... Nothing to be worried about, I'm sure your surgeon will be top notch. Just make sure the guy you get doesn't greet you with "Hi Everybody!". :D

My thoughts will be with your and your family for the next few days. We'll all be expecting Phil to come on and give us an update so you might want to teach her how to post now :) See ya on the other side boyo, for the pissup as you said yourself :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Best of luck Danny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Best of luck!

Yep, Ryan, I'll get Dónall, my young lad, to drop on and update ye. There is only one that I care about and that's the first one..."He's awake!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Want me to keep your gear safe from the hands of the proles while you're in hospital?

Fenster wrote: »
    Want me to keep your gear safe from the hands of the proles while you're in hospital?

Sure by the time it reached you Mark it'd be time to send it back!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭latchiko

All the best Danny. I'm sure you'll be back on your feet, camera in hand, in no time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

As I said Danny, they'll be eating ham sandwiches and tea during the op its so routine these days. Doesn't in the least stop it being scary. I can't even begin to imagine...

Glad Donall (Hi Donall :) ) is gonna update for us. I'll be watching..

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Best of luck, I'm sure everyuthing will be fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

Wishing you a speedy recovery Danny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Ah you'll be able to outrun the AF on the 1D mk III when you're done though won't you?

Take care big man, see you in a couple months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

elven wrote: »
    Ah you'll be able to outrun the AF on the 1D mk III when you're done though won't you?

Jaysus ... don't be handin Danny a Mk III ... he dangerous with those yokes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Carrigman

Don't worry about it Danny. I know several people who've had the op over the last few years. All as right as rain and fitter than ever. It's no more a deal that an appendectomy nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

Best of luck Danny, and get well soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Just to echo everyone else.. all the best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Just want to say best of luck too. Haven't had the chance to met you yet, but hopefully I will at the next boards outing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Best of luck Danny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Well big lad, I'm as surprised by this news as the rest of them, but wishing you all the best on Wednesday. I can just picture the scene now...

Doc - "Ok, when I give you this, I want you to start counting backwards from f22..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Won't wish you luck - you won't need it. These operations are becoming quite routine to doctors by now.

See you back here soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Dink

Best of luck Danny, speedy recovery too! Don't take too long now..... we need your witty input!!

G & J

I really appreciate the thoughts folks. I'm signing out now, see you in a couple of weeks.

Thanks!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

Best wishes and hope you have a speedy recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Best of luck Danny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

what they all said!!!

you'll be up and about in no time

cya at the next meet

take care :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭TelePaul

Prayers and thoughts his way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Best of luck Danny -- your one of the gems here -- hopefully you'll be in fighting form for Christmas , and pay a visit up to Capel street on December 13 , and i can buy you a drink -- best of luck mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Very best of luck and wish you a speedy recovering. You'll be right just in time for xmas.. Perfect..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Best of luck Danny, I'm thinking back to you leading the charge up the long hill in Avondale, I never would have thought you'd be heading for the operating theatre so soon.
    Give it a month or two and there'll be no stopping you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

g'luck Valentia. Piece o' cake I'm told.