Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charleville Castle - The aftermath / pics

• 04-11-2007 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭

Right.. well Fajitas/elven feel free to merge this if you wish :D

Imo, great time was had.. different, and newb friendly* :D

rofl @ pinhole lens.

few pics i just got done with

1862577631_18b014ec83.jpg
    1862707919_a22b36f0d5.jpg
    1863630328_610d6d661b.jpg
    1863469790_aabe766234.jpg
    1861897532_714de3a71e.jpg
    1862465964_d5b3364e70.jpg

*Word of the day - Bukkake! :o:D

Elven.. please don't ban me!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Oh jesus they weren't at the bukkake thing again were they? metaphorically... of course... I have a word of the day that freaks even Al out, but I'd be banned from Boards full stop..

Great shots. I know exactly the spots you were at in them all, And am still greatly annoyed I wasn't there :(:( Especially like the third one. Lovely capture.

Where's your freaky Mary though? I thought that was obligatory? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

|Wow some cracking shots there....the second one is a beauty, very atmospheric.
    Cant wait to see what everyone came back with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Holy god.. that word is still in circulation? That's so totally August! I wonder if elven still "really hates when that happens" ?!?

Sinead, pm me the word and I'll do great things with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Oh, I'm feckin shattered. Just processed nearly 30 pics... that has to be some sort of record for me!

Those are some fantastic shots there. Love the floorboards! Very dramatic bw, too. Was going to start a new thread for the pics so this'll do nicely :)

I already can't wait to go back next year. Just amazing. Sinead you were sorely missed :( as was danny, and mike, and a couple of other regulars that were around last year - simon what happened? Bah.

Currently I'm probably slowing the whole of flickr down with my uploading, but when they are done you'll find them here, and for those who don't fancy trawling through the whole set here's a couple:

1864486406_18f26643a0.jpg

1863541781_de50d9fbe0.jpg

1863622464_760523657f.jpg

1862929595_42110d9733.jpg

elven......... tell me where you took the last one from.....awfully like a grave, bit too creepy for my liking if it is! :eek:

hahaha someone else said that too. It's looking up out of the nonexistent roof of the chapel. I'm starting to love my wide angle lens (thanks keith :D)...

Ahh that makes sense. it did seem a bit too square but it had me going.
    I was gonna ongratulate you on your bravery....now itll have to be congratulations on some cracking shots instead! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

What another great weekend. Congrats to all for organising. I've only uploaded a few shots for now (all from the wooden stairs). At least I have the day off work tomorrow to get through more :D

Excellent stuff from challengemaster & elven so far. Here's some of mine.

CF7EFE7D6DCB47E587860CEC4AFC8491-500.jpg

DDAE82A041DF4F19AB5014AD9D36E3E7-500.jpg

03E7DDFBAC124CD6AA8EE40D3B3E288A-500.jpg

404E4E010C0D438A815B527817E3E94C-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus lads some absolutely wonderful shots there. The early part of the thread has me intrigued, come on spill it (hmmm maybe thats a bad phrase to use!!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭templeathea

I love all the staircase shots and the 'grave' shot is excellent as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Only processed the one so far, I guess my heart just wasn't/isn't in it.

The third and fifth of CM's are fantastic, as are DarrenG's. Really love the PP on em. Love the grave and leaf shots of Elfy's too.

Was really nice to meet the folks I hadn't met before. I also must apologise about nipping off as things were just getting started, I ended up propping up a stool later on.
    1862697689_483f71f0a6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

DarrenG wrote: »
    I've only uploaded a few shots for now (all from the wooden stairs).

Darren they're fabulous! We you using smoke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭countryjimbo

Some fantastic shots here, well done, sounds like it was a great week-end. I was hoping to be able to make it this year as I don't live too far away but I had to work last week-end. Maybe next year ....

Elven, - that "grave" shot is scary, remember never let the facts ruin a good story :)

hughchal wrote: »
    Darren they're fabulous! We you using smoke?

Someone pumped smoke in when I was at the top of the stairway. There was only two of us there to take advantage of this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Love the staircase shots Elven and Darren.

Nice meeting the folks I hadn't met before. Great weekend. I don't think I'll ever sleep right again after being in the dungeons.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

freakin awesome shots by all here so far...I'm really gonna need work on mine :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭helios

bovril wrote: »
    Great weekend. I don't think I'll ever sleep right again after being in the dungeons.

Yeah, it was a bit disturbing. I was waiting for Darren to surprise you or something while you were shooting... guess it wouldn't have been worth the ensuing heart attack...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

hehe, im pretty pleased considering I was using the kit lens ;)

although I did take a few with Al's gear..hm.. where'd I put that cf card :D will have to root through them after school :D:p

Roen: you got home ok anyway :p how's the back? ps. lovely shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Some mighty shots there gang!!

Sorry I wasn't there to frighten the bejazus out of someone this year!!!!

Just got done with a few more

1875759447_51f4d6cd9b.jpg

1876528096_72e2ed9615.jpg

1876439368_6cecee2a07.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

not really about the castle itself or anything but while we were in town getting chips, the guys at Supermacs got to check out a Canon EOS 5D, they were mighty impressed too by all accounts

1879551038_c60812544e_o.jpg

and i have a freaky mary and even more freaky evil looking rocking horse!!

good to have met everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Nice ones, CM. Your first batch were spot-on, I liked them a lot, the ones above look a bit too harsh on the old contrast for my liking, but that's just me. BTW, judging by what I came home with after the weekend, I hope I taught you nothing :D

Anyway, the first off the mangle (aka "One I didn't have to work much on")...

1879612610_8569a388f1.jpg

...complete with er, ghost, on the battlement.

Come on Benster, it's good, but one isn't enough! Do you need someone to load up photoshop, and stand over you brandishing a whip?

Has anyone been putting the stuff into the boards outing flickr group? I forgot all about it. It'd be good to have them all in one place... not sure if putting all mine in would be spamming though - there are quite a few by now :rolleyes: maybe I'll do a group just for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Man I'm so sorry I couldn't do this, some of those photographs look absolutely ace.

elven wrote: »
    not sure if putting all mine in would be spamming though - there are quite a few by now :rolleyes: maybe I'll do a group just for this.

put them in, they're all class :)

...stand over you brandishing a whip?

Jesus, woman, this is neither the time nor the place!

(pm me :D)

YESYESYES, ok! I'll be doing more the night.

B.

Has anyone been putting the stuff into the boards outing flickr group? I forgot all about it. It'd be good to have them all in one place... not sure if putting all mine in would be spamming though - there are quite a few by now :rolleyes: maybe I'll do a group just for this.

There is a Charleville Castle Group which you might be interested in Joining. I've been putting mine into the boards.ie meetings group and the one above.

I did ask to become a member of that group but I've just created one for us boards people as well: http://www.flickr.com/groups/boardscharleville/

I sent out an invitation but I think I may have missed people...

We've had no pics from seb yet have we? Fajitas, where's the group shot?

Benster, I think you should speak to seb about the whip thing. He knows that sort of women ;)

well, imo the darkness/high contrast suited the pics.. ah sure :D

You? teach me anything? nah.. only thing I learned is next time go around while everyone sleeps and format their cf cards! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

1892757868_20225cf65a.jpg

1865350899_15ca145233.jpg

as i get more done i'll put em up...some amaing stuff up so far, Benster, love the castle shot

aaaaaaaaaand one more

1893421262_e88afd449c.jpg

I seem to have gotten a person in that one though :(

CM - nice tones and sharpness in the carving on the... thing... to the left (i dunno, a mirror, wardrobe?)

Mel - Colours jump out on no1, nice starkness to no2. I recognise that dress :p

Ok, lest I be on the wrong end of a Glasgae Kiss, here's another few...

Shrooms from the "garden"

1894409292_ef36354f9e.jpg

Flowers past their best

1894411806_6bfb6c3aef.jpg

Aul tap

1894414482_09a3725a1b.jpg

TBH I dunno if I'll put up the rest of the interior ones, as they're pretty much the same as other folks'. Possibly not as good as Julie's, Darren's or Bovril's though :rolleyes: (very nice selection on the Flickr group so far folks)

B.

edit - Oh, and here's that place I was going on about in Armagh that is similar to Charleville, but in a much worse state

Benster wrote: »
    TBH I dunno if I'll put up the rest of the interior ones

I felt the same after seeing people's photos from the visit before but I decided to process mine anways. It's nice to have your own photos of the scenes. Now stop making excuses and process them man!!

Your exterior shot is fabulous. Very sorry I didn't go outside at night and brave the rain to get some shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Some really wonderful shots so far. Of course, had I been there mine would have been waaaaay better.. :p

Did I mention I'm sick I missed it? :(
    Benster wrote: »

Oh I've been there! Its a total wreck alright but the grounds are fabulous. Can you gain entry? Last time I was there (4 years ago maybe?) it was completely boarded up and derelict..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

great stuff posted so far indeedely.. Benster's shot of the outside of the castle is mahvellous, even if he risked being lashed with the cat o' nine tails while processing it.

I might actually be able to motivate myself to make *ahem* next years trip, now that I see what a world of photo opportunity there is to be had up there. Who'd have thought Tullamore was so interesting?!?!

sineadw wrote: »
    Oh I've been there! Its a total wreck alright but the grounds are fabulous. Can you gain entry? Last time I was there (4 years ago maybe?) it was completely boarded up and derelict..

Nah, it's now a building site. Would you believe they are turning it into apartments?! No idea if there's any restoration going on or if they're just modernising it. I'd say only Premiership footballers and movie stars will be able to afford them when they're done. "The Beckhams' luxury pad in ... Armagh" just sounds so wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭ike

Really impressed with all i've seen in this thread. Tis nice to see the different interpretations and styles from the same surroundings..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Some great images from everyone. Like Sinead, I am gutted I was unable to make it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Great shots (again) guys! Pity I missed this two years in a row, but had family commitments in Brussels... next meet though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

What is it with all of you and high-contrast, this time round? :p

I also demand chapel photos!

High contrast, wooo! :D

Fenster wrote: »

I also demand chapel photos!

Myself and Elven were having a chat while up in the chapel about you and your chapel photos from last year. It kinda felt wrong to me taking pictures up there because there is no bettering your ones of the chapel. Let's face it you're a ruiner with your impressive chapel photos. I did put one measly attempt of the window on my flickr. You can see for yourself it's not a patch on yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

bovril wrote: »
    Myself and Elven were having a chat while up in the chapel about you and your chapel photos from last year. It kinda felt wrong to me taking pictures up there because there is no bettering your ones of the chapel. Let's face it you're a ruiner with your impressive chapel photos. I did put one measly attempt of the window on my flickr. You can see for yourself it's not a patch on yours.

That's a little defeatist, to be honest. I've always tried to emulate and better amazing photos that I've seen, with eh, varying results.

For your homework assignment, go back to the chapel and snap for an hour.

just got through another batch.. and guess what, they're all b&w too! :D

uploading now, will be a while though due to 10kb/s upload, and actually uploading about 25mb... -_-"

edit: done \o/

1905585397_c71fa3d0a7.jpg

1906471386_57104b98ef.jpg

1906567080_eb87088379.jpg

1905763897_9b8105dfbc.jpg

1906626122_f686db73ba.jpg

1906700332_7fd928a054.jpg

1906739718_56229d1408.jpg

1906817048_bcbe6601d2.jpg
    damn, thats a little blurry :(

ah well

1906310115_e3fe202e30.jpg

[URL="http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=1907230450&photo_page=1&size=l]1907230450_d8dfce6888.jpg[/URL]

How long did you say you've been at this lark?

lol, in or around 2~ months now?

and we had a special guest model, great one too, tbh!

round of applause for (you all know her!)

1907374947_4a5121b512.jpg

1907394547_12d9808867.jpg

1907420213_b446e36a50.jpg

She got fairly tired though.. and we found her later in this state*..

1908323992_889d6b2742.jpg

*may not be true :D

fair play elven :) - although fajitas has the serious pics of this :D

Ah, scaring people off now I think...

Fenster wrote: »
    For your homework assignment, go back to the chapel and snap for an hour.

:D na I'll do better than that, I'll have a look at my chapel photos at the weekend and see can I come up with something original.