Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sound Engineer with very bad attitide

• 04-11-2007 1:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭

Did a gig the other night in a popular venue in Dublin and the attitude of the engineer in there was the worst I have ever seen. The engineer belittled one band after another with unwarranted rudeness and complete disdain.

It started bad. All the bands were there at 6 for the sound check as was the engineer. We did not start to sound check until the promoter turned up and asked the engineer to get started, this was 7.45.
    I was there at 5.30 so I waited till gone 8 and we did not get a sound check due to the engineer’s complete disinterest.
    That’s nearly 3 hours of my time where I could have been somewhere more worthwhile.

This was actually the second gig I have done there in the last month or two with the same engineer each time. On both occasions I was taken aback by this person’s attitude to all the performers on the night.
    Within a few minutes of each bands sound check the engineer was talking to each band like they were naughty 5 years olds and being a complete arsehole towards them.
    I understand that engineers have to put up with a lot of cr@p from a lot of inexperienced/egotistical people on a nightly basis but on this occasion no one gave the engineer any grief what so ever.

Simply asking for a bit more level in a monitor would be replied to with 'you must be deaf if you cant here that' another was 'Do you want to come up here an do this?' when I had the cheek to ask for a little more level in my monitor again.

Another bassist just asked 'for a bit of everything in there monitor' and the reply was 'there’s no everything button' It decended into naked aggression from there.

When one member of the band had the gal to make a smart comment back after much goading from the engineer the promoter made the band apologies to the engineer, I mean what the fu$k??????!!!!

I cannot see how a great venue like this can have an engineer like this resident. It seems that the main function of the engineer was to antagonize each band to the degree where the night was sullied and each band was completely disheartened before they played.
    As it went, we had a good gig and although I could not hear anything due to a terrible mix I felt the response from the crowed was vindication in front of this person in the sound box.

I’m well used the regular grumy, tired engineer who just wants to get done and go home, I can understand why they feel like this, but this was on a different level.
    If you don’t like the job to this extent then leave!! In this small town you are bloody lucky to be making a few quid doing a job like this!

I don’t understand why this person does this job as they so clearly hate every band that steps on stage and makes it clear that that they think we are all a bunch of losers and beneath their contempt.

Sorry for the anger, I just had to get this of my chest as I feel none of the bands had any recourse to respond on the night. I shall be dreading playing the there in the future, which is a real pity :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

sounds bad alright...you should really be saying this to the manager of the venue and the egineer himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Name & shame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I thought it was part of a sound engineers remit to be disdainful to musicians.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

Would have loved to said something to someone but after one band was made to aploigise to this engineer I was just at a loss.
    Its a great venue and of course the the promoter does not want to endanger his standing with it which I understand completly.
    I felt there was no where to vent apart from boards, sorry if it comes across very negative.

I could easily name and shame but you know the politics in Dublin, name and shame and kiss goodbye to more gigs from this venue/promoter:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

aye go for it , not the engineer though just the venue. engineers can be narky bastads sometimes but still sounds like this one was bang out of order.

though going by the load in time i reckon i know where your on about which is strange if im right as the guys in there are sound (pardon the pun :) ) mofos in the many many gigs ive worked at in there

Funky Cinema like Venue with a great reputation on Leeson Street...

Im assuming that the issue is just with this one engineer as everyone else seems bang on. Maybe we just lucked out and got the same engineer twice running. I hope to never have to deal with this person agian as I wont be holding my lip next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I can't understand the attitude of engineers like this. The whole point of a sound engineer is to make you sound good and you can't sound good unless they either:
    a) listen to what you have to say and what you want from the sound of your band
    and
    b) give you feedback (of the critical, not the guitar kind) on what works in that particular venue.

I've experienced some sound sound engineers but the odd one who acts like described above really puts me off going to an unfamiliar venue. We played in a certain Temple Bar venue and the sound engineer actually left the room during our set. No levels were changed, couldn't get the monitors adjusted and couldn't get the sound balanced on the fly. Being an instrumental band we don't need the microphones during the songs but between songs it's nice to talk to the crowd, I had to shout to the audience as he wasn't around to do even that.

Jelly, just out of interest, could you PM me the venue that you had this problem? It's always nice to know in advance of playing a venue what the staff are like. Plus I'm interested to know if it was the same venue!

EDIT: Nevermind, it's not the same one.

Jelly 292 wrote: »
    I could easily name and shame but you know the politics in Dublin, name and shame and kiss goodbye to more gigs from this venue/promoter:mad:

Irish music scene is small (compared internationally) it is still quite large and they're loads of promoters in Dublin alone never mind the rest of the country. venues dont give a ****e what you say once you pull a decent crowd for their bar and pay them the hire fee.

as for promoters well they are ten a penny (good ones are not as hard to find as you'd think either). Personally any promoter that would have asked me to apologise to an engineer (back when I was still playing) would have been incredibly swiftly told to go stick it up his arse.

The thing is I expect and understand grumpy engineers and this is basically the norm in this town it seems, that’s fine can almost empathizes with them, it can be a thankless and annoying job.
    But similar to John’s example this was above and beyond the regular low standards.

It's the attitude that if you are an unsigned little band maybe starting out or just doing your time on the circuit you can be openly abused, in this case in front of everyone in the venue-bar staff, other bands ,doormen etc.

It does not put you in a good frame of mind to enjoy the gig. I tried to ignore it and we had a good enough time and a great laugh after but it’s been on my mind for days since.
    Had to make it public in the hope that engineer reads this, if so get that chip of your sholder!

It's the attitude that if you are an unsigned little band maybe starting out or just doing your time on the circuit you can be openly abused, in this case in front of everyone in the venue-bar staff, other bands ,doormen etc.

think you may have a bit of an inferiority complex there :p seriously in the 150 odd gigs I've either run or helped run I've only ever seen this attitude twice and both times was the same dick of an engineer in Whelans which is one of the reasons I dont like gigs there (though personally I think it's **** anyways)

The engineers in The Village, TBMC (I will NEVER call it the button factory :D) , Eamon Dorans (to an extent) and so on I have found are professional in the whole. And by professional I mean courtious (with the usual bit of sound jockey grumpyness :) )

'think you may have a bit of an inferiority complex there'
    I suppose now you mention it thats it!

I was just describing the impression that the engineer sent out but if thats how I come across then thats my lack of word skill.

I did state that its prob our bad luck to have the same engineer twice and Im suprised someone like that would be working in this gaff which does not get such a good rep for nothing.

And the Button Factory is a pretty unfortunate name...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭DerKaiser

Do we refer to the sugar club? I get on well with most soundies, I'm nice to them and they're nice to me, I once had the misfortune to play the sugar club, the engineer may as well not have been there though, he sat with his feet up reading a paper, the sound was woeful, at one point I pulled out a semi electric and D.I.'d it, just as I had done during soundcheck, after several moments of pointless strumming I had to ask him for some juice, made us sound unprofessional.
    And on other time in Voodoo, the other guitarist and I starting tuning our guitars during sound check, the eng said "stop tunin!" "You, give me your guitar!" to me, and then the other guitarist and said "Right, play now!" "Stop! For F*@ks sake, tune your guitars!!" ARRRRGGGGHHH!

But other than that if you don't f*@k about during soundcheck and you get up and down professionally and you are civil to the soundie, you generally don't have problems, but some people are just assholes.

This is the crux of it tho. I fully understand the agro of dealing with inexperienced/rude musician’s night in night out, you need patience of a saint.

No one was giving any grief at all in this instance; the engineer was the one acting like an arse from the get go.

It was unwarranted grief in this case and the second time running I have seen the same engineer act the same way. Maybe it was just a bad day, or two.

But Id go with the latter part of your statement I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭nimbo

Hey Jelly...
    Listen man....
    Nobody and i mean nobody has the right to treat any band like youve described there and if you want my opinion- next time treat fire with fire and spread the word about this person... If you loose a gig, you gain respect in the long run...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭telecaster

Hey Jelly

My band played Saturday night at the Sugar Club too (it is Saturday you're talking about?). We were the late band on after midnight - Special Brew.

I dont know whether you had a different sound guy to us or not - I doubt it - but that fella was fine with us and always has been in fairness. We play there regularly so he knows us, not that it should make a difference of course. But I thought I should speak up for the guy as we've never had a problem with him over dozens of gigs.

Having said that I've been in your shoes too when I was just getting started out and any particular sound man could just make your day a whole more difficult than necessary. It's not pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Soundchecks piss me off, and it's not the engineers that usually annoy me it's bands pricking about, clueless about what they are trying to do. I know that sounds a bit harsh.. but I figure if it takes more than 5 minutes to check.. it's took too long.

Have your instruments tuned before you get to the stage.

Know what song you are going to play... it doesn't have to be the whole thing.. not "What will we do lads?" "UH.. Uh.. I dunno .. uh"

Speak to the engineer before hand, say hello introduce yourself be polite and professional.

This is a great article - http://www.josaka.com/Features/2002/SoundCheck.htm .

Doctor J has some good tips on this kind of thing too.

TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Yes Doc J has posted many insightful pieces on this over the years.

An abusive guy is an abusive guy and regardless of his role in putting on the gig, it's just not on. But rather than post another "that's awful" comment, as per Nemisis above, there are always little things that you can improve in the way that you deal with any sound engineer.

(I'm just playing devil's advocat here for general readers - not necesarily aimed @ the OP!)

Little bits that help in my experience...

Get in contact with all bands playing on the night well in advance-
    Often, promoters will not know the ins and outs of backlines. Your best bet is to take the initiative. Get contact details from the promoter or even just make contact on myspace. A group mail saying "right, who needs what backline? Who'll provide what?" etc. This way you can plan your amp sharing etc in advance meaning less mic-ing up to do for the engineer but more importantly, when you arrive there at 6pm, everyone immediately knows what's going on stage and where (from the pre discussions among bands). Having everything including drums in place by 6.45pm gives the SE no excuse to not have everything mic'd up for 7.10pm. As you're setting up, get your settings on the amps right, tune guitars etc and line up pedals. Basically the point being that you are ready and waiting for the SE rather than the other way around.

Meet, greet and come prepared-
    Introduce yourself on arrival to the SE. Have a very brief outline of your set up something like below and a set list. (SE may or may not want these but good to provide them). Both these docs should have the name of your band and set-time in the running order on them. Being nice and offering a drink helps!

"Guitar left slightly louder than Guitar centre
    Vox centre and vox left on a nice par
    Bass player requires plenty of centre guitar and vox in monitor"

Note: if you wanna be really slick you can encourage all three band splaying to provide something really brief like above. Again, the SE may laugh but I'd say most would appreciate it.

Keep your amps low on stage and let the PA/monitors do the work-
    Often the main reason people can't hear themselves in their monitor because of loud amps on stage. The is CRUCIAL in smaller venues.

Know what you want from a soundcheck and where the value is-
    1. Can you play with the monitor mix?
    2. Is the SE happy with the sound?
    Usually, the SE will get things in order with the first soundcheckers and every other band will be easy enough from there. The main thing is you guys on stage can hear enough in your monitors to perform well. It's key that bands take into account that NO ONE bar them can hear the monitor mix as on stage so geting the SE to tweak it so it's sounds nicer is pretty fruitless. You have no option but to trust him/her that the PA sound/mix is good. Tweaking monitors is not worth too much time.

Soundcheck uber-efficiently-
    Play ONE MINUTE. Stop. Ask for any changes to mix/monitors. Play another minute or two. If all is ok, say "that's grand thanks".

Boost/Drive/Dist Pedals-
    Know what settings work best on your pedals ESPECIALLY level settings so you're not going between quiet and earthshattering! Ask the SE, "is this ok?" when giving him a quick 5 secs of pedal on and pedal off.

I don't suggest that this is an ideal world approach but i think it works best for your band. It's based on the theory that you need to make life as EASY as possible for the guy to do a decent job, resulting in a higher chance of him actually doing a decent job.

Let me know if this helps and I'll think of some more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Good post ShriekingSheet,

Basically if you meet the most ungratful bastard of asound enginner, if you are going out of your way to facilitate him, by being ready, professional, focused, and polite, if he starts to take an abusive line it's him that will look unprofessional and not the band. If have a complaint and want to take it further, you can explain to the manager/promoter who ever the steps you took to be professional and how the engineer did not.

This might be getting a bit off the point.. but be sure to say "Thank you" to anyone letting you use their equipment.. wether its a guitar players amp or drum kit etc. I usally bring a back line amp.. and nothing wrecks my head more than someone I have never met just barging me out of the way and plugging into my amp "Is this the amp I'm usin yeh?' "Where's the footswitch?!?' ... It's just manners, but it seems to go out the window with some musicians. Maybe I expect to much from my fellow human beings!

TK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

NeMiSiS wrote: »
    Good post ShriekingSheet,

Basically if you meet the most ungratful bastard of asound enginner, if you are going out of your way to facilitate him, by being ready, professional, focused, and polite, if he starts to take an abusive line it's him that will look unprofessional and not the band. If have a complaint and want to take it further, you can explain to the manager/promoter who ever the steps you took to be professional and how the engineer did not.

This might be getting a bit off the point.. but be sure to say "Thank you" to anyone letting you use their equipment.. wether its a guitar players amp or drum kit etc. I usally bring a back line amp.. and nothing wrecks my head more than someone I have never met just barging me out of the way and plugging into my amp "Is this the amp I'm usin yeh?' "Where's the footswitch?!?' ... It's just manners, but it seems to go out the window with some musicians. Maybe I expect to much from my fellow human beings!

TK

Haha, specially when the turn the gain and treble to 11!

In fairness, the majority of times I've seen this happen it's been a band new-ish it gigging who may have the impression that gear is provided by a promoter/venue and as such is for universal use. Sure they've prob been told "there'll be an amp there you can use" by the organiser.

Did happen me once though with a fairly established band who sent one of their minions down to the backstage to say "giz the footswitch off that amp will ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Did a gig the other night in a popular venue in Dublin and the attitude of the engineer in there was the worst I have ever seen. The engineer belittled one band after another with unwarranted rudeness and complete disdain.

It started bad. All the bands were there at 6 for the sound check as was the engineer. We did not start to sound check until the promoter turned up and asked the engineer to get started, this was 7.45.
    I was there at 5.30 so I waited till gone 8 and we did not get a sound check due to the engineer’s complete disinterest.
    That’s nearly 3 hours of my time where I could have been somewhere more worthwhile.

This was actually the second gig I have done there in the last month or two with the same engineer each time. On both occasions I was taken aback by this person’s attitude to all the performers on the night.
    Within a few minutes of each bands sound check the engineer was talking to each band like they were naughty 5 years olds and being a complete arsehole towards them.
    I understand that engineers have to put up with a lot of cr@p from a lot of inexperienced/egotistical people on a nightly basis but on this occasion no one gave the engineer any grief what so ever.

Simply asking for a bit more level in a monitor would be replied to with 'you must be deaf if you cant here that' another was 'Do you want to come up here an do this?' when I had the cheek to ask for a little more level in my monitor again.

Another bassist just asked 'for a bit of everything in there monitor' and the reply was 'there’s no everything button' It decended into naked aggression from there.

When one member of the band had the gal to make a smart comment back after much goading from the engineer the promoter made the band apologies to the engineer, I mean what the fu$k??????!!!!

I cannot see how a great venue like this can have an engineer like this resident. It seems that the main function of the engineer was to antagonize each band to the degree where the night was sullied and each band was completely disheartened before they played.
    As it went, we had a good gig and although I could not hear anything due to a terrible mix I felt the response from the crowed was vindication in front of this person in the sound box.

I’m well used the regular grumy, tired engineer who just wants to get done and go home, I can understand why they feel like this, but this was on a different level.
    If you don’t like the job to this extent then leave!! In this small town you are bloody lucky to be making a few quid doing a job like this!

I don’t understand why this person does this job as they so clearly hate every band that steps on stage and makes it clear that that they think we are all a bunch of losers and beneath their contempt.

Sorry for the anger, I just had to get this of my chest as I feel none of the bands had any recourse to respond on the night. I shall be dreading playing the there in the future, which is a real pity :(

:D:D:D i wonder who this is:D:D Though I wouldn't let people like the engineer in question get to me, I can second Jelly's story. Very poor profesionalism, and quite goading to the musicians. Even if one was trying to give the engineer the benefit of the doubt, i.e. if the band were overtly unprofessional etc, the engineer would still be bang out of order. As jelly says, theres the grumpy engineer, and theres the plain rude abnoxious ones.

Sounds advice all, thanks.
    Cheers Jimi, I would not let stuff like this effect me playing, but I'd have to admit I was annoyed thinking about the whole thing the next day, more so for the other band that really got an earful, nice guys.

Still great venue, good gig just ignore the engineer and get on with it if it happens agian:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

The best best best remedy to this situation has to be the most obvious one: Get your own engineer. It'll cost you a bit of money per gig (at a guess, €60 - €70 although you may end up regularly using the guy / girl, etc.) but it's... I'm at a loss for words, really... It's "uncomparable", the difference.

You've enough to think about on the night not to be worried about what engineer you're going to get, is he / she going to be any good, is he / she going to be obnoxious / friendly, etc.

It's unfortunate to have to approach things in this manner, but it's really worth it. Also, over time "your" engineer will come to know what levels you like, the setup of your instruments, how you play / sing and your soundchecks will be much quicker. If you're lucky (and they're interested enough), they may even come to learn the tunes and can help out at the desk when, say, a louder chorus is coming up, or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Folex wrote: »
    The best best best remedy to this situation has to be the most obvious one: Get your own engineer. It'll cost you a bit of money per gig (at a guess, €60 - €70 although you may end up regularly using the guy / girl, etc.) but it's... I'm at a loss for words, really... It's "uncomparable", the difference.

WTF?
    That's the very crux of the problem right there!!
    I've been an engineer for nearly 20 years, I've been there. 3 or 4 **** bands each thinking they are great, each wanting a two hour sound check when most wouldn't know good sound if it bit them on the arse.

If you offered me €60 or €70 for a gig I'd f*cking twat Ya! I was getting that amount in pounds for simple acoustic gigs when I was still in school.

And to everybody else interested.
    The guy didn't have a problem with the band later cause they turn up and play and play well, little or no sound check. Arrive, set-up, play, That's what professionalisim really is. You don't need a sound check, I reckon the PA set-up hasn't changed in that place for years.

If the guy was getting paid properly he might have been bothered to give you the customer satisfaction your ego needs. I suppose you could blame the promoter cause there's nobody coming to the gig so there isn't the budget to pay the engineer properly, or is it that nobody goes to gigs anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Was this sound engineer female by any chance? The phrase 'there's no everything button' rings a bell.

Was this sound engineer female by any chance? The phrase 'there's no everything button' rings a bell

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 smurf32

all the bands there and nobody gave him a slap r 2 what about rock n roll!!!
    id show him drum stick up the 4 sure.
    stay safe all
    smurf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Poppy Cock

Just name the venue FFS - unless your real name is 'Jelly 292' then I think you're anonymous enough...

I know where you're coming from though: most sound engineers have an undeserved sense of self importance - they're bitter because they get crappy pay, but they have big egos because they think they're important because most other sound engineers can't find work.

telecaster wrote: »
    Hey Jelly

My band played Saturday night at the Sugar Club too (it is Saturday you're talking about?). We were the late band on after midnight - Special Brew.

I dont know whether you had a different sound guy to us or not - I doubt it - but that fella was fine with us and always has been in fairness. We play there regularly so he knows us, not that it should make a difference of course. But I thought I should speak up for the guy as we've never had a problem with him over dozens of gigs..

He never said it was the Sugar Club. He did say something cryptic like "Funky Cinema" though, whatever the fook that means.
    smurf wrote:
    stay safe all

He said was the engineer was female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭WetDaddy

studiorat wrote: »
    WTF?
    That's the very crux of the problem right there!!
    I've been an engineer for nearly 20 years, I've been there. 3 or 4 **** bands each thinking they are great, each wanting a two hour sound check when most wouldn't know good sound if it bit them on the arse.

If you offered me €60 or €70 for a gig I'd f*cking twat Ya! I was getting that amount in pounds for simple acoustic gigs when I was still in school.

Steady on there, buddy. You do realise I meant hiring your own engineer for your own band, right? As in, you bring him / her with you and she engineers just for you, not for anyone else.

If you do realise that and are still upset at the price, then all I can tell you is that I'm working from experience here. If you expect to get paid a lot more than that for engineering just one band in one pub in Dublin (for, let's assume, one hour + setting up time as well, if you're helping with that), then I'm surprised.

Also keep in mind that while you've "been an engineer for nearly 20 years", you're entitled to charge a lot more. Like with any trade, if you're just starting out then you can't expect to get paid as much as more experienced workers. The engineers I worked with before had not been doing it for any time as long as that.

I'd be interested to know if you'd still "f*cking twat" me after reading this. If so, I must have everything backwards.

Folex wrote: »
    Steady on there, buddy. You do realise I meant hiring your own engineer for your own band, right? As in, you bring him / her with you and she engineers just for you, not for anyone else.

If you do realise that and are still upset at the price, then all I can tell you is that I'm working from experience here. If you expect to get paid a lot more than that for engineering just one band in one pub in Dublin (for, let's assume, one hour + setting up time as well, if you're helping with that), then I'm surprised.

'studiorat' is a bigshot - didn't you know? He wouldn't bet out of bed for anything less than a €1k gig, lol! He seems to have a typical 'chip-on-his-shoulder' sound engineer attitude though....way to reinforce the stereotype!

Just name the venue FFS - unless your real name is 'Jelly 292' then I think you're anonymous enough...

I pretty much did, the whole problem here is with the resident female engineer in the Sugar Club. Rude , way beyond the norm.

I pretty much did, the whole problem here is with the resident female engineer in the Sugar Club. Rude and incompetent , way beyond the norm.
    Cool, thanks. But I could have sworn you said ""Funky Cinema".

smurf32 wrote: »
    stay safe all
    smurf

if it was a bird pms springs to mind, id not use a drum stick id use me size 10.
    To all bands out there grow a pair of balls and dont let anybody talk down 2 u
    When somebody gives u **** give it back 10 fold!!!!!!
    ROCK N ROLL
    Stay safe
    little blue man

"Was a bird pms springs to mind, id not use a drum stick id use me size 10"

Gender has nothing to do with this issue and I would not suggest any physical reaction, ever, I think your joking, well I hope.

In this instance the whole thing would descend into a giant slagging match if we were to give back '10 fold' the grief that was on show.

I did not want to descend to the level of aggression that was being shown to us, there are more subtle ways to make your point.

On the 2 nights in question we did not rise to the bait and played 2 blinding gigs which I hope pi$$ed the engineer of no end.

Its terrible when an engineer seems to want to do their level best to ruin a bands gig, why are you in this game at all??

"If the guy was getting paid properly he might have been bothered to give you the customer satisfaction your ego needs. I suppose you could blame the promoter cause there's nobody coming to the gig so there isn't the budget to pay the engineer properly, or is it that nobody goes to gigs anymore?"

You seem not to like working with bands so why do it for '20 years' ?

This is the attitude really bugs me. If you read the post you will see I wrote that NO ONE gave the engineer any reason to over act the way they did.
    I have been backed up on this here by other people there that night.

FYI- the venue was full on the first night I witnessed this happen, and nearly full on the second night.
    Also, these were not amateur Eamon Dorans on Sat afternoon type bands, they had a modicum of stagecraft/sense.

Your post strongly enforces to people here the negative/disdainful attitude to musicians of SOME engineers in Dublin have.

I cound not imagine hiring someone with your attitude and I hope you aint behind the desk at any gig I may do.

I will add that I have worked with a load of bang on engineers in Dublin who care about the job they do. I have no problem at all with studio rats and the input they can give to a band can be invaluable.

I do have a problem with incompetent a$$holes who give me unwarranted flack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Thomas from Presence

I would like to point out that before everyone rounds on that girl that they are made aware that they are hearing one side of the story. I can recall a band showing up to Fibbers and telling the very capable and very experienced engineer how to do his job. They demonstrated all the knowledge of a freshly dead liver fluke and all the attitude of three spoiled brats.

I had to take time out to lecture them on basic manners and to point out to them that the sound engineers job was to make them sound as good as possible for the audience and to explain to them using basic physics that what they hear on stage is not what the rest of us had to hear.

It was no surprise that they could barely play a proper set, their demo was clearly the product of session men and/or protools. They could not use their gear, their kit was out of tune (this can happen...) and their singer was a joke.

Needless to say they were all over a certain internet forum whining about the sound engineer and I.

The poster maybe relating a proper version of events but it is surely common sense and the honourable thing to hold off judging anyone

This may be a hobby for the people here but it is a wage packet to other people in the real world and if this type of professional criticism is to be levelled then an effort should be made to allow that person defend themself if they are to be pointed out so obviously.

Thomas from Presence, have you actually read thru this whole post fro the start?

Thank you for assuming we are all amature hobbiests also, I earn half my living playing.

Of course you are only hearing on side of the story. I have tried to be a balanced as I can be and I don’t want this person to be vilified, I just wanted this example to be discussed, maybe for all our greater good.
    This was an extreme example that I felt strongly about.

Its a free and public Forum so any retort is welcome.

I would like to point out that before everyone rounds on that girl that they are made aware that they are hearing one side of the story. I can recall a band showing up to Fibbers and telling the very capable and very experienced engineer how to do his job. They demonstrated all the knowledge of a freshly dead liver fluke and all the attitude of three spoiled brats.

I had to take time out to lecture them on basic manners and to point out to them that the sound engineers job was to make them sound as good as possible for the audience and to explain to them using basic physics that what they hear on stage is not what the rest of us had to hear.

It was no surprise that they could barely play a proper set, their demo was clearly the product of session men and/or protools. They could not use their gear, their kit was out of tune (this can happen...) and their singer was a joke.

Needless to say they were all over a certain internet forum whining about the sound engineer and I.

The poster maybe relating a proper version of events but it is surely common sense and the honourable thing to hold off judging anyone

This may be a hobby for the people here but it is a wage packet to other people in the real world and if this type of professional criticism is to be levelled then an effort should be made to allow that person defend themself if they are to be pointed out so obviously.

Completely not relevant to this complaint Thomas. Believe me, I know what you are talking about, but this was not one of those occasions. I am a calm bloke and don't let this stuff get to me, and as a qualified engineer myself, I know what to do when I'm getting a soundcheck. However, witnessing the event in question on 2 seperate nights, it is totally justified to say the engineer was well out of order. Even if she was given an excuse of, the band didn't know what they wre doing, she'd still be out of order. It is one of the worst attitudes I've seen. Whatever the reasons were, its still quite categorically wrong and uncalled for. i mean she told one guy in a very snide manner, 'he needed his hearing checked', because he was asking for more guitar in his monitors. Now like you said, the front of house is different from the stage mix, she see's her monitor pot is loud, the guitarist wants it louder, then make it louder! if it can't go louder, then fair enough, but the attitude. sometimes it wasn't what was being said, it was the delivery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Thomas from Presence

I'm sorry i was not aware there was a witness to this though I still think that somebody (perhaps the person who started the thread?) should point the venue to this. It is only fair and is the only way the complaint will have an effect.

I know that I would appreciate it and would act on it ASAP considering the traffic it's getting.

I'm sorry i was not aware there was a witness to this though I still think that somebody (perhaps the person who started the thread?) should point the venue to this. It is only fair and is the only way the complaint will have an effect.

I know that I would appreciate it and would act on it ASAP considering the traffic it's getting.

Yeh, you're probably right. TBH, I'd love to say it to the engineer. Not in a 'whats your problem' way, more of a, 'maybe you should give people a chance' way. It does seem to be a bit, 'these feckin amateur bands' type attitude. I can empathise, but it is her job, and she is being paid (probably not enough now, but thats another story). All you want is a professional attitude, and failing that, just politeness. Wouldn't like to see her lose her job, because in fairness, I though the sound was good. I'd just love for her to realise she's being very abnoxious, and maybe try cut it out. If it continued, then 'rat her out':D thing is though, sometimes, its just easier to leave it be. i could say something, and the way things go, i could end up being the villain. you know yourself. TBH, personally, i just laugh to myself, ignore the lip and try get he job done.

Hi Thomas,

Part of the reason I posted was because I felt it was the only resort.

On the first gig when this happened to me the promoter was there and witnessed it. He was very nice to us about it but stopped short of getting any actual action.

I understand his position; he is earning his bread and butter in this venue and does not want to rock the boat with them. In his position I would be just trying to keep everyone sweet.

On the second occasion when I saw the same thing happen to another band he was not present for the most part.

The engineer however complained to him about the band and this band were forced to apologise to the engineer if they wanted to play the gig.

I was fairly speechless when I saw/heard this, I thought the engineer was being made to apologise to the band!!!

So what can you do? Rock and a hard place so I started this post.

I would not post something like this maliciously or just to stir anything up, indeed it took 3 days thinking about it before I posted this and I did initally not name the place.

"TBH, personally, i just laugh to myself, ignore the lip and try get he job done."

Yep, 100% right, I did not laugh but i did bite me lip and get the job done.
    Next time I'll try to have a giggle to myself ; )

Poppy Cock wrote: »
    'studiorat' is a bigshot - didn't you know? He wouldn't bet out of bed for anything less than a €1k gig, lol! He seems to have a typical 'chip-on-his-shoulder' sound engineer attitude though....way to reinforce the stereotype!

Very clever, judging by your previous posts though you don't seem to have much good to say about anything.

Studiorat works hard for his wedge here sir, he also has the patience of a fooking saint and a list of satisfied and repeat clients. He also as a pretty fair idea who we are talking about and that person is a very good engineer.

The idea of a load musicians jumping on the band wagon (nice pun!) to lambast someone because they are having a bad day is the reason I bothered to sign on to this and get involved.

As for the 'chip on the shoulder' quip, we are on a forum here pal, I don't need to use my professional courtesy here do I? If I was behind the board obviously it would be a different situation.

If there was a personality clash at the venue, it should have been addressed at the venue, between yourself and the promoter and the venue management. (it's not like this is a precedent or anything).

If you are unhappy with the treatment you are getting, sort it out at the time. Personally I feel that whining about it on the boards a few days later is as unprofessional as the senario described in the OP.

If You just need to get it off your chest, blog it! Don't put it up for discussion and watch the vultures decend.

Dave Slevin.:mad:

Whats the prob here ! she is and everybody there let her away with it.
    yes it was a joke about the size 10 but not about the balls, she had the big lads on the night and all of u done nothing.
    As for the promoter it was his job to sort it out its his gig.
    RESPECT is what its all about and she had none for you r the other guys there
    on the night.The first thing I would do is name and shame that way nobody has to put up with this type of **** ever again.
    she would b gone for good!
    smurf

studiorat wrote: »
    He also as a pretty fair idea who we are talking about and that person is a very good engineer.

Hi Studiorat. I think you make a valid point regarding sorting it out on the night. Also, i agree with her being a good engineer, I've never had any issue with the sound. However, the twice I've seen her in action, she has been nothing short of rude and abnoxious to various people. Not myself, maybe its because as an engineer myself, i know what i should ask for etc. the unfortunate thing in all of this, is that her abilities to engineer is overshadowed by such a poor attitude. You have bands actually afraid to say or ask anything, in fear they wont get a gig there or she'll botch up their sound etc. i know this is crazy, but the bottom line is, it would just be so much better for 'everyone' if there was a bit more politeness. As i said, the two gigs i witnessed, the sound was good, but she really wound up the bands with her rudeness. Maybe she just needs to be a little more patient, or even talk to the bands before hand to let them know how it works so she wont be so irritated at their 'ignorance'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I was there on one of the nights in question and I can say that she was given no reason to act like she did. Once she started the band didn't take any of her sh*t and it pretty much did become a slagging match, pretty funny for all the other bands watching though.

When we got on to soundcheck we just kept it short and sweet and knew what not to ask for, as we know how our requests would be met. Probably the best way to go about it really.

Well the show is on for punters to see the bands, no band no show. Either they ignore it or don't play until the get the situation sorted to their satisfaction.
    What I object to, the shower of aul'ones bitching about it on a friggin' forum.

STOP WHINING and sort it out...

Dave.

Hi guys,
    I feel that this is nearly the first time we've ever actually had a discussion on here. Very strange altogether. I'm definitely sitting on the fence here, but I would like to remind everyone here that personal abuse (it hasn't happened yet, but in case) will not be tolerated under any circumstances. Also, lets keep slander/libel out of it too.

Cheers,
    Barry

What I object to, the shower of aul'ones bitching about it on a friggin' forum

Buts its OK to blog it as far as your concerned?
    Everyone here has been pretty reasonable while you have come off as quite aggressive.

Buts its OK to blog it as far as you concerned?

It'd be read by less people and less of a discussion.