Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the PDF

• 04-11-2007 3:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Alright people,

Im thinking of joining the PDF, i was wondering could anyone tell me how meny i would be interviewed by, I have never been in front of more then one person for an interview & to think that there might be 3 or 4 makes me **** my pants.

Also another few questions,

1.How long is the interview?
    2.What kind of questions do the ask?
    3.What should i wear for the interview? i cant afford suits & dont have any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭bostonian

you can rent a suit at a tuxedo shop for far less than the price of buying a suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gargleblood07

bostonian wrote: »
    you can rent a suit at a tuxedo shop for far less than the price of buying a suit.

Thats very true mate, thanks i never thought of that DOH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

you will be placed in front of a panel of three it usually consists of a sergeant, 2nd leautenant and a captain they,ll ask you to firstly give them an insight into urself then they,ll ask you questions on why you would like to become a member of the defence forces and if you know what the defence forces does and all that kinda stuff present yourself well and show a bit of maturity,discipline and self confidence in the interview like sit up straight in the chair don,t swear and answer what they ask you to the best of your ability, they will also ask you do you have any questions to ask them so if you have any worries that would be the time to ask them, good luck with it anyway you should have no problems i,d say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

bostonian wrote: »

You can buy a suit for much the same cost as renting one. (TK Max sell branded suits too)
    Get yourself into Penny's and you can get get a suit for well under €100.
    My local tuxedo shop charges €65 to hire. :eek:

May as well buy one OP as it'll be be handy for other occasions too.

Best of luck in the interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gargleblood07

Thanks to all of the above for answering my questions i appreciate it so much.
    Again thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭uptherebels

what kind of response are they looking for as to why you want to join the defence forces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

just say youve wanted to do it for years and you like the look of the lifestyle and youd love to serve your country overseas and would like to eventually move up the ranks, thats pretty much it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

what kind of response are they looking for as to why you want to join the defence forces

Don't say "to burn the village, to burn the motherf...n village to the ground" :D

Seriously though, adventure, travel, military skills, outdoor life, a life less ordinary .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭e38418

i did my interview a couple of months ago so hope this helps!
    there were two sergeants, a company sergeant and a captain on the interview board. It's not too nerve wracking though as you can just look at whoever's asking you questions at any one time (good idea to keep eye contact as it shows confidence). you'll be introduced and told the format of the interview. They'll start off by asking about you and wil question whatever you've written on your application. thats the first of the four areas you'll be questioned on. This section includes any team sports you may have played.
    The second section will be based on the notion on teamwork where you will be asked to provide one or two situations of how you worked well in a team. They usually follow on with questions about what examples you've just given. e.g. did a situation ever arise where someone in the team wasnt doing their fair share and what you did about it.
    The third section will be based on situations which prove you can cope under pressure. After questioning you on your examples they usually go on to ask how do those around you know you're feeling pressurised and how do you cope with it?
    The final section will be based on what you know and expect from army life. e.g. overseas missions, daily barrack duties, pay
    then they'll ask how you think you'd manage the fitness test and if you have any questions.
    talk loudly and confidently, address them by their rank. Most of all they want to know that you have enough confidence in youself to be able to complete training.
    i hope this helps and best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

Remember wait to be told to be seated. and sit to attention. palms facing down on the knees. sit up.

Address the board by their Rank. Officers Rank is in there to.. look at it.

It is imperative that you wear a suit..If you can't afford one try and borrow one.. or as some one mentioned hire one..60 quid is not a lot if you give a good impression to the board. Be Clean shavedand take any studs, ear rings out. the board don't care if you can't afford one.. They just see a lazy bloke who half arsed attempted an interview.

If you play sports and are Active tell them so.. and familiarize your self with the Army and what We do.. http://military.ie/ and http://archive.irishmilitaryonline.com/board/index.php have loads of resources . best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

e38418 wrote: »
    i did my interview a couple of months ago so hope this helps!
    there were two sergeants, a company sergeant and a captain on the interview board. It's not too nerve wracking though as you can just look at whoever's asking you questions at any one time (good idea to keep eye contact as it shows confidence). you'll be introduced and told the format of the interview. They'll start off by asking about you and wil question whatever you've written on your application. thats the first of the four areas you'll be questioned on. This section includes any team sports you may have played.
    The second section will be based on the notion on teamwork where you will be asked to provide one or two situations of how you worked well in a team. They usually follow on with questions about what examples you've just given. e.g. did a situation ever arise where someone in the team wasnt doing their fair share and what you did about it.
    The third section will be based on situations which prove you can cope under pressure. After questioning you on your examples they usually go on to ask how do those around you know you're feeling pressurised and how do you cope with it?
    The final section will be based on what you know and expect from army life. e.g. overseas missions, daily barrack duties, pay
    then they'll ask how you think you'd manage the fitness test and if you have any questions.
    talk loudly and confidently, address them by their rank. Most of all they want to know that you have enough confidence in youself to be able to complete training.
    i hope this helps and best of luck!
    Great post, thanks for the info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭uptherebels

[QUOTE=e38418;54589438
    The second section will be based on the notion on teamwork where you will be asked to provide one or two situations of how you worked well in a team. [/QUOTE]
    i dont know about anyone else but the only "team" iv ever been a part of is the gaa team how would you explain how yuou worked well in that? dedication? work ethic maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

when you say adress them by there what exactly would you say

Any Male officer, you would address by "Sir". Female Officer by Ma'am. And NCO's by their Rank.. (Sargent) or C/s which means Company Sargent or C/Q which means Company Quartermaster.depending on who's on the board.

Their is a link to the ranks in one of my previous posts.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

Any Male officer, you would address by "Sir". Female Officer by Ma'am. And NCO's by their Rank.. (Sargent) or C/s which means Company Sargent or C/Q which means Company Quartermaster.depending on who's on the board.

Their is a link to the ranks in one of my previous posts.;)
    feck that he a civvy he should,nt have to address anyone by there rank well address the NCOs by there rank coz they earned there stripes in sweat and blood and a good days hard work but the officer nah they would,nt know what a days work was bloody pencil pushers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

So i suppose the two years in the cadet school and the 6 months on their young officers course plus overseas training wouldn't count in your book? :rolleyes: Whatever your views on officers, don't try claim they didn't earn their rank, at least not anything below Lt Col

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Company Sgt

joining pdf in jan cant wait just wondering anybody else out there joining

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Random question here for ye..do they do background checks on successful applicants?

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Random question here for ye..do they do background checks on successful applicants?

yes! they do....

How much of a background check do they do?
    Obviously they'll look to see if the successful applicant has a criminal record and what not.
    Do they look into the rest of your families records-parents, brothers,sisters? or how about aunts and uncles and grandparents?

not too sure to be honest, i think they check you immediate family to make sure noone is/was a member of any subversive group or organisation, you dont half sound dodgey fast mover!! :D:p

:D:D..indeed! Just aswell im happy in my life as a student teacher! lol..

Why I ask is that my brothers said I cant go for it even if I wanted to due to our 'family history' (grandfather)
    Old IRA stuff or something..I don't know tbh.
    So am I ruled on based on history that I havn't a clue about/don't want to know about/something that was beyond my powers/could not change..

My mothers cousins daughter is high up in the army I believe..that count for anything?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Fast mover,

I'm sure that they'll accept that the old IRA was a different kettle of fish in your grandfather's day. I wouldn't be worried about that as long as noone within a generation of you is a bit shady.
    I'm clear for enlistment and my great grandfather well... would have been a little bit more subversive than your grandfather sounds right up until his death in the late 60s. I wouldn't worry too much about it as long as your immediate family have clean records and aren't suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    :D:D..indeed! Just aswell im happy in my life as a student teacher! lol..

Why I ask is that my brothers said I cant go for it even if I wanted to due to our 'family history' (grandfather)
    Old IRA stuff or something..I don't know tbh.
    So am I ruled on based on history that I havn't a clue about/don't want to know about/something that was beyond my powers/could not change..

My mothers cousins daughter is high up in the army I believe..that count for anything?:D

they check you,your parents,aunts,uncles,siblings and spouse/girlfriend/boyfriend

feck that he a civvy he should,nt have to address anyone by there rank well address the NCOs by there rank coz they earned there stripes in sweat and blood and a good days hard work but the officer nah they would,nt know what a days work was bloody pencil pushers

If he wants to stand out from at least a 30 other applicants that have gone before him on any interview day he should... Do you realize you contradicted yourself?:rolleyes:

Its the Pencil pusher sitting in the middle decides if he progress to a fitness test btw:rolleyes:

does anyone know if PDF/RDF security clearance is the same as GS security clearance?i.e.if you pass RDF security clearance,does that mean you'll pass Garda one?

I ask not because I have ever been arrested or in trouble w/ GS,but my uncle was a bit of a ****ing eejit in his day...he went to live in US about 20 years ago but it just has me worried

eroo wrote: »
    does anyone know if PDF/RDF security clearance is the same as GS security clearance?i.e.if you pass RDF security clearance,does that mean you'll pass Garda one?

I ask not because I have ever been arrested or in trouble w/ GS,but my uncle was a bit of a ****ing eejit in his day...he went to live in US about 20 years ago but it just has me worried

I'd say you'll be alright..:)

Well folks, thanks for answering my questions earlier.
    There's a slight chance I *might* just get in if I try it seems..pity we'll never know!:D

I'd say you'll be alright..:)

thanks,hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

would you think if i applied i could be alright because my father was in trouble 26 years ago

and has never been in trouble since and is a publican

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

joining pdf in jan cant wait just wondering anybody else out there joining

Do you start your training in January or are you just applying in January?

At least those "pencil pushers" have a command of the English language.

To the OP, If you want to get on with your career and and join the PDF, do not walk in with ex_infantryman's advice!

Poccington wrote: »
    Do you start your training in January or are you just applying in January?

No Starting In January Some Time

Good stuff, I think you'll be training in the Brugha. Best of luck in your training, you're gonna love it

Are you in pdf yourself ? Think were training in gormanstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Are you in pdf yourself ?

You had to ask ? :rolleyes:

Are you in pdf yourself ? Think were training in gormanstown

In Gormo eh? Even better, I hope you like the sea :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭trellheim

Nowt like running on wet sand.

You had to ask ? :rolleyes:

Yeah You Are Commenting On These

ah No bother love the sea love the beach what more could you ask for!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

That could change by the time ya's are finished. Loads of recruits in gormonston at the minute. You's starting at the end of jan yea?

c wAT HAPPENS LOOKING FORWARD TO IT THINK ITS END OF JAN HOPE ITS EARLIER

That will soon change :p

You'll hate the thought of getting in the water due to the fact it'll be ****ing freezing out...... But once you're wet and sandy, it's gas craic.

That will soon change :p

You'll hate the thought of getting in the water due to the fact it'll be ****ing freezing out...... But once you're wet and sandy, it's gas craic.

ILL JUST WEAR A WET SUIT THEN ILL KEEP WARM !!!!!!!!

Hahahahahaha.

You'll be wearing shorts :D

Hahahahahaha.

You'll be wearing shorts :D

Oh B***** Ill Bring Long Johns

Its grand once your in it sure. Will keep ya cool. Want be ay earlier than that because the two stars that are there at the minute will have to pass out and get out to free up space for you's and they are finished in last week of jan

m.j.w wrote: »
    Its grand once your in it sure. Will keep ya cool. Want be ay earlier than that because the two stars that are there at the minute will have to pass out and get out to free up space for you's and they are finished in last week of jan

a few weeks relaxing then have you done it ?

Yea im based in gormonston.

m.j.w wrote: »
    Yea im based in gormonston.[/qu

have you passed out or still in training ?