Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Matt the Jap

• 03-11-2007 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭

Evening all,

I had a friend in Trinity who would tell me about a character residing in Trinity nicknamed Matt the Jap,

I was just wondering if anyone had a photo of the gent.
    He sounds like a genuine character

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

83046452a83051734b739891201m.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

So thats what the little gent looks like.
    Much obliged,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

Actually has anyone seen him recently? Despite frequent forays into the GMB, I've neither spotted him reading newspapers or eating sandwiches in quite some time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I saw him during freshers week and last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Saw him wandering around outside Starbucks last week (maybe he's upgrading from the Pav?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Yeah I see him most weeks in Trinity. Had a new hat this week actually, someone joked it was him dressing up for halloween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

sigh... In galway does gent mean bollix?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Matt is always up in the LGBT society room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

He's not a "gent". He's rude and obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Share your experience

I don't know the chap, so I'm using gent as a term of unfamiliarity.

I mentioned him to my old man today, who used to spend a lot of time in the National Library as he writes books.
    He knew him immediately and I was told(this is not my own experiences or thoughts)

Spent a lot of time in the national library
    He's well off
    he was always researching something, especially in the winter
    VERY violent,the staff were afraid of him
    carried around a walking stick which he would brandish fiercely if he thought you'd run into him.
    Was deaf and dumb,which was the cause of his violence, he's frustrated
    was kicked out of trinity library for something to do with damaging old books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

I heard he wrote foot-notes in some really old manuscripts from the library. What a total legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

Just because he's deaf and dumb (a very archaic term now, by the way) doesn't necessarily mean it made him frustrated. Most deaf people (particularly prelingually deaf) adapt very well and aren't frustrated. He COULD be an exception, but I wouldn't go around assuming it's just because of that. He's probably just a little touched anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I heard he wrote foot-notes in some really old manuscripts from the library. What a total legend.

Oh yeah, damaging priceless documents, he's so cool :rolleyes:

I don't know the chap, so I'm using gent as a term of unfamiliarity.

I mentioned him to my old man today, who used to spend a lot of time in the National Library as he writes books.
    He knew him immediately and I was told(this is not my own experiences or thoughts)

Spent a lot of time in the national library
    He's well off
    he was always researching something, especially in the winter
    VERY violent,the staff were afraid of him
    carried around a walking stick which he would brandish fiercely if he thought you'd run into him.
    Was deaf and dumb,which was the cause of his violence, he's frustrated
    was kicked out of trinity library for something to do with damaging old books.

For a deaf and dumb person its amazing that he was able to study in trinity and is able to hear. :rolleyes: Back in the day he would also speak.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I Had the Pleasure of bringing Mateo Home From college One Day 2 decembers with Rory Traynor. he Was unwell and Didnt seem Himself. His Appartment/house is Quite Small, and Was covered in Newspapers. He Seemed to be Very Happy, and Thanked us both By Letter. (his Handwriting is Quite Nice)

One of His Neighbours Is A nurse, who used to keep an eye on him. He Got frustrated because people were making Fun of him. He Disliked the name "matt the Jap". I remember he Denyed Damaging manuscripts from the libuary. If you spend the time getting to know the man, he is Quite nice.

Boston wrote: »
    For a deaf and dumb person its amazing that he was able to study in trinity and is able to hear. :rolleyes: Back in the day he would also speak.

I've never met him.Like i said, I was saying what I'd heard about the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Saw him about three weeks ago, stumbling out the main entrance looking quite frail.

I remember him from my undergrad years in the 80's, but he really looks sick and ill now.

John wrote: »
    Oh yeah, damaging priceless documents, he's so cool :rolleyes:

I don't think he's cool, I think he's a legend. Theres a difference. And using smileys makes you lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

You might be interested in this interview he did for The University Record: link. I saw him in the Hist conversation room on the Friday of Fresher's Week, but not since; he doesn't seem to stray near the Hamilton very often.

dan719 wrote: »
    Matt is always up in the LGBT society room.
    Trying to woo some youngsters perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Yet no one has said why he is not nice (from personal experiences)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 scengi

he is selfish. i don't say that in a bad way though. the human race is selfish. matt is just more open about it. he is converstional if you have the time to write with him. i find him pleasant and, if nothing else, a bit of a weird part of trinity that we all are sort of intrigued by!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

THe reason why he isnt the most social of people some times is probably because of the likes of these kinds of threads. Any time I've ever seen him there is usually people pointing and laughing at him so how do you expect him to treat people?

I've never had any run ins with him but I have heard all the stories. At this stage its hard to tell fact from fiction.

Agreed,
    He's a character,
    so people attribute all kinda things to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

kearnsr wrote: »
    THe reason why he isnt the most social of people some times is probably because of the likes of these kinds of threads. Any time I've ever seen him there is usually people pointing and laughing at him so how do you expect him to treat people?

I've never had any run ins with him but I have heard all the stories. At this stage its hard to tell fact from fiction.

Well said.

THe reason why he isnt the most social of people some times is probably because of the likes of these kinds of threads.
    Or maybe its because he's deaf and dumb :rolleyes:

What has this thread got to do with him being sociable?

Marshy wrote: »

He isn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

He is(in no particular order)
    A thief
    A vandal
    A pervert
    A down and out
    A liar
    Violent
    Slanderous
    Disgusting.
    I love the way people say,"oh yeah man,he's a legend" when they've been in the college ten minutes and dont know anything about him.He has destroyed books in the library,assaulted and verbally abused staff,assualted and verbally abused staff in the arts block,sexually harassed female students(for which he was banned fro the campus),stolen food from the arts block cafe,damaged somebody's car because it was blocking in some skip he was rummaging in.He has libelled and slandered several college staff for which Trinity News got into trouble(they ran the article)and he's basicaly a dirty old lecher.If you think people who destroy valuable parts of Irish literary heritage and molest 18 year old students are "legends" you need to get a grip.

He isn't.
    I'm only going on what I've been told.

Either way he doesn't speak and doesn't listen.

Heres the thing right, see the way he writes stuff out, he started doing that 20 odd years ago, and at the time he could speak fine. It was easier to get stuff off people that way. He way be deaf now with age, but he's never been dumb.

Marshy wrote: »

What has this thread got to do with him being sociable?

Whats that got to do with it? If a person was a wheel chair and wasnt that sociable it doest mean its because of the wheel chair.
    Degsy wrote: »

A thief
    A vandal
    A pervert
    A down and out
    A liar
    Violent
    Slanderous
    Disgusting.
    I love the way people say,"oh yeah man,he's a legend" when they've been in the college ten minutes and dont know anything about him.He has destroyed books in the library,assaulted and verbally abused staff,assualted and verbally abused staff in the arts block,sexually harassed female students(for which he was banned fro the campus),stolen food from the arts block cafe,damaged somebody's car because it was blocking in some skip he was rummaging in.He has libelled and slandered several college staff for which Trinity News got into trouble(they ran the article)and he's basicaly a dirty old lecher.If you think people who destroy valuable parts of Irish literary heritage and molest 18 year old students are "legends" you need to get a grip.

How much of that is true? I've heard it all but as I said its hard to know fact and fiction.

Theres records of everything Degsy has claimed.

Must have been after my time. I've never seen anything. Any links?

May have been before links :)

You seriously expect links? Go talk to the security officers.

Does TN or who ever did the interview with him not have web links or archives?

Whats that got to do with it? If a person was a wheel chair and wasnt that sociable it doest mean its because of the wheel chair.
    Thats hardly a valid comparison in fairness. If you can only converse with the guy through pen and paper, logically that will limit the social interaction that takes place.

A thief
    A vandal
    A pervert
    A down and out
    A liar
    Violent
    Slanderous
    Disgusting.

Ho ho thats our Matt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

Ah, Flananator, you arrived in the college a month ago. You might want to spend a little more time here before warbling about 'our' Matt. Enough with the jolly ho ho great Trinity tradition stuff here. You haven't the faintest idea of the various problems, accusations and issues that are listed in Degsy's comprehensive post. They long pre-date you. Come on...just because someone told you that he's a legend doesn't mean you should parrot it.

Does TN or who ever did the interview with him not have web links or archives?

I see, I don't have a link to the interview but it wasn't a balanced piece, and did not mention anything degsy has.

A thief
    A vandal
    A pervert
    A down and out
    A liar
    Violent
    Slanderous
    Disgusting.

Degsy, I have the greatest respect for you as your an Oz fan, but I must say,
    what kind of sexual harassment was he accused of? i heard some rumor that he lifted up a skirt with his cane or something.

All the other stuff I've heard before except for the car

I see, I don't have a link to the interview but it wasn't a balanced piece, and did not mention anything degsy has.

Sorry should have made it clearer from the start

what kind of sexual harassment was he accused of?

Did you not answer your own question?

i heard some rumor that he lifted up a skirt with his cane or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

There was this time he was in the Arts block for a lecture. He came in, and there was somebody sitting in what he thought was his seat. He started smashing his cane down at the ground until the girl would move.

I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's when the security in the Arts Block first decided to kick him out.

Also rememeber when Al Pacino was at the Phil, and on the next TN there was a picture of the old woman security guard getting an autograph on the front. Matt wrote 'bitch' on the picture on about 50 copies of TN left in the GMB, and on more around campus.

The guy is a leech. If he talked, the entire of college would hate the guy. Because he doesn't, he gets sympathy. That's why he does it too.

Did you not answer your own question?

Yes, well done for seeing that,
    I was asking if that was the case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Degsy, I have the greatest respect for you as your an Oz fan, but I must say,
    what kind of sexual harassment was he accused of? i heard some rumor that he lifted up a skirt with his cane or something.

All the other stuff I've heard before except for the car

It was ongoing harassment of a girl called Lynette Laurens,she was a BESS student around 1995.She complained after he attempted to grope her,banged into her every time he saw her and basicaly behaved in a disgusting manner.In the piece which was entitled "college personality banned for harrasment",Matt admitted "excessively joking" about her dress sense.If you talk to any staff who were around at this time they will tell you that was pretty much the final straw as far as he was concerned,his agression and destructive behaviour were well known and i personally know two library staff that he attempted to assault,including one woman.

xeduCat wrote: »
    Ah, Flananator, you arrived in the college a month ago. You might want to spend a little more time here before warbling about 'our' Matt. Enough with the jolly ho ho great Trinity tradition stuff here. You haven't the faintest idea of the various problems, accusations and issues that are listed in Degsy's comprehensive post. They long pre-date you. Come on...just because someone told you that he's a legend doesn't mean you should parrot it.

I was infact taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Joza

Oh him!

I see him wandering down Pearse Street in the mornings! He is quite frail and walks hunched over, extremely slowly.

Maybe he's related to our dear old Knacker Dwarf in Galway.

Is he of oriental origin?