Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

poll competition 2007

• 03-11-2007 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

Bernard hopkins came up with the idea and i think its great, so here goes, make your prediction and get your scores added up after each competition fight, today is Calzaghe v Kessler for example.
    scores to be
    10 points for correct winner
    20 bonus for correct round
    50 for a draw as they are harder to guess
    5 for guessing a decision.

im guessing Kessler to win in the 9th round so if i am correct i will score-10 for winner and 20 for correct round meaning i can win 30 points with my guess-if you miss a fight you lose points! tough! only the bigger fights are in the competition as most people know the fighters.
    we'll do this 1 till 2008 and start 2008 afresh when we all understand it better.league table will be done up after the fights.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Kessler to win round 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

I 'M IN

Kessler in the 7th

ps will you be naming fight list or are predictions only available on one fight at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

joe ud

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    I 'M IN

Kessler in the 7th

ps will you be naming fight list or are predictions only available on one fight at a time.
    we'll name fights as they come, anyone can reccomend a fight also! best if its the big 1's though-Miguel Cotto vs. Sugar Shane Mosley next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Calzaghe points .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Kessler - stoppage in the tenth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wardyeire

Calzaghe in 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wardyeire

so you think someone with a history of beating these

Chris Eubank 45-2-2
    Robin Reid 26-1-1
    David Starie 22-1
    Omar Sheika 20-1
    Richie Woodhall 26-2
    Mario Veit 30-0 & 45-1
    Charles Brewer 37-8
    Miguel Angel Jimenez 21-1
    Jeff Lacy 21-0
    Sakio Bika 20-1-2

Compared to

Markus Beyer 35-2-1
    Librado Andrade 24-0

(cant find any other opponents of real comparison)

and apart from one fight in Australia, Kessler has never boxed outside of Denmark as a pro….and will never have experienced the atmosphere like tonight

watch the master in action......:)

wardyeire wrote: »
    so you think someone with a history of beating these

Chris Eubank 45-2-2
    Robin Reid 26-1-1
    David Starie 22-1
    Omar Sheika 20-1
    Richie Woodhall 26-2
    Mario Veit 30-0 & 45-1
    Charles Brewer 37-8
    Miguel Angel Jimenez 21-1
    Jeff Lacy 21-0
    Sakio Bika 20-1-2

Compared to

Markus Beyer 35-2-1
    Librado Andrade 24-0

(cant find any other opponents of real comparison)

and apart from one fight in Australia, Kessler has never boxed outside of Denmark as a pro….and will never have experienced the atmosphere like tonight

watch the master in action......:)

Mundine is a far better win than both Andrade and Beyer , plus he also beat him in Austrailia in front of 30,000 people . Not quite the same atmostphere but a good fight to prepare himself for the cauldron he's going to go into and against a quick combination puncher again .

Siaca and Lucas were good fighters too , better than some of the names you've listed for Calzaghe wins .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

calzaghe on points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Calzaghe on points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

Excellent !

I think the Calzaghe points is the wisest bet to be honest,..BUT........

Im going with my heart here with a kessler KO , Round 10.

BTW.... Never really thought Kessler was quick, but Ill admit my knowledge of him isnt very extensive :) only seen him a couple of times.
    he does as Big ears says hit clean and crisp powerful punches in a straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Joe Calzaghe in round 8.

Should have put Enzo mac and Marquez fights in, have a few every week there are decent figts on and keep score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Bo Malicious

Im in Scandinavia at the moment boys - no atmosphere here but Im rooting for Calzaghe.

Dont think the Dane will be too put out by the atmosphere. Im going to go with Calzaghe - stoppage in 7th. Hes a legend - Ive heaps of respect for him and has always come accross as a true gentleman. (PBF could learn a thing or two about class from Calzaghe but thats another argument) My only concern would be Calzaghe is getting that bit older now - I want him to retire on top...

end of todays comp.

TABLE
    1. Megadodge 15 pts
    2 Theone 15pts
    3 big ears 15pts
    4 jonathon woss 15pts
    5 wardyeire 10pts
    6 joeyjj 10pts
    7 bo malicious 10pts

well done joe and all the lads too!
    next up cotto v mosley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Calzaghe on points!! Honest guv! I put me own cash on it!:cool:

Damn - missed out! :(

cotto and mosley will be alot harder to call
    Thanks for running this comp aswell cowserp

theone wrote: »
    cotto and mosley will be alot harder to call
    Thanks for running this comp aswell cowzerp

No problems, Bernard hopkins deserves credit too, it gives us a good interest so should go good, this year can be trial and we'll do a full season next year..

TABLE
    1. Megadodge 15 pts
    2 Theone 15pts
    3 big ears 15pts
    4 jonathon woss 15pts
    5 dlofnep 15pts
    6 wardyeire 10pts
    7 joeyjj 10pts
    8 bo malicious 10pts
    9 jayroyal 10pts

scores to be
    10 points for correct winner
    20 bonus for correct round
    50 for a draw as they are harder to guess
    5 for guessing a decision.

Cotto v Mosley-Make your predictions-scores above and table so far!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,378 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I'm going for Mosley to shade it over 12 rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Great idea lads. Anychance i could join in ( i pick Joe to win Unanimous decision haha) only messin from the next fight on???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

Cotto over twelve rounds

Mosley on points .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ah feck it, I called Calzaghe by decision in another thread - Can I have the points for that? I didn't see this thread.

Here's my post for proof! http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54332704&postcount=8

I'm gonna go mosley round 7 tko(that covers a ko aswell i hope :D )

MBC wrote: »
    Great idea lads. Anychance i could join in ( i pick Joe to win Unanimous decision haha) only messin from the next fight on???

Join in from now, no probs! cotto and mosley

dlofnep your on the table!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Ah can't believe i missed this i was in cardiff on friday & saturday, I even picked JC SUPERSTAR to win i thought by eight point ah well. Hope i can join in now but i'll wait a few days to pick and how about adding the haye-mormeck & froch-reid bouts.:confused:

Sweet, cheers!

I'm going to go with Cotto on this one by decision.. Although it has the right mix to end in a KO - I just think both guys have solid enough chins to make it through the 12 rounds.

by the way i did pick calzaghe wins in the other poll on this site you can my see my name on that would that be good enough for ten points :rolleyes:

jayroyal-we'll add the haye mormeck fight to the competition!!
    im going with mosley by decision.
    and haye to win ko rd 3.
    cant wait for these fights..

ye but there both on saturday night mate with haye first on, as it is in paris.

Mosley on points.

Haye in 8.

Froch in six, ref stops fight.

Haye in 3 , don't add the Froch fight it's not worthy .

Haye to win inside four rounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

Jean Marc to KO hayes in the 5th round.

Mormeck all day long... reserved with a stamp mark

Big Ears wrote: »
    Haye in 3 , don't add the Froch fight it's not worthy .

Hmm could I have found a kindred spirit with a similar disdain for Froch?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

Cotto on points
    Mormeck on points

Haye to win inside four rounds.

You're going to have to give a specific round .

Kess73 almost everyone hates Froch , but I actually don't . I used to till I realised his antics were all an act and that most of what he says is tongue in cheek . If you don't get Froch you think he's an arrogant bastard , if you do you think he's a comic genius .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I saw this on saturday, I was not in Dublin where i live but at home in Tyrone. I was furiously trying to log on to go for a Calzaghe UD but boards wouldn'n't accept my log-in (My computer has my password and username stored automatically here in Dublin and i guess I have forgotten my password :-( )

Anyway I go for:
    Cotto by UD
    Haye KO 5

You're going to have to give a specific round .

Kess73 almost everyone hates Froch , but I actually don't . I used to till I realised his antics were all an act and that most of what he says is tongue in cheek . If you don't get Froch you think he's an arrogant bastard , if you do you think he's a comic genius .

His personality and antics do not bother me at all, I just think he is overated in many quarters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Haye points
    Cotto points

very well then.

Haye to win by knockout in round four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Cotto in the 8th
    Hayes in the 2nd

Kess73 wrote: »
    His personality and antics do not bother me at all, I just think he is overated in many quarters.

I think he's a good fighter , granite chin with a big punch . Leaves his left way too low and because of that anyone he can't ko at the top level will probably outpoint him .

He is definitely a top 10 Super-Middleweight

1.Calzaghe
    2.Kessler
    3.Mundine
    4.Bute
    5.Lacy
    6.Froch
    7.Inkin
    8.Braehmer
    9.Bika
    10.Andrade

That's how I see things , I could see an argument for having Inkin ahead of Froch and maybe having Bika higher but as of now I think what I have is right .

Guys just outside the top 10(in no specific order) Alejandro Berrio, Robert Stieglitz, Jean Pascal, Vitali Tsypko, Fulgencio Zuniga , Edison Miranda and Allan Green .

Lacy returns on the Hatton undercard and faces Peter Manfredo

A very exciting division at the moment with plenty of good fights to come from it .

I think he's a good fighter , granite chin with a big punch . Leaves his left way too low and because of that anyone he can't ko at the top level will probably outpoint him .

He is definitely a top 10 Super-Middleweight

1.Calzaghe
    2.Kessler
    3.Mundine
    4.Bute
    5.Lacy
    6.Froch
    7.Inkin
    8.Braehmer
    9.Bika
    10.Andrade

That's how I see things , I could see an argument for having Inkin ahead of Froch and maybe having Bika higher but as of now I think what I have is right .

Guys just outside the top 10(in no specific order) Alejandro Berrio, Robert Stieglitz, Jean Pascal, Vitali Tsypko, Fulgencio Zuniga , Edison Miranda and Allan Green .

Lacy returns on the Hatton undercard and faces Peter Manfredo

A very exciting division at the moment with plenty of good fights to come from it .

Would pretty much agree with most of the names in your top ten, but Lacy would be below Andrade and Bika for me. Berrio would replace Braehmer. But it is a bloody good division at the mo as you say. Will be a well fought division when Calzaghe moves up a weight/retires.

Mundine I have always liked as a fighter. Tough as teak and a real character that ruffles feathers as much outside the ring as in it. A real nice guy too though, have met him a number of times and enjoyed chatting with him, and also with his dad (who is a scary looking dude:)) Just a level below Kessler and Calzaghe though.

it'll be interesting to see just who can take Froch's power at the top level. i'd imagine Mundine can.

Haye by KO, round 6.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Cotto on points
    Haye on points