Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ripped off

• 29-10-2007 7:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭

played in 50 euro fo last nite in tramore waterford. the reg was 10 euro ,a lot of people were complaining considering there was no refreshments . is this normal and if not what is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 89Suited

For a reg of €10 you would expext some food and drinks at the break! :eek:Standard would be €50 + 5, but for pub tourneys its usually €10 with food included

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Jaysus not even a sandwich..?? You were done all right.
    Simple solution is dont go to their events again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

sounds fine, I wouldn't play but I don't begrudge anyone who would. It's expensive even to get a packet of crisps in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

did it have dealers, if so 10 is cheap. what do you expect for 10 now days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Tribezz

The poker events pub tourneys I play in Galway are 25+5 with a 20 rebuy/top up. So 5 reg for 45. The pubs all put on some grub and the final table is dealer dealt. Dealer usually gets a few tips to make his night worthwhile.

10 reg for 50 is a rip off.:eek:
    I wouldn't play it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

taliban wrote: »
    played in 50 euro fo last nite in tramore waterford. the reg was 10 euro ,a lot of people were complaining considering there was no refreshments . is this normal and if not what is

What do you expect for a tenner. :confused::confused:

You had a dealer dealt €50 FO with a €500 ticket ADDED on to the prize money. There were I think 29 players x €10 = €290. A dealer is minimum €10 / hr, there were 3 dealers for a minimum of 4/5 hours, call that €150 Euro. Don't know if the room cost anything but the 2 lads (not included as dealers) worked for a maximum of €140 and possibly had to pay for the room, set up & transport the tables, set up the computer / screen, count out the chips ................... would you ever get a life for yourself.

Best thing you can do is play online & feed yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭taliban

kakak1 wrote: »
    What do you expect for a tenner. :confused::confused:

You had a dealer dealt €50 FO with a €500 ticket ADDED on to the prize money. There were I think 29 players x €10 = €290. A dealer is minimum €10 / hr, there were 3 dealers for a minimum of 4/5 hours, call that €150 Euro. Don't know if the room cost anything but the 2 lads (not included as dealers) worked for a maximum of €140 and possibly had to pay for the room, set up & transport the tables, set up the computer / screen, count out the chips ................... would you ever get a life for yourself.

Best thing you can do is play online & feed yourself.
    that 500 ticket wasnt added it was donated by leon tracey and if it costs too much money to run they should ny run them and not lay the cost on the players. the text they sent out was for 50fo with 5euro reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Taliban - If u want to call me directly u can ? here is the costs of last night?

0872828744 - The Structure and Buy in has been up 2 weeks .

STRUCTURE/COSTS

Tramore Fully Dealt event .

€50 + €10 reg

Players 29 = 290

Room Hire €100

Dealers Costs 4 = €290

Total cost = €420

Ticket added by leon Treacy as announced ? Where is the problem there ?

Ps . We do not force players to play and are always open with our structure and Buy Ins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

€10 reg with dealers is fine in IMO but it is also fine for the OP to ask the question.

that 500 ticket wasnt added it was donated by leon tracey and if it costs too much money to run they should ny run them and not lay the cost on the players. the text they sent out was for 50fo with 5euro reg

THE TEXT SAID €50 + €10 AS DID EVERY POSTER IN TRAMORE . As i said if u would like to contact me direct u can on this but as i reckon u piss squatting i doubt that will happen ??And your comments are all mindless and vindictive way of putting down a good event ..

There was not one complaint at the venue ? And that has been the reg on that game all summer same in Dungarvan and every other venue ?

For a fully dealt event it will always be this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

I said the tournament had a €500 ticket added to the prize money, where it came from does not matter, it was there to be won by whoever played.

A €10 reg in a dealer dealt tournament is never bad value.

Your had an option which IMO you should have taken, you should have refused to play.

I thought it was great value. I got 6 hrs play with a small profit at the end of the day :D:D

5 posts from u only :D and this is one L.M.A.O

in fairness to the guy he is a member since nov 06 just because he doesn't have a million **** posts doesn't mean he is trolling. 20% reg is normally considered a rip off but not IMO for a low buyin dealer event

Taliban - If u want to call me directly u can ? here is the costs of last night?

0872828744 - The Structure and Buy in has been up 2 weeks .

5 posts from u only :D and this is one L.M.A.O

STRUCTURE/COSTS

Tramore Fully Dealt event .

€50 + €10 reg

Players 31 = 310

Room Hire €100

Dealers Costs 3 = €240

Total cost = 340

Ticket added by leon Traecy as announced ? Where is the problem

theres no need to get insulting neil not nice business manners to insult your customers. not the first time you overcharged and you know a u had a lot of complaints

kakak1 wrote: »
    I said the tournament had a €500 ticket added to the prize money, where it came from does not matter, it was there to be won by whoever played.

A €10 reg in a dealer dealt tournament is never bad value.

Your had an option which IMO you should have taken, you should have refused to play.

I thought it was great value. I got 6 hrs play with a small profit at the end of the day :D:D

Thanks Dave.

theres no need to get insulting neil not nice business manners to insult your customers. not the first time you overcharged and you know a u had a lot of complaints

Overcharged ?? As i said if u want to call me do so but i doubt u will 0872828744 . If u are going to come on a public forum slating one of our events that nobody said anything about ? Maybe i should just call each of the 31 players directly and ask them there thoughts on the event .

Again i dont see how posting up the costs is insultuing ?

THE TEXT SAID €50 + €10 AS DID EVERY POSTER IN TRAMORE . As i said if u would like to contact me direct u can on this but as i reckon u piss squatting i doubt that will happen ??And your comments are all mindless and vindictive way of putting down a good event ..

There was not one complaint at the venue ? And that has been the reg on that game all summer same in Dungarvan and every other venue ?

For a fully dealt event it will always be this

not putting down your event. i for one played all your events since u started.does it make you feel good to insult people like that

apologies, I take back what I said before

Didnt know the folowing:

Fully dealer dealt tourney with 500 ticket added

The way I read the first post was that it was an ordinary pub Tourney

IMO 10 reg is more than ok for this tourney

Overcharged ?? As i said if u want to call me do so but i doubt u will 0872828744 . If u are going to come on a public forum slating one of our events that nobody said anything about ? Maybe i should just call each of the 31 players directly and ask them there thoughts on the event .

Again i dont see how posting up the costs is insultuing ?

you know you got calls from some people complaining today.also i wasnt slating just looking for an opinon

Tribezz wrote: »
    apologies, I take back what I said before

Didnt know the folowing:

Fully dealer dealt tourney with 500 ticket added

The way I read the first post was that it was an ordinary pub Tourney

IMO 10 reg is more than ok for this tourney

No Prob . Leon Treacy asked us to put on the game He owns the hotel . The €500 ticket was added by him.

you know you got calls from some people complaining today.also i wasnt slating just looking for an opinon

I did not get a single call on the matter . Not even from u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

For a pub tourney that's fully dealer dealt €10 is alright. I for one would definitely pay the extra fiver rather than have it self deal and play 6 hands a level. Play most of my poker in Dublin now, but coming from a country area I know I would definitely have appreciated a dealer dealt tournie when I was starting out playing around home.

Tinytony wrote: »
    For a pub tourney that's fully dealer dealt €10 is alright. I for one would definitely pay the extra fiver rather than have it self deal and play 6 hands a level. Play most of my poker in Dublin now, but coming from a country area I know I would definitely have appreciated a dealer dealt tournie when I was starting out playing around home.

Thank u Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Tails142

Sounds reasonable for dealer dealt to me - what is the op complaining about??? ... that he didn't get a free packet of crisps... hahahah

and in fairness taliban, I'm not sure if bigslick would want you as a customer if all you do is go around bad mouthing his tournies

If I was bigslick I would send in an email touting libel/defamatory comments to boards admin - that's one way of getting posts removed from boards these days ;)

Apologies about the thread i just find this vindictive T.B.H

I think your over reacting to the OP TBH. He is asking is 20% the norm, which its not but is totally acceptable for the type of event run last night. I don't know who taliban is but its a fair question. It also sounds that he/she is a regular BSP player.

The tourney is grand imo
    Obviously if the guy who owned the venue hadn't put in the 500 ticket he would prob have grub on.
    I know I'd rather have the the extra 500 ticket to play for than a few sambos at halftime.

Like any Pub Tourney the organiser is getting extra drinkers into the pub/hotel that wouldnt have been there otherwise. The venue usually throw in the grub or in this case I'm guessing the 500 ticket instead.

I have to say I'd be happy enough to play the tourney if it was on near me.

The tourney is grand imo
    Obviously if the guy who owned the venue hadn't put in the 500 ticket he would prob have grub on.
    I know I'd rather have the the extra 500 ticket to play for than a few sambos at halftime.

Like any Pub Tourney the organiser is getting extra drinkers into the pub/hotel that wouldnt have been there otherwise. The venue usually throw in the grub or in this case I'm guessing the 500 ticket instead.

I have to say I'd be happy enough to play the tourney if it was on near me.
    that ticket was a great gester from leon maybe as a thank you for all the customers who went to bsp events for the last 3 years [me included] sorry neil if i cant post opinons that upset u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

I dont see how this can be considered vendictive, the guy genuinely seemed to be looking for an opinion. Personally I disagree with him about being overcharged and being ripped off, looks ok to me. But I dont agree with personal insults.

that ticket was a great gester from leon maybe as a thank you for all the customers who went to bsp events for the last 3 years [me included] sorry neil if i cant post opinons that upset u

Its different when your opinions are vindictive . As i said call me on the matter . But again i know u wont . You say u have played with us 3 years yet now u only get the time to post this . That game is on 2 years in tramore same reg same game ..

PS your ip address is nice two accounts . Actaully annoyed by this as you were counted as a friend of mine .. Really dissappointed mate

Fair play to him for doing that but I'm sure the players that the tourney has brought in have put plenty of cash in his tills over the last 3 years aswell.

Btw I think asking for opinions about public events on a public forum is absolutely fine isnt that what these are all about???

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    I dont see how this can be considered vendictive, the guy genuinely seemed to be looking for an opinion. Personally I disagree with him about being overcharged and being ripped off, looks ok to me. But I dont agree with personal insults.
    prob should have stated that all bsp tournments were 50 with 5 reg .now i know this [10 reg] is about normal it answered my queston tx all for your replies

Fair play to him for doing that but I'm sure the players that the tourney has brought in have put plenty of cash in his tills over the last 3 years aswell.

Btw I think asking for opinions about public events on a public forum is absolutely fine isnt that what these are all about???

Unless of course you guys have a personal problem
    Which this thread is sounding more and more like!!

Its different when your opinions are vindictive . As i said call me on the matter . But again i know u wont . You say u have played with us 3 years yet now u only get the time to post this . That game is on 2 years in tramore same reg same game ..

PS your ip address is nice two accounts . Actaully annoyed by this as you were counted as a friend of mine .. Really dissappointed mate
    neil i never had to post about your events before as they were very well run [and still are] and your still a mate.iunderstand where the money went but maybe a 60fo with 10 reg would be better more value anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

not putting down your event. i for one played all your events since u started.does it make you feel good to insult people like that

I too am disappointed with their attitude.:mad:

neil i never had to post about your events before as they were very well run [and still are] and your still a mate.iunderstand where the money went but maybe a 60fo with 10 reg would be better more value anyway

Just annoyed bud .. U have to see this from my point alot of time and effort goes into these things and u play with us alot i would jusrv expect u to call me to get ur views across not to bring it up in this manner thats my point

I mean people have to make a l;iving out of these things including the dealers and this can affect the game and numbers thus affecting their income

Neill

Tails142 wrote: »
    Sounds reasonable for dealer dealt to me - what is the op complaining about??? ... that he didn't get a free packet of crisps... hahahah

and in fairness taliban, I'm not sure if bigslick would want you as a customer if all you do is go around bad mouthing his tournies

If I was bigslick I would send in an email touting libel/defamatory comments to boards admin - that's one way of getting posts removed from boards these days ;)
    think you got wrong end of stick fella. i was nt complaining. all bsp tournies were 50 with 5 reg. was nt trying to bad mouth them as i will state again that they run a very good tournment if not one of the best.

Just annoyed bud .. U have to see this from my point alot of time and effort goes into these things and u play with us alot i would jusrv expect u to call me to get ur views across not to bring it up in this manner thats my point

I mean people have to make a l;iving out of these things including the dealers and this can affect the game and numbers thus affecting their income

Neill
    this wont affect your games neil. i wos just asking what the norm was.looking foward to the woodlands

think you got wrong end of stick fella. i was nt complaining. all bsp tournies were 50 with 5 reg. was nt trying to bad mouth them as i will state again that they run a very good tournment if not one of the best.

Thats fair enough . U knoiw i jump the gun but i will always defend my corner

All our tour games must have a €10 reg no matter wat the buy in

Sorry but we cannot change this

Neill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭horsebokks

taliban,i was on registration last night & 2 people queried the reg fee of €10... both were regular players over the summer at that venue & would have received the text which explicitly stated the reg fee,therefore you would have known the fee before you walked into the event ..your original header is "rip off".....i'm offended by this and see it as a cheap shot as you claim to be a regular player with us & felt it necessary not to bring it up with either neill,myself or keith today but come on to this public forum & have a "cut"... the tournament itself was fully dealt,had all the levels with a 20 min. clock & paid a 100% prizepool(+ the ticket) ,our expenses ran as neill stated earlier(he didnt include the cost of the text messages or the transport costs). i fully accept that you are entitled to your opinion but wouldnt it be nice if someone posted a thank you for the provision of food to all those on the cash tables in the early hours & the lifts to those who couldnt get taxis back to waterford in the early hours.

Richie

The name of the thread is RIP OFF and you say u are not slating, I mean come on now seriously ?

he fact that u have played with us from the start means that u know me and i have always listened to players views Look i am not going to fall out with anyone over this . I am just annoyed u did not call me on this .

Just unusual for urself to even be on here not alone slate us mate . Big Slick has done alot for poker in general in the south and if i was on the otherside of the fence i would not have a problem paying €10 for a dealt event . I mean seriously would u shoe up if it was self dealt €50 + €5 which would u prefer .

Refreshments are €8 pp in the grand and if we did that the civil service would have to be dealing for free.

I mean u have to pay the dealers and the Hotel and teh person running the game . And the tables chips and Laptops all cost money for events .

For Future reference please note that all Big slick Events outside blazin aces will have a minimum of €10 reg fee no matter what bthe buy in is to cover costs of the venue and Staff

Just suprised and dissappointed after finding out who this is that u did not call me on this .

Neill

taliban,i was on registration last night & 2 people queried the reg fee of €10... both were regular players over the summer at that venue & would have received the text which explicitly stated the reg fee,therefore you would have known the fee before you walked into the event & accepted this when reminded...your original header is "rip off".....i'm offended by this and see it as a cheap shot as you claim to be a regular player with us & felt it necessary not to bring it up with either neill,myself or keith today but come on to this public forum & have a "cut"... the tournament itself was fully dealt,had all the levels with a 20 min. clock & paid a 100% prizepool(+ the ticket) ,our expenses ran as neill stated earlier(he didnt include the cost of the text messages or the transport costs). i fully accept that you are entitled to your opinion but wouldnt it be nice if someone posted a thank you for the provision of food to all those on the cash tables in the early hours & the lifts to those who couldnt get taxis back to waterford in the early hours.

Richie

koolkid wrote: »
    I too am disappointed with their attitude.:mad:

My attitude is to protect the name and interests of Big Slick as a company and to respect the fact that staff must get paid,

Secondly because i know this person quite well i was more dissappointed that he could not pick up the phone and ask Or even Pm me and i would resopnd no problem .

If he was looking for info on a €50 +€10 REG game then he should not have mentioned tramore and Big Slick and said it was a Rip Off , What way does this look to players who have never played with us ?

I have come accross strong here as a director and in the interests of keeping our name good in the poker community that can change in a minute .

Neill K

horsebokks wrote: »
    taliban,i was on registration last night & 2 people queried the reg fee of €10... both were regular players over the summer at that venue & would have received the text which explicitly stated the reg fee,therefore you would have known the fee before you walked into the event & accepted this when reminded...your original header is "rip off".....i'm offended by this and see it as a cheap shot as you claim to be a regular player with us & felt it necessary not to bring it up with either neill,myself or keith today but come on to this public forum & have a "cut"... the tournament itself was fully dealt,had all the levels with a 20 min. clock & paid a 100% prizepool(+ the ticket) ,our expenses ran as neill stated earlier(he didnt include the cost of the text messages or the transport costs). i fully accept that you are entitled to your opinion but wouldnt it be nice if someone posted a thank you for the provision of food to all those on the cash tables in the early hours & the lifts to those who couldnt get taxis back to waterford in the early hours.

Richie

U really need to learn how to spread out your replys . Too clusterred numb nutz . Stop ringin me at 3.30 in the mornin aswell :DI heard u went to cunninhghams for the cash table... Lol that chipper is rank

the sausages were worse
    is that
    spread
    out enough f o r
    ya:p

if it costs too much money to run they should ny run them and not lay the cost on the players.
    this is the most retarded post in a week or so. If it costs a tenner to run and lots of players are happy to pay a tenner for it, then they absolutely should run it, and pass the costs on to the players. You can always decide not to play if you think the reg is too much, but if a lot of other customers want to play at that price then BSP is providing a good service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

I've played these events for the last two summers and a tenner reg has always seemed perfectly reasonable and to be fair Riche has always done a smashing job.Neil I think it's time to cut down on the caffiene,and richie the chips were boscolicious and cheers for the spin;)

BTW who's taliban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

what i'd like to know is how can you get your hands on the info about the OP - phonecalls to higher places i suspect? - i think this is a serious breach of privacy laws etc

anyone have an opinion on that??

a tenner reg for a "fully dealered" (i heard that unusual use of english byour good friends @ the CPT) is a loss leader - the only way BS will make a few quid from this is through a decent cash game afterwards - btw kelly who's your buddy taliban?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

I think I know who they think it is,and if this is the case I think the're wrong,if you know what I mean.
    I too was wondering how Neil knows about this IP addresse??

bops wrote: »
    what i'd like to know is how can you get your hands on the info about the OP - phonecalls to higher places i suspect? - i think this is a serious breach of privacy laws etc
    yeah it's something I don't like about boards, but I doubt it's illegal and I don't really care enough about it to try to hide my identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

I think I know who they think it is,and if this is the case I think the're wrong,if you know what I mean.
    I too was wondering how Neil knows about this IP addresse??

well unless boards gave him the ip address (which I hope they didn't) and then the ISP gave them a name from it (which they wouldn't, unless they fancy a data protection case) I think it may be a bluff.... I call :D.....