Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Girls You Are Beautiful Y/N?

• 26-10-2007 8:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭thecleverone

So just trying to figure out what people think about this. Was talking to a friend last night and he says he much prefers skinny girls and prob wouldn't look twice at or date a bigger girl (size 14+). Whats peoples opinions on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Do not like skinny girls at all. I like curves.
    Not saying i find whales attractive, although yes.. it depends on the girl. I do not know what size 14 is exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Don't find bigger girls attractive but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Gaz

Depends how big , i wouldnt consider 14 "big" as such ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

They're "beautiful" in the same sense that modern art is "beautiful"......

But not sexually, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭OMcGovern

There's "good curvy" and "bad curvy".
    I like curves, but as soon as I admit that, people immediately try setting me up with their fat female friends.

If their belly is bigger than their boobs... they're bad curvy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Chunks

Wouldn't look at them, wouldn't touch them.

I'd be friends with them but they don't do anything for me whatsoever, major turnoff

They're lazy and uneducated about food, diet and exercise in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭thecleverone

Not saying i find whales attractive

No i'm not talking whales here. Just curvier girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

Big girls are better... but then i am bias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Yup I agree I exercise at least 3 or 4 times a week and try to eat as healthy as possible I'd expect any girl I was dating to at least make some effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

If the belly hangs over the beltline.....fugeddabout it.
    Curves are sexy and a size 14 is fine...but slim birds have thier charms too. Horses for courses really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

It varies really. I would say that I dont mind a bit of weight, so long as the girl isnt clearly obese.

Chunks wrote: »
    They're lazy and uneducated about food, diet and exercise in my opinion.

Some people men and women are large due to their make up not their life style

DaveMcG wrote: »
    They're "beautiful" in the same sense that modern art is "beautiful"......

But not sexually, no.

I'll go with this also

H'actually now that you mention it I do have a friend who is a 'feeder'. He preferrs big girls himself but all the girls he dates end up putting on massive amounts of weight when he's going out with them.
    His last girlfriend (who he was living with) must have put on about 3 stone in weight... Then he dumped her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

who gives a sht!its coz of things like this that most women are so obsessed and worried about their weight.
    to all the women out there,personality goes a longer way...

*Page* wrote: »

Lol, anyone remember that episode of the Simpsons "why do fat people have fat kids?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Homer

Meh.. Each to their own I guess..

But you know what they say about fat girls and mopeds eh eh??!!

I know this is true in SOME cases but people use this excuse far too often. I used to say that about myself, its the way i'm made etc, until i educated myself about food, got out in the fresh air to exercise, did the mini marathon and lost 4 stone. All without gimmicks and gadgets.

so if you're a size 14 you're telling me that you physically wouldnt be able to get down to a smaller size(within health limits of course) with the right diet and exercise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I vote that this thread be locked purely for quoting the ****tard who seems to be trying to improve his chances with bi guys by encouraging women to eat themselves into obesity.

I'm really interested now...

in what is classified as Big,

I consider myself big ~ size14

but i'm only 5 foot...

a 14 on a 5 foot 10 girl is a total different story...

industria wrote: »
    Meh.. Each to their own I guess..

But you know what they say about fat girls and mopeds eh eh??!!

they don't go uphill?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

What the hell?

Since when do Irish blokes, the ugliest race of blokes in the world, get to decide that 14 is a large girl?

We're Irish lads, we can't be picky.

I know this is true in SOME cases but people use this excuse far too often. I used to say that about myself, its the way i'm made etc, until i educated myself about food, got out in the fresh air to exercise, did the mini marathon and lost 4 stone. All without gimmicks and gadgets.

fair play, i just hate generalizing,

I'm not saying that size 14 is big at all. I am saying is that its bigger than size 8/10 girls and thats what i was wondering about. Which people prefer. Skinny or curvy. I've been both and i have to say *some/most* guys don't look at you twice when you have weight on you. Then you lose it and they all come out of the woodwork. Just my personal experience.

so if you're a size 14 you're telling me that you physically wouldnt be able to get down to a smaller size(within health limits of course) with the right diet and exercise?

I cycle 75kms a week and a minimum and i eat very well (no bread pasta, very little treats and sugary products) and i am still a size 14,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

sunnyjim wrote: »
    What the hell?

Since when do Irish blokes, the ugliest race of blokes in the world, get to decide that 14 is a large girl?

Irish women are the ugliest race of women in the world. Seriously. We can be picky. And whats worse is irish women THINK they're really good looking. Can you name a race that's uglier?

To answer the question, big girls aren't beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcRiXOONqf0
    Size Bust Waist Hips

Size Ins Cm Ins Cm Ins Cm
    8 31 80 23 60 34 88
    10 32 83 24 62 35 90
    12 34 88 26 67 37 95
    14 36 93 28 72 39 100
    16 38 98 30 77 41 105
    18 40 103 32 82 43 110
    20 42 108 34 87 45 115
    22 44 113 36 92 47 120

I could not be physically a size 14 never mind smaller due to the width of the
    bones in my shoulders and hips.

A size 14 is a 36 inch bust
    a 29 inch waist
    a 39 inch hips.

Irish women are the ugliest race of women in the world. Seriously. We can be picky. And whats worse is irish women THINK they're really good looking. Can you name a race that's uglier?

To answer the question, big girls aren't beautiful.

+1, well put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

H'actually now that you mention it I do have a friend who is a 'feeder'. He preferrs big girls himself but all the girls he dates end up putting on massive amounts of weight when he's going out with them.
    His last girlfriend (who he was living with) must have put on about 3 stone in weight... Then he dumped her.

This one of those guys who constantly feeds this girlfriend in the hopes of making her large? Thats twisted.
    PS. Tell your friend I hate him.

Thaedydal wrote: »

did you just use the 'I'm big boned' excuse? :D

We'll be getting the 'It's glandular' next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

A fat woman can still be sexy, a fat guy - never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

sunnyjim wrote: »
    What the hell?

Your post is baseless.

biko wrote: »
    A fat woman can still be sexy

not in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

I am a size 10/12 on 169 cm of height (it would be 5' something),big boobs and attractive but in Italy, where I am from, I would be considered overweight.

You are lucky in Ireland and girls can easily find nice clothes whereas here most of the major labels only have sizes up to 10.

I consider big girls not attractive but as someone else said personality is far more important

sorry for my bad English...i hope someone understood what I mean

ps:Irish guys are HOT :D

A size 14 is a 36 inch bust
    a 29 inch waist
    a 39 inch hips.

29? It's usually around 32
    I'm 30-31" waist so I'm in between sizes

did you just use the 'I'm big boned' excuse? :D

It is not an excuse , you can not say that X size means a person is fat or over weight, on a person with a small frame and height a 12 can mean they are morbidly obese on a person who is taller and has a large frame being a size 12 could be reason to be hospitalised and for that person a size 16 could be their correct size.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I would love to know why any of the threads about women/appearance here devolve very quickly into a rant about how ugly and vain Irish women- every single one of them, apparently- are.

To the people who feel they are able to state things like this: teach me your ways, for some day I also hope to be a sexual god who can claim intimate knowledge of approximately 50% of the populations appearance and personality.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=YMZilI_ct1A

TBH, I'd rather a lass that enjoys her food than some neurotic skinny girl who counts every single calorie in every meal. That said, it is horses for courses.

Hellm0 wrote: »
    This one of those guys who constantly feeds this girlfriend in the hopes of making her large? Thats twisted.
    PS. Tell your friend I hate him.

He's a sick sick man... But the thing is they're usually big to begin with, then whale size when he's finished!

bluewolf wrote: »
    29? It's usually around 32
    I'm 30-31" waist so I'm in between sizes

Well that is the bastard of the thing that is the standard size but many shops and manufacturing lines have their own idea of what the differing sizes are so a person maybe a 16 in one range of clothes, a 18 in another range of clothes and a 14 in another range of clothes all in the same shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

actually yes

I'm a size 14 because of my hips and boobs

I can't exactly make my bones smaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

Chunks, your ignorance is astonishing!

I am personally very close to someone who walks 5-8 miles a day, and has such a fab diet and never, ever, loses a pound. All the workouts in the gym make such little difference, whereas to regular girls the weight flies off.
    Her metabolism is basically gone due to another condition, which one in ten women have.
    Can you imagine, what that's like? And what it's like that people like you think they're just ignorant about food, and lazy to boot?
    She wasn't always like this, she was size 8-10 for years until this kicked in.

Ugghhh, it's so annoying when people are able to judge so easily when the haven't a clue!!:mad:

Well that is the bastard of the thing that is the standard size but many shops and manufacturing lines have their own idea of what the differing sizes are so a person maybe a 16 in one range of clothes, a 18 in another range of clothes and a 14 in another range of clothes all in the same shop.
    yeah thats true, some 14s are tight and my 12 jeans are falling off me =/

stupid shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

thats what fat and lazy people say.

phasers wrote: »
    actually yes

I'm a size 14 because of my hips and boobs

I can't exactly make my bones smaller

Yep the bust measurement is in fact the circumference of the torso which means the measurement of the ribcage and shoulder blades and they are never going to shrink from weight loss.

the thyroid gland also has a lot to play in small girls and big girls..

under active = weight gain
    over active = weight loss

when women hit a certain age there metabolisim changes,
    so some women start loosing and some gain...

cance wrote: »
    thats what fat and lazy people say.

so the fact that i cycle 75 kms at a minimum per week means i'm fat and lazy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

As long as she's not morbidly obese and doesn't have the ego (i.e. rather big too) to match I don't think I'd really care.