Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

washing your hands after going to the toilet

• 22-10-2007 7:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭

i was in a bar in dublin over the weekend and i saw alot of guys not wash his hands after using the urinal.after telling one of my friends when i got back they said he doesnt either and started defending it.
    i think its disgusting people not washing their hands after doing the business,is it so hard to go over to the tap,throw some soap on and wash your hands?!
    thoughts?!

do you wash your hands after using the toilet in a bar/club 112 votes

Yes
    0% 1 vote
    No
    99% 111 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

My cock is nice and clean.

I only wash my hands after a dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭geuro

after a wizz, usually a quick splash. if there is a 'toilet attendant' i will normally just walk out and not bother with washing. God damn it i hate those toilet attendants. Give me the guilts when i go to the jacks. a good wash after a dump of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Personally I think everyone should wash their hands after going to the bathroom.

Not sure if it's worse but I've seen a lot of women walk out of the stall - check their hair/whatever &just walk out...*without* washing hands!!

so gross!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I was taught not to piss on my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

There should be a wash basin outside the bathroom. The actual filth that you'd pick up from the door handle on the way out is disgraceful.

And on a personal note, I'd be more worried about washing my hands after shaking a strangers hand than I would about washing after using the toilet.

connundrum wrote: »
    There should be a wash basin outside the bathroom. The actual filth that you'd pick up from the door handle on the way out is disgraceful.

And on a personal note, I'd be more worried about washing my hands after shaking a strangers hand than I would about washing after using the toilet.

Very valid point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭krinpit

It's probably just as important to wash your hands before you use the toilet as it is afterwards :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

coolhandc wrote: »
    i was in a bar in dublin over the weekend and i saw alot of guys not wash his hands after using the urinal.after telling one of my friends when i got back they said he doesnt either and started defending it.
    i think its disgusting people not washing their hands after doing the business,is it so hard to go over to the tap,throw some soap on and wash your hands?!
    thoughts?!

they are the same c*nts who piss on the seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

Yes, some women do it too, but it's mostly guys - don't know why, are they just lazy? Just the action of touching anything in a public toilet warrants washing hands. It's disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

I only use soap after taking a dump.

A splash of water will suffice for a whizz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

just after contradicting (spelling?) yourself your first point with your last point tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

krinpit wrote: »
    It's probably just as important to wash your hands before you use the toilet as it is afterwards :)

Totally agree - in fact, probably more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Cremo wrote: »
    just after contradicting (spelling?) yourself your first point with your last point tbh

I should have been more clear. I do wash my hands after, I would just worry about the actual point of washing once I touch the door handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Thought we were supposed to use the string and the spoon to deal with it?:D

Hate it when people don't wash after using the loo, as that then means that the germs are on the door handles and so you may as well not have washed since to get out of the bathroom you have to get germs on your hands all over again.
    Statistically I'd say guys are worse for it but I have heard from a number of girls that quite a few girls don't wash their hands after using the loo either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Dinxminx

Yes, some women do it too, but it's mostly guys - don't know why, are they just lazy? Just the action of touching anything in a public toilet warrants washing hands. It's disgusting.

It's gross. It only takes a minute - people please wash your hands.

I'll be thinking twice about shaking hands with people from now on....

EDIT: Or maybe I should just ask them whether they've washed their hands since going to the toilet before I let them touch me? :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

I'm with FB, my knob is clean so i dont need to wash my hands. In fact i should start washing my hands before taking a piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Excellent point.

I usually try to open the door with either my foot or just one finger near the bottom of the handle when exiting the toilets.

Also when I used to work as a bouncer I used to almost never shake someone's hands as I didn't know where they'd been. Actually more colds and flu's are spread like that than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Urine is sterile when it leaves your body.

However, I still wash my hands afterwards.

Dun laoire wrote: »
    I'm with FB, my knob is clean so i dont need to wash my hands. In fact i should start washing my hands before taking a piss.

yes thats sensible. If you take a bit of care at the trough there should be no problem.Its these guys who point her directly at the wall and unload at full throttle who need to wash, as there is a cloud of splashback mist(check your trousers).

Pointing at at least 30degrees and keeping the flow off the backwall, as it were, and well modulated should avoid any adverse hygiene issues.

Commom piss sense to meh.

Mairt wrote: »
    I usually try to open the door with either my foot or just one finger near the bottom of the handle when exiting the toilets.

I'm somewhat similar -- try to use least means possible of touching the door on exit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I wait until someone else comes into the jacks until I go out, and I use my shoulder to hold the door open.

It's usually no more than a five minute wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I wash before, and usually after, too - teh hands are dirtier than teh cock!

And I try to avoid the door handles on the way out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Kobie

Terry wrote: »

But it's heaven for bacteria.

To all the people who defend not washing their hands - are you happy to have food prepared by staff who don't wash their hands? Or would you eat from that bowl of free nuts on the bar knowing that the last guy didn't wash his hands either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

However, I still wash my hands afterwards.

But parts of your anatomy that are kept in the dark via clothing and possibly damp through sweat, urine or other fluids are not necessarily sterile, in fact probably far from it.
    And that's not even going into those who are using the loo for a BM and not washing afterwards (we'll hope they did at least wipe).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Yes, some women do it too, but it's mostly guys - don't know why, are they just lazy?

Have you carried out a survey? Do you spend time in both mens bathrooms and womens bathrooms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Everyone should wash their hands. I mean anyone that doesn't well, they're just taking the p!ss.

I'd say a decent amount of men don't wash. Dunno why not though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I should have been more clear. I do wash my hands after, I would just worry about the actual point of washing once I touch the door handle.

i agree

i have "methods" toi get round this

anyone botice that less and less airport toilets have doors they have like curvy corridors

is this a disease control issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Mairt wrote: »
    Excellent point. I usually try to open the door with one finger near the bottom of the handle when exiting the toilets.

Ditto, and I always have a small pack of wipes nearby (normally in the car).

TJ911...

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Ditto, and I always have a small pack of wipes nearby (normally in the car).

TJ911...

yeah baby wipes in the car are the new health essential

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭CountryWise

I think we all may be using the one finger approach on the bottom of the door handle, but at least we know the people that do that wash their hands so its ok :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Wash or not wash? depends on which is cleaner, the facilities or my nob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Every night i go out i see dudes not washing there hands.

Kind of disgusting to be honest folks. It only takes two seconds.

And for those of us that DO was our hands, it's only polite as we do need to touch the door handle to leave the jacks just like you do.....god bless pubs with the door left open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭duffman90210

Nah, after using the urinals in a bar or pub, I'd usually leave without washing my hands, purely because I hate having to guiltily search for coins in my pocket to pay somebody who handed me a minimal amount of toilet roll to dry my hands. After a dump though, it's only right to wash your hands, even if it does mean forking over 50cent for a bit of toilet roll. The more you drink however, the less you'll try and find a coin!!

My cock is nice and clean.

I only wash my hands after a dump.

Exactly. The odd time I'd wash the hands after a slash, if I was going to be eating for example.
    smashey wrote: »

Sometimes i wash my hands WHILE I'm going to the bathroom.........but it's an accident :D
    Kobie wrote: »
    To all the people who defend not washing their hands - are you happy to have food prepared by staff who don't wash their hands? Or would you eat from that bowl of free nuts on the bar knowing that the last guy didn't wash his hands either?

See below re: money. As for the nuts Q.....never been in a pub that gives out free nuts.
    The actual filth that you'd pick up from the door handle on the way out is disgraceful.

re: your 1st point.......The actual filth you'd pick up off other more common items is twice as disgusting. I'd be willing to bet that the average €5 note is dirtier than the average men's room door handle. In fact, I'd say there's blood on an awful lot of bank-notes, and lots of people, when counting money, lick their thumb before counting it (á lá turning a page in a book).

Your 2nd point is spot on though.
    DesF wrote: »
    I wait until someone else comes into the jacks until I go out, and I use my shoulder to hold the door open.

It's usually no more than a five minute wait.

I think we all may be using the one finger approach on the bottom of the door handle, but at least we know the people that do that wash their hands so its ok :D

Actually, when there's no-one else in the jax, I usually wipe my knob on that part of the handle, just to sabotage (sp?) paronoid fear-merchants like yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

not washing your hands is filthy. Personally I think less of people that dont - kinda like throwing litter - poor personal standards.

Really you can look at almost everything in that light of 'who last touched this?'
    such as phones / doors / keyboards / poles on buses or luas / (you mentioned money) / things in shops / food items...

you can just wash you hands regularly and wash things in your vacinity (Such as your keyboard & phone & food before eating) and then hope for the best with the rest.

star-pants wrote: »
    Really you can look at almost everything in that light of 'who last touched this?'
    such as phones / doors / keyboards / poles on buses or luas / (you mentioned money) / things in shops / food items...

you can just wash you hands regularly and wash things in your vacinity (Such as your keyboard & phone & food before eating) and then hope for the best with the rest.

yup i handle a lot of paper money and its gross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Always wash them, think it's disgusting not too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Not washing your hands is bad enough, but what really pisses me off (excuse the pun) are people who have a dump in a pub/club toilet, and then just leave the cubicle with out flushing the jacks ??
    Where the f*ck were they dragged up ?? Or do they need their Mother with them to wipe their arse as well ???

Going into a pub jacks cubicle, to be greeted by someone elses sh*te staring up at you from the bowl, is vomit inducing to say the least :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭bowsie casey

I wash my hands in pubs etc, places where strangers are using facilities. At home, I mostly don't after a #1, mostly do after a #2.

I guess it depends on whether I feel the facilities / doorknobs etc are clean. At home I know they are so no big deal.

Nothing like a slash in the field on the way home from the pub (fondly known as the Pit Stop). Whip it back in the pants, wipe the hands on the arse of your jeans and off you go.... no bloody baby wipes or soap needed ! Admittedly, a bit unfortunate if you haven't finished your bag of chips. But hey....you won't die from it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

But only if it's clear. If it's not clear, it's not sterile.

=-=

Oh, and from working in the cinema, pub, etc, I've found that the people who don't flush, don't wash their hands either.

=-=

As for the blacks in the jacks, I'd say they'd wash the coins they'd get:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭bowsie casey

the_syco wrote: »
    As for the blacks in the jacks, I'd say they'd wash the coins they'd get:D

Jaysus, never thought of that...those coins would be fair mucky alright...New resolution: to reduce chance of passing on pissy coins, do not tip man in jax ever again (OK I only did once when I was really drunk)

Although to be honest, anybody working on a till, constantly handling coins would want to wash their hands pretty regularly. Never know whose hands they been through, and where those hand have been...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Although to be honest, anybody working on a till, constantly handling coins would want to wash their hands pretty regularly. Never know whose hands they been through, and where those hand have been...

That's the last time I shake hands with my Bank Manager !!:D
    the_syco wrote: »
    Oh, and from working in the cinema, pub, etc, I've found that the people who don't flush, don't wash their hands either.

I don't doubt that at all, but, Jeasus ! it dosen't even bear thinking about.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Stickin your hands under the tap for 2 seconds and walking off isn't washing your hands either.

The amount of people who actually wash their hands is incredibly low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

marcsignal wrote: »
    Not washing your hands is bad enough, but what really pisses me off (excuse the pun) are people who have a dump in a pub/club toilet, and then just leave the cubicle with out flushing the jacks ??
    Where the f*ck were they dragged up ?? Or do they need their Mother with them to wipe their arse as well ???

Going into a pub jacks cubicle, to be greeted by someone elses sh*te staring up at you from the bowl, is vomit inducing to say the least :mad:

ugh this happened in work the other day... into the cubicle and theres this log bobbing about :( worst thing was it didnt flush away when I went to leave, and there was someone waiting outside to use the toilet when I was leaving - leaving me to look like an asshole! :mad:

Anthropologically speaking, leaving a thick set of links reposing in the bottom of the pot and not flushing is a throwback from our animal instincts where the male ,say, Tiger, drops a load around his territory,the idea being that an incoming male would happen on this log cabin and go" Meeeeaooow ..better not mess with the cat who dropped THAT heavy load,must be one big mean feline!!!"

So its all in the genes I say.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Stickin your hands under the tap for 2 seconds and walking off isn't washing your hands either.

The amount of people who actually wash their hands is incredibly low.

Soap + warm to hot water... yup yup

And yes I agree with the money thing - any retail place I worked I always scrubbed my hands because they got gross!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yep, always give them a wash.

star-pants wrote: »
    Soap + warm to hot water... yup yup

And yes I agree with the money thing - any retail place I worked I always scrubbed my hands because they got gross!

You seem to like that word"gross"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

smashey wrote: »

unfortunatly not everyone else was.

I always do and liek others use one finger to open teh door on teh way out. if teh jax is really bad i might even use a sleeve tissue if i had one.

and for yer man in teh jax selling aftershave fair enough but sweets and lolypops WTF?