Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scum of the earth... firemen attacked again

• 21-10-2007 3:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhmhmhaugbkf/rss2/

A firefighter in Maynooth is recovering today after a violent attack in the town last night.

At about 8pm, units from Maynooth Fire Station were called to the scene of a chimney fire in the Greenfield area.

It is understood that a group of youths, who were at a nearby bonfire, fired rockets at firefighters as they tried to bring the blaze under control.

One firefighter was injured and was brought to James Connolly memorial hospital in Blanchardstown.

He has since been discharged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

pretty pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wasn't Michael McDowell bringing in mandatory 5 year sentances for offences like this?

Not sure was it ever brought in though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

arm the fire brigade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

This happened in Maynooth? Hadn't heard anything about it. Thankfully he wasn't more seriously hurt. Scumbags.:mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Bunch of muppets. Someone could have been seriously injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star

Happens all the time,part of the job.Just not reported.I say turn the hose on the feckers..But then they sue if injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Absolute vermin. They should be locked up in a special prison soaked in petrol so we can all throw smouldering fag butts over the wall at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Dalfiatach

texas star wrote: »
    Happens all the time,part of the job.Just not reported.I say turn the hose on the feckers..But then they sue if injured.

Too true. These scum are everywhere now, in every town and city in Ireland. They know there is nothing anybody can do to stop them, because they have "rights" and will end up winning a load of compo.

Back when I were a lad, any of the local men would give you a good clip round the ear and drag you up to yer ma if you were acting the maggot...and then she'd get righteous on yer arse with the old wooden spoon for showing the family up in front of the neighbours :D

We got up to all sorts of mischief, but we knew there were limits. Trying to blow up fire engines and kill the firemen would just never have occurred to us :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Dalfiatach wrote: »

We got up to all sorts of mischief, but we knew there were limits. Trying to blow up fire engines and kill the firemen would just never have occurred to us :eek:
    You must be mega old. Get with it man, attacking firemen is all the rage now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

DaveMcG wrote: »

A firefighter in Maynooth is recovering today after a violent attack in the town last night.

At about 8pm, units from Maynooth Fire Station were called to the scene of a chimney fire in the Greenfield area.

It is understood that a group of youths, who were at a nearby bonfire, fired rockets at firefighters as they tried to bring the blaze under control.

One firefighter was injured and was brought to James Connolly memorial hospital in Blanchardstown.

Flip. Maynooth of all places. :eek:

My student house is near enough Greenfield and they two bonfires already on Thursday Night.

The other day I was walking back to my house and there were 6 scumbags firing rockets at each other and two ran down my road. The once I got beside them they started running a firework just went off behind me.

Fúckin Scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I know that area well. I used to have cousins living there. They had to move out because of the amount of complete scum who infested the area. Most of them weren't locals, but hung around there.

One of my cousins lived in an end house. One night one of the local hard men threw a brick through the bedroom window. The brick hit my cousins' eight year old son on the head and the glass shattered all over him. He had to be hospitalised.
    This happened in the late eighties, so this latest act is nothing new to that area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

bring back the ira... all is forgiven :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

DaveMcG wrote: »

How is this possible, I mean it was only the other day that there was all this publicity about Ireland being the friendliest country in the world??

The horror of the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

True, most of the little muppets would be under 16 and hence come under the Juvenile Liaison Programme, hence lots of chats and talking to without any real recrimination or punishment.

I'm normally against Sharia Law, but in this case, stoning to death seems an appropriate sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Agreed. And surely the hose could just have "got out of control for a moment, your honour!"

While the judge might not actually believe you, I suspect most of them are sick enough of this kind of crap that they would pretend to ...

I think I'd chance it, tbh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Agreed. And surely the hose could just have "got out of control for a moment, your honour!"
    How about a fire hose scene like in Transporter II?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

do they get off on such scumfoolery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭curiousxxx1

Why isn't anything being done? Surely they can fine their parents or community service, there has to be some sort of punishment for these juveniles..
    Every day when i see kids vandalising e.t.c i just wonder what sort of discipline they receive from their parents or guardians..
    By vandalising and behaving like eejits they are wasting tax payers’ money that could have been put to good use.
    Would someone have to die before the Government start acting on
    this:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

this country is some ****hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

http://www.asboireland.ie/ should have all the information you need.

New laws for scumkids since March 07.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I wonder would these specimans of society be so quick to attack the firemen if it was their house on fire.. What sort of person thinks its ok to attack firemen.. They must be f**ked in the head.

It happened up our way (Dublin 15) last week. A gang of local scum set two fires at the back of a neighbours house. He rang the fire brigade. They got bricked out of it when they came to put out the fire so they left. An even bigger fire was started so my neighbour rang the fire brigade again. He was told that they could not come out without a a police escourt as they had been attacked. My neighbour rang the garda station about the fire and was told "we are the gardai, we dont put out fires" my neighbour explained what happened and they said they would send a patrol car out. 1 hour later and with the fire still going and no sign of any of our emergency services he ended up putting the fire out himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

gazzer wrote: »
    I wonder would these specimans of society be so quick to attack the firemen if it was their house on fire.. What sort of person thinks its ok to attack firemen.. They must be f**ked in the head.

It happened up our way (Dublin 15) last week. A gang of local scum set two fires at the back of a neighbours house. He rang the fire brigade. They got bricked out of it when they came to put out the fire so they left. An even bigger fire was started so my neighbour rang the fire brigade again. He was told that they could not come out without a a police escourt as they had been attacked. My neighbour rang the garda station about the fire and was told "we are the gardai, we dont put out fires" my neighbour explained what happened and they said they would send a patrol car out. 1 hour later and with the fire still going and no sign of any of our emergency services he ended up putting the fire out himself.

Jesus christ!!!

I saw the fire truck and car going up and coming back down on my way to the funfair last night. The fire was in a scummy area of Maynooth (there's a few).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Why isn't anything being done? Surely they can fine their parents or community service, there has to be some sort of punishment for these juveniles..
    Every day when i see kids vandalising e.t.c i just wonder what sort of discipline they receive from their parents or guardians..
    By vandalising and behaving like eejits they are wasting tax payers’ money that could have been put to good use.
    Would someone have to die before the Government start acting on
    this:confused:

Has anyone heard of someone being fined for not having a fireworks licence? 10k fine is caught without a licence. Would they enforce that law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I can understand these scum attacking the gardaí.
    I can understand these scum attacking social workers.

But why would you attack a fireman or even an EMT as sometimes happens?

These scum bitch and moan that the government failed them, hands out for a new council home and more welfare please.
    And what's worse is these scum will call anyone in a suit in a job a snobby ****er!

Lets take the American route of welfare to work and zero tolerance instead of the UK route of a PC culture and a welfare state.

Boston or Berlin, there is hope for us yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

dodgyme wrote: »

Nah it's just scumbags.

They just came from some unknown land and invested the place with this scumy behaviour so we can just push them aside and asure people that in general we're not like this

It's a disgrace really and the poster who descirbed what would have happened in the old days, of those getting up to bad behaviour were taught a lesson by the parents, sadly, a lot of the time, their parents will do little or nothing and so they contiue to get away with murder, all for the "buzz of it"

Attacking fireman is not on. And of course they would probably have watched it for some time and not bothered to report it, because they aren't obliged.

Deary dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

micmclo wrote: »
    I can understand these scum attacking the gardaí.
    I can understand these scum attacking social workers.

But why would you attack a fireman or even an EMT as sometimes happens?

These scum bitch and moan that the government failed them, hands out for a new council home and more welfare please.
    And what's worse is these scum will call anyone in a suit in a job a snobby ****er!

Lets take the American route of welfare to work and zero tolerance instead of the UK route of a PC culture and a welfare state.

Boston or Berlin, there is hope for us yet.

IMO, you wouldn't appear to be a very understanding person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Mordeth wrote: »
    arm the fire brigade!
    With flamethrowers!

Its all politics,everyone love the fire brigade and they do the best they can but as was mentioned earlier when they can't come out to do their jobs,to put out fires then jo public start asking"What are they paid for",as the Gardai have to assist in these circumstance..but are usually busy fighting crime in our streets :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Believe its happened before in Greenfield, they'd do the town a benefit by sealing the road and pathways in to there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Bring back corporal punishment! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I'm suprised there aren't more cases of community vigilanteism. Its obviously not an ideal solution but when a community is suffering (fire brigade won't come if your house is on fire ffs), surely it makes a bit of sense for a few men in the area to get together and go around sorting out the scum in their immediate locality.

Obviously at the end of the day its a matter for the guards. but if the guards aren't dealing with the problem (for whatever reason) then why should all the good people just sit around and remain bullied and victimised the bad element?

I would be interested to know what do others think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Bull ****.

its not 'part of the job'. the job of a fireman is varied and multifaceted, and in no part of it do you get training on what to do when stoned by little pricks.

I work as a volunteer fire fighter in victoria, australia, and i have never witnessed any such attacks down here. but then again, this is a country of big fires, and the firemen and women do a great job and are well respected for it. you never know when your area is going to be burnt in a flash fire.

you cannot turn a hose on a someone. even if they are stoning you. our pumpers can empty a 3000 litre appliance in 7 minutes. the pressures are extreme. you could easily cause serious damage to anyone you hit. and then thats your job gone, thats the brigade sued.
    and you cant exactly not go to a call out. the only thing that will happen is that brigades will not go near a fire until there is a police presence.

thanks again little scumbags for making everyone elses life a little bit harder than it needs to be.
    seriously, i havent even heard of that type of carry on in some of the ****tier parts of the UK. has ireland finally usurped the UK in levels of chavness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bull ****.

its not 'part of the job'. the job of a fireman is varied and multifaceted, and in no part of it do you get training on what to do when stoned by little pricks.

I work as a volunteer fire fighter in victoria, australia, and i have never witnessed any such attacks down here. but then again, this is a country of big fires, and the firemen and women do a great job and are well respected for it. you never know when your area is going to be burnt in a flash fire.

you cannot turn a hose on a someone. even if they are stoning you. our pumpers can empty a 3000 litre appliance in 7 minutes. the pressures are extreme. you could easily cause serious damage to anyone you hit. and then thats your job gone, thats the brigade sued.
    and you cant exactly not go to a call out. the only thing that will happen is that brigades will not go near a fire until there is a police presence.

thanks again little scumbags for making everyone elses life a little bit harder than it needs to be.
    seriously, i havent even heard of that type of carry on in some of the ****tier parts of the UK. has ireland finally usurped the UK in levels of chavness?
    http://www.fireservice.co.uk/articles/attacks.php

Lots of incidents there... thankfully we haven't surpassed the UK yet. Still, not a healthy trend really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭coolhandc

bring back the ira... all is forgiven :-)

how can you forgive this?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1022/quinnp.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Simple answer: Withdraw emergency services until the perpetrators are handed over. Let the ****hole burn or police itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Thank you. It's not even remotely part of the job. Attacks happen on the ambulances that go out as well. It's one of the lowest things i've ever heard of. Fire engines and ambulances are only ever on the road for a good reason and it's to save lives. There should be a very high level of disgust about these kinds of incidents, and the people responsible should be dealt with very seriously.

I think it's time for a super prison.

Who's with me?

I'm actually being serious here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭donaghs

Its definitely worth trying some new ideas. Something like this just shouldn't be acceptable. The people who attacked the firemen should be tracked down, and given a punishment which would dissuade them from doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Terry wrote: »
    I think it's time for a super prison.

Who's with me?

I'm actually being serious here.
    Might I recommend, instead of wasting taxpayer money on a new super prison, we simply maximise the use of real estate and ship them off to a nice welcoming prison in south east asia? Nothing like having to provide your own air circulation by jogging around in your eight foot by eight foot cell all day in tropical conditions to give you a new perspective on life.
    our pumpers can empty a 3000 litre appliance in 7 minutes. the pressures are extreme. you could easily cause serious damage to anyone you hit.
    My biggest problem would be trying to stop laughing, tbh.
    micmclo wrote: »
    Lets take the American route of welfare to work and zero tolerance
    Yes because America has no crime at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

there needs to be some sort of emergency services blacklist - fire/ambulance/gardai

abuse em, lose em

'14 scum-ton road? Im sorry, computer-says-no. It seems your son likes throwing bricks at our trucks. Our advice at this time is to try using water. Kind regards, Irish Fire Service'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

donaghs wrote: »
    The people who attacked the firemen should be tracked down, and given a punishment which would dissuade them from doing it again.

Yes, burn their homes down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Wossack wrote: »
    there needs to be some sort of emergency services blacklist - fire/ambulance/gardai

abuse em, lose em

'14 scum-ton road? Im sorry, computer-says-no. It seems your son likes throwing bricks at our trucks. Our advice at this time is to try using water. Kind regards, Irish Fire Service'

But as someone said earlier in this thread, the scumbags aren't nessacarily from the area that the fire is. Why should the normal, decent residents of the area go without emergency services just because a few scumbags think its fun to throw stones/bricks/fireworks at them?

The gardai should have came out when they were needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

bman wrote: »
    But as someone said earlier in this thread, the scumbags aren't nessacarily from the area that the fire is. Why should the normal, decent residents of the area go without emergency services just because a few scumbags think its fun to throw stones/bricks/fireworks at them?

The gardai should have came out when they were needed.

Maynooth has about 1/3rd of the Gardai it actually needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Maynooth has about 1/3rd of the Gardai it actually needs.

Same out in Dublin 15.. The amount of new estates that have been built out this way and a very low increase in the amount of gardai. Its disgraceful.. Then again only 39% of the people in my area bothered their arses to vote in the last election..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭g5hn710m4xpdwy

Mordeth wrote: »
    arm the fire brigade!

Am I the only one that feel that a water canon to the face of a scumbag would be great fun?

EDIT: Guess not... just read the rest of the posts...

Whitewashman big difference from being a fireperson in Dublin then Australia.

Yeah, because there are no scumbags in Australia.

Also, Maynooth is in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

this is the new scumbag ireland, in some areas of dublin, and this is fact, the fire brigade will not enter without armed back up.

Sure, we have to give the gards stab vests and paramedics want them now, thanks to these sh*itheads

We could use the "first aid pumps" for these lads, the small hoses that are quick to get at while the others are set up in a fire................bring back mcdowell, change the law,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

dodgyme wrote: »

Left IRL in 84, I come over on a regular basis to visit my folks in Dublin. Must say it can be a threatening place at night with alcohol fueled youths. I feel the laws in IRL are too liberal. People don't seem accountable for there actions.

Not sure what the answer is?