Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inflated job titles

• 18-10-2007 10:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Nowadays, many people have fancy job titles that in no way describe what they do.

Examples:
    Recruitment Consultant is realy someone reading CV’s and making calls. Little more than a sales job and certainly not a consultant.

Fuel Technician: This is what teenagers working as petrol pump attendants do.
    Now I thought a fuel technician is like a chemist working in a laboratory but obviously not.

In a corporation everyone seems to be a vice-president. Surely there is only one vice-president :confused:

A secretary is now an executive assistant

So anyone else know any misleading and inflated job titles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

'Services officer' = Messenger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

stock level controller = shelf packer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

A friend of mine use to work for subway and his official job title was "Sandwich Artist".

I've worked in a job where my title was head of support, but the support department consisted of just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

"Director of First Impressions" = Receptionist
    I kid you not, I know one of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

I met a guy last week who's business card says "Metaverse Evangelist" , fvck knows what he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Trolleyoligist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Marketing Executive = Sales

Business Development Executive = Sales

Account Manager = Sales

Recruitment Consultant = Sales

/he says whilst shaking his fist at the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I worked many years to get my job title of vice deputy sub assistant. :p

I used to work as a cleaner (locker room attendant) on a golf course before I became a swindler (sales assistant) in a Dublin toy shop, now I'm a professional slacker (student).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Any job with a title that isn't immediately self explanatory is by default sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

i used to work pumping petrol and my official title was "petroleum distribution engineer"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭dade

know a guy who worked desktop support and his offical title was "IT Co-Ordinator"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

matrim wrote: »
    I've worked in a job where my title was head of support, but the support department consisted of just me.
    That's like my job, I'm the IT Manager of myself. We have great fun at work coming up with daft titles for ourselves when enterprise Ireland comes around.
    i used to work pumping petrol and my official title was "petroleum distribution engineer"
    I used to do that job too, we where called forecourt attendants or just the lads usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

growler wrote: »
    I met a guy last week who's business card says "Metaverse Evangelist" , fvck knows what he does.
    L.M.A.O. :D

is that what those street scientologists are called I wonder?

Fuel Injection Engineer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

This sort of stuff really pisses me off. I worked in a call centre where everyone was an "associate". I also worked in the IT department of a large company, of around 25 people in the office there were something like 6 vice presidents.

Whats with all the forecourt attendants here btw? Its a very long time since I've been to a garage where you don't have to pump your own fuel!

cornbb wrote: »
    Whats with all the forecourt attendants here btw? Its a very long time since I've been to a garage where you don't have to pump your own fuel!

... its cold out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Well my official title is Property Management Departmental Administrator = Secretary :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

connundrum wrote: »
    Marketing Executive = Sales

Business Development Executive = Sales

Account Manager = Sales

Recruitment Consultant = Sales

/he says whilst shaking his fist at the man.

Add Customer Relations Executive to that list. Sales also.

I hate Sales :mad: Thankfully I don't have to do it. I just have to decipher/carry out/fix the mess that they requested. :D

My official title is Billing Analyst :)
    and NO! I don't work in a call center! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Outer Bongolia

In Listowel on the farms there is a guy who has to wipe the sh*t off of the tractor wheels and I believe he goes by the title of Duke of Spatial Quality Levels in the field of Cultivatory Mechanical Utilation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I used to work packing shelves in college, I was a 'Sales Assistant'

Even in some professions a lot of trainees have had the word 'trainee' removed from their title. I used to be a 'Trainee Actuary' or 'Actuarial Student', now, despite not having qualified or my job description not having changed at all, I am an 'Actuarial Analyst'!!! load of toss really. I know a couple of lads studying accountancy exams and its a pretty similar situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

I blame the marketing types for this load of BS, who else would excel so much at putting spin on a job title.:mad:

I have heard of people getting job title improvements instead of pay rises, just because at least it looks better on a CV even if it really does have nothing to do with what you actually do.

I'm an Engineering assistant but that doesn't even begin to describe all my jobs within the company, and is not even a particularly accurate title when you even just consider my main job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭Nala

Executive Refuse Co-Ordinator = bin man

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Hygiene technician = cleaner
    Loss prevention officer = security guard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭onechewy

In-flight service co-ordinator = Air Hostess

I heard that recently on Continental Airlines... funny :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Taxi Driver= Cúnt:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Software Engineer -> coffee drinker/web surfer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Technical Support Analyst = Free internet cafe

The ones i heard

Recruitment Officer .
    Service delivery Manager.
    Customer retention Officer.
    Senior sales specialist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Transparent Surface Technician - Window Cleaner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I have a name badge in work that names me as 'Senior Sales Assistant' dunno what it means but it makes me feel powerful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

For a period I was employed as a "retail merchandiser". I used to stack shelves in Spar.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

griffdaddy wrote: »
    Taxi Driver= Cúnt:D

thats not very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

rbd wrote: »
    thats not very nice

maybe not but pretty funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

jester77 wrote: »
    Software Engineer -> coffee drinker/web surfer :D

Not true, some of us drink tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Dalfiatach

farohar wrote: »
    I blame the marketing types for this load of BS, who else would excel so much at putting spin on a job title.:mad:

I have heard of people getting job title improvements instead of pay rises, just because at least it looks better on a CV even if it really does have nothing to do with what you actually do.

That's happened to me twice down the years. Offered a fancy title by the Marketdroid boss instead of getting paid what I was due. In both cases, the boss was genuinely shocked and stunned when I told him to shove the job title, I wanted the moolah. Neither of them could understand why I wasn't remotely interested in a meaningless shiny bauble :eek:

Marketing people are Evil. Their priorities are all wrong, they can't organise sh1t, and they don't seem to very good at actually marketing products, the ads are so full of shiny bling, FUD, spoofing, and terrible, terrible "wacky" "jokes".

Every single time I've seen a company go bad, it's the bloody Marketing people behind the collapse.

Every time I'm in a meeting with them, I'm forever reminded of 2 Ted scenes - "these cows are small..." and the bit where Ted waves a shiny sweetie in front of Dougal then throws it across the room.

When I'm Supreme Dictator they'll be the very first on the truck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

Ah, fancy job titles! A great way for large multinational corporations to sucker young, over-educated, under-entrepreneurial Irish people into working boring jobs for crap money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Refuse Disposal Officer = Binman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

astrolinguist = guy who bought a degree in Klingon from an online university

Everyone's an engineer of some sort :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

HOw about "Minister for..." they don't really do their jobs...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Asked a guy in Hawaii what he worked as:

Him: "Property Management"
    Me: "Cool, what does that entail?"
    Him: "Planting Shrups, trim hedges etc..."

He was a gardener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Myth wrote: »
    Everyone's an engineer of some sort :(

Too true, nobody without an accredited degree and formal certification should ever consider the term "Engineer" in their title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

dame wrote: »
    First Impressions

i have interviewed loads of potential waitresses with excellent 'first impressions'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I know a prostitute, she calls herself "chief ejaculation invoker"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cleaner - hygiene operative
    Person who does manicures (I think - or maybe puts on false nails or something) - nail technician
    Sales specialist - shop assistant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

System Operator = Billing Systems Support Engineer

I always use the 2nd one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Can't find full-time work/laid off: Consultant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Intercourse Facilitation Engineer = hoor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Revenue Protection Officer->"Tickets please!"

Grafter = eejit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Media freelancer - prostitute (I was one until a few days ago)