Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Joker Poker - European Deepstack Poker Championships! Feb 2008

• 16-10-2007 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭

Green Joker Poker is Proud to announce The European Deepstack Poker Championships.

A Sneak Preview for boards.ie (web page going live with structure's etc soon):

Main Event - 50,000 starting chips, 1 hr clock
    S/H Holdem - 20,000 starting chips, 1 hr clock
    Omaha - 20,000 starting chips, 1 hr clock

Venue: Drogheda Poker Club
    Satellites: Start soon......
    Dealer Dealt: Of Course
    Structures: To Die for! Blinds start at 25/50 none of the WPT 50/100 nonsense!

Saturday 2nd Feb
    6pm Event 1 €500+€50 short-handed NL Holdem Deep Stack Freezeout (6max) - 2 day event
    (108 players max - Book in Advance to Guarantee seat!)
    Sunday 3rd Feb
    6pm Final of Event 1
    8pm €100+€10 Super Satellite for Main Event 1 rebuy or addon @ €100
    Monday 4th Feb
    7pm Event 2 €500+€50 Omaha Deep Stack Freezeout - 2 day event
    (135 players max - Book in Advance to Guarantee seat!)
    Tuesday 5th Feb
    7pm Final of Event 2
    8pm €100+€10 Super Satellite for Main Event 1 rebuy or addon @ €100
    Wednesday 6th Feb
    7pm €1400+€100 European Deep Stack Poker Championship Event Day 1a- 4 day event
    (150 players max - Registration closes 4pm Weds 6th!)
    Thursday 7th Feb
    7pm €1400+€100 European Deep Stack Poker Championship Event Day 1b- 4 day event
    (150 players max - Registration closes 4pm Weds 6th!)
    Friday 8th Feb
    7pm €1400+€100 European Deep Stack Poker Championship Event Day 2
    Saturday 9th Feb
    4pm €1400+€100 European Deep Stack Poker Championship Event Day 3
    7pm €500+€50 No Limit Holdem Freezeout - 2 day event
    (150 players max - Book in Advance to Guarantee seat!)
    Sunday 10th Feb
    3pm €1400+€100 European Deep Stack Poker Championship Event FInal
    4pm €500+€50 NL Holdem Final
    6pm €200+€20 No Limit Holdem - 1 day event
    (130 players max - Book in Advance to Guarantee seat!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

oooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

homerdrooling.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

DeadParrot wrote: »
    oooooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Shortstack wrote: »
    50,000 starting chips, 1 hr clock
    cat-shock.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

Wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

mama mia, i shall have a portion of event 2 with main event also tyvm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

omgomgomg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭fabsoul

50k wow.

Mike, can you please stick me down for the 500 shorthanded event and the 1500 ME. I will make time for these. So sick good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

is it not getting a bit ridiculous with these huge starting stacks? I'm all for great playable structures etc but over the past year or so they have gone from 3k to 5k to 7.5k to 10k to 15k to 20k. Now its 50k. Is there really a need to give people 50k chips? Would 20k and a 60 or 90 minute clock not acheive the same?

its a bit like having the Amp that goes to 11 imo.

Anyone agree?

Hammertime wrote: »
    is it not getting a bit ridiculous with these huge starting stacks? I'm all for great playable structures etc but over the past year or so they have gone from 3k to 5k to 7.5k to 10k to 15k to 20k. Now its 50k. Is there really a need to give people 50k chips? Would 20k and a 60 or 90 minute clock not acheive the same?

Anyone agree?

No. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

i will also play the 500 short handed and the main event mike,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Mike, can you please stick me down for the 500 shorthanded event and the 1500 ME. I will make time for these. So sick good!!

Done.

We have a full PR machine getting behind this one. Expect it to sell out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Nice, booking time off work for this tomorrow!

€20 says that even with 1,000 BBs some donk will still go all in on the first hand :eek:

Possibly me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

sweetness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

wow, great structure.count me in, esp for the S/H event. Fair play for putting it on and keeping reg @ 10%, I know a lot of organiser don't bother because of the dealing issue.

ps: hope we can read at the tables!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

"I'll raise......450"
    "Reraise......14000"
    "I fold"
    He shows AK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

need to see the structure but this could very well turn into a total crap shoot at the final table and I'm not joking

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

This time 5 years it will be 1 million chips starting at 1/2 (not 100/200) at this rate.

Looks fantastic though, and I would love to play. I presume you will keep us relatively up to date on the number of entrants to this Mike to allow us to make a decision before they are sold out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Trippie wrote: »
    i will also play the 500 short handed and the main event mike,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Anyone agree?

totally agree, its gettin ridiculous now. i played a 300 tournament in the WynnLasVegas last year 3000 startin chips and 40 minutes clock, worked out brilliant and was never in danger of turning into a crap shoot as this possibly could.
    like nicnicnic said final table could be very crapshooty. Tournamnet poker is about Big stack small stacks and players getting knocked out, the blinds here will be so high when the fields starts to thin it wont matter if u have 50000 or 500000 chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Hi Mike,

Looks great but it's bang in the middle of Big Slicks coursing events.

BIG SLICK EVENTS
    FEB - 3rd 4th 5th 6th – Blondepoker Coursing Clonmel – Minella Hotel
    3rd €250 Freezeout
    4th €200 Freezeout
    5th €150 Freezeout
    6th €100 Freezeout

Are your dates set in stone?

I hope to make it either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

I'll deffo play this....I've never had 50k in chips!:rolleyes:

JP Poker wrote: »
    Hi Mike,

Looks great but it's bang in the middle of Big Slicks coursing events.

BIG SLICK EVENTS
    FEB - 3rd 4th 5th 6th – Blondepoker Coursing Clonmel – Minella Hotel
    3rd €250 Freezeout
    4th €200 Freezeout
    5th €150 Freezeout
    6th €100 Freezeout

Are your dates set in stone?

I hope to make it either way

I have avoided all big festivals in Europe the best I can yet still we start the S/H as an EPT finishes which is not an issue as I imagine this will sell out locally even though the International interest in this is huge already from feedback I have had during planning.

Impossible not to clash with something but to be honest I don't think these two events compare and will not affect each other too much.

The structure of the Main Event is below.

structure.gif

Points of note:

There are a lot of similar events out there.
    We are only planning one festival a year.
    We wanted to do something different. We Have.

As a poker player (loose use of words!) I think this will play a lot different to most tournaments. I doubt it will be boring. The different approaches that people bring to such a deepstacked tournament will make for a lot of interesting hands I suspect.

It will be a long 4 days for the winner but they will be a worthy champion and I fully expect to get 300 runners for this so they will be well rewarded.

If anyone thinks I would let a final table become a crapshoot then they do not know me at all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Holy mother of god that starting stack is :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

Mike reserve me a spot in the main event. Looking forward to it.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

oh My God, looks amazing Mike,

Put my name down for the main event, plus Martin aswell (he doesn't know yet)

Roll on Satellite games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Points of note:

If anyone thinks I would let a final table become a crapshoot then they do not know me at all :)

sound Mike didnt mean to take from what your trying to achieve here in any way and you know ill be there for sure. Just thinking of the way the wpt 50k starting stack ends ( huge amount of play early none late ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

The structure looks great - loadsa play.
    Just one thing - Dev mentioned in his "well thread" that GJP festivals will be kept at 1k buy in.
    Just an observation

nicnicnic wrote: »
    sound Mike didnt mean to take from what your trying to achieve here in any way and you know ill be there for sure. Just thinking of the way the wpt 50k starting stack ends ( huge amount of play early none late ).

Nicky, the WPT events would have a great late structure if they didn't remove levels left right and centre while making the clock 30mins at the FT. All for TV. Players always agree that the structure up to the final 6 is peerless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Mike,this looks fantastic,and clearly a lot of thought and effort have gone into it.I sincerely hope this is a huge success,and i'm sure this will be a big hit with players right across europe.This will put GJP firmly on the international map(if not already),and the very best of luck with it.I will certainly be there with bells on:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

50k OMFG :eek:

Eh, looking for any dealers by any chance :)

The structure looks great - loadsa play.
    Just one thing - Dev mentioned in his "well thread" that GJP festivals will be kept at 1k buy in.
    Just an observation

I have not got round to reading all of his well unfortunately, otherwise I would have asked him to edit that out. This is aimed at the whole of Europe and not just Ireland. We need to have the buy in a bit bigger to generate the right amount of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

i have a list of dealers that will deffo show up if you need any, dealers that are reliable and asked for more work if there is any

also, please put me down for the 1st saturday game 500 nl game and confirm my entry
    if you need me to pre register with payment, pm me

also, is it possible that you could email / phone me (or players that have registered) 1 week i advance of the event, as a reminder ?

i wish you the best with this event, it looks great i hope it fills, i could do with the money, please post prize structure or at least just what does 1st place pay, its the only place i'm really interested in

will there be sats for the 1400 event ? and where will they be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Add me please for de main event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭David Michael

ocallagh wrote: »

ps: hope we can read at the tables!

lol :D I was thinking iPod and films!
    I have not got round to reading all of his well unfortunately, otherwise I would have asked him to edit that out. This is aimed at the whole of Europe and not just Ireland. We need to have the buy in a bit bigger to generate the right amount of interest.

In firness to dev he mentioned the "GJP event" which would kinda have meant the current one rather than this new festival from my reading...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54176012&postcount=61

Meant to add. Best of luck with this by the way. Looks the goodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Anyone agree?

BUT IT GOES TO 11!!!

spinaltap-36821.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

wowowowowowowowow

my new meaning in life is to play this tournament

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Mike, can you please stick me down for the 500 shorthanded event. So sick good!!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Shane, play the main event you nit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I can see his reply now,

"6 max > Full ring"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Hi Mike / GJP

Congrats the events look really great. Can you tell me how to go about pre registering and when that option will be available. I will be playing the Short Handed Holdem and the Omaha events. They look like great events and im sure they will sell out quite quickly which is why i ask.

Thanks,
    Tom

Mellor wrote: »
    I can see his reply now,

"6 max > Full ring"

So, eh - play both??

lol

I hope to play it, but i'm not really sure about it enough to book a place atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

50k seems a bit much. Also in the structure you posted up, i think the antes a a bit too big. They should be about 10% of the sb imo, not the bb. EDIT: Otherwise it looks fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

lol

I hope to play it, but i'm not really sure about it enough to book a place atm.

Just luckbox your way in through a satelite like you always do, sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Scummyscousers

I'd imgine the ME will attract a lot of journeymen pros from Europe/Britain The buyin is spot on for these lads....So the ME might fill pretty qickly
    Also the 50K and clock will unearth nits from every corner of middle nitdom.

few Qs
    Any offline Sats for this planned in conjunction with SE, Jackpot? CHLs.
    Will you reserve tickets for the ME for these Sats? ie how many?
    Any TV interest?
    Will this be online reg only?:)

On a side note : your monthly 300 game should be reduced to a 200 game.
    This may boost the figures back up. IMO.

EG Some may travel up to play a 200 rather play a 300 in Dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Really in two minds on this i dont know if players betting will be out of proportion early on as u can afford alot of hit and i mean a good few with 1000 big blinds .In fairness to Gjp they Have good ideas I would not do this one but if anyone can pull it off Mike and Brian are prob the only two

Best of Luck with it Wont make it Due to the Coursing event ! This event might affect or help u a little down this way as its pay day for most as the Cash action is the Biggest in the Country for 3 days and players either get broke or get rich ... South East players Save for this and alot tarvel but i dont think it will affect

Neill