Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Cheers for the Sligo Police!

• 11-10-2007 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭

Seriously, fair play to the Sligo Gardai especially after tonight:

My husband and I went out to a nice restaurant to celebrate my new job. As we were walking back home (this was about 30 minutes ago, now) a college-age student who was obviously three sheets to the wind was walking in the opposite direction towards us. He reached out and grabbed my breast.

I was so shocked, I just sort of stopped, turned around, and was about to call out "what the @#$%" to him when I decided I'd rather not find out if he was also violent. Mr. Xiney asked me what was wrong as he hadn't seen (it happened really fast) and then he wanted to go after him but I stopped him.

I called 999, got the Gardai, and told them what had happened and a good description of the guy. The Garda was an absolute dear, he asked me if I was ok, which obviously I am, just completely shocked. He asked if I'd want the guy taken to court and I told him that I thought he was too drunk to really know what he was doing and to just give him a stern talking to and tell him to go home. (Mr. Xiney thinks I should have had him charged, but I honestly believe he was simply too drunk to know any better... doesn't excuse him completely of course)

Anyway he took my details and I hung up the phone, but a few minutes later he called back to let me know that they'd caught up with him based on the description I gave and they were dealing with him and giving him a strong caution. He again asked me if I was ok and I said I was.

Absolutely impressed with the professionalism of the Gardai and the outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thats what happens to almightycushion when he has had a few, he should apologise really:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

You sound like a bit of a cat lady, with out her cats. He might not have been a student. Maybe he had mental problems, and here you go trying to get him beaten up by the cops and thrown in jail. Shame on you.

You also sound like you're some kind of Women's rights activist. I bet you were celebrating that you got your job because you think that it's some kind of an achievement that a Woman can get a job and become a career lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I can recognize a windup when I see one, but nevertheless:

mentally ill or not, his behaviour was unacceptable. As is complacency in regards to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Mmmmmmm , breastiges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Your husband is a pussy if he didnt deal with it himself.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote: »

kdjac

OOO we really have our claws out tonight dont we.:)

I agree though.

Stekelly wrote: »
    OOO we really have our claws out tonight dont we.:)

I agree though.

Some drunk dude gets a charge cos some bloke is a pussy and "didnt see it".

A simple smack in the face is sufficient punishment tbh.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Sexual harassment hmmm

Not acceptable as mentioned in my signature :D

Some drunk dude gets a charge cos some bloke is a pussy and "didnt see it".

A simple smack in the face is sufficient punishment tbh.

kdjac

She should be allowed to give the guys balls a good squeeze as punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Better a stern talking to by a Garda than a fist to the face by an angry husband

biko wrote: »
    Better a stern talking to by a Garda than a fist to the face by an angry husband

Down with that sort of thing. Vigilantism all the way.

I didn't have him charged. I had him cautionned.

And as for my husband beating him to a pulp, which he wanted to, if he'd seriously injured the guy, I doubt the Gardai would have given him a warning.

That said, the replies to this thread have not filled me with confidence in Irish society.

Xiney wrote: »

That said, the replies to this thread have not filled me with confidence in Irish society.

the original post doesnt do it for me either.

kdjac

If by that you mean that drunk men wandering around reaching out to grab strange women's breasts is worrisome, then I completely agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

What is this bollocks we've been subjected to recently that a "good punch in the face will solve everything"? Is this the day and age we live in?

Xiney and Mr. Xiney did the right thing. It was better to walk away - yer man was probably hammered and like Xiney said, they had no idea of what the groper was capable of. Believe me.. Sligo (and Ireland in general) is getting rougher and rougher. Assume if the guy had the stones (OK, he was more than likely hammered) to grope someone then he may well have had a "backup" on the off chance someone got punchy towards him.

This violence solves everything stuff is utter crap. Have never been a fan of violence and would only "indulge" if it was absolutely positively necessary. I will try to avoid it more than anything.

Might make me a pussy fair enough but i'm less likely to end up on the other end of a pissed-off bloke with a weapon than the guy who wanted to get a punch in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

This is AH.
    That's pretty much what you get when you post here. Unfortunately.

basquille wrote: »
    What is this bollocks we've been subjected to recently that a "good punch in the face will solve everything"? Is this the day and age we live in?.

Well there does seem to be a direct relationship between the dropping level of acceptance of hitting people (kids, criminals etc) and the rise of anti social behavior.

As the saying goes, a few slaps never did me any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

its easy give advice sitting at a computer id say a lot of the heros above would of been more than happy to let their wives/girlfriends handle it the same way you did [very well without panic or hysteria ] if they were in the same position .ye got home safe he got cautioned every wakes up tommorow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Should have went behind the bushes for a threesome;)

Terry wrote: »
    This is AH.
    That's pretty much what you get when you post here. Unfortunately.

I see that, now. But it's been over three years since I visited Boards regularly... and then I was mainly a lurker. But it was different, then.

padi89 wrote: »
    Should have went behind the bushes for a threesome;)

That is why god gave women 2 boobicles afterall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Binomate wrote: »
    You sound like a bit of a cat lady, with out her cats. He might not have been a student. Maybe he had mental problems, and here you go trying to get him beaten up by the cops and thrown in jail. Shame on you.

You also sound like you're some kind of Women's rights activist. I bet you were celebrating that you got your job because you think that it's some kind of an achievement that a Woman can get a job and become a career lady.

a bit harsh,take it easy for christ's sake!assumptions *tut tut*

good for you xiney,well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

You should have grabbed his crotch, see how he likes sexual abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

I see that, now. But it's been over three years since I visited Boards regularly... and then I was mainly a lurker. But it was different, then.
    It's not all like AH, please don't judge us...;)

Off Topic, but, as it's my own thread: The rest of Boards is a bit segregated into specific areas, which I have to say are also somewhat cliquey and therefore unattractive.

Maybe After Hours would move slowly enough to follow if the unwashed masses were dealt with. Or, at least, if the board charter is to be ignored, at least take it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

any chance of posting some pics? just so we can assess the damage for ourselves like... you could be telling total fibs for all we know......

>.>

We'll need to see bth so we can compare and have a before nad after.

Off Topic, but, as it's my own thread: The rest of Boards is a bit segregated into specific areas, which I have to say are also somewhat cliquey and therefore unattractive.

Maybe After Hours would move slowly enough to follow if the unwashed masses were dealt with. Or, at least, if the board charter is to be ignored, at least take it down.
    Binomate has recieve a warning for his comments (New infraction system).

If you have any problems with how AH is run, please feel free to take it up in feedback.

There is a thread there at the moment about problems here.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055156974
    From post #63 onwards. Ignore the crap before that.

In the man time, the report post function is always there is you see something which is not to your taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Binomate wrote: »

Yay Binomate well said...:rolleyes: Twat. Problems with the ladies eh?

Steyr wrote: »
    Yay Binomate well said...:rolleyes: Twat. Problems with the ladies eh?
    Warning given

Terry wrote: »
    In the man time, the report post function is always there is you see something which is not to your taste.

There are so many replies here that I feel contravene the charter stickied on this board that I'd feel absolutely silly reporting them all.

I visit other boards where posters act like this, but there is no such charter instructing them not to. In my opinion, as you are a mod and you yourself have seen the same threads I have, you should be able to recognize which ones are out of line. It should not take me reporting them unless a mod has not been to see.

Being as this was an incident of sexual harrassment/assault, I believe that 80% of the comments were a) insensitive and b) not dealing with the issue at hand, which was to praise the professional way that it was handled by the Gardai, but rather to either insult me or my husband.

If you like, I can report all the replies I found objectionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Being as this was an incident of sexual harrassment/assault, I believe that 80% of the comments were a) insensitive and b) not dealing with the issue at hand, which was to praise the professional way that it was handled by the Gardai, but rather to either insult me or my husband.

You choose the subject matter not how people are allowed to interpret it. Childishness and insensitive levity are part and parcel of AH if you don't like it AH is not for you.

I don't agree with a lot of the posts on this thread but this isn't the place to moan about it.

For what it's worth I think what the hooligan did to you was objectionable but nothing more than indecent drunken behaviour.

Again, I just remember a time when After Hours was actually an entertaining place to hold a discussion. I was not aware of it's degeneration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Fair enough, I guess I'm new to these parts :o

There are so many replies here that I feel contravene the charter stickied on this board that I'd feel absolutely silly reporting them all.

I visit other boards where posters act like this, but there is no such charter instructing them not to. In my opinion, as you are a mod and you yourself have seen the same threads I have, you should be able to recognize which ones are out of line. It should not take me reporting them unless a mod has not been to see.

I would prefer you did not report all those posts.
    However, I would like you to take it up in feedback and link to the relevant posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Out of interest OP, how do you know he was a student?

Thrill wrote: »
    Out of interest OP, how do you know he was a student?

I'll admit that I don't know for sure and I did mean to say "college-age man". I had assumed that he was a student based on his age and the fact that he was coming from the college, however, and I'm sure that's how it came to be that I slipped into saying student instead of man.

He may very well not have been a student, but I have to say that if I were placing bets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Eh, why are people getting all riled up over an obvious pisstake/wind-up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭uglyjohn

at the risk of becoming unpopular......i think xiney did the right thing, mr.xiney beating the crap out of some kid would solve nothing. he was drunk, acted the maggot and got a stern talking to from the proper people.....he deserved a warning and he got it.

that sort of thing shouldnt be allowed to happen, but it would be wrong to get some drunk kid up in court or hospital(thanks to mr.xiney) because of it.

op+1 well done sligo police,well done xiney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The student behaved very badly, even for a drunk.
    When he realises what he did I bet he felt a right tit.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Something like this was probably better served in Humanities. I think Xiney, you would find that more to your liking.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Sorry to hear you don't appreciate the responses Xiney, but to be honest I think they have been mild by AH insensitivity standards.

Anyway, all I have to say is since you didn't want to press charges how do you know they actually found the lad:

*Garda hangs up after recieving call. Heads out and grabs a bite to eat. Comes back, phones you back: "Oh, yes, we have the lad now, it was easy to find him with the description you gave..." etc...

As for the behaviour of the young lad; completely unacceptable regardless of whether he was drunk or not. Being drunk should never be an excuse for misbehaviour as it only opens the doors to worse behaviour being tolerated because the person was drunk. If sexual assault is ok when drunk what's to stop someone feeling rape is ok when drunk, you should have pressed charges IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭celt262

Ok so he may or may not have been a student. This is how students get bad name's . You gave a description to the guards, did you not have to go to the garda station and identify him?? They could have picked up any "student" . You haven't posted here for a while yet i feel that you would like to get lots of the posters into trouble. OP
    > troublemaker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He asked if I'd want the guy taken to court and I told him that I thought he was too drunk to really know what he was doing

Not a valid excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 UnderPantsMan

Your local Guards delt with a minor incident quickly and efficiently. I'd kind of expect that from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭egan007

While I think your actions were correct and I'm sorry that this happened you. You are the one that immediately assumed he was a student.

That kind of assumption does not fill me with confidence in Irish Society.

Don't be too judgemental, this is AH after all, a somewhat irreverent forum.
    You will get different responses to this topic depending on which forum you post in.

PI - The poor student has issues and needs help.
    LGB - You husband must be ugly if he felt you up instead of him.
    Military - Shoot him on sight.
    Islam - What were you doing out of the house at night.
    Christianity - Alcohol is the tool of the Devel
    Humour - LOL
    Fashion and Appearance - I hope he didn't damage your blouse
    CS - She said breast
    Photography - maybe the incident is on a security camera
    Cork - He's only a langer
    Mathematics - What's a breast?
    Motors - Did you see what he drove off in?
    All things Retro - I remember when that used to happen to me
    S&S - Did you enjoy it?

As DeV said Humanities would have been a wiser choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

On the presumption that OP is relating a real story, she defo posted it in the wrong place.

Still on that presumption, I reckon they played it right on the walking away & calling the Guards. If Mr Drunken Molestor had pulled a large blade out of his jacket & stabbed Mr Xiney, the story would be a whole lot worse.

I think a caution was insufficient punishment though. A man sexually abused a woman, ffs. What will he do for his next trick, given that he's pretty much got away with it?

Jail the bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Hagar wrote: »
    The student behaved very badly, even for a drunk.
    When he realises what he did I bet he felt a right tit.
    Hagar wrote: »
    Don't be too judgemental, this is AH after all, a somewhat irreverent forum.
    You will get different responses to this topic depending on which forum you post in.

PI - The poor student has issues and needs help.
    LGB - You husband must be ugly if he felt you up instead of him.
    Military - Shoot him on sight.
    Islam - What were you doing out of the house at night.
    Christianity - Alcohol is the tool of the Devel
    Humour - LOL
    Fashion and Appearance - I hope he didn't damage your blouse
    CS - She said breast
    Photography - maybe the incident is on a security camera
    Cork - He's only a langer
    Mathematics - What's a breast?
    Motors - Did you see what he drove off in?
    All things Retro - I remember when that used to happen to me
    S&S - Did you enjoy it?

As DeV said Humanities would have been a wiser choice.

Anyone who ever wondered how Hagar became mod of humour now has their answer :D Brilliant...I think the first reply passed over a lot of heads :)

Xiney and Mr Xiney are to be congratulated as much as the gardaí to be honest! Him, for not pulping the offender and her for not having him charged. Maybe he'll have learned his lesson and if not, at least there is now a record of the incident. Kudos to the gardaí too for their swift response!

Blushes...