Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US / IRL: 3X04 - "Good Fences" [** SPOILERS WITHIN **]

• 08-10-2007 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭

- WARNING: THIS THREAD WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT SEEN "GOOD FENCES" -

Episode Title: "Good Fences"
    Airdate: October 8th 2007

TV.com Summary:
    After taking delivery of a package from The Company, Lincoln realizes that they are deadly serious.

Michael's new break out plan relies on electricity. Haywire is back from the dead, haunting disoriented Mahone. Bellick and T-Bag get special attention from Lechero.

SPOILER WARNING:

From now on, this thread shall reveal details of the episode mentioned above. If you have not yet seen this episode, please do not move any further down the thread.

This episode shall air on:

Fox (US) - October 8th 2007
    RTÉ2 (UK/IRL) - October 12th 2007
    Sky One (UK/IRL) - October 14th 2007

If you are sure you have seen the episode as mentioned above (on the channels on those original airdates), you can move down further in order to discuss the episode.

Otherwise, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED - there shall be major plot details of the episode revealed and discussed below with no spoiler tags used!

What did you think of "Good Fences"? 61 votes

0%
    3%
    GillieGBX 2 votes
    26%
    Mossy MonkMr EOur man in Havanathe whole year innCactus Colskibumevil_seedTakeshi_KovacsRAUL DUKEBFassassinL31mr0dMurtCJelloGingervitisBloodSugarSexhana-jo 16 votes
    40%
    E@gle.CivilServantD-!AdMMMweemcdeirebhoymatrimUser45701quigodoonothingGeorgeBaileyTomazastvnutzNecronomiconciaran76demandjkeoghThe FreemanFuzzy_DunlopAgamemnon 25 votes
    11%
    squrmQuacklestywygrimm2005Ghost Trainkf1920Poochie05 7 votes
    9%
    BArraWashoutMisterAnarchyDec McCArathornWENTY07 6 votes
    6%
    acquiescefcOixusmanti452 4 votes
    0%
    0%
    1%
    semibluff 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭skibum

Getting better, poor old sarah, michael is going to go lala when he finds out!
    Linc and the company honey to get it on in the future?
    Mahone was brillant, love the way his past his coming back to haunt / taunt him.
    Whats the story with whistler? who is he and why are the company going to these lengths to get him out this way?
    Gave it a 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

the shizo/ghost scenes with mahone are class. anyone else think it was a bit obvious that sucré was gonna get the gravediggers job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

I saw preview pics of this episode and Sucre was a gravedigger in it, so I knew. Also some stupid idiot ruined the sarah deal by posting non spoiler on another forum. Can't believe they killed her off. Maybe that will be the second half of the season, Scofield on revenge. Good to see Haywire back, and mentions of Tweener was cool. Not sure what to make of the note for whistler. That same package was on the table next to Sophie (company chick, prob not her name)
    PS: Michael is a genius. The bit at the end with the fence....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Fantastic, the worst part of the Series 2 is gone. I honestly didn't think they would have the bottle to do it but fair play.

The episode had a very tense Series 1 feel about it, which is a good thing in my opinion. It was hard watching Bellick getting tortured like that and Mahone is always great to watch.

I didn't see the Sucre part coming but i'm not very good at seeing things coming so no surprise there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

SARA... :cries:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭BloodSugarSex

best episode so far in series 3, love the bit at the end where sucre is spraying the fence and its melting!! hopefully the next episode will pick up where this one left off

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Finally, series 3 has kicked off.
    Plenty of betrayals and planning from Michael,
    love the way T-Bag has Mahone on a leash, it's very hard to see exactly how things are gonna go!

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,617 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Great episode.... loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

Sarah getting whacked wasn't such a shock as we all knew it anyway. Sometimes I hate the internet, imagine the shock value if it was completely out of the blue!
    I didn't think they were going to reveal to the viewers that Sarah was dead until Michael found out. Poor Linc is in a real moral dilemma, he obviously wants to see his son again but feels terrible lying to his brother. He can't win.
    Best ep of the season so far, fairly gruesome too;a head in a box, death by strangulation and Bellick gets scalded.
    Fairly obvious that they were going to bribe the guards. The breakout must be happening soon but I have a feeling they will have a setback to make them stay in the prison for a while longer. They did that with the breakout in season one.
    Loved the scene in the cell at the end between Mahone and Michael. Michael really **** his pants which was great to see as he's always so super-cool normally.
    Now that Mahone is a junkie he will be even more unstable which should make for an interesting few eps from now on.
    Oh and "batty boys". Class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭low

sarah getting killed, i really didn't know it was coming. i was disgust by the idea of her hand being in that box...but...i'm just distraught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Wonderful episode

I gave it 9/10. Prison Break back to it's best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I guess she's been written out of the series so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I guess she's been written out of the series so....
    Yeah, she's pregnant and announced she wouldn't be returning to the show.. even after her pregnancy.

Anyways, definitely the best of Season 3.

The first 3 episodes was all pretty meh, but some really great betrayals and scheming in this one has set it apart from the first 3.

I knew Sarah's head was in the box.. it was bound to be as knowing she was written out of the show just meant i knew they'd be sick of filming scenes from behind her and such so it was a bit inevitable. Still gonna be a helluva moment when Michael finds out.

Bellick had some great lines in this too:
    - "yeah.. and i'm single because i'm picky!"
    - "you don't need to be able to change a diaper to know it stinks to high heaven" :D

Anyways.. exciting stuff and hope it wasn't a once off and they keep it up roling into next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭acquiescefc

i gave it a 5. Disappointed, its turning into Macgyver. Maybe its just early days but theres no characters to build. The basketball kid is probably gonna spoil the party at some stage.

The spray on metal thing was not believable, Bellick getting warm coke poured on him silly. Sucre the grave digger was obvious.
    Mahone being a nutter is getting tiring, he should know hes not clever enough to match Schofield. T bag looks likes hes got his feet under the table and I cant see him being someone elses bi-atch.

Hope it gets better, the felt pen thing is interesting im guessing its whats inside it he wants to use. Maybe he'll mix it with candle wax and gaffer tape and make smoke bombs. :D

Oh yaeh...and the old grave digger looked like Arthur Fowler...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭topher182

my god what an episode! its all beginning to kick off now! sucre is a hero!!!!!

cnt believe sara!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Hope it gets better, the felt pen thing is interesting im guessing its whats inside it he wants to use. Maybe he'll mix it with candle wax and gaffer tape and make smoke bombs. :D

I assume you're taking the piss;), coz the pen is just a ploy to string Mahone along, (which he saw through pretty easily) given he left the pen behind when he moved cells.

What may set this break out from season 1 is the fact that everyone major in the prison knows what Michael's capable of, and all the Americans want to get in on it too, so he has less of an element of surprise. Ergo, muchos more tension!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

The spray on metal thing was not believable

How so? There are certain chemical liguids that can corrode metal,and based on the amount of people getting killed in Sona,Sucre will have plenty of time to do it.
    Bellick getting warm coke poured on him silly.

Say what now? I was cringing at that scene,the actor who plays Bellick made it look and feel real.
    Mahone being a nutter is getting tiring, he should know hes not clever enough to match Schofield.

What are you talking about? He is just as clever as Michael,we saw that last season when he figured out the tats and was right on their tail the whole time. He just got done in the end as he was desperate.

This was the best episode of the season so far,and it is getting interesting. Poor old Sarah...too hot...I mean young to die. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sara's head in a box... DIDN'T SEE THAT COMING!!!! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

I thought it'd be Sarah's head in the box, alright... seemed a little far fetched to me - that the company would eliminate the single greatest hold they have over Michael just because Linc did a little investigating? Yeah right.. I mean, send him a video of them torturing/removing body parts etc, etc., but not kill your leverage!

It's not all the leverage though is it? Michael would never turn his back on LJ no matter what they did to Sarah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Really great episode,
    moved along at a nice pace and the tension was great throughout.
    I didn't know sara was going to be in the box so that was a shocker start to the episode. And sucre taking out the fence at the end; after the build up in the episode, fantastic stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

The only thing I fear about Sarah being killed off is how much female support the show will lose now in the states? If the figures are bad this season, we definitely aren't getting another season, no matter how popular it is abroad ! And I know some will say, let it end now, but I betcha you won't be saying that when episode 22 draws near !

I knew it was coming, but I am kinda sad Sara is gone. In fairness, it's not like Michael is going to have another love interest. If he does, then we're not going to believe he was "truly" in love with Sara in previous season. "She's important to me Linc" Could make for a good revenge story. Michael avenging Sara's death :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

shinny wrote: »
    The only thing I fear about Sarah being killed off is how much female support the show will lose now in the states?

Well, speaking as a female, I never watched it for Sarah :) She's not half as hot as Michael!

Quackles wrote: »
    Well, speaking as a female, I never watched it for Sarah :) She's not half as hot as Michael!

Well obviously he is :p but i do think it's a potential concern. I guess time will tell. I hate how the american's just axe things that are hughly popular outside of the states, but not so much in the states.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Really good episode.

Didn't know about Sara leaving so was massively shocked by what was in the box.

The rest of it was very S1 like which is good. Except this time Scofield has to think on his feet ratheer than having it planned out beforehand. Overall I'll give it a 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Washout

i gav it a 6..a few predictable things.

the thing that irked me the most is how t-bag went from shoe shine boy to sales and distrubution in the space of a couple of days.

also how much money is sucre expecting to make picking coffee beans to send home to his family...was he planning on working for one of the fair trade programs?? i know i know its only TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

shinny wrote: »
    The only thing I fear about Sarah being killed off is how much female support the show will lose now in the states? If the figures are bad this season, we definitely aren't getting another season, no matter how popular it is abroad ! And I know some will say, let it end now, but I betcha you won't be saying that when episode 22 draws near !
    i fail to see where they can go for another season they've done the prison, they've done the running, and now they are back doing the prison, just be silly having another season i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Excellent, easily the best of the series so far. Had a really good pace to it and a nice Season 1 feel too which was great. Was happy to see Sucre get in on the plan :) 9/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Best of the season so far by a long shot.

It's really going back to its Season 1 roots with Michael planning the escape, for the first time in a while I felt I was watching Prison Break.

Also, William Fichtner, can't praise the guy enough. Top notch actor and the best thing about the show right now IMO. The fantasty scenes where he was seeing Haywire were excellent...I'm so glad they managed to write him into another episode :D

Sarah's head was a bit of a surprise, I knew she was being written out but I didn't realise it'd be so soon in the season - I think they handled it pretty well overall.

I'd definitely give this one a high score, 8/10. Hope it's a taste of things to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Great stuff, a real return to the claustrophobic style of Season 1. The dialog was sharp too.

I was just thinking that T-Bag had gotten too soft and servile and then he goes and kills the dealer. He obviously has a plan of his own and will soon have Mahone under his control.

Great to have Haywire back again, if only as an hallucination. I was also just thinking that Mahone was going to end up as crazy as Haywire and then Haywire himself returns. The writers are reading my mind. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Oh my god, they killed Sara......

........ you bastards!

Sorry, I just couldn't resist! :D

Didn't see it coming. I had a feeling there'd be a body part in there alright but I thought it would be a finger or hand or something, something to show that The Company were serious and keep the lads on their toes and in check. But I didn't think they'd want to show they were that serious! :eek:

The writers on this show really have a thing for dismemberment, don't they? Between Michael's toe in series one, T-Bag's hand in series one and two and now Sara's head in series three, it's almost like the chopping off of body parts is becoming the show's trademark. Well, I suppose seeing that '24' has the shock return of an old or unexpected character every season as it's trademark, I guess the 'Prison Break' writers feel they need a similar hook as well, eh? ;):D

I agree with what some of the other posters here have already said, it looks like the second part of the season could be all about Michael out for revenge. Now that would be good, the hunted become the hunters!

By the way, looks like we'll have to make the most of next week's episode as there won't be any the following week because the Yanks are showing a baseball match that week, from the sounds of things. One disadvantage of being so close to the US air dates, I guess, that we also have to put up with their breaks or changes to scheduling. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Brilliant Ep!
    Glued to it from Start to finish.

I gave it a 10 simply because I found no fault with it at all.
    It delivered for me!

Roll on next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,407 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Another average episode at best.
    The episodes are becoming very formulaic and the edge seems to be gone.
    Wentworth Miller and Dominic Purcell's acting is very poor so far in this series ,they just seem to be going through the motions with cliched lines.
    Also the killing off of Sarah weakens the kidnappers bargaining point considerably and doesnt make much sense.
    Anyone notice that it is always day time in the prison too ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

By the far the best episode of season 3 but still falling short of what I'd expect from Prison Break. I know that the actress whio plays Sara obviously wants to leave but still really poor writing skills. As mentioned, they are going to lose a lot of female watchers. One of the reasons I watched was the fantastic chemistry between Michael and Sara - that Michael would do anything for her and the end of season 2 would be a perfect ending to the show, having Michael and Sara sail off into the sunset, with all charges dropped.

But no, they drag it onto a third season and all because Linc snooped around they chop off Sara's head? :rolleyes: Again as mentioned, at least torture them for a bit and if Linc tries anything else kill one of em.

Really hating this woman trying to act like she's innocent in all of it; "Do you know the difficulty of what I had to do to that woman?" Grr..her acting wrecks my head aswell. Definitely can't see her and Linc getting it on. Not with what she's doing to him.

So all we have to look forward to is the reunion of Lincoln and LJ...whoop de doo...LJ isn't even that hot. It was Michael+Sara I was looking forward to.

Ok with that over with, the episode was decent. Whistler is pretty boring IMO but Mahone holds this season together, and this episode showed that. His hallucinations were great. Top acting.

Interesting to get some action into Michaels plan. Glad to see Sucre helping out, I didn't like his involvement (or lack of) in the first few episodes.

The scene with Bellick being tortured was good but I agree..it looked like hot coke!

7/10 being

Mahone holds this season together, and this episode showed that. His hallucinations were great. Top acting.

Totally agree, he is the best thing about this show now. A brilliant actor, love watching him ;) Does anyone remember him in Contact with Jody Foster? He played the blind guy, even then he had great on screen presence, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,681 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

bit disappointed with sarah being killed off, might just have been better if she just vanished or something, head in box doesn't really suit prison break, maybe 24, but it seems a bit like trying to shock, but not really clever writing like you normally get from the show. The rest of the episode was okay, but seemed to be a lot going on with nothing really happening. The prison has become a much friendlier/brighter place than when they all entered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

By the far the best episode of season 3 but still falling short of what I'd expect from Prison Break. I know that the actress whio plays Sara obviously wants to leave but still really poor writing skills. As mentioned, they are going to lose a lot of female watchers. One of the reasons I watched was the fantastic chemistry between Michael and Sara - that Michael would do anything for her and the end of season 2 would be a perfect ending to the show, having Michael and Sara sail off into the sunset, with all charges dropped.

But no, they drag it onto a third season and all because Linc snooped around they chop off Sara's head? :rolleyes: Again as mentioned, at least torture them for a bit and if Linc tries anything else kill one of em.

Really hating this woman trying to act like she's innocent in all of it; "Do you know the difficulty of what I had to do to that woman?" Grr..her acting wrecks my head aswell. Definitely can't see her and Linc getting it on. Not with what she's doing to him.

So all we have to look forward to is the reunion of Lincoln and LJ...whoop de doo...LJ isn't even that hot. It was Michael+Sara I was looking forward to.

Ok with that over with, the episode was decent. Whistler is pretty boring IMO but Mahone holds this season together, and this episode showed that. His hallucinations were great. Top acting.

Interesting to get some action into Michaels plan. Glad to see Sucre helping out, I didn't like his involvement (or lack of) in the first few episodes.

The scene with Bellick being tortured was good but I agree..it looked like hot coke!

7/10 being

are you serious when you talk about the great chemistry between michael and sarah , i thought they were not at all believable as lovers and didnt find any chemistry between them , apart from that i liked both charechters for what they were though
    knowing what we now know about wentworth millers real life situation , this is understandable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,407 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Why does that guy Whistler have an English accent when he is Australian ?:D

Anyone notice that it is always day time in the prison too ?

It was night when they 1st entered Sona

moe_sizlak wrote: »
    are you serious when you talk about the great chemistry between michael and sarah , i thought they were not at all believable as lovers and didnt find any chemistry between them , apart from that i liked both charechters for what they were though
    knowing what we now know about wentworth millers real life situation , this is understandable

Yeah I agree, there was no spark between them at all, they simply weren't believable as a couple. Also Wentworth Miller's real-life sexual orientation made it even less believable.

Why does that guy Whistler have an English accent when he is Australian ?

Yanks wouldn't know the difference as most of them have probably never met an Australian (or an English person either I'll bet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

lukin wrote: »
    Also Wentworth Miller's real-life sexual orientation made it even less believable.

I have seen a few people say that and it rather amuses me. You don't go saying in real life Wentworth doesn't really break out of prisons so it makes the show much less believeable. The guy is an actor, I am sure he can pull it off

(Although I admire tweeners dedication to the show in that respect!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

It doesn't seem to be edge-of-your-seat-nail-biting-getting-out-of-trouble-in-the-nick-of-time stuff anymore...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

cooker3 wrote: »
    I have seen a few people say that and it rather amuses me. You don't go saying in real life Wentworth doesn't really break out of prisons so it makes the show much less believeable. The guy is an actor, I am sure he can pull it off

(Although I admire tweeners dedication to the show in that respect!)

its one thing acting as someone who can mastermind a group prison break , acting like you are attracted to a woman when your gay is different , thats a much more basic human trait , many on screen lovers have had relationships off screen at the same time , there is a degree of methood acting in all love scenes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,333 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Why does that guy Whistler have an English accent when he is Australian ?:D

The actor who plays Whistler, Chris Vance, is English but moved to Australia a few years ago so I would think it is his real accent, English with a hint of Australian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

cooker3 wrote: »
    The guy is an actor, I am sure he can pull it off

rofl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,189 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

We get a fairly clear view now of where this season is going now. He gets out, finds out about Sara, freaks at Linc and goes on a rampage Jason Bourne style to shut "The Company" down.

I liked the fact they had a violent sudden dramatic death caused directly by them. I know its a twist that was forced on the writers, but they did well with it. All along over the past series its always, Michael deciphers the clues, figures something out and puts into practice, sometimes successfully, but never really badly. This time, he figured out where Sara was, had linc go get her, he tries and fails and rather then another mild setback they get a total shock of brutal punishment. It kind of staps a little reality and loss into teh fantasy world of prison break.

What id like to see this season from Michael, is him being more rattled and paniced by things. It was ok for the first 2 series (especially 1) where he had everything under control, everything planned out. Now that its all random, flying by the seat of his pants stuff i'd like to see his acting reflect this. Makes the payoff of seeing genuine relief when things go right much better as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Only problem I had with that episode was Sucre. Does he really think he can make loads of money picking coffee beans to send back to help pay for the child etc etc.

I suppose he was a desperate man so he would do anything but that bit annoyed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,189 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I thought a lot of the point of the coffee bean picking thing was that the columbians were allowing panamanians in, so he could sneak over, and thus not be where the authorities thought he was. (hence the fake ID to make him panamanian). He wasn't just going into a field pickin beans, he was escaping the country.

I doubt if Michael will go down the vigilante route, his character is not a killer, just a person who is forced to break the law for the greater good (saving his brother's life).
    He's been given opportunities to kill when it was justified (
    like at the end of last season when he had T-bag at knife-point
    ) but couldn't do it.
    It would totally spoil the series for me if they turned him into some Rambo type lunatic.