Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WCOOP Main Event Scandal

• 03-10-2007 9:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭

IF this is true, it's huge!!

APPARENTLY:

The winner of the WCOOP M.E. is the "sister" <cough cough> of Mark Teltscher aka Play2Kill top online player (winner EPT london, 2nd EPT barcelona). Also they played from same IP address. Furthermore the account was set up that very day.

The plot thickens;

sources are now saying he played on 5 accounts in the Main Event and has had all accounts frozen!!

i pretty much robbed all of the above from here:

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=12334017&page=0&fpart=1&vc=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

deja vu moment here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

I've a feeling Stars are gonna make an example of him, confiscate 1.3m or whatever and show the world they dont take any sh1t. OR.... he squirms his way out of it , keeps the $ and cheating prospers! 50-50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

PokerTube of him winning EPT London '05

Also saying ahh_snap was playing Ka$$ino account so Chad Brown could be the champion ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

I'm backing Burn The breeze in the 3.20 Nottingham today. I'm backing it on my own account, my wifes, my sisters, my fathers and various assorted friends - all from the same IP address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

So whats the accusation exactly?...I'm sure its blindingly obvious but my brain aint working....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

LOL Millions in earnings and hes either too stupid to realise that if he plays n accounts on the same IP hes going to get caught or too mean to do it properly and arrange to use different IP addresses.
    Of course there could be a perfectly innocent explanation:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭badbeatcentral

This happened before in a stars million during the summer, the guy came 8th and all his winnings were taken and distributed to people who were affected,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I've a feeling Stars are gonna make an example of him, confiscate 1.3m or whatever and show the world they dont take any sh1t. OR.... he squirms his way out of it , keeps the $ and cheating prospers! 50-50
    I doubt they will. Poker sites have a habit of trying to keep things quiet that might turn new players away from their site. In saying that though it would be a perfect oppurtunity to scare the players who see nothing wrong with cheating. The only problem is there are ways to cheat and there is nothing the sites can do about it despite what they say and this form of cheating is nowhere near as bad as some of what goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I haven't read the thread, but he should be thrown to the wolves and have the money confiscated and paid out down the line.

This kinda sh1t has to stop!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Badcawl

everyone who uses 3g wireless yoke has the same isp address...........
    sorry you cannot sit at this cash table as there is someone with the same isp address at this table.......
    but it's ok to register for tournies......

ipoker sites

some sites allow the same isp to be used at the same cash table.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

zuutroy wrote:
    So whats the accusation exactly?...I'm sure its blindingly obvious but my brain aint working....

Rules are only one player per account per tournament. A player cant play over one account in the same tournament. Sounds like people are saying he played in the same tournament under 5 accounts. You are not enabled to do so if you tried but some people can fanagle a way around the system to make this possible. It gives an unfair advantage like.
    I would never crib about someone playing a tournament on their friends account(even though this is against most sites rules) but when you can trick the system to play several accounts in the same tournament then thats an entirely different thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Conspicuous

Strange. Surely if hes that big a player and was serious about the coup he would have planned it out a little better. Why didnt he set up multiple broadband accounts, hence different isp addresses avoiding any incriminating evidence. Obviously he didnt think it through very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

standard.

I'm backing Burn The breeze in the 3.20 Nottingham today. I'm backing it on my own account, my wifes, my sisters, my fathers and various assorted friends - all from the same IP address.

lol, I'd say you have a posse of assorted acquaintances baying for your blood right now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

lol @ Mark Teltscher. Is there anyone more disliked in English poker?

NickyOD wrote:
    lol @ Mark Teltscher. Is there anyone more disliked in English poker?

what's wrong with him, give us the trade gossip please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭HeeHawsCantona

lol, I'd say you have a posse of assorted acquaintances baying for your blood right now...

A painful reversal alright I'm currently on tilt and looking for anything on four legs that resembles suited connectors to get it back.

lol, I looked to see if there was a suitable nag in the next race for you and.....The Card Shark is 50/1 in the 4.55 at Sligo

clearly you must put your life roll on this noble beast!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

lol donkaments

This from the 2+2 thread

"a friend who loathes Mark Teltscher reckoned it was probably him because "he is the only cunnt arrogant enough to put monte-carlo". Obviously the context of this was that it was revealed it was a UK account. Mark is known for greeting people with a line like "hello, my name is mark teltscher, I live in park lane and drive a ferrari".

I met him at the weekend and I can't say I'm surprised. Also, from what I've heard from people within Pokerstars, I'm sure they'll only be too happy to make an example of Mark IF he is found to be guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

How can you play in the same tourney under 2 different names using the same IP address ???

unless your constantly logging in and out of each one

I also had the pleasure of playing Mark Teltcher, who won the London EPT last year. He was without doubt one of the biggest arseholes I've ever met. Just in case you miss the name, that's MARK TELTCHER, biggest arse in poker, which is some feat let's be honest. He introduced himself by declaring that he lives in Park Lane. I pretended I didn't know who he was as his ego was obviously already big enough. There was an obviously nervous internet qualifier at the table who Mark decided needed to be rubbed down every 5 minutes. He also made a point of rubbing down James Dempsey from Blonde Poker every time he lost a pot, even though he wasn't in the hand himself. Like most people, I don't like arseholes, especially ones who are useless at poker but let their mouth run and run. I did my best to rib him while still keeping some class about me, but then a situation came up that I couldn't refuse.

Markie boy hadn't played a pot for about 45 minutes, which I had made previous light of. I on the other hand had been raising 75% of hands preflop. It was folded round to the two of us, and I decided to just limp from the small on his big blind. Obviously he was going to raise, it was the first pot the poor sod seemed to have a chance to win. He raises to almost 4,000, blinds 600/1200. I think for a bit and declare myself all-in. He folds instantly and I show him my 104 suited. "Nice fold".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

what an idiot, stars should make an example of him if found guilty of cheating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

He seems a bit autistic in some of his interviews.

walt0r wrote:
    He seems a bit of a c0ck in some of his interviews.

FYP. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

reading that extract from dpommos blog, it seem that theres a pair of arseholes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

walt0r wrote:
    He seems a bit autistic in some of his interviews.

Kinda like another two greats Alan Cunningham and Joe McGinley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭eamonzo

He seems like a bit of a knob in a higher middle class ross o carrolll kelly tom cruise kind of way. I hate his reaction to the ept win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

The Al Lad wrote:
    How can you play in the same tourney under 2 different names using the same IP address ???

unless your constantly logging in and out of each one

The same ip address will only cause a problem if they appear on the same table.

Personally I can't see what all the fuss is. I presume at no stage was he playing at the same table with himself which is the only advantage to be gained.

Pokerstars have been down this road before. Noah Boeken won the Sunday Million about 2 years ago after playing on Marcel Luske's account and 8 others at various stages in the tournament. They made it known at the time that they disapproved of the tactic but did not freeze the account. At the time Marcel Luske had a room with about 16pc's in it and he had a team headed by Noah Boekhen playing in alot of tournaments, with Noah being the quarterback so to speak playing the key accounts at the business end of the tournament.

This link has a comment of the WCCOP of 05 where there was abit of controversy about who was playing what account.

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/information/31274/7/WCOOP_THREAD.html

They couldn't really say much as Noah Boeken is a poker stars sponsored player

One poster said earlier that it is ok to play some one elses account in a tournament. I know quite a few people who do this. It happens when they qualify for a tournament but can't play it themselves. If their friend is also playing as long as they have 2 pc's the same man plays both and no one seems to complain.

With wireless broadband It is very easy to have 2 laptops side by side with different ip address and the thing that is being missed is that if you don't think (especially in omaha) that alot of the cash games have people using multiple accounts at the one cash table you are being extremely naive. Without even noticeable tactics like betting each others hand etc sharing two hands from an info point of view gives a considerable edge.

As for playing 5 different accounts in a large tournament on 5 different pcs at five different tables. The only real edge you get is that you have 5 bites at the cherry rather than 1 (whilst paying 5 times more for the edge).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

We've been down this road before. Multi-accounters are cheats. I would also question the integrity of someone who condones/has no problem with multi-accounting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

The same ip address will only cause a problem if they appear on the same table.

Personally I can't see what all the fuss is. I presume at no stage was he playing at the same table with himself which is the only advantage to be gained.

Pokerstars have been down this road before. Noah Boeken won the Sunday Million about 2 years ago after playing on Marcel Luske's account and 8 others at various stages in the tournament. They made it known at the time that they disapproved of the tactic but did not freeze the account. At the time Marcel Luske had a room with about 16pc's in it and he had a team headed by Noah Boekhen playing in alot of tournaments, with Noah being the quarterback so to speak playing the key accounts at the business end of the tournament.

This link has a comment of the WCCOP of 05 where there was abit of controversy about who was playing what account.

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/information/31274/7/WCOOP_THREAD.html

They couldn't really say much as Noah Boeken is a poker stars sponsored player

One poster said earlier that it is ok to play some one elses account in a tournament. I know quite a few people who do this. It happens when they qualify for a tournament but can't play it themselves. If their friend is also playing as long as they have 2 pc's the same man plays both and no one seems to complain.

With wireless broadband It is very easy to have 2 laptops side by side with different ip address and the thing that is being missed is that if you don't think (especially in omaha) that alot of the cash games have people using multiple accounts at the one cash table you are being extremely naive. Without even noticeable tactics like betting each others hand etc sharing two hands from an info point of view gives a considerable edge.

As for playing 5 different accounts in a large tournament on 5 different pcs at five different tables. The only real edge you get is that you have 5 bites at the cherry rather than 1 (whilst paying 5 times more for the edge).

Well i guess this all makes me very naive. **** me, Stars better do something about this , or i'm not going to be too impressed. That Noah Boekken thing is crazy, wins the mill playing 8 accounts and yet the same site still sponsors him, is crazy.I had thought stars were Market leaders in terms of sorting out this kind of thing. I was aware this kind of thing was possible but did not realise how widespread. I blindly listened to stars reassurances about "protecting players". Do they not realise how bad this looks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

We've been down this road before. Multi-accounters are cheats. I would also question the integrity of someone who condones/has no problem with multi-accounting.

didnt ActionJeff imply that multiaccounting is still widespread amongst the top online tounry players? he wrote up some big thread in HSMTT a while back that seemed to blow over. i think a few accusations were thrown at gobboboy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

Does that lack of integrity extend to people who multi account on Boards;) ;)

Moro Man wrote:
    Does that lack of integrity extend to people who multi account on Boards;) ;)
    I guess so Moro Man, or did you mean to ask that question from one of your other accounts?

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    The gobboboy thing was not multi - accounting per say; rather he had 50% of Mlagoo when he won the million and sat "over his shoulder" so to speak during the business end of the tournament. Of course, gobboboy's own account played that tournament aswell. Two shots at the one tournament?

Ah so it wasn't just mlagoo who raped me out of a possible 300k that day. Goddamn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭PokerPissTaker

I'm a bit confused at how anyone thinks this is an advantage Its not much different from someone buying into a rebuy event five times I agree with DEEP THROAT. I the sites have a problem with they should make it harder to create accounts They don't because they make more money from this Like DEEP THROAT said its only an advantage if your sat at the same table which is not allowed from the same IP address

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

The more i think about that Noah boekken thing, the more pissed i get. This Guy cheats his way to victory in Stars biggest, most prestigous event and is rewarded with sponsorship. How the **** is that kind of thing going to dissuade anyone from cheating.
    The other thing taht worries me is that most of the High profile cases of people getting caught, seem to involve people just being flat out stupid. You have to wonder how many people are out there, keeping their heads down, with a professional setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭PokerPissTaker

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    You are very stupid if you don't realise how a very skilled player entering an event more than once reduces your EV - assuming you are playing by the rules yourself. Seriously, really ****ing dumb.

Thaks for your delightfully written comment, God bless cursing for theres such a lack of exaggerative words in the English lanuage. Anyway back to the point...

I think if you factor in the fact that he's has paid mutiple entries into a tourney his advantage is balanced out he obviously has advantage in if he buys in 5 times he has 5 times the advantage but he has also paid 5 times the entry therefore his edge is only that he has 5 goes where as Joe soap only has one but has only paid once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭DEEP THROAT

If you read from my post that I condone multi-accounting you are mistaken. The point I was trying to get across was that in the larger scale of online cheating/ collusion multi accounting does not give as big an edge as information sharing and tag team playing.

A couple of ethical questions.

Most people have multiple accounts on I-Poker. Paddy Power, Victor Chandler and Green Joker are just three that spring to Mind. They may be dormant accounts and generally they would have been opened to avail of the Sign Up offers. Nothing wrong there?

If tomorrow morning a million dollar freeroll was announced for all Ipoker account holders who had been open more than 1 week.

Would you

a) only play 1 and not register the other 2

b) register all 3 and get others to play the other 2

c) register all three, play 1 til knocked out and then the other and then the last one

d) borrow 2 laptops install wireless broadband at home and play all three

By your logic a is the only acceptable answer.

In reality most people will do either b,c or d.

A similiar scenario.

You are just about to play in the Sunday Million on Stars. 6000 entrants. 2 minutes before kick off your best mate calls over. His kid has been taken to hospital and he didn't get a chance to unregister. He has his laptop and knows you have wireless broadband at home. He asks you to play his account for him. The chances of you ending up at the same table with 6000 runners is slim to none. He say he'll give you half of anything you win.

Do you

a) call him a cheat and tell him to **** off

b) agree to do it but leave him be blinded away without logging on.

c) play yours and if knocked out early play his after.

d) swallow your ethics play both. Win the tourney get banned for multiaccounting and never be able to show your face again

I know an awful lot of people who would do d. Do a lose a friend. Do b go to the doctor to see where your backbone is gone.

In the bigger picture of thing this is nothing compared to the online cheating collusion that goes on.

I was on the last ladbrokes poker cruise and the scandis made no secret of the fact that the bulk of them were colluding 24/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    You are very stupid if you don't realise how a very skilled player entering an event more than once reduces your EV - assuming you are playing by the rules yourself. Seriously, really ****ing dumb.

better by the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Wow.

- They are playing off a bankroll that is more than sufficient to support multiple entries;
    - They have a much, much bigger edge over the field than Mr. Joe Soap;
    - The more shots they have in one tournament, the lesser the impact variance will have - thus helping them to maximise their edge;
    - Therefore, the more shots they take - the more worthwile every dollar they spend on an individual tournament becomes;
    - Conversely, the more shots they take - the less worthwile every dollar you spend on an individual tournament becomes;

Obviously, they would be subject to the law of diminishing returns after a certain amount of entries. But top online tournament pros multi - table. In some cases it may take over 12 entries before their game is adversely affected.

There are some holes in this argument Lloyd, by your own rationale if a complete donkey wants to play multiple accounts its good for the rest of us and should be allowed? I dont really have a problem with people playing multiple accounts, people play multiple cash games to reduce variance and play against worse players and noone has a problem with that, Ive played other peoples accounts and other people have played mine and lots of the regs I play share accounts its just part of the game. When people argue to me that its wrong its usually the same people who have poker tracker/ poker office/ sharkscope/ poker db/ poker hud, surely all this stuff is allong the same lines. I think its silly to think its ever going to be stopped, so long as they arent on the same table then cest la vie.

However I think considering the hoopla about Bonnomo and the fact they kept his cash then they are going to have to confiscate Tetchlers winnings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭sumoward

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Wow.

- They are playing off a bankroll that is more than sufficient to support multiple entries;
    - They have a much, much bigger edge over the field than Mr. Joe Soap;
    - The more shots they have in one tournament, the lesser the impact variance will have - thus helping them to maximise their edge;
    - Therefore, the more shots they take - the more worthwile every dollar they spend on an individual tournament becomes;
    - Conversely, the more shots they take - the less worthwile every dollar you spend on an individual tournament becomes;

Obviously, they would be subject to the law of diminishing returns after a certain amount of entries. But top online tournament pros multi - table. In some cases it may take over 12 entries before their game is adversely affected.

succinct

b) agree to do it but leave him be blinded away without logging on.

If he checks his hand history later you could be in trouble.

Do b go to the doctor to see where your backbone is gone.

Dont you mean his best mates sons backbone?.