Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chuck

• 02-10-2007 9:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

I really enjoyed the second episode... yes, it's daft and acting is quite patchy at times (especially from the female lead, Sarah).

But it's just great mindless fun. The guy who plays the lead is also top-notch. I'd say the show is bound to get a full season.

It's playing lead-in to 'Heroes' which can't be a bad thing.. and like i said, it's just downright good fun, not at all demanding and very entertaining. Especially some of the computer jokes (PC / Linux and Mac etc.) if you've an interest in computers or work in that area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

They should rename the show "Sarah" and focus on her.
    Please.

Fun show though, I agree. Hope it gets a full run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

She is a stone cold fox alright! :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Looked for it this morning but slow-ass cousins hadn't got it ready. Getting it this evening, it's been painfully slow but hopefully tomorrow alongside a billion other hours of TV.

Aside: Is 'Journeyman' any use? I'm not at all convinced by the premise.

ixoy wrote:
    Aside: Is 'Journeyman' any use? I'm not at all convinced by the premise.
    Meh... it's OK. This is just judging from the first episode but i'd pass on it for the time being until a couple of more episodes are out.

It's sorta like a less complicated version of 'Day Break' mixed with strong elements of 'The Dead Zone' and 'Quantum Leap'. I've only seen the first episode mind but it was nothing too special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

basquille wrote:
    She is a stone cold fox alright! :D

Amen Brother!!

Now I know all you lads hit rewind, pause and frame advance during a certain scene in episode 2. I just went a little further, so without further ado.......

Gentlemen, I give you..................

Sarah!!

screenshot019rk7.th.jpg

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

Chuck is very Jake 2.0 like but I think that it is worth continuing with. It is very light entertainment but I would watch it just for Sarah alone!

I think that I will give Journeyman a skip as I didn't really like the pilot and there is plenty other stuff to watch. I was never a Quantum Leap fan so I probably was never going to like Journeyman.

ElNino wrote:
    Chuck is very Jake 2.0 like but I think that it is worth continuing with. It is very light entertainment but I would watch it just for Sarah alone!
    It's much more comedic than 'Jake 2.0' which, in my opinion, was barely passable entertainment.

I enjoyed that more than the pilot - lots of good natured fun.

Did anyone else laugh at the 'Lost' joke as well? Chuck knows what happened :D

Yep, the 'Lost' joke was great.

Just watched this tonight.... fantastic second episode, and I laughed my ass off. Brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

pretty damn good show, certainly worthy of weekly viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

I really enjoyed this show. It started off a bit slow and I was a bit wary of it (damn you jake 2.0!) but at the end of the ep I was pleasantly suprised and I'm eager for more!

Still enjoying this show.. could be the standout new show of the year so far!

3 episodes in and 3 strong episodes. I never get sick of Morgan being pushed over by Casey... it's always the hand-plant to the face and push. Hilarious!

It manages to get the drama / comedy so far juuuust right!

Line of the episode: "When you sleep at night, all you're going to see is Tang in your face"

Really liked it too - and the good news is that, between episode one and episode two, it suffered one of the smallest rating drops of all the new shows according to futoncritic.
    It's also been asked for another three episodes (bringing it up to a minimum of 13), along with "Bionic Woman" (meh), "Life" and "Journeyman".
    Positive indicators of good things to come we hope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

episode 3...
    did anyone else notice that when the doctor was testing him in the buymore, chuck said 'ocean flight 815 was shut down...'

pretty cool :)

Mordeth wrote: »
    episode 3...
    did anyone else notice that when the doctor was testing him in the buymore, chuck said 'ocean flight 815 was shut down...'

Yep...
    Did anyone else laugh at the Lost' joke as well? Chuck knows what happened

I'm pretty sure he said "shot" not "shut"

/me flaps hands and mimes speaking in ixoy's direction

well aren't you just wonderful.

People still enjoying this? Probably the most consistently entertaining of all the new shows i'd say (after 'Pushing Daisies' of course).

It's just good fun and the latest episode with Chuck going back to Stanford was just fantastic from start to finish. Some great music, great lines (Morgan and Casey mainly), great performances (especially Zachary Levi as Chuck) and nice little twist in the closing moments.

And it's good to see Adam Baldwin excel in a show that might get a full season! :D

Haven't watch last nights episode yet (thanks for the spoilers, Brian!) :) but I love this show.

Television mod my hole..... mutiny !!! :D

Whoa whoa...

I avoided any real spoilers.. nothing i said there wouldn't be in the synopsis.

Except for the revealation of a twist.. which i probably oversold but it's a nice way to end the episode.

basquille wrote: »
    Whoa whoa...

I avoided any real spoilers.. nothing i said there wouldn't be in the synopsis.

Except for the revealation of a twist.. which i probably oversold but it's a nice way to end the episode.

Pulling your leg, Brian... hence the smilies.
    If the twist is Sarah topless, then I'll probably thank you.

I liked this episode alot... this show is consistently entertaining...

Yep, probably my favourite of the episodes so far just for the
    revelation of Bryce's reason behind getting Chuck kicked out!

And Sarah topless at the end was a big bonus too, eh?

It was a nice twist but was it really unexpected?
    Of course he was gonne be "that" guy after telling us that Sarah and him had a relationship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

still enjoying this. very consistent, but i fear we may not see too many more episodes because of the strike. I just hope it dosnt end up getting cancelled due to this

Another great episode this week... loved all the truth stuff. :)
    Nice to see Kevin Weisman back in a spy drama!

Yeah, excellent again this week. Good to see Kevin Weisman in something worthwhile (he had one or two appearances in the atrocious 'Moonlight'.

Line of the week...

Chuck: (to Sarah) "You're so pretty... and Casey, your jaw was chiseled by Michelangelo himself."

Classic..!

PS - since when did you become a mod of Television Dave.. and why wasn't i informed? I mean i'm reading the memo here but it's not mentioned. :D

A couple of days ago.... there was a mod shuffle up, and I volunteered (I spend enough time in here anyway!)

I was going to say its because of your Chuck spoilers last week, but that'd be cruuueeel. :)

I stopped watching this show at episode 3... but does the chick really get topless?

Nope. Skimpy lingerie and underwear is as far as it goes.

Mr E wrote: »
    A couple of days ago.... there was a mod shuffle up, and I volunteered (I spend enough time in here anyway!)
    Ohh hello. Can I join your gang as well? I want control of all visual media :D

Still enjoying this show and still looking forward to it each week (gratuitious OC plug last week again last week). Worried though over its fate with the WGA strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Just caught up on this show and have just one word to describe it. Awesome!

And I don't use awesome a lot so I'm definitely not implying it's mediocre.;)

If the strike gets it cancelled I'll be gutted.

Another excellent episode - loved the truth stuff, even if I was slow with
    realising why Ellie was giving out to Awesome
    . Can I just say how I realy like Awesome and Ellie - they work very well in the show.

Nice to see Marshall in this one, although we didn't get any real 'Alias' reference (I think the 'Toxic' played in an Alias episode as well but that's it).
    I liked seeing Summer in this one - Chuck reminds me a little of Seth Cohen from 'The O.C.' (no surprise there) so it's sort of like a little reunion. Which begs the question who plays Summer in 'The O.C.' in the world of Chuck? It's the third reference to the show now (last week they were watching it and the week before the scene between Morgan and Chuck was almost a carbon copy of one from 'The O.C').

I'm with basquille on this one - 'Chuck' is the best new show of the season alongside 'Pushing Daisies' and I'm gonna be mighty peeved if it goes off the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Didn't know was a thread for this :o Class show :D Between this and Heroes, Tuesday viewing rocks when i get home from work :D (never leave the livin room all day near with these & if Liverpool playing :D )

Another great episode with some big plot developments!
    Now I know why next weeks episode is called
    Chuck vs. The Nemesis

Only 2 to go before the break. Hopefully its not the last 2 ever.....

Yep.. excellent episode this week again.
    Bryce's revelation was excellently done.. but girlfriend guessed who it was before me!

I really hope the strike doesn't kill this over.. it has far too much going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭QikBax

Just gets better every week. It really would be a shame if the strike affected it. Adam Baldwin is such a badass

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Just managed to catch up to episode nine now, I'm assuming thats it up to the break. Its gotten very, very good imho. I always liked the quirky humour and that has just seemed to get better, but the actual character and plot development has made the show a definite keeper in my book.

Good news then, Ivan. It got a full season order!
    I'm ecstatic!

There was one on last night, and one more next week.

http://www.thefutoncritic.com/news.aspx?id=20071126nbc02

Life got a full pickup too, if anyone is watching...

Fantastic news alright. Cheers for that Mr E.

Haven't watched an episode of 'Life' since the second episode.. i quite enjoyed it but might wait til the season is over before giving it a watch. The show itself is patchy but Damien Lewis is great so will wait to hear other people's opinions of it later in the season.

Chuck, however, is one show that really deserved this!

Another fun one tonight.... plenty of funny slapstick, great one liners, and classic Casey moments. Damn I love Tuesday nights.

I think we haven't seen the last of you-know-who either.

Yep.. more of the same excellent entertainment.

Best bit was
    the exchange between Morgan and Elle with the marshmallow-topped sweet potatoes (did this look and sound disgusting to anyone else?) with Anna looking on.
    Hilarious!

Casey had a couple of great one-liners too, and
    the last 10 minutes in the Buy More were fantastic. Yes, we've seen the "slo-mo" Matrix effects before but it still looked great.

Agreed Mr E - Monday's are fantastic (Chuck, Journeyman and Heroes).. shame the 'Heroes' episode was as dull-as-dishwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

got this show off a friend last week and i have watched 9 episodes in 3 days love it so far. It is silly and some of the acting is questionable but very entertaining. Chuck is brilliant and I love some of the side plots like Morgan and Harry Tang hope it keeps going strong

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm the same as yourself neacy. I watched all 9 episodes in the space of a couple of days. It really is a great show. Some of the jokes in it are great.

No more episodes until after christmas. :(

One more on Monday, AlmightyCushion.... "Chuck vs. The Crown Vic"

http://www.epguides.com/chuck/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0934814/

The O.C. creator Josh Schwartz, and director McG (We Are Marshall), bring us Chuck, a new series laced with humor about young twenty-something spies.

Zachary Levi (Less Than Perfect) plays Chuck, a nerdy computer tech who has a database of government secrets downloaded into his brain. Chuck soon finds himself recruited by John Casey (Adam Baldwin of Day Break), a veteran NSA Agent, for espionage work with his new partner (and first date in ten years) Sarah (Yvonne Strzechowski) -- leading Chuck to live a split life of computer geek and secret NSA missions.

Also cast in the pilot are Sarah Lancaster as Chuck's sister Ellie, Joshua Gomez as his best bud Morgan, and Natalie Martinez. McG will serve as executive producer with Schwartz. Chris Fedak and Peter Johnson are co-executive producers.

Outline: When a twenty-something computer geek inadvertently downloads critical government secrets into his brain, his former college friend turned CIA recruits him as a secret agent, all while keeping him out of evil hands.

Anyone seen any of this season, i saw the first two episodes over the weekend and have to say i enjoyed them, looks like it could be a good series if it gets the viewers

There is already a thread about it..... I'll find it and merge with this.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Mr E wrote: »
    One more on Monday, AlmightyCushion.... "Chuck vs. The Crown Vic"

http://www.epguides.com/chuck/

Why am I only reading this now? Damn Imdb lied to me. Thanks Mr E.

myepisodes.com is yer only man.

Since I bumped it, I might as well talk about the last episode... I didn't think it was as good as previous episodes, but was still very entertaining. The semi-erotic scene with Casey and his car was a bit disturbing (and you could predict the car's fate).

The ending had interesting implications for second half of the season (which judging by recent strike talks breaking down, may be next Autumn at this stage).

When all the networks' new reality shows bomb in January, I think efforts might be redoubled... :)