Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pimp Your Club & Society

• 02-10-2007 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭

With Clubs & Socs Day today and the inevitable "omgz join my club or soc its teh bestest evar!" posts soon to follow, I thought I'd preempt the rush by making this thread. As such, any C&S folk who wish to promote their society please do it here. Usual forms rules apply so jocks and nerds, gamblers and SVP and anyone else with ideological differences, play nice. :)

To reiterate, all further threads on the matter will be referred to this thread and locked.

Your friendly forum mod,
    gizmo (amz has ****ed off so it's just me now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Art_Wolf

link : Redbrick
    Want to pass the year, it is common knowledge that the admins hack the lectures accounts and give the exam papers to their members!

link : Gamessoc
    Simply Awesome. Loads of gaming tournaments and prizes - consoles and pcs, lab gaming to lans.

link : STOCS
    A real nerd rolls dice.

link : AMS
    Anime \o/ Run weekly showings of anime and also host the republic's only anime convention EirtaKon

link : Film Soc
    Movies \o/ Twice weekly showings in T101 - the big ass lecture theatre. Discounted trips to the cinema also :)

link : Strange Things
    Sci-Fi Fantasy society.. if it is still around? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Art_Wolf wrote:
    link : Strange Things
    Sci-Fi Fantasy society.. if it is still around? :)

Afraid not, no committee, no stand, and anything of value is being auctioned off for charity in the near future afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

A bit late for a Pimping thread? Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

link : PokerSoc
    Freerolls (Free Money!), Weekly Tournaments, Trips Away and the Casino Ball. All played on our fantastic poker tables, with professional chips and casino-quality cards. And maybe a pint or two thrown in too. What more do you want???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

and the SPC watches..............................waiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

THE SPC HAS NO POWER HERE! :D

Get back to life.dcu.ie! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 johan

No but we are every present, every watching...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Darz0re

johan wrote:
    No but we are every present, every watching...

did you join 4 years ago and just make your first post??

suppose you'd be making your point though.. ever watching.. but just watching..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 johan

thedara wrote:
    did you join 4 years ago and just make your first post??

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

http://www.kenpokarate.ie/schools/Ireland/Dublin/DCU/index.htm

This is a new club so give it a shot! You'll be learning from the best:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

Join home and away soc

That is all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

DCU Tae Kwon Do.

I'm not in DCU anymore, but I can't stress how good a club it is.

Great instructor, and this years committee is pretty good (because I'm not on it!)

Great if you wanna lose weight, put on some muscle, release some aggression, need to burn off energy after a **** day of lectures... the list goes on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭wahlrab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭fox65

Sorry for double posting, i can't edit the previous post. If a mod wants to delete it he is more then welcome.

DCU Saints American Football Club

are now recruiting for all levels and abilities.

Training Sundays
    Rookie Day Sunday September 29th11.00am
    DCU Sports Grounds
    For more information visit
    www.dcusaints.com

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Anyone know when this clubs and societies day is? Us postgrads don't get told anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

That'd be the 7th and 8th of October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

It's time to get-a pimpin! Join the DCU handball club:
    bothhands.jpg
    Why you ask...
    Well we have great nights out, and some of the best weekends away (Sligo, Belfast and Kingscourt)
    not to mention an entire week in America:D
    More info:
    Our Bebo
    Website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Well it's that time of year again, time for some shameless advertising \o/

main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=1389&g2_serialNumber=1

Games Soc is one of DCU's most active and fun societies. Our aim is simple, to get all the gamers in the college together to meet, socialise and play games. Whether you're a seasoned or casual gamer, Games Soc caters for your needs, playing everything from Halo and Counter Strike to Singstar and Pro Evo! We run big overnight lans on campus, retro events with classic games from days gone by, intersociety events, loads of competitions with great prizes and plenty of fun nights out. We have Console gaming, PC lab gaming and Traditional gaming every week and we are always willing to take suggestions from members or the play the games you bring in! So no matter what your experience or taste, Games Soc will have something for you!

We'll have a table setup in the hub on Clubs and Socs Days with games at the table all day long, so stop by play some games and sign up for another awesome year of gaming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Carri

Join Strange Things - Sci-Fi and Fantasy Soc!

We're so great we don't even need a poster! ;)

Also, we have a table and shall bribe you with candy! Lots of candy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Carri wrote: »
    Join Strange Things - Sci-Fi and Fantasy Soc!

We're so great we don't even need a poster! ;)

Also, we have a table and shall bribe you with candy! Lots of candy!
    *strange things will also feature a bunch of eejits batin each other with plastic lightsabers.
    RETURN OF THE...
    STRANGE THINGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Alright It is this time of the year again!

JOIN DCU ART SOC! DCU's Best New Soc 07/08

Weve got:
    Paintwalls
    A Dragon Sculpture
    Arts week
    Costume Workshop
    A drawing for a drink
    Carnival Ball
    Dominoes and Marble Run
    Face Painting
    Exhibition
    An Art intervarsity +Much Much More

oh yeah i forgot: A Trip to Florence Italy!
    anyway were gonna be hard to miss,the colourful ones painting faces near DCUFM!

JOIN!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

robby^5 wrote: »
    Well it's that time of year again, time for some shameless advertising \o/

main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=1389&g2_serialNumber=1

Games Soc is one of DCU's most active and fun societies. Our aim is simple, to get all the gamers in the college together to meet, socialise and play games. Whether you're a seasoned or casual gamer, Games Soc caters for your needs, playing everything from Halo and Counter Strike to Singstar and Pro Evo! We run big overnight lans on campus, retro events with classic games from days gone by, intersociety events, loads of competitions with great prizes and plenty of fun nights out. We have Console gaming, PC lab gaming and Traditional gaming every week and we are always willing to take suggestions from members or the play the games you bring in! So no matter what your experience or taste, Games Soc will have something for you!

We'll have a table setup in the hub on Clubs and Socs Days with games at the table all day long, so stop by play some games and sign up for another awesome year of gaming!

What a poster!Award winning me thinks.!! :) Go GamesSoc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

DCU American Football club is now recruiting for the coming season. There'll be a stand at clubs and socs day obviously and training will begin on Sunday at 11am. We train every Sunday and play in the full contact Irish league. We made the playoffs last year and have produced 8 Irish internationals in just three years. The goal is to win the Shamrock Bowl this season and we want you to help us do it! The league has a fairly high standard, with a number of players with US college experience and one who played NFL Europe. A number of players have also been offered semi-pro or played semi-pro in Britain and Germany. The sport is growing rapidly and this year we will for the first time have a development team which will play 8-a-side full contact so rookies who don't make the starting lineup for the senior team will still see plenty of game time. we also have links to two flag football teams so there's something for everyone. The team has a great atmosphere with numerous social events organised throughout the year.
    This'll give you a flavour of it
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYoi8suasUI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

Redbrick.dcu.ie
    Awesome way to meet lots of people from different facilities, years and graduates. Events held through out the year. Not to mention there is always someone to talk to on line 365 days a year 24 hours a day

FilmSoc.dcu.ie

We hold two showings a week. On Monday in the seminar room at 7PM and Tuesdays at 7PM in T101. We also do cinema trips which cost our members 3 euro. All night long events and and YES FREEEEE FILMS ON BIIIGG SCREENS.

logobrain2.png

DCU Tech Week (9th to 14th March 2009) is an annual set of events
    organised by Redbrick, Games Society, Film Society and others. There's
    something for everyone, ranging from industry talks on game development
    and coding to a Q-zar session later in the week. This year's highlights
    include talks from Microsoft on their XNA game toolkit (with free games
    being given away!), a talk from Activision/Demonware (the company that
    make your Xbox games go on the internet) and the unexpectedly successful
    Linux installfest. There are also a few other industry talks (secure
    coding, gaming physics engines, etc) TBC. There'll be a build your own
    PC tutorial too and Film Soc will be dragging people to the Ivy House
    for a drinks promotion and a film showing. We'll be finishing the week
    off with a trip to the Woolshed on Thursday night and our Wavehunt
    running man competition on Saturday afternoon

Angelkat7 wrote: »
    logobrain2.png

DCU Tech Week (9th to 14th March 2009) is an annual set of events
    organised by Redbrick, Games Society, Film Society and others. There's
    something for everyone, ranging from industry talks on game development
    and coding to a Q-zar session later in the week. This year's highlights
    include talks from Microsoft on their XNA game toolkit (with free games
    being given away!), a talk from Activision/Demonware (the company that
    make your Xbox games go on the internet) and the unexpectedly successful
    Linux installfest. There are also a few other industry talks (secure
    coding, gaming physics engines, etc) TBC. There'll be a build your own
    PC tutorial too and Film Soc will be dragging people to the Ivy House
    for a drinks promotion and a film showing. We'll be finishing the week
    off with a trip to the Woolshed on Thursday night and our Wavehunt
    running man competition on Saturday afternoon

techweek.dcu.ie :D for list of events and timetable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 student2B

does tech week have anything interesting happening like how to use photoshop...or ...how to put a video on a website without youtube ??? now theres something worth checking out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭Diarmaid07

As someone who's not affiliated with the organisation of techweek:

Well it's over for this year, but that's certainly stuff that could be considered for next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 cheerireland

New All Star Senior Cheerleading Squad starting soon!!

For more information go to http://www.northdublinwildcats.com

or mail Hayden on hayden@northdublinwildcats.com

Opportunities to perform at BOHS matches and Basketball Ireland Final!

British/American Coaches - Real Bring It On Style Cheerleading!!!

Over 17's only!!

Starting Saturday 6th June 2009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Jammy

Heya Guys!

Is there a Capoeira club? I think I saw it on the website but I was just checking if anybody new anything about it?

GamesSoc looks pretty funky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 mccy02

Hi

Does DCU have a hurling wall?

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 LongLiveQ&A

mccy02 wrote: »
    Hi

thanks
    There's no one particaular wall, you can get sick at any of them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fince

There's no one particaular wall, you can get sick at any of them:D

very, very clever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Jammy wrote: »

GamesSoc looks pretty funky!

You damn right we funky! ;)

GamesSoc, Best Society in DCU at the Clubs & Socs Awards 2009! You should all join! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

You want to see funk? ArtSoc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

mccy02 wrote: »
    Hi

thanks

No, unfortunately not and there are no walls really around campus that you can use to puck against without being told to stop by security. We used to have to go to Erins Isle's ground in Finglas to use their handball alley.

An Citeog wrote: »
    No, unfortunately not and there are no walls really around campus that you can use to puck against without being told to stop by security. We used to have to go to Erins Isle's ground in Finglas to use their handball alley.

i thought there was as handball club in dcu?

Fince wrote: »

There is but they use indoor courts exclusively for squash and handball afaik.

Fince wrote: »

If you go near my fecking wall.... :mad:

*calms himself down*

We have a nice alley in DCU, we would like to keep it that way. banging leather balls around in a small alley is not a good way to keep our nice walls pristine. :)

To be helpful: Na Fianna are building a hurling wall as we speak - the jog down the road can be the warm up;)

Cliste wrote: »
    If you go near my fecking wall.... :mad:

*calms himself down*

We have a nice alley in DCU, we would like to keep it that way. banging leather balls around in a small alley is not a good way to keep our nice walls pristine. :)

To be helpful: Na Fianna are building a hurling wall as we speak - the jog down the road can be the warm up;)

*Saunters into the DCU sports complex whistling, hurl down the trowser leg*:D

My club is one of the few (ie. ~2) with aspirations of winning the Dublin SHC and we don't have a hurling wall. I really wish we did! Might have to pay a few trips down to Mobhi Road this year!

is that a hurlEY in your pants or are you just happy to see that wall

*Saunters into the DCU sports complex whistling, hurl down the trowser leg*:D

My club is one of the few (ie. ~2) with aspirations of winning the Dublin SHC and we don't have a hurling wall. I really wish we did! Might have to pay a few trips down to Mobhi Road this year!

Ha!

Yea, The wall is up, but they still have to lay the all weather there, should be done by the start of college. There's a three wall outdoor ball alley which (as far as I know) will always be open on the far side of the wall for hurling + handball.

The ball alley in Na Fianna had one of the big panes at the back broken by a hurl a year or two ago - wasn't fixed for months, and cost thousands - that's why I mention it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

DCU's american football team plays in the Irish league, reached the semis this year, looking to win it next season. Training on sundays and midweek, day to be decided.Most of the guys would play or have played rugby but we're used to training guys up from scratch. Good team atmosphere. fun game, fully kitted, lots of hits and fairly athletic standard. Training usually starts in october, will be games of 8s warm up games and then main season starts in March. Talk of a college league this year too.
    www.dcusaints.com
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0mCOB02jDI

who're the two clubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭goodgodholmes

JOIN DCU DRAMA!

You'd be crazy not to!

Winners of BICS Best College Society in Ireland in 2002, 2003 and 2008! (only society ever to win it more than once and we've won 3 times :D)

Winner of Best Event in DCU for RENT last year, which had 2 stints... one in the Helix and a week, by invitation, in the Olympia!

Plenty coming up for all those less musically inclined, with 2 straight theatre festivals in the first semester alone, and our annual entries to the Irish Student Drama Association awards (DCU: Winners 2009 for Best Actress and Best Director!)

Weekly workshops in different Drama disciplines...

Much to do for those less drawn to the limelight, with workshops for Tech (Lighting and Sound for Stage) and Set making workshops in the first semester, and opportunities to work backstage at any of our events!

Best College Society in Ireland... the name speaks for itself... so join DCU Drama!

</pimp>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Oh is it that time of year again(or close enough to it!)....

JOIN DCU ART

Art is back with a bang this year, We've got everything from Graffiti and Stencil art to Gallery Trips(here and abroad) and Sculpture.

Not artistically inclined?No problem! We've got beginners workshops in both semesters, and plenty of other events(finger painting, puppets & action figures, face painting & jewelery making, lots of pictionary!) to name a few.

We're also one of DCU's most active societies, running 4 events a week last year!

We've also got Art's Week in Week 10 to look forward to, aswell as our Intervarsity event with the likes of NUIG, NUIM and NCAD and our trip abroad!

Make Campus your Canvas, join DCU Art!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

I want it to be known that it was ME that thought of the action figures... Just sayin.

Also, join BookSoc!

BOOKSOC ROCKS!

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 ModFox

Urizen wrote: »
    You want to see funk? ArtSoc

What the hell? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Creadak

DCULGBT!!!!!!!

We're gonna have a great year this year, with intervarsity events, our regular coffee mornings, movie nights (LGBT themed of course). We may also, if there's enough interest, organise a DCU Drag Ball :)

You don't have to be "out" to join, (I'm the PRO and I'm safely closeted to family, lol) nor do you need to be "I'm here, I'm queer, etc" Most of us just get together once or twice a week to hang out, talk about what we're up to.

And of course we're here to support students who are finding it hard to cope with being an LGBT person. This years comittee have no problem helping you through personal problems, and in the strictest of confidence one of us will try to help you out.

If anyone is nervous about coming to any meetings, we have a buddy system where a member of the soc will meet up with you, chat with you, and grab a bite to eat/cup of coffee (or tea), paid for by the society, and just generally be there for you, before we introduce you to the rest of the society.

If anyone has any queries, you can PM me here or email credak@redbrick.dcu.ie

Craig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

DCU SQUASH

If you're looking to keep fit for the year, try out something new or just have a bit of fun, the DCU Squash Club is the place for you. Whether you're male or female, a complete beginner or an experienced player, we'll make you feel right at home.

Located in the two squash courts in the DCU gym, we train Mondays and Wednesdays from 6-8. In the past our Monday session would see us bring in an established coach to train us and we hope to continue that for the coming year, while Wednesdays is generally a time for us to get together and have a few friendly games.

In the 08/09 we took part in the squash intervarsities, and while the men did very well, the girls came home in 1st place, which was a fantastic achievement for the club. On top of that we also played in friendly competitions with local clubs, and we also run our own mini league between ourselves too. This will be split into divisions based on your level so your guaranteed to be playing people near enough to your own skill.

We purchased a whole new stock of rackets and squash balls a few months ago, so we supply everything you need to start off. We also hope to be bringing in t-shirts and hoodies for the club before Christmas too.

For the first few weeks we will be using one court to teach all our newcomers the basics to the game, while the other court will be used by our more advanced players. If you need to contact us, feel free to drop me a PM here.

Hope to see some of you in the future,

Stephen
    DCU Squash Club PRO