Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mallow Rifle and Pistol club

• 01-10-2007 8:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭

I was a member of the Mallow club until a while back, and I still get the group texts about comps, open days etc. Just going home this evening got a text from same to say they have lost their shooting grounds, the club will continue, on hold untill finishing of the indoor grounds.
    Anyone know any more?
    Indoor grounds sounds good, but I cant imagine a long range indoor facility for centrefire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

dbar wrote:
    I was a member of the Mallow club until a while back, and I still get the group texts about comps, open days etc. Just going home this evening got a text from same to say they have lost their shooting grounds, the club will continue, on hold untill finishing of the indoor grounds.
    Anyone know any more?
    Indoor grounds sounds good, but I cant imagine a long range indoor facility for centrefire.

Haven't heard anything, know a few lads who are members there, this is bad news for shooting if it's true, we need all the ranges we can get to keep shooting alive and strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

Saw that as well, sounds odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 NUTTA1

Spoke to them today after hearing that all the lads got a nice surprise on Sunday when they got there to find a notice saying " this is the final day this club will be open these grounds will be closed to members from today ".

I just paid my yearly membership last week so I was not impressed !!!

He reackons the and owner just said enough is enough and the lease was up the last day of sept ??? Now that sounds a bit wrong to me ! This new indoor club has not even been started yet it wasn't on the books !

I would like to know what to do!(1) stay with and wait for this long range indoor club (yeah right) or(2) pull out and go get my money back?

I need a long range club as I have a centre fire target rifle and like the competitions but what now happens to the two or three already arranged comps that were to be held there before 2008 ???

Not a good sign lads ! What do u think ? What if any opinion does the Irish rifle association have on it ? Can they just do this without as much as a word of notice ? And in fairness is a weak and unsupported text enough ?

Extremely unhappy shooter over here wonder if the shooting mags will be having a write up on this seeing they wrote not so long ago they were writing about what a great job he is doing down there !!

Sorry to go on but just heard the original land owner is thinking of opening up his own club !! At that site !!
    What is going on ????

Gosh, that's some kick in the proverbials..........

How much was membership. i heard around €350 per year.

Landowner going to open range in same place, sounds like he/she relaised this could be a money spinner and thought I'll kick out leasee and run it myself, good old human nature.......

Will/can Gardai revoke licences held on the strength of being a member there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Sputnik

I let my membership lapse last year dur to lack of transport. I seriously considered rejoining a couple of weeks ago. Bloody glad I didn't now.

That's right €350 a year!

I never thought about that ! I am currently trying to get a licence for a large bore target rifle and I am getting a lot of grief from the local Sargent I had to get a monitored alarm fitted already before he would even consider it, now I don't even have a target club to shoot it in !!! This just gets better !!! Do I tell him ?? Or see if he has heard ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

Any more details on the proposed indoor range? Is it under construction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭patbundy

nutta1,why dont the members arrange a meeting with pat. a indoor range is no good to most of the members there.

Well I think something like will have to be done patbundy ! I personally don't have many of the lads numbers and a lot come from Dublin etc , I hope we can somehow sort out something like that because we need to be filled in on what the plans are.

We have not been told anything about the plans for the new range ! No estimated start date or completion date ! Nothing!!! how long will it be ? Will it be designed for long range rifles etc ? Will there still be competions there ? We have paid our money and deserve answers !

I can't believe my only real out has just been stopped dead in its tracks if it goes on to long every bit of training and days spent laying out in the cold will be for nothing, its not like riding a bike you need to keep your eye in or you end up starting over !

I think Pat Hayes should organise a meeting and personnally let us know exactly what his plans are and on that day he should have everyones money waiting so if they decide they are not happy with the plans they can take what is rightfully theirs and leave !

nutta1 im afraid to tell you its only a 50 m range.my son and myself are members since march so we know even less.looks like my .223 is down the drain

Bob could not agree more!

Pat ! How did you find that out ???

I spoke to Pat Hayes yesterday myself and he failed to mention that !

I will be getting my money back then !

nutta1 spoke to pat on the phone today.im in the process of getting fac for a .223,thinking of canceling it cos i dont have the land to shoot it on now,might save myself some money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭slapper2

wat the fe*k are we supposed to do with a 223 or 308 in a 50 m range i could throw the round futher
    i no i was going to get a pistol but still like shooting 300 plus

:D ,is there any farmers out there in cork county with abit of land to spare to start up our own range,

Firstly slapper2 that was the funniest thing I've heard allday I mean I am well pissed about this situation and you come in with " 50m what goods that ? I could throw the round further !! Pure class !!!

So quick head count here how many of us actually have money invested in membership to this dead club currently using this site ! NUTTA1,patbundy,patbundy's son , slapper2 !!!anymore for anymore ???

nutta1,slapper2 is my son

NUTTA1 wrote:
    Firstly slapper2 that was the funniest thing I've heard allday I mean I am well pissed about this situation and you come in with " 50m what goods that ? I could throw the round further !! Pure class !!!

So quick head count here how many of us actually have money invested in membership to this dead club currently using this site ! NUTTA1,patbundy,patbundy's son , slapper2 !!!anymore for anymore ???
    well its true :D

Mate I know!! I will be going down at the weekend to get my money back if I can and I can say goodbye to my beautiful tikka t3 6.5 x 55 currently sitting waiting for a licence ! I suppose I loose me deposit too now .
    Patbundy! That's just great!! I thought we had four including your son but did not know slapper2 was your son ! Hehe !

I know a couple of members who aint on here ! Maybe we could start the smallest target rifle club in Ireland with only five members !!!
    We would need some land though !!!

We could call it " the need more than bloody 50 metres to shoot a round on target rifle club " its quite a catchy name if you read it a couple of times !!!

I hate this ! I can't believe that I won't be going shooting on Sunday morning because of some greedy bloody land owner !

I would like to know if he is going to open it up himself. He could make it happen over night because it is all there for him . Mind you I won't miss that hill !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revan23

NUTTA1 wrote:
    That's right €350 a year!

I never thought about that ! I am currently trying to get a licence for a large bore target rifle and I am getting a lot of grief from the local Sargent I had to get a monitored alarm fitted already before he would even consider it, now I don't even have a target club to shoot it in !!! This just gets better !!! Do I tell him ?? Or see if he has heard ??

say nothin 'til you hear more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Just met a lad in work a few minutes ago who is just after paying
    money over to the club about 3 weeks ago, he did not even know about this
    news at all. Things must have happened very suddenly.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

revan23 wrote:
    say nothin 'til you hear more...

That's not a good policy. You are far better advised to talk to the sergeant and tell him what you've heard. Point out the implications for your application and tell him that you are trying to find out more.

Also make the point that you will try and join another fullbore club (e.g. Midlands) and ask him to bear with you till you've sorted it out. You are far more likely to get a sympathetic hearing and possibly far more leeway than if you say nothing and he finds out (which he will).

Taking this approach shows you are acting responsibly and he will be more likely to trust you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

rrpc wrote:
    That's not a good policy. You are far better advised to talk to the sergeant and tell him what you've heard. Point out the implications for your application and tell him that you are trying to find out more.

Also make the point that you will try and join another fullbore club (e.g. Midlands) and ask him to bear with you till you've sorted it out. You are far more likely to get a sympathetic hearing and possibly far more leeway than if you say nothing and he finds out (which he will).

Taking this approach shows you are acting responsibly and he will be more likely to trust you.

Tis true, if you went ahead saying nothing and then the FAO got wind of the closure he would think you were making a c&*$T of him!

NUTTA1 wrote:
    Patbundy! That's just great!! I thought we had four including your son but did not know slapper2 was your son ! Hehe !
    . Mind you I won't miss that hill !!!
    i was on as babybundy but cant remember my password

i never minded the hill try no 1 range in kilworth
    of which i will be tempted to just hop the fence put up a target a shoot with better freedom and distance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭les45

Lads.

I would hope that there is some middle ground with both the landlord and the club, I am sure if the clubs committee can sit down with the landlord they can come to a agreement that works financially for all concerned . As for informing the FO ,I would contact him ASAP and keep him or her abreast of what is happening , as RRPC rightly points out you are serious about your sport and your relationship with the FAO should demonstrate that same attitude , I would simply ask the FO to hold the application pending the outcome of the discussions between the club and the landlord ,and if this fails then membership of MNSI is also a option .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revan23

rrpc wrote:

i know what you mean, i meant maybe hang on until you know for sure whats happening with the club tho, if they can sort something out or relocate or whatever.

revan23 wrote:
    i know what you mean, i meant maybe hang on until you know for sure whats happening with the club tho, if they can sort something out or relocate or whatever.

It's still best to approach the FO first. These guys/gals have their ear to the ground and will know about the rumours almost as soon as you do.

If you walk in the door and tell him theirs a problem that he already knows about you'll certainly get brownie points for being honest.

If you have more info, then deliver that as well. Keeping their info up to date is part of the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Quoted by slapper2
    "i was on as babybundy but cant remember my password i never minded the hill try no 1 range in kilworth of which i will be tempted to just hop the fence put up a target a shoot with better freedom and distance"

flippin heck - are you trying to get the licenced shooters in trouble. Behave yourself and keep your powder dry until you know more and don't be going around making stupid comments like that one.

LB6 wrote:
    Quoted by slapper2
    "i was on as babybundy but cant remember my password i never minded the hill try no 1 range in kilworth of which i will be tempted to just hop the fence put up a target a shoot with better freedom and distance"

flippin heck - are you trying to get the licenced shooters in trouble. Behave yourself and keep your powder dry until you know more and don't be going around making stupid comments like that one.

Well said LB6.......

Lads , lads !!

What is this ?? Can the Dublin situation help us mallow members ? I see loads of people on here saying they are members of this and that, can you honestly have heard nothing of this situation or be able to put us in touch with someone who can help !

We at mallow found out our club had close its range on the day it closed and until I spoke to Pat Hayes myself I don't think he had even considered sending that text we got, we have been told nothing since, no letter or email to explain what the situation is.

I have a lot of money paid and only used the club for an hour since paying my membership a few weeks ago. I have nowhere else to shoot now and won't join another club until I get my money back.

LB6 !! Turn it in mate the comments made by slapper2 are being made by angry shooters who have recently been screwed over by their club ! He is hardly going to go do it ! I mean seriously can you not offer some advise on the mallow subject instead of getting all PC about his comments

All I keep hearing is committy members should be contacted but who are they ? Someone must know !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Nutta - "LB6 !! Turn it in mate the comments made by slapper2 are being made by angry shooters who have recently been screwed over by their club ! He is hardly going to go do it ! I mean seriously can you not offer some advise on the mallow subject instead of getting all PC about his comments "

Nutta1 - firstly I'm not a lad as most people here know.
    - secondly, I don't or won't even pretend to know how angry shooters are about the situation with Mallow and I can only sympatise. However, anger does not excuse stupid comments like that, and that's not "getting all PC" about it. Whether junior decides to do it or not is entirely his own business.
    - finally - advice - with regard to Mallow being closed down, has anybody been in to see Pat Hayes in his shop during the week. He cannot afford to close down his shop and therefore should be on hand to talk to you guys. You could always go and check the land registry if you're coming up against a brick wall and get the name of the farmer who owns the land, arrange a meeting with him and the members of MRC and see what his plans are for the future.

I sincerely wish ye all the best.

LB6

LB6 wrote:
    Nutta - "LB6 !! Turn it in mate the comments made by slapper2 are being made by angry shooters who have recently been screwed over by their club ! He is hardly going to go do it ! I mean seriously can you not offer some advise on the mallow subject instead of getting all PC about his comments "

Nutta1 - firstly I'm not a lad as most people here know.
    - secondly, I don't or won't even pretend to know how angry shooters are about the situation with Mallow and I can only sympatise. However, anger does not excuse stupid comments like that, and that's not "getting all PC" about it. Whether junior decides to do it or not is entirely his own business.
    - finally - advice - with regard to Mallow being closed down, has anybody been in to see Pat Hayes in his shop during the week. He cannot afford to close down his shop and therefore should be on hand to talk to you guys. You could always go and check the land registry if you're coming up against a brick wall and get the name of the farmer who owns the land, arrange a meeting with him and the members of MRC and see what his plans are for the future.

I sincerely wish ye all the best.

LB6

This is getting silly now. " lads" is a term I use for a group of people ! Just like "mate" we are not mates nor are we ever likely to be! I have seen a lot of theads on here were you notify people of the fact you are not a lad. But this is not in the context of the thread I cannot get out to his shop due to work as the only time I am not working is Sunday and he is not open on Sunday !

I don't know any other members than the three on here and two others I work with so they can't go either! I have asked all members to let us know but only three replied.

Calling people mate is an English thing, used even with strangers, tends to wind up most other nationalities I find. :p

lb6 wats your knowlage of the kilworth area
    if you knew anything of it then you would no that noone would wanna walk up it
    its used as a term for another range among a small group us
    and if i wanna break a few laws both civvie and military then thats my business i at no point encourraged anyone to do the same or come with me

now for give me if my proper english grammar isnt up to scratch either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Rafer

To answer a few questions on Mallow Rifle & pistol Club:

The lease expired and Pat Hayes was unable to renew for reasons unknown.
    There was never a commitee allowed to be formed as Pat Hayes ran the Range as a commerical venture and wanted total control of the Range.

This information was given to all members present at the first Pistol Safety Course in the Hibernian Hotel, Mallow , Oct. 2005.

While I wasnt in favour of this and I did talk to Pat Hayes on the matter, I proceeded with my membership. The reason I did was because I was delighted to get an opportunity to try pistol and revolver target shooting.

The facility was never ran as a club , there was one competion started which was to run once a month for 6 months, but the first month was all that was completed.

There was no format (silhouette,IPSC,WA1500,) ever introduced at the range
    which was very dissappointing.
    I consider myself very lucky that I had not yet paid for the coming year. I have applied for membership of the new club that is to be formed and hope that it will be a lot better .
    With regards to Pat Hayes opening an indoor facility, I would imagine it will take a lot of time and money.
    I sympathize with any members who have paid for this year, and suggest to them that they look for a refund if the are not prepared to wait for an indoor facility to open.
    I hope this info is of some help
    Regards
    Rafer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Banjax

I would think, that being a commercial venture, you are fully entitled to recompense.

Thanks Rafer !!

Just to clearify !

You say you have applied for the new club ! What Pat Hayes indoor club ?

Is it going to be 50m ?

Do you do long range rifle shooting ?

Cheers mate

NUTTA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Rafer

Hi Nutta
    There is to be a new club formed using the orginal range, as soon as I have contact details I will post them
    Regards
    Rafer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 223 Hornady

great news lads , hope everything works out .

That is brilliant news !!!!

That would be great if you let us know when its happening mate !
    Is there anyway of getting some application forms ?

It would have been such a shame to lose the range altogether !

I contacted Pat today but he never got back to me. I want to get my refund so I have it as soon as the new club opens for business.

I will be waiting in anticipation for any news and will let the lads I know who don't use this site but are members of mallow know !

Thanks Rafer you made my day !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

I didn't renew my membership this year - just as well that I didn't now :rolleyes:

I've got a great deal off Pat for the last rifle I bought - but the range was a disgrace - €350 to lay on gravel and shoot through 2 foot tall grass up a mountain ;)
    There was no one using the rifle range anyway - only one or two any day I was there - the pistols were a lot more popular so it was probably not worth renewing the lease when the majority of the memberships were from that side - therefore his idea of the indoor range :confused:

I doubt there'll be any problem getting the money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

lads can we keep the posts pulic. more of us may be interested in a new club for lang range rifle shooting.

Hopefully good neess for all.

thelurcher wrote:
    I didn't renew my membership this year - just as well that I didn't now :rolleyes:

I've got a great deal off Pat for the last rifle I bought - but the range was a disgrace - €350 to lay on gravel and shoot through 2 foot tall grass up a mountain ;)
    There was no one using the rifle range anyway - only one or two any day I was there - the pistols were a lot more popular so it was probably not worth renewing the lease when the majority of the memberships were from that side - therefore his idea of the indoor range :confused:

I doubt there'll be any problem getting the money back.
    eh i do use the rifle range buddy and whats worse i paid for this year

i would use the riffle as well as the pistol range but unfortunatlly never used it from 300 in the club range as never had a chance but would like to have more freedom on the range not treated like a child with a poppy gun i've probilybeen trained to use firearms in a way that would make alot of members up there **** them selves but i would like to use a holster once in a while on a range aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Chopperdog 2

Slapper2,

I dont know if you realise it, there are standard codes for safety and conduct on a shooting range. By the way you are referring to yourself and your range behaviour I am of the opinion that you could be well unaware of these (or have chosen to ignore them).

Please let me know when you are visiting any ranges that I may be attending so that I can make alternative plans not to be there.

Is it ignorance or lack of common sense in people that leads to shooting accidents, the fact that some people cannot abide by the most reasonable safety rules is beyond me...

Any pistol range worth its salt requires proof of competence before allowing shooters use a holster. Maybe this, combined with other factors of your behaviour stated by yourself in the previous post might explain why you are not permitted to use a holster on range.

noone is allowed use holsters
    and what i meant about use of weapons is live fire tactical training i have i have never refused to obey the rules
    there is no rule to say i have to like them

slapper2 wrote:
    noone is allowed use holsters
    and what i meant about use of weapons is live fire tactical training i have i have never refused to obey the rules
    there is no rule to say i have to like them

Rules aren't there to be liked. Their purpose is to ensure safety at all times. If you like them it's a bonus.

If you don't like them it's not a problem unless you also don't understand the reasons for them.

as i said i never refuse to obey them
    so why can you say its safety when one clubs says you can and another says you cant use holsters

slapper2 wrote:
    as i said i never refuse to obey them
    so why can you say its safety when one clubs says you can and another says you cant use holsters

It depends on the sport being run on the range and whether the range is set up for the use of holsters or not.

Holsters pose a difficulty for RO's because they can't see clearly if the firearm in the holster is unloaded or not.

rrpc wrote:
    Holsters pose a difficulty for RO's because they can't see clearly if the firearm in the holster is unloaded or not.

treat every weapon as they are loaded
    i have never taken aim at anything i didnt want to shoot

slapper2 wrote:
    treat every weapon as they are loaded
    i have never taken aim at anything i didnt want to shoot

Sorry Slapper, but you are missing the point and certainly you seem to have missed range safety 101.

As an individual, what you say is correct. When you are running a range you have a completely different viewpoint. A Range Officer needs to know in exactly what areas of the range firearms are or are not loaded and needs to be able to verify that by sight.

As far as he's concerned, you're the one idiot in every 10 that thinks it's OK to wander around a range with a loaded firearm in a holster.