Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Gym

• 01-10-2007 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭

What's the story with it? Any info at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I was wondering about this too.

I was gonna pop in for a look tomorrow to see what it was all about!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

You'll find some more info here. From what I've heard it's a great gym but just pop in and have a chat with the staff in there, they're a friendly bunch as far as I can tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Cheers

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

195 for the academic year and 220 or 230 for a full year (if you're a student) Had my first swim in it yesterday and it is, indeed, great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Ice87

Was a member last year and it was 180 for the year..They keep hiking up the prices every year which is a bit of a joke because Maynooth college has a free gym, shows how much DCU cares about student health:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

The gym in Maynooth is rubbish though and as for the swimming pool :eek: DCU facilities are better but it's still a bit expensive as a student

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

190 euro is about 1.50 euro a day and it includes a free fitness programme and all the exercise classes too. good value imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

It's definitely good value. The facilities are great and so are the pool/steam room. It's only been open a couple of years and I'm sure it was fairly expensive to build (especially the pool). They used to charge about €2.50 a session back in the old days but the gym was really small and had no pool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

I joined it there on Tuesday. Its not great, small free weights area and has fairly limited equiptment from what I remember, good cardio set up though! The elite gym has excellent gear and a much broader range of stuff, most students arnt allowed use it though (myself included, slightly frustrating ;) ). Have to play on an Eircom league of Ireland team, Senior county team, and so on. Example of elligeble people for the gym I was given by the guy who gave me the tour was the players of the Dublin Senior Football team.

Just some attempt by DCU to look 'prestigious' or make a name for themselves or something "our gym is so excellent and exclusive, we dont even let the vast majority of our own students use it!!!! :D"

Flex wrote:
    I joined it there on Tuesday. Its not great, small free weights area and has fairly limited equiptment from what I remember, good cardio set up though! The elite gym has excellent gear and a much broader range of stuff, most students arnt allowed use it though (myself included, slightly frustrating ;) ). Have to play on an Eircom league of Ireland team, Senior county team, and so on. Example of elligeble people for the gym I was given by the guy who gave me the tour was the players of the Dublin Senior Football team.

Just some attempt by DCU to look 'prestigious' or make a name for themselves or something "our gym is so excellent and exclusive, we dont even let the vast majority of our own students use it!!!! :D"

Not really. Some DCU sports clubs have access aswell. You can't really give everybody access to that part and then call it elite. If you get involved in one of the clubs in DCU (depending on the club), you might get access. I'm nowhere near the standards of a senior intercounty player but I still managed to get access.

The Elite gym only just has a broader range of free weights and a few more machines. It's usually fairly quiet aswell which means that you're not waiting to use anything. The normal gym is grand though.

The pool has been close to empty the last 2 days I was in and I had a lane to myself. It seems most people just use it as a cool down are after the gym or just to go and relax, which suits me down to the ground for getting a few lengths in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭wahlrab

which club did you join that you got the opportunity to use the advanced gym? i heard talk of a weightlifting club being formed but all that was was talk?

wahlrab wrote: »
    which club did you join that you got the opportunity to use the advanced gym? i heard talk of a weightlifting club being formed but all that was was talk?

Any of the GAA clubs, as long as you're a playing member. And no, you don't have to be an intercounty star! ;) Soccer club may have access but I've been on an extended holiday from DCU for over a year now, so things could be different. There's been talk of a weightlifting club since the new gym opened and people realised there weren't many free weights. Still hasn't happened and I doubt it ever will tbh. AFAIK, the sports club just see it as an excuse for people trying to get into the elite gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

DCU loves the GAA so they get everything they want and most other people are told f**k off. I know a student who played at international level in one sport and was denied access to it. Guy needed to use one of the machines there that they didn't have in regular gym to help his comeback from an ACL tear and was basically told no.

Went in and had a look there the other day, it was pretty sh!te tbh.

Its grand if you just wanna use cardio machines or machine weights but if you have any interest in free weights then its definately not the gym for you.

I'd love to get a look at the oher gym!!!

Malteaser! wrote: »

Its grand if you just wanna use cardio machines or machine weights but if you have any interest in free weights then its definately not the gym for you.

Can you not see it through a glass partition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Hugh Mongus

Do you really think its that bad? The only basic things I can think of that the freeweights section is missing is a leg press and a power rack.

You've got plates up to about 300kg, 2 bar bells with benches, 2 EZ curl bars, db's up to 36kg, pull up bar, smith machine, 4/5 free benches, and a cable machine. What more do you need???

Your probably just spoiled by the gym rat mecca that is Hercs:p

That's the main difference between the main gym and the elite gym, the amount of free weights. The elite gym is obviously much better but for the average Joe, it doesn't make that much of a difference.

The free weights room is limited by it's size as well. Ten people in there and it's too cramped. How many thousands attend DCU? Though the NUIM gym is far worse

Do you really think its that bad? The only basic things I can think of that the freeweights section is missing is a leg press and a power rack.

You've got plates up to about 300kg, 2 bar bells with benches, 2 EZ curl bars, db's up to 36kg, pull up bar, smith machine, 4/5 free benches, and a cable machine. What more do you need???

Your probably just spoiled by the gym rat mecca that is Hercs:p

hahah, I don't train in hercs...

Mebbe I was in the wrong room or something but I didn't see all those plates!!

The benches aren't the flat type but are made up of like 3 different bits and because there's lots of breaks in the pad means they're not going to be good for everybody. You can't set up well because invariably you'll end up with a break in the pad somewhere uncomfortable. They're not uniform width, and you can't set up tight on them because they're too narrow

I didn't see any Olympic bars lying around, other than the two on the bench rack, which when you consider how many members the gym has really isn't enough. I'd imagine at peak times there's a lot of waiting around for bars/plates/ benches and stuff.

There's no squat rack and a smith machine really isn't a good substitute.

AS for the dumbbells, I deffo couldn't lift anymore than that but I'm sure for a lot of the lads going there they feel limited by them.

As Leixlip Red already said, the room is TIINNYYY...so yeah, thats pretty much what I don't like about it. if I were using cardio machines all the time I'd think it were a class gym!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

The benches aren't the flat type but are made up of like 3 different bits and because there's lots of breaks in the pad means they're not going to be good for everybody. You can't set up well because invariably you'll end up with a break in the pad somewhere uncomfortable. They're not uniform width, and you can't set up tight on them because they're too narrow

I didn't see any Olympic bars lying around, other than the two on the bench rack, which when you consider how many members the gym has really isn't enough. I'd imagine at peak times there's a lot of waiting around for bars/plates/ benches and stuff.

AS for the dumbbells, I deffo couldn't lift anymore than that but I'm sure for a lot of the lads going there they feel limited by them.

As Leixlip Red already said, the room is TIINNYYY...so yeah, thats pretty much what I don't like about it. if I were using cardio machines all the time I'd think it were a class gym!!

Have you been at peak times????if not its not that busy!
    Unless you are Serious into sport and play at a high level the gym is fine.

Some people are never happy

Have you been at peak times????if not its not that busy!
    Unless you are Serious into sport and play at a high level the gym is fine.

Some people are never happy

I'm a girl.

Nope i haven't been, I was just making an assumption, even if it's not busy at peak times its still a sh!te gym.

If you're happy with working on a sh!t bench, not squatting and being able to do FA coz of the lackage of free bars, the gym is fine.

It's not like I joined the gym and wasn't happy with it. i just went up one day ,that's what I noticed and they're the reasons I won't be joining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Jonnykitedude

It maybe sh*te for your traning metods but it seems to be fine for county players that use that side of the gym too .
    BTW how do you know that there not "uniform width" i think you maybe mistaken.

Do you play sport???

It maybe sh*te for your traning metods but it seems to be fine for county players that use that side of the gym too .
    BTW how do you know that there not "uniform width" i think you maybe mistaken.

Do you play sport???

whoops, I meant to say in my very first little ranty post that for someone who's training for strentgh its a bit of a sh!e gym coz it lacks the equipment to train certain lifts, the squat for example!

Of course it's a grand gym for county players, rugby players and practically everybody else. I dunno what I was thinking, I guess I forgot that not everybody is in the gym for the same reasons as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 paddy007

Im thiking about goin to DCU next year, afetr u get this ****in leavin cert out of the way!. I was at the gym in UL last week and was impressed!.. anyone know how it compares with DCU??

You know what? Your absolutely right! Some valid points there that I never really thought about, especially the bench width.

The lack of a squat rack is what bothers me the most. It feels so weird squatting on a smith machine because of the angle you need to take. I was talking to an instructor and was told that the reason is that they are afraid some guy will walk in, use improper technique and get a serious injury - the same logic applies as to why there is no leg press. But surely this could happen in any gym! It's just not right :mad:.

As for it being busy, I refuse to go in at peak times because I cant take the heat of the wight room when it's packed. It turns into a sweatbox. On the upside, most days I get in there for about 9 or 10 and the weight room is totally empty. The room ain't so small when you're the only one in it :D

In summation, thanks Malteaser for getting a rant off my chest that I didn't really know was there!

Oh and to answer your question on the elite gym - its a weightlifter's dream come true and has everything you can think off...still not a patch on Hercs though - now that is truly an elite gym;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

anyone be able to tell me when are the "peak times"?

amacachi wrote: »
    anyone be able to tell me when are the "peak times"?

5-7pm give or take 30 mins either side.

You know what? Your absolutely right! Some valid points there that I never really thought about, especially the bench width.

The lack of a squat rack is what bothers me the most. It feels so weird squatting on a smith machine because of the angle you need to take. I was talking to an instructor and was told that the reason is that they are afraid some guy will walk in, use improper technique and get a serious injury - the same logic applies as to why there is no leg press. But surely this could happen in any gym! It's just not right :mad:.

As for it being busy, I refuse to go in at peak times because I cant take the heat of the wight room when it's packed. It turns into a sweatbox. On the upside, most days I get in there for about 9 or 10 and the weight room is totally empty. The room ain't so small when you're the only one in it :D

In summation, thanks Malteaser for getting a rant off my chest that I didn't really know was there!

Oh and to answer your question on the elite gym - its a weightlifter's dream come true and has everything you can think off...still not a patch on Hercs though - now that is truly an elite gym;)

haha I wasn't trying to turn ya off it!!

Tbh the thing that annoyed me the most was the lack of Squat rack, i would have made do with everything else but a smith machine is a really really bad substitute. I actually thought that was the reason they didn' have them but it seemed too silly to be true!

And I've only been in Hercs a handful of times, never training, but you're right...it's class!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

paddy007 wrote: »
    Im thiking about goin to DCU next year, afetr u get this ****in leavin cert out of the way!. I was at the gym in UL last week and was impressed!.. anyone know how it compares with DCU??

UL blows DCU right out of the water EVERY time.
    50m pool, First class weights and Cardio rooms. suspended indoor running track. These are the kinds of facilites that DCU can only dream of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

Its generally acknowledged that UL has better sports facilities than DCU, but DCU's facilities are better than any other college I've seen. (which is all of them bar UCC)

Dont forget that UL's facilities were built using State funds whereas DCU had to fund the building of its sports centre itself. given that its fairly cheep and well equipped for the average student.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 paddy007

Sound out. thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭CarPark

Just moved from UCC. UCC has an excellent gym, far superior to DCU's

For anyone into weights, the regular (non-elite) gym in DCU is no use.
    A weights room without a squat rack is a non-runner.

In the evenings, there seems to be air-con in the pool area which makes it too cold.
    The steam room seems to periodically turn on and off. Sometimes there is even cold air coming out of the steam jet.

Take offence if you want, throw insults if you want, but these are the facts.

For anyone who is very serious about their gym, you should check out Ben Dunne's gym in Santry, (about 20 mins walk from DCU).

It is reasonably priced, and on a whole different level from the DCU gym.
    It is like a gym designed by someone who goes to the gym five days a week. I couldn't find a single fault with it.

Ben have you not got brown envelopes to be licking??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Elite Strength

How do you get into it? Is't there a strength and conditioning coach there? Can non students use it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭figs86

How do you get into it? Is't there a strength and conditioning coach there? Can non students use it?

well my mates told me to get in you just bang on the door til someone lets you in if you dont have access yourself

i did what you're supposed to do and went and asked for permanent access. ---went to desk, got an email address to contact to set up an ''assessment''.
    a week later no reply.

-went back to desk got a different email address. it doesnt exist as mail wouldnt send to it or variants upon it.

-back to desk, told them email address doesnt exist. ''you need to get an assessment from martina,who supervises the elite gym'' ''how do i get into the elite gym if i dont have access in order to meet her and get assessed?'' ''bang on the door til someone lets you in''

.........feckin jokers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Rocket!

figs86 wrote: »
    well my mates told me to get in you just bang on the door til someone lets you in if you dont have access yourself

i did what you're supposed to do and went and asked for permanent access. ---went to desk, got an email address to contact to set up an ''assessment''.
    a week later no reply.

-went back to desk got a different email address. it doesnt exist as mail wouldnt send to it or variants upon it.

-back to desk, told them email address doesnt exist. ''you need to get an assessment from martina,who supervises the elite gym'' ''how do i get into the elite gym if i dont have access in order to meet her and get assessed?'' ''bang on the door til someone lets you in''

.........feckin jokers

In completely the same situation as yourself mate. Its ridiculous! Wtf is the story, can they not actually give someone an email address that works?!? If you've any luck gettin in contact with this Martina one that Ive heard so much about, gimme a shout...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Insanesomeone

I'll be returning my membership after christmas. The gym is a no-go if you're there for free weight equipment. First off no squat rack, and no free weight squats which means no front squats. The dumbells only go up to 30kg or so. I've also been asked to leave for deadlifting!

On the other side of things, the elite gym is fantastic. But the regular gym is of no use if you're interested in getting big, or getting strong. Thats just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

figs86 wrote: »

a week later no reply.

.........feckin jokers

As far as I remember to get into the elite gym you need to be on a sports team. I think originally it had to be the DCU GAA team ot else an Eircom league football team, GAA county team or AIB Rugby team (thats what I was told by the people there). When I was there last year in my final year I played for the DCU rugby team and apparantly I wouldve been allowed to use the elite gym provided I had a letter from the head rugby coach and chairman of the rugby team.

I was in the regular gym once or twice and then never went back again because it was an absolute load of ****E, that was about a year ago though so they mightve actually got some decent equipment in it in the mean time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Alicano

Studied as a fitness trainer in dcu and this was our gym for the course.
    Very poor free weights area.no discussion.cardio is fine.pool also.
    Very expensive though compared to competition.
    Staff top notch though and this is aimed as a family friendly gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Prezatch

Does anyone know if its possible to pay into DCU gym (non members) just to go for a swim the odd time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

JoeyD wrote: »
    Does anyone know if its possible to pay into DCU gym (non members) just to go for a swim the odd time?

Dont think so but the gym/pool in ballymun lets you do that.

JoeyD wrote: »

Yeah you can but it's like 20/25 quid for the pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

A family member is going to need access to a gym during the Summer to do rehab after surgery.

Is the DCU gym very busy during the Summer? They'd be going more than likely in the mornings/early afternoon but would prefer to join a quieter gym so the likes of Westwood and Total fitness are out.

Would DCU be suitable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

If it's a quiet gym you want, try sportslink.ie

That's where I am. Has pretty much everything, and I'm frequently one of 3/4 people in there. I've never seen more than 5 in at once (in the weights area) asides from the odd group of 3/4 lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

sunnyjim wrote: »
    If it's a quiet gym you want, try sportslink.ie

That's where I am. Has pretty much everything, and I'm frequently one of 3/4 people in there. I've never seen more than 5 in at once (in the weights area) asides from the odd group of 3/4 lads.

Cheers, just went on their website and it looks pretty good. I'm amazed I haven't heard more about it. It says you have to pay per visit too.
    Do you know how much this is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭lego

The Sunday Times higher education suppliment rates Irish Universities' sports facilities every year.

As far as I recall UL was the only university to get 5 stars for its sports facilities. DCU and UCD each got 4 stars. I think TCD and NUIM got 2 stars while UCC and NUIG got 3.

The original table is probably somewhere on the Sunday Times website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Prezatch

Any update on DCU gym lately, ie. do they have a squat rack, couple of olympic bars for deadlifting and presses etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

Sorry to resurrect this thread, saw no point in starting a new one,

Ive been told that the prices to the gym have been revised, any fact in this, if so how much is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Landa2 wrote: »
    Sorry to resurrect this thread, saw no point in starting a new one,

Ive been told that the prices to the gym have been revised, any fact in this, if so how much is it?

Not sure about the gym, but the astro pitch prices have gone up (for students anyway) by 25%, so that could be a bad sign!