Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling - Does it make you a better person?

• 01-10-2007 6:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

Well?

Ive done a bit of travelling and they say it broadens your horizons etc but what does that really mean? A lot of people tell me travelling makes you a better person etc but does it really? I what way?

Id say after travelling im a bit more mature, but other than that it hasnt changed me a whole lot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's fun, and you get to see things and meet people you wouldn't normally have met.. which in a sense 'broadens' your horizons.. but really it's all bollocks. Plenty of dull, stupid people travel too, and they stay that way when they come back home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I suppose the "broadening your horizons" cliché refers to realising there's more to life than just your immediate environs, which is true. But I don't think travelling is necessarily gonna make you a better person. Although visiting places like Calcutta might make you appreciate what you have that bit more - but only for about five minutes. People are traumatised when they visit the killing fields in Cambodia but a few days later they're bitching again about their frizzy hair, about stubbing their toe etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Yes, I'm a better person than people who haven't visited the places I have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nah, I've been all over the planet and I'm still a c*nt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

How can you tell that??

Was there a survey or am I missing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Mordeth wrote:
    Plenty of dull, stupid people travel too, and they stay that way when they come back home.

No they don't. Because once they come back they have about 600 photographs that they want to talk through at length with any poor sod who makes eye-contact with them.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Most Irish people's idea of 'travelling' is going to Australia with their mates for six months, hanging around with Irish people there, getting drunk, working in an Irish bar then annoying the living ****e out of everyone they talk to when they get back.

Man, **** Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No. I've become more hateful and bigotted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Well I'm a truely horrible person and I've never travelled so it might do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I think it makes you appreciate what you have a bit more .... and that things aren't always as bad as they seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Well I'm a truely horrible person and I've never travelled so it might do.
    I'm a complete wanker and I'm not going anywhere.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Terry wrote:
    I'm not going anywhere.

I wish I was WWM I'd ban you for the craic after seeing that. :D

I'd just come back in another form.

In the mean time, enjoy your ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

well it made me give up smoking so... maybe?

on the other hand it reinforced my drinking of hard liquor... so maybe not?

Terry wrote:
    I'd just come back in another form.

In the mean time, enjoy your ban.

*shakes fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Meh, having lived exactly half my life here and half my life abroad I can say that I'm exactly as 'good' a person as the next.

My grandad never travelled outside the Midlands (of Ireland) and he's one of the most intelligent, worldly people I know. He just never had the means and then the want to go anywhere else.

I personally hate people who start with the line..

'OMFG you haven't been to Asia?!?! Man you are so missing out, the way of life over there is so different. It makes you really start to think about your life...'

They don't get to finish the spiel because I've usually head butted them by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Nah. It just means that you're making your carbon footprint bigger and contributing to global warming :D
    Most Irish people's idea of 'travelling' is going to Australia with their mates for six months, hanging around with Irish people there, getting drunk, working in an Irish bar then annoying the living ****e out of everyone they talk to when they get back.

Man, **** Australia.

+1. I don't know what on earth this big deal about Australia is anyway. Talk about a sheep mentality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Dudess wrote:
    I suppose the "broadening your horizons" cliché refers to realising there's more to life than just your immediate environs, which is true. But I don't think travelling is necessarily gonna make you a better person. Although visiting places like Calcutta might make you appreciate what you have that bit more - but only for about five minutes. People are traumatised when they visit the killing fields in Cambodia but a few days later they're bitching again about their frizzy hair, about stubbing their toe etc.

note--on cambodia--the killing fields didn't freak me out -- the school where all the stuff happened did. The fields are eerily calm...with butterflies... (apart from that big tower of skulls..thats just creepy)
    but you're right, you can feel all that madness & then come home & be like that

Firetrap wrote:
    Nah. It just means that you're making your carbon footprint bigger and contributing to global warming :D
    http://thescotsman.scotsman.com/uk.cfm?id=344382007
    +1. I don't know what on earth this big deal about Australia is anyway. Talk about a sheep mentality.
    He he.

Ha! That Aussie bus would soften their cough. The only thing you can say about someone who goes travelling is that they like travelling.

Firetrap wrote:
    Ha! That Aussie bus would soften their cough. The only thing you can say about someone who goes travelling is that they like travelling.
    Nah.
    I've a friend who travels regularly to England and the continent for gigs and he hates travelling. Actually, the guy he goes with also hates travelling.
    They just love live music.

Ah, but are they better people? :rolleyes:

Does that mean the Knackerstm are better people?

Firetrap wrote:
    Ah, but are they better people? :rolleyes:
    Well they tend to bring local beers back from the places they've been, so I would say yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Gaz

Ive done a lot of "backpacker" travelling and it hasnt changed me , except slowed my career progess and emptied my savings account.

Also , i make it a point never to start a sentence like " Oh when i was in ... blah blah blah"

I hate that crap

star-pants wrote:
    note--on cambodia--the killing fields didn't freak me out -- the school where all the stuff happened did
    That S21 place - yeah, I've read about that and seen documentaries on it (well just bits - most of it is too horrific to take). Those black and white photos of people just before their nightmare started are CHILLING.
    I wouldn't have the stomach to see either but yeah, I think S21 would affect me more than the killing fields themselves. My mate was the opposite when she went though.

s21 was pretty bad alright, blood stains on the floor and stuff. But the killing fields had human remains sticking out of the ground, things like leg bones still in trousers.
    Also, i remember something catching my eye and i picked it up , was part of a jaw :eek:

But i think the worst ive seen was in Varanasi , India. Badly decompossed remains of children floating in river, also dogs fighting over remains of baby.
    Took awhile to shake those images.:(

s21 was pretty bad alright, blood stains on the floor and stuff. But the killing fields had human remains sticking out of the ground, things like leg bones still in trousers.
    Yeah, that's what got my mate. Seeing actual human remains is gonna drive things home that bit more I suppose.
    A guy was telling me that there were these tiny cage-type things in which children were kept, and you could see the marks of child-size fingerprints in them.
    But i think the worst ive seen was in Varanasi , India. Badly decompossed remains of children floating in river, also dogs fighting over remains of baby.
    Took awhile to shake those images.:(
    Oh Christ... now I'm not feeling too good. I could NEVER visit those places, or the concentration camps in Europe. I just don't have the courage to face such horror.
    And yet... as I was saying earlier, one would think it might change people somewhat and make them more appreciative of what they have, but it doesn't seem to (in general anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yes, travelling does make you a better person in the sense that you are forced to interact with, and be pleasant to / get along with, scores of people you meet. You learn, hopefully, that most people are the same regardless of creed and colour. It takes the edge of your gullibility and prejudices.
    Now, I mean backpacking etc, not drunken flights to Spain

Dudess wrote:
    Yeah, that's what got my mate. Seeing actual human remains is gonna drive things home that bit more I suppose.
    A guy was telling me that there were these tiny cage-type things in which children were kept, and you could see the marks of child-size fingerprints in them.

Oh Christ... now I'm not feeling too good. I could NEVER visit those places, or the concentration camps in Europe. I just don't have the courage to face such horror.
    And yet... as I was saying earlier, one would think it might change people somewhat and make them more appreciative of what they have, but it doesn't seem to (in general anyway).
    Would you visit a famine memorial site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Went away for 2 years on my tod(well there was 3 months with the ex), had a ball, got pissed a lot, had loads of women, seen how poor people lived - avoided them!, avoided every Irish person in sight bar the one time i went down to Bondi - just to see it, its just like Cork boy!!! Got jiggy with loads of hot chicks, am i a better person? Can't say i am, more open minded though. Highlight of the trip, drinking Thai whiskey under some bridge in Bangkok with some Thai punk band, not sure they could speak English just kept singing the chorus of songs, smashed off my tits. Fcuk it. Have a load of photos who i've shown to nobody and i don't talk about it either, my attitude is, you do it your way and i'll do it mine.

Also, i remember something catching my eye and i picked it up , was part of a jaw :eek:

And then did you buy one of those 'danger, mines' t-shirts?

I have done and it made me feel really sad, but since it didn't require hearing about unimaginable tortures, it didn't have me as freaked as those other places. I had to actually walk away once when a guy at college was talking about S21 - I felt so sick I thought I was going to vomit.

Dudess wrote:

I think its important to visit those types of places though, people need to be reminded of what man is capable of. Auswitz (sp?) is a very moving/powerful expierience.

boreds wrote:
    And then did you buy one of those 'danger, mines' t-shirts?

No, i bought tons of food, paper and colouring pencils , then myself and the girlfriend gave them to all the begging kids.

Absolutely. But I think it takes a certain amount of courage to do so. I make myself watch the documentaries in order to learn about the stuff. But I do find it very difficult.
    As for those "Danger, mines" t-shirts: the people over there produce them. They're more than happy to make money out of tourism - they've got fuk all as it is.

No, i bought tons of food, paper and colouring pencils , then myself and the girlfriend gave them to all the begging kids.

Thats very noble of you. I just told the ones that needed money to go to school to not bother, as it didn't do me any good :)

boreds wrote:
    Thats very noble of you. I just told the ones that needed money to go to school to not bother, as it didn't do me any good :)

Probably my only good deed ever though , reckon i'll still get turned away from the pearly gates ;)

empirix wrote:
    Went away for 2 years on my tod(well there was 3 months with the ex), had a ball, got pissed a lot, had loads of women, seen how poor people lived - avoided them!, avoided every Irish person in sight bar the one time i went down to Bondi - just to see it, its just like Cork boy!!! Got jiggy with loads of hot chicks, am i a better person? Can't say i am, more open minded though. Highlight of the trip, drinking Thai whiskey under some bridge in Bangkok with some Thai punk band, not sure they could speak English just kept singing the chorus of songs, smashed off my tits. Fcuk it. Have a load of photos who i've shown to nobody and i don't talk about it either, my attitude is, you do it your way and i'll do it mine.
    But did you score though? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Travelling - Does it make you a better person????

Well the knackers are the biggest travellers of them all and well, enough said LOL

I'm off to start for two years in January. Hope to learn Spanish and who knows....at least when I come back I won't have the regret of never doing anything different with my life. That's something I have a the moment.

Some people don't care some do.....what is a better person????

Better for you or better for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

I dunno, I think if you go and live in a foreign culture, then it's easier to spot your own shortcomings, and those of your culture. People who never travel will instinctively think that their way is the right way, as they havent been exposed to other ways of thinking. I lived in Japan for my 3rd year in college, and it absolutely changed my life. Had I just gone to DCU for 4 years straight, I'd be a different person, no doubt.

That said, I hate those twats who shove it down your throat that they've travelled the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Yeah, if the act of traveling was enough to improve you as a person then surely the Kn acks would be revered as pinnacles of culture and civilisation :)

I'm reminded o a bit of graffiti I saw in one of the Cubicles in Singapore airport

'Travel broadens the mind, but one must have the mind to begin with'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Firetrap wrote:

Ah the comment of someone who's never been. While I agree there is a sheep mentality attached to Australia similar to the whole J1/West Coast of America thing, it is a fantastic country. I came over at the end of January with my mates with the intention of backpacking around. They've since left and I'm still here in Perth for the simple fact that it pi**es all over Ireland. The weather is beautiful (as are the women), there's so much beautiful scenery and the laid back attitude to life is refreshing. Going back to Ireland's gonna be hard whenever I eventually decide to.

As for the original question, I don't think travelling makes you a better person. For me it was a case of wondering what else was out there. If I hated the States, Australia etc then I'd know Ireland was for me. Right now I'm not so sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

Man, **** Australia.

Oh so true, Travel halfway across the world to go travelling with irish people live with irish people, work with irish people and get hammered with irish people, the only difference is the weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

It definately doesn't make you a better person....but I will say that it
    makes you grow as a person, educate you etc etc. But does education make
    you a better person?

If your an arse to begin with, no amount of education will help :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

/packs bags

Time to come home I guess :/

I'm living in New Zealand for nearly a year now. I try to stay away from Irish bars. During the June I moved in with an Irish girl I work with, we know no other Irish people. All our friends are Kiwi, Indian, Maori, Poly, English, French, Argentinian South African and Asian.
    No point going out in Irish bars, you only end up bumping in to people you know.
    I'm planning on staying for another year or two.... maybe longer. Need to get my permit approved first

/crosses fingers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Mordeth wrote:
    Plenty of dull, stupid people travel too, and they stay that way when they come back home.

Bingo.

Not everyone responds the same to the same stimulus. I imagine some people come back as bigger cnuts than they were before they left.

Besides, traveling seems to really mean "going to Australia".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

Dragan wrote:
    Besides, traveling seems to really mean "going to Australia".

And 'going to Australia' really means going to Sydney to get drunk with the lads for a year ;)