Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motto of the Brotherhood

• 28-09-2007 10:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭

Fellow brothers,
    as most of you can see we now have a motto of sorts displayed overhead. What we are looking for is something that represents us as a group and rolls off the tongue. I personally find "When things start to go pear shaped..." too ferminie, but others may disagree. We won't fight over this *sips pint*

So select what you think is the better motto from the poll above or if you have something that is even better add it here.

Motto of the Brotherhood what should it be? 12 votes

When things start to go pear shaped...
    0%
    Thunderdome for real men...
    8%
    johnnyskeleton 1 vote
    Rational debate on mens health issues...
    16%
    Sposswatna 2 votes
    Size zero? Not here...
    0%
    For men with flair and a lack of hair...
    0%
    Skinny feckers beware...
    25%
    IompairprendyFunkZ 3 votes
    Zero carbs ? Zero interest...
    0%
    Rogain resistant !
    50%
    the ravenjudas101GLaDOScrosstownkjd83Slow Motion 6 votes
    Other motto...
    0%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

This guy is good. Too lazy to even attach the poll. My hero. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Eat, drink and be merry for who knows what tomorrow will bring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Rogain resistant !
    jester77 wrote:
    Fellow brothers,
    as most of you can see we now have a motto of sorts displayed overhead. What we are looking for is something that represents us as a group and rolls off the tongue. I personally find "When things start to go pear shaped..." too ferminie, but others may disagree. We won't fight over this *sips pint*

So select what you think is the better motto from the poll above or if you have something that is even better add it here.

Forget something ? :D

Rogain resistant !
    "Beer Guts and receding hair - Barstool baldies".

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Slaphead sufferagettes(sp?)".

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Suppin' and spreadin' ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Easy lads, was finishing a pint and a plate of chips... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

"Come in and let it out"

"You must have 2 chins before entering this forum" (see fitness motto)

I'l try think of more throughout the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Suppin' and spreadin' ".

I like this one.

Rogain resistant !
    tom dunne wrote:
    I like this one.

Oh the validation ! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

BGRH-where happiness is a warm bar stool

Rogain resistant !
    Degsy wrote:
    BGRH-where happiness is a warm stool

Fixed that for ya :D

Degsy wrote:
    BGRH-where happiness is a warm bar stool

Or "where happiness begins on a warm stool."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Rational debate on mens health issues...
    I like the thunderdome for real men, option. Although... it does leave out the ladies! Us ladies (or wimmins, as you insist on calling us) that support your cause!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

HE who calls another fat
    Methinks he be a knave
    But he who calls another round
    Is jolly bold and brave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Booze, bacon butties, bellies, baldness & brevity!

I like "other motto", that'll do for me, I'm off to the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

ArrowDown2.jpg

He aint heavy,
    He's my brother!

I also like Ruu's 'no gut no glory', which hasn't even made the shortlist. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

No gut, no glory +1

or

When everything gets bigger, hairier, and closer to the ground ... you just gotta roll with it :rolleyes:

According to the (admittedly prototype) charter ... No gut, no glory is the motto :D

QFT http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055066160

In deference to the beer-swilling, pig-eating Germans:

'Kein Darm, Kein Ruhm!'

Rogain resistant !
    Hill Billy wrote:
    In deference to the beer-swilling, pig-eating Germans:

'Kein Darm, Kein Ruhm!'

?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭ruthiedv

Beer Guts & Receding Hair....real men have outies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

BGRH - no belts, no brushes.
    or
    BGRH - no belts, no brushes, just beer and pies.

?

'No Guts, No Glory' in German.*

* According to an interweb translator.

?

If my German is correct ... Kein Darm, Kein Ruhm! == No Gut, no Glory!

Rogain resistant !
    Hill Billy wrote:
    'No Guts, No Glory' in German.*

* According to an interweb translator.

Ah !

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Moobs and boobs"

"Beer Guts and receding hair - No glutes no glory"

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Happy and hefty"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

the BGRH - where everyone knows your poison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

going to stick with 'no guts, no glory'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Semper fudge

Can't remember where I heard it, but hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Beer Guts & Receding Hair - belly busting beer boozing brotherhood

try saying that after a few kegs :p

Ah !

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Moobs and boobs"

"Beer Guts and receding hair - Happy and hefty"

Brother Slow Motion, you sir, are on fire today. :D

Rogain resistant !
    tom dunne wrote:
    Brother Slow Motion, you sir, are on fire today. :D

Just started lecturing again last night and it's Friday, I'm all giddy :D

I'm back myself too. Maybe that explains my similar humour too. Hmmmm.......

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

How about:

"Coud you live with the hangover?"

Rogain resistant !
    tom dunne wrote:
    I'm back myself too. Maybe that explains my similar humour too. Hmmmm.......

I haven't given a class since 2000 :), been working in the real world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

no gut no glory i think..

"No gut, no glory" FTW but then I'm biased.;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Thaedydal wrote:
    Eat, drink and be merry for who knows what tomorrow will bring.

It better be beer and a pizza!

BGRH - the home of the rasher sandwich.

However I do think that "No gut, no glory" has a certain ring to it.

zaph wrote:
    However I do think that "No gut, no glory" has a certain ring to it.

I admit I am torn between the current one and "No gut, no glory".

But, if it is the wishes of the masses, then I must conform.

Or I could just ban the lot of you with my new-fandangled mod power :)

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well as I pointed out on Feedback, the current one is inaccurate as a Brother is more watermelon shaped than pear shaped.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

tom dunne wrote:
    Or I could just ban the lot of you with my new-fandangled mod power :)

You could but think of the amount of clicks involved. :eek:

Actually, that is so true. And I have to admit, I would miss the banter. And the wimmins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Cometh the hoor, cometh the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭the raven

Rogain resistant !
    nipplenuts wrote:
    Cometh the hoor, cometh the man

for a second i thought it read
    nipplenuts wrote:
    Cometh the hour, cometh the man
    as in that once the "hour" of the bar opening that then the men do come... but i like the "hoor" one too.

and my vote is for "no gut, no glory" too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

no gut, no glory ftw

Rogain resistant !
    Lot of good suggestions maybe we could have a rotating motto, like the E.U. presidency !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

From DeVore...
    Vegetables arent food. Vegetables are what food eats.

Maybe add it to the poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

smashey wrote:
    From DeVore...
    VeDore wrote:
    Vegetables arent food. Vegetables are what food eats.

Maybe add it to the poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

BGRH - Your round.

or even...

BGRH - You're round :D

Although no gut no glory is good too

Apologies for dragging this up again, but we never really decided on one.

One of the lads at the weekend came up with a cracker, which i've modified for the forum's purpose.....

BGRH: - 'Cos too much is not enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

"Stay Puffed"?