Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€1500 Tuesday/€2000 Friday guarentee's €50 freezout's at the Shamrock/Waterford

• 25-09-2007 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

We at the Shamrock have introduced a new program of tournaments that include the great value Tuesday and Friday freezeout. These events have a €1500 and €2000 guarantee and a working mans entry of €50+€5 and the added value of free beers and food for all entrants.

This series of events include a league where the top player will represent the shamrock along with one other for league topping 27 players game in the €2200 pokerevents Irish poker Championships in January. No monies will be taken from the prizepool for the league this is an added bonus to our regular players

1. Who is running the event. Shamrock card club waterford
    2.(charity, commercial etc.) commercial
    3. Date and Location of event; every tuesday/friday 8.30 Shamrock card club waterford
    4. Registration and Start time of event. 8.00 8.30
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc). membership is free u can join on night
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.) purchased on night
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.) texas holdem freezeout
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. N/A
    9. Cost of registration. €5
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund. 100%
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool. €1500 tuesday €2000 friday
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels. N/a
    13. Starting Chips 20,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts. N/a
    15. Blind levels
    50-100
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400

300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    1500-3000
    2000-4000
    2500-5000
    3000-6000
    4000-8000
    5000-10000
    6000-12000
    8000-15000
    10000-20000

16. Blind timeframes 25 mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc) 4/5
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill; professional dealers
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules; yes
    20. Is there a tournament director; yes DG
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say. TD

get down to the Sham its where the craic at; and dont forget its free beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

wow.....sounds too good to be true........wow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

this friday??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 TheSham

eoin-dubh wrote:
    this friday??????

yes; they kicked off last friday with 36 runners so not much of an overlay but great craic and atmosphere with the beer flowing

Tuesday's night game had 28 runners but seemed more serious about poker; say only ten bottles of beer was drank by the whole field

great overlay in this last night 21 runners so €950 added, now that's value, did I mention the free beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

TheSham wrote:
    great overlay in this last night 21 runners so €950 added, now that's value, did I mention the free beer

Is it a pub or a card club you're running.

IMO drink and cards do not mix, unless of course you are one of the vultures out there looking for a soft touch.

However I personally prefer to play cards, not listening to shi*e from drunks and arguments.

34 runners last night in Blazin Aces Waterford for the €200 FO and it was a great tournament and was won by MDWexford who played some great poker where first prize was €2500. A real tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

I agree, the constant offers of "free beer" should not be an incentive to play poker in a certain club. A decent structure and nice prizepools are whats attracts real players and the 25min clock and 20k starting stack you have is currently the best weekly game in Waterford. Usually drink just slows the game down and can cause trouble.

Also, thanks Dave. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭The Istanbul

WP Mick

Nice result: trip report?

kakak1 wrote:

IMO drink and cards do not mix, unless of course you are one of the vultures out there looking for a soft touch.

However I personally prefer to play cards, not listening to shi*e from drunks and arguments.

34 runners last night in Blazin Aces Waterford for the €200 FO and it was a great tournament and was won by MDWexford who played some great poker where first prize was €2500. A real tournament.

well your entitled to your opinion; but that doesn't make it gospel. We have run this tournament three nights and the craic and atmosphere has been great maybe your knocking around with the wrong kind of drinkers. As for a real tournament well 25 minute clock and 20k chips has gone down very well in fact people have questioned if this is to good a structure for the midweek game and while a €200+20 buy in appeals to some it doesn't appeal to all.

So you stick to your "real" tournaments in blazing aces you grumpy person but don't be degrading tournaments and customers you haven't witnessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

mdwexford wrote:
    I agree, the constant offers of "free beer" should not be an incentive to play poker in a certain club. A decent structure and nice prizepools are whats attracts real players and the 25min clock and 20k starting stack you have is currently the best weekly game in Waterford. Usually drink just slows the game down and can cause trouble.

Also, thanks Dave. :)

I don't know Mick I like a few beers and a game of cards and many others think the same. I've been to the shamrock a few times now and found it a good game where the players are well looked after and the games run smoothly

edit; nice win last night wd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 the pikey

kakak1 wrote:

i was there for the opening night and i enjoyed the night. and i also had a drink and so did a few others and it didnt seem to hold up the game

TheSham wrote:
    well your entitled to your opinion;

Thank you for that priviledge :rolleyes:
    but that doesn't make it gospel

did someone say it did :confused:
    maybe your knocking around with the wrong kind of drinkers

I don't knock around with drinkers, precisely the point I was trying to make, I rather hang out with card players

So you stick to your "real" tournaments in blazing aces

I certainly will and I don't need your permission to do so

you grumpy person

I think I would be closer to any of the other 6, e.g. Happy, Dopey, Doc, Sneezy, Sleepy or Bashful but not Grumpy

Do they all play in your tournaments :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

kakak1 wrote:
    TheSham wrote:
    well your entitled to your opinion;

Thank you for that priviledge :rolleyes:
    but that doesn't make it gospel

did someone say it did :confused:
    maybe your knocking around with the wrong kind of drinkers

I don't knock around with drinkers, precisely the point I was trying to make, I rather hang out with card players

So you stick to your "real" tournaments in blazing aces

I certainly will and I don't need your permission to do so

you grumpy person

I think I would be closer to any of the other 6, e.g. Happy, Dopey, Doc, Sneezy, Sleepy or Bashful but not Grumpy

Do they all play in your tournaments :D

Dave ur comedy gold ( for a old guy ):D :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭blackbeard

I have heard you also have a game on Monday night. I presume your Tuesday guarneeted €1500 game is also on as i have rearranged my work schedule to play in this game.

blackbeard wrote:
    I have heard you also have a game on Monday night. I presume your Tuesday guarneeted €1500 game is also on as i have rearranged my work schedule to play in this game.

I'm sorry Tuesday's game has had to be moved to Monday this week due to unforeseen circumstances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭chillimetro

will the prizepool be guaranteed on monday

yes €1500

TheSham wrote:
    I'm sorry Tuesday's game has had to be moved to Monday this week due to unforeseen circumstances

would those "unforeseen circumstances" have anything to do with the fact that Blazing Aces had 55 players last Tuesday and this Tuesday have a €500 ticket to the Big Slick winter festival added to the prize fund :confused::confused:

kakak1 wrote:
    would those "unforeseen circumstances" have anything to do with the fact that Blazing Aces had 55 players last Tuesday and this Tuesday have a €500 ticket to the Big Slick winter festival added to the prize fund :confused::confused:

Na, but that game seems like value might head up for that.

you seem to have a B in your bonnet about our club grumpy please stop trolling this tread you dont see anyone from the shamrock doing it on blazingaces treads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

My God,cards and free beer????? How could you do such a thing?????

Seriously guys,stfu.

"What's the difference between a dog and a poker player?"

"Eventually,your dog will stop whining" :)

Icarus152 wrote:
    My God,cards and free beer????? How could you do such a thing?????

Seriously guys,stfu.

"What's the difference between a dog and a poker player?"

"Eventually,your dog will stop whining" :)

Its been going on in Wexford for years, nice 1st post btw ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 checkraise

Its been going on in Wexford for years, nice 1st post btw
    richie your still alive.:D :D

your still the best player i ever seen live.

but not so hot at the pool i hear.

i heard meehan ruined your pool career.

checkraise wrote:
    Its been going on in Wexford for years, nice 1st post btw
    richie your still alive.:D :D

your still the best player i ever seen live.

but not so hot at the pool i hear.

i heard meehan ruined your pool career.

1st of all, give me the handle of a sweeping brush and id run meehan close, he caught me when i was out of practice:mad: , different story now m8

anyway who might u be??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 checkraise

checkraise wrote:

1st of all, give me the handle of a sweeping brush and id run meehan close, he caught me when i was out of practice:mad: , different story now m8

anyway who might u be??

a fan:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

hi there! i have to say i really like the shamrocks idea. i dont play in waterford i mostly play in cork. But your friendly approach is very refreshing and you should be complimented for it. It seems to me you have your customers best intrest at heart and this can only be good for poker in general. The more you can give your poker playing customer in value eg; guarnteed prize pools, leauge incentives, free food, free beer.... the more customers you will eventually end up with . Then everyone is happy, your making more money, and your club is busy and the customer is happy beacause they feel their business is apreciated and this is ilustrated by the added value you have deemed necesarry .
    well done lets hope some more card rooms follow "suit" and next time im in the area i will defenitaly call in for a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 suckcalf

shamrock has a good clientel,who enjoy a beer and poker,danny is the td down there,staff is friendly:cool:

The Tuesday game is changed to Monday for the foreseeable future. Cant seem to edit the original post

i wil be there sham:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Atlantis Casino

I agree with the shamrock, you do what you can for your customers i.e free food,drink and service along with a friendly atmosphere and great tournaments. I have heard that the tounaments at the shamrock have been fantastic and enjoyed by all.

that was a good game lastnite,i would of liked 2 hav played but danny had his please deal 2nite eyes,how could of refused,lol
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭caoimh36

Played the 2k gtd game last friday and the whole night was a great success with:
    - Good dealers
    - Great structure
    - Great tables, cards, chips etc. (very important to me anyway!)
    - Free beers which was not taken to excess by anybody
    - Free hot and cold food at the break
    - A fine standard of play with great banter at the tables
    - Extremely friendly staff

All in all you wont get better value for your 55 bucks anywhere in the country I would imagine.

Did you take it down in the end?

When did they get new dealers??

me was was dealing lastnite,they r getting some next week u luck box:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

mdwexford wrote:
    When did they get new dealers??

Lol

he did

and amazingly bops lost a race there last night

I actually ventured out to this last night and without great success. Nicky took it down.

Enjoyed it, Danny ran a good show. Not sure what happened but only 15k starting chips and 20 minute clock last nite. (plus i had that crow dealing my table, Take a jump noel:D )

Cash game was good for about 10 minutes, managed to convince the table to play omaha and was going well till one guy sat down with 50 euro and refused to play omaha so the game was changed to Holdem:mad: :mad:

Other than that the place looks good, probably be back to donate at some stage

The structure has already been changed for the worse??

Is that for both days or just Mondays??

it was not even mentioned i only realised when i read the structures on here today

nicnicnic wrote:
    he did

and amazingly bops lost a race there last night

well most normal ppl dont win 7 races in a row

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

we had to change the structure for our monday night game to cater for the majority of players(15k stack 20 minute levels),work in the morning etc.I still think this is a very playable structure and finished at about 2ish.The friday night game remains the same,20k stack,25 minute levels,this just isn't feasible on a monday as this game runs 'til about 4 o'clock.
    As for our dealers,nina and laszlo are professional croupiers,noel and jim have helped us out,for which i am grateful and have done a fine job.This is a new venture in its early stages and any constructive comments are appreciated.We have run five tournaments to date and thankfully have had an overwhelmingly positive response,however there seems to be one or two people who love to stir for the sake of it.There is now a choice in waterford for the players and clearly this hasn't gone down well in some quarters,for obvious reasons.I would like to offer a personal invitation to KAKAK to pay us a visit,after all don't wine tasters actually taste the wine before commenting on quality?
    My thanks to all who have supported us thus far,and my assurance that we are here to stay and hopefully will see many of you all in the coming months.

BTW i can indeed confirm that bops lost a race last night,i believe that nicky has requested for him to rub off de wolfe before next years IO....

we had to change the structure for our monday night game to cater for the majority of players(15k stack 20 minute levels),work in the morning etc.I still think this is a very playable structure and finished at about 2ish.The friday night game remains the same,20k stack,25 minute levels,this just isn't feasible on a monday as this game runs 'til about 4 o'clock.
    As for our dealers,nina and laszlo are professional croupiers,noel and jim have helped us out,for which i am grateful and have done a fine job.This is a new venture in its early stages and any constructive comments are appreciated.We have run five tournaments to date and thankfully have had an overwhelmingly positive response,however there seems to be one or two people who love to stir for the sake of it.There is now a choice in waterford for the players and clearly this hasn't gone down well in some quarters,for obvious reasons.I would like to offer a personal invitation to KAKAK to pay us a visit,after all don't wine tasters actually taste the wine before commenting on quality?
    My thanks to all who have supported us thus far,and my assurance that we are here to stay and hopefully will see many of you all in the coming months.

BTW i can indeed confirm that bobs lost a race last night,i believe that nicky has requested for him to rub off de wolfe before next years IO....

Danny, thanks for your very kind invitation and maybe I'll take you up on that at some stage.

But really I have never felt a reason to change venue, I'm very happy to play in Aces where I have always been treated very fairly.

From a players perspective it has to be a good thing to have variety and indeed competition provided of course it is fair and ethical at all times.

Maybe in the future it will happen this way and very possibly is happening already but in my opinion you got off to the worst possible start and there was in my opinion a breach in business ethics.

I have always got on very well with yourself & Nicky & I wish you both all the best in your venture.

I hope you understand where I'm coming from and maybe in time if your invitation is still open I will take you up on it.

With regard to "tasting the wine" you only told us there was free beer available :D:D

kakak

kakak1 wrote:
    From a players perspective it has to be a good thing to have variety and indeed competition provided of course it is fair and ethical at all times.

kakak

i get the feeling that you have (or at least think) you have been wronged in some way dave. i would like to know the full story if something is going on.

Obviously you have a problem with the current management???????????

i get the feeling that you have (or at least think) you have been wronged in some way dave. i would like to know the full story if something is going on.

Obviously you have a problem with the current management???????????

Richie you've been away far too long from the Waterford poker scene. I have not been wronged in any way, if I had I wouldn't be communicating with Danny who I get on with very well. (I hope :D )

I don't even know the current management.

i would like to know the full story if something is going on.

are you with the Special Branch :confused: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Dave,thankfully I feel we have got off to an excellent start
    I would never propose you "change" your venue,do you not visit the Macau occassionally?
    Many thanks for your best wishes and of course the invitation stands,see you soon;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 White Wog

Any chance of reducing de starting stack and da blinds timeframe ?

Midnite would be a perfect finishing time for a monday......early start for work!

Anyways too much dissing and bloodclarting....why is dare nah armoney
    in da warterfurd poker comuneetee ? let's all spread some peace n love man.

I sees u giving out free beer....any ganja been dished out?

Me an all me brevren ah gonna come on da next monday....

peace n love to one n all......

kakak1 wrote:

I have always got on very well with yourself & Nicky & I wish you both all the best in your venture.

kakak

I agree we always got on well and cant see any reason why this should ever change in the future.

I just want to state that I don't have any stake in the shamrock other then helping a couple of friends getting the tournaments going a couple of nights a week. I consider myself a player and never had of hope to have any aspirations to become involved in the commercial side of the game.

When big slick were getting off the ground I was asked if i wanted to become involved but declined. However I always gave my advice re structures, events and used my networking abilities to promote there games. When blazing aces opened I put together the tournament schedule for Duncan that is more or less still in place today and also devised the league system there.

My involvement in the shamrock is no more or less then what I have contributed to the other main players involved in poker in the Waterford area and in the same way I have no financial interest other then entering the tournaments and probably winning them a little more often then anyone else;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭caesars pal

nicnicnic wrote:
    I agree we always got on well and cant see any reason why this should ever change in the future.

I just want to state that I don't have any stake in the shamrock other then helping a couple of friends getting the tournaments going a couple of nights a week. I consider myself a player and never had of hope to have any aspirations to become involved in the commercial side of the game.

When big slick were getting off the ground I was asked if i wanted to become involved but declined. However I always gave my advice re structures, events and used my networking abilities to promote there games. When blazing aces opened I put together the tournament schedule for Duncan that is more or less still in place today and also devised the league system there.

My involvement in the shamrock is no more or less then what I have contributed to the other main players involved in poker in the Waterford area and in the same way I have no financial interest other then entering the tournaments and probably winning them a little more often then anyone else;)
    not if im playing nic;)

nicnicnic wrote:
    My involvement in the shamrock is no more or less then what I have contributed to the other main players involved in poker in the Waterford area and in the same way I have no financial interest other then entering the tournaments

don't forget "The Sham" :D:D:D (the spell check is working)
    nicnicnic wrote:
    and probably winning them a little more often then anyone else;)

better go down to sort that one out :p:p