Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Low flying plane over Dublin last night

• 21-09-2007 7:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭

I was in Clondalkin last night and a plane flew over. It was so low and banking quite heavily(looked to be in trouble). Did anyone else see it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

i was all wrapped up in the safety of my bed so i didnt say it. I doubt it was much to worry about.

although a friend of mine has a quite senior role in the airport and he says some stories. He said that you dont hear all the tales in the papers! :eek:

i reckon this thread will be moved to the dublin forum within 7 posts! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Cormster

I didn't see it myself but perhaps it had some connection to the troop movements around Dublin reported over the last few days on boards? Over the last fortnight I have noticed a lot of helicopters flying in formation over the Kingswood slip road from the N7 - maybe tied in to this?

Although when I was based in Clondalkin (woodford estate) over the summer, there appeared to be a lot of air traffic. I suspect alot of it was to Baldonnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Ufo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I live in this area too and there is always alot of air traffic. The helicopters are a regular feature; sometimes its the gardai and other times I think they are private. Also, I regularly hear low flying planes and you wonder sometimes if they are in trouble. They are very noisy.

Did you hear about the plane almost flying into the hotel in Ballymun last month? The pilot mistook the red light on top of the hotel for the runway. Scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Still, building a big f**k off tower beside an airport is just asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've tuned it out

there's always garda helicopters or planes coming to or from baldonnel

air traffic, road traffic, tons of new buildings being built

Clondalkin is such a hole now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

What time was it at approx? I heard something alright but on the northside!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

We had one fly very low over Dun Laoghaire yesterday morning, I think sometimes it is just the pilots taking a shortcut or jumping the queue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Its the beginning of the Irish Army's version of Operation Citadel,i tells ya.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Twas the lizard people I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I live in this area too and there is always alot of air traffic. The helicopters are a regular feature; sometimes its the gardai and other times I think they are private. Also, I regularly hear low flying planes and you wonder sometimes if they are in trouble. They are very noisy.

Did you hear about the plane almost flying into the hotel in Ballymun last month? The pilot mistook the red light on top of the hotel for the runway. Scary stuff.

Stop Press! Planes are noisy???!?!?!?!??! Who'd have thought ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Bex81

I was driving through Clare a few weeks ago and I saw a plane that seemed to be goin straight down fast. The trailing white line (exhaust fumes or something I guess :confused: ) was completely vertical. I was convinced there was gonna be a big crash but nothing happened.
    Any explainations?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

faceman wrote:
    i reckon this thread will be moved to the dublin forum within 7 posts! :D
    Afterhours is the Dublin forum isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Brother was out walking his dog at about 12 at night when he saw the plane in Santry about a month ago. It was just over the houses, he couldn't believe it. Like the earlier poster said, it mistook a new highrise hotel in the Santry area as the runway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

phasers wrote:
    I've tuned it out

there's always garda helicopters or planes coming to or from baldonnel

air traffic, road traffic, tons of new buildings being built

Clondalkin is such a hole now

Are you there?

Most areas of Clondalkin are grand, no problems whatsoever.

The only problem I encounter is there is a constant broken glass the last 2 months on the ground around the estate I live in, it's really annoying. It's likely a very small bunch of repeat offenders. :mad:

fletch wrote:
    I was in Clondalkin last night and a plane flew over. It was so low and banking quite heavily(looked to be in trouble). Did anyone else see it?

Once in a while I hear one quite low, a couple of times they were loud enough that I had a peak out the window to see if they were about to crash. :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

What a disappointment! I thought the Rig was going to admit to flying below radar smuggling in knockoff frozen Big Macs to fill his frig for midnight snacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Low flying plane over Clondalkin sounds like a drop, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Clondalkin is on an approach pattern for the easterly runway IIRC, right about where they make a sharp right. Generally there's not much difference in height from one approach to another either. Sometimes on a cold night, it can seem that they're lower because the noise is amplified.

The pilot mistook the red light on top of the hotel for the runway. Scary stuff.

:D Where on earth did you hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

zuutroy wrote:

It was reported in the Evening Herald and they stated that the authorites said that all pilots will be made aware of this in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

zuutroy wrote:
    Clondalkin is on an approach pattern for the easterly runway IIRC, right about where they make a sharp right. Generally there's not much difference in height from one approach to another either. Sometimes on a cold night, it can seem that they're lower because the noise is amplified.
    Yep. It's also likely to have been going to baldonnell. If you're playing golf in Grange Castle, you'll often see small private aircaft banking and weaving very low over the course, probably at 400/500m.

I'm surprised it got out of Clondalkin with its engines intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

zuutroy wrote:
    i heard it on the news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭parliament

zuutroy wrote:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0919/air.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Here's a big low flying plane:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eX-_4RqJeNk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

seamus wrote:
    If you're playing golf in Grange Castle, you'll often see small private aircaft banking and weaving very low over the course, probably at 400/500m.
    Often planes practise "stalling" over golf courses, as if sh|t hits the fan, then can land OK.

parliament wrote:

Ah now I get it...I was thinking in terms of the other runway...

robinph wrote:
    Here's a big low flying plane:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eX-_4RqJeNk

Every seen St. Maarten....now THIS is low....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

maybe the earths gravitational pull is stronger over clondalkin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

faceman wrote:
    maybe the earths gravitational pull is stronger over clondalkin???

It's the Lizard Leader Capital of the world.
    Their strange experiments and offerings to their gods have affected the gravitational pull of the area.

But they are fairly quite and keep to themselves, so we don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

seen the same story in the papers in the week, the two red lights on the tower roof, were mistaken for the runway approach lights, piliot seen them, started making his landing approach, realised it wasn't the runway

not meaning to go of topic but some has just asked todayfms ray darcy why half a dozen air corps helecopters have just been seen heading off towards wales, startimg to think are all these stories linked

mmmmmm

It was reported in the Evening Herald and they stated that the authorites said that all pilots will be made aware of this in the future.

right lads, the tall tower like thing with "Hilton" written accross it is a hotel, the runway is a mile long stretch of concrete with lights all the along both sides. now then repeat after me.....

Are Ryanain using care in the community patients to fly their planes now :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Saintly

Was on the 7.30pm from Manchester last night - the plane was lined up with the runway, descending as usual, when suddenly it was pulled up sharply (well, it felt sharply) and climbed back up. You could feel the tension on the plane! A few minutes later, the pilot came on, apologised and advised that the plane ahead had failed to clear the runway, hence the aborted landing. Landed fine about 10 minutes later - was my first experience of a non routine landing, so was a little nervy till we were down safely. Must have looked strange to anyone on the M1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

right lads, the tall tower like thing with "Hilton" written accross it is a hotel, the runway is a mile long stretch of concrete with lights all the along both sides. now then repeat after me.....

Are Ryanain using care in the community patients to fly their planes now :eek:
    I'm more shocked that they decided that telling pilots about it was better than just asking the hotel to change/reposition the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

zuutroy wrote:
    Every seen St. Maarten....now THIS is low....

saw that before, its completely mad, must be no more than 15 feet above the ground :eek:

The all-state arena in chicago is pretty bad too but nothing like St.Maarten there. Its built on land belonging to O'Hare airport so the planes fly just over the top of the arena and one after another all day :p We got some good pictures the last time we were over.

seamus wrote:
    I'm more shocked that they decided that telling pilots about it was better than just asking the hotel to change/reposition the lights.

Red lights have to be on any building above a certain height and I *think* they are the responsibility of the IAA. I guess it just so happens that the parallax the pilots see can be a bit misleading, but they still have to be left there. A similar notice was sent out not to land on the M50 when it opened!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Cormster

zuutroy wrote:
    Red lights have to be on any building above a certain height and I *think* they are the responsibility of the IAA. I guess it just so happens that the parallax the pilots see can be a bit misleading, but they still have to be left there. A similar notice was sent out not to land on the M50 when it opened!

I was under the (perhaps completely incorrect) impression that the M50 had been designated as an emergency runway if for some reason it was needed. Not sure where I heard that, but maybe someone knowledgeable can confirm or correct this. Although, if any pilot can land a 747 on the M50 at rush hour, fair play to them. (I wonder how the increased tolls due in would be applied here :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I very much doubt the M50 is wide enough? :confused:

Cormster wrote:
    I was under the (perhaps completely incorrect) impression that the M50 had been designated as an emergency runway if for some reason it was needed.

sorry but, lol

rossie1977 wrote:
    saw that before, its completely mad, must be no more than 15 feet above the ground :eek:

The all-state arena in chicago is pretty bad too but nothing like St.Maarten there. Its built on land belonging to O'Hare airport so the planes fly just over the top of the arena and one after another all day :p We got some good pictures the last time we were over.

One approach into Heathrow is right over Windsor Castle, they are so low there that I am sure the tower has got tyre marks on the roof. :eek:

I can't believe someone would build a castle right in the flightpath for one of the busiest airports in europe;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Originally Posted by How Strange

Posted by Lump
    Stop Press! Planes are noisy???!?!?!?!??! Who'd have thought

smart comments aside Lump, I meant the planes are very noisy and much more so because they are flying so low.

I can't believe someone would build a castle right in the flightpath for one of the busiest airports in europe;)
    On the breakfast news this morning they were talking about how Americans think that Scotland is just about tartan and the loch ness monster or some such so they have trouble getting companies investing there from the US. One of the comments that they had from some American though was that it was very clever of them to have built Edinburgh Castle near the center of the city and the train station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 harry12

probably an overloaded Dope plane looking for the field near weston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

rossie1977 wrote:

You do realise that at some point the plane is actually only a millimeter above the ground.... I'm sure that plan is actually much higher then you think, I guess it's about 50 to 100 feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

6 helicopters just flew over my house in grand canal street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Brady

Yea seem them too! got a pic on my phone..

You got there before me, they just flew over Deansgrange too! :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

yeah, they are flying back and forth around merrion square too - have we been invaded?

That's 2 near misses in 24hours....should I be worried? :D

eirebhoy wrote:
    6 helicopters just flew over my house in grand canal street.
    Thats what the noise was, just thought it was one helichopter going round in circles making all the racket, never bothered to look out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Hey guys just a heads up to say that today was the last day of service for the Alouette 3 in Irish Air Corps Service, sad day indeed such a true workhorse and instantly recognised and loved by all.

I will miss her alot as they held a special place in my heart too and saved countless Irish and other peoples lives, sometimes going out when it wasnt in any way advisable.

A picture of mine which I think stands out:

DSCF1265.jpg

Thats your answer for the 6 ship Alouette Formation.