Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ex wants payment for "gifts"

• 18-09-2007 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

My ex and i broke up last week we are both 23, we broke up as i caught him in bed with another girl- i was with him just over a year.

During our relationship he used to send me phone credit at intervals for no reason just as a "gift"(as he called it)

I (on a few occasions) sent him phone credit back and he gave out to me for it saying he sends it as a gift when iv no cred and he didnt want it back

Anyway yesterday i recieve a letter from him saying during our relationship he sent me 475 euro in phone credit and he wants me to pay him back the money for it- and if i dont he take me to court

I mean what the ****!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Just ignore him. He has no legal grouds to take you to court. If there was no contract then he has no footing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Just ignore him. The guy sounds like a prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

mhshmaug wrote:
    My ex and i broke up last week we are both 23, we broke up as i caught him in bed with another girl- i was with him just over a year.

During our relationship he used to send me phone credit at intervals for no reason just as a "gift"(as he called it)

I (on a few occasions) sent him phone credit back and he gave out to me for it saying he sends it as a gift when iv no cred and he didnt want it back

Anyway yesterday i recieve a letter from him saying during our relationship he sent me 475 euro in phone credit and he wants me to pay him back the money for it- and if i dont he take me to court

I mean what the ****!!!!!!!!!!!

he cannot demand a gift is returned, just laugh at him

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

What a ****** tell him to shove that letter where the sun dont shine :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

OP, what a w*nker. You should just ignore him and let him make a pratt out of himself but if you feel the need to reply tell him to go f*ck himself.

The absolute nerve of him after being caught doing the dirty with another girl.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 294 ✭✭XJR

He's a twat - tell him to get a life.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

mhshmaug wrote:

LOL
    He sent you this credit off his own bat, if he goes anywhere near a court house he'll be laughed out of the building by the judge.
    Totally ignore the letter and him and carry on as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭warrenaldo

this type of thing is always on Judge Judy - thats the only reason i know. Gifts are gifts. Its his word against yours. He doesnt have a leg to stand on.
    And its a load of bull that he will take you to court. No solicitor would take on the case. Laugh at him - and watch Judge Judy - its great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

He really is a twat. Ignore him and if you have to talk to him, tell him that if you had been married, the divorce would of cost him a hell of a lot more, so he should count himself lucky :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Report him to the gardi for harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

I would photocopy the letter and put it up in the man's loo in his local. What a vicious, two-timing, spineless little twat. You are well rid of him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

mhshmaug wrote:

thats brilliant..........

its obviouse that you were going out with a right mean ba$tard, so keeping the €475 is the perfect revenge for what he did

your hitting him right where it hurts

enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Knockoff Nige

I say tell his parents, everything. Sure, that might seem a little mean but touche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Take the 475 Euro and go buy yourself something nice. Send him an envelope with a picture inside of whatever you bought, and post it to him. This guy is clearly one of the worlds greatest a$$holes. Enjoy the fact that your piSSing him off so badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Im sorry Sarah.

I was only joking when i sent you that letter. The truth is ive no idea how much credit i bought you and also i really know that as it was a gift, i have absolutely no legal grounds to stand on and i would be making a complete gob****e of myself by trying to take you to the small claims court over it.

I apologise for being an asshole to you, because as the other members here on boards can see, by you buying me credit it shows how thoughtful of a girlfriend you were to me, yet im a prick and go around cheating on you. Please forgive me and take me back.

I must go now as i have an appointment with the doctor. A funny green thing has began to grow on the top of my little knob, im not sure what it is.

Chat you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

davyjose wrote:
    Take the 475 Euro and go buy yourself something nice. Send him an envelope with a picture inside of whatever you bought, and post it to him.

This is a great idea :D:D:D

Another one would be to photocopy euro notes to the equivalent of €475 and send it to him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Probably easiest to just ignore him.

He's a loser and has wasted enough of your time already. You're well rid of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Knockoff Nige

SarahSassy wrote:
    This is a great idea :D:D:D

Another one would be to photocopy euro notes to the equivalent of €475 and send it to him....
    haha, or monoply money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

snyper wrote:
    Im sorry Sarah.

I was only joking when i sent you that letter. The truth is ive no idea how much credit i bought you and also i really know that as it was a gift, i have absolutely no legal grounds to stand on and i would be making a complete gob****e of myself by trying to take you to the small claims court over it.

I apologise for being an asshole to you, because as the other members here on boards can see, by you buying me credit it shows how thoughtful of a girlfriend you were to me, yet im a prick and go around cheating on you. Please forgive me and take me back.

I must go now as i have an appointment with the doctor. A funny green thing has began to grow on the top of my little knob, im not sure what it is.

Chat you soon.

spastastic ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Has he never watched Judge Judy?

The credit was sent without request and multiple times he said that it was a gift and didn't require repayment.
    A solicitor would laugh him out of the office, it wouldn't even get as far as court.

Seriously, tell him to shove it up his arse. The cost of taking a civil case alone would cripple him financially, and he can't take you to the small claims court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Four Words: See you in Court.
    Five Words: See you in Court, Dickhead.

seamus wrote:
    The cost of taking a civil case alone would cripple him financially, and he can't take you to the small claims court.

Just on a side note,

Why cant he take her to the small claims court? Is ithe sum in question too small? (apart from the fact he hasnt a foot to stand on)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Dalfiatach

LOL. What an asshole.

Go off on a nice holiday to somewhere warm and sunny in October, then send him a photo of you holding 475 in Monopoly money in one hand and giving him the finger with the other from a beach somewhere, with a load of tanned beach hunks hanging off you :D

snyper wrote:
    Just on a side note,

Why cant he take her to the small claims court? Is ithe sum in question too small? (apart from the fact he hasnt a foot to stand on)
    The small claims court is not for settling debts. It only applies in three cases:
    1. A consumer making a claim against a retailer in respect of a product or service.
    2. A person claiming for minor damage to property
    3. A person claiming non-return of a rent deposit on a holiday property (not a residential one).

So you can see that its remit is very limit - this is to ensure that cases are dealt with quickly. Most of the cases it deals with fall into category 1.

www.smallclaims.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭CrazyNoob

Hahaha this thread is hilarious

475 euro , I can see every solicitor in the country dropping their current cases to pursue such as vast sums.
    I'd love to be in the office when his solicitor tells him to get real and he has no case. What a dope!

Simply ignore him
    Any joke money or photo's etc will be lost on him (going on past evidence, he'd be to thick to figure out you taking the piss)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Wow, as much as it might have stung at the time, I bet you feel lucky now that you caught him in bed with someone else and got rid of him, he sounds like a Grade A asshole, good riddance.

seamus wrote:
    The small claims court is not for settling debts. It only applies in three cases:
    1. A consumer making a claim against a retailer in respect of a product or service.
    2. A person claiming for minor damage to property
    3. A person claiming non-return of a rent deposit on a holiday property (not a residential one).

So you can see that its remit is very limit - this is to ensure that cases are dealt with quickly. Most of the cases it deals with fall into category 1.

www.smallclaims.ie

Ah, ok.. thanks for the info ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

seamus wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

You can actually claim back a gift, but only if it's an engagement ring and the engagement was broken off before the wedding (unless that old law was covered in the clean-up of the statute books recently).

Other than that the court's opinion is likely to be "LOL".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

My god girl you were lucky to get rid of him.
    I wouldn't even dignify that request with a response.
    Good luck to whoever he's with now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Send him a nice letter explaining that you are now working as a prostitute, chef, therapist, chauffeur and hotelier. Then present him with a bill for every sex act ever performed, every meal ever prepared, every time you soothed his tiny little ego, every time you drove him somewhere and for every night he ever slept in your place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

What a total loser!! It's f**kwits like this that give us blokes a bad name!!
    Sorry for meeting a total idiot and zero value of our species OP.

Don't worry from a legal aspect... he has no case whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Clause

Report him to the Gardai for harassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Dodge wrote:
    Send him a nice letter explaining that you are now working as a prostitute, chef, therapist, chauffeur and hotelier. Then present him with a bill for every sex act ever performed, every meal ever prepared, every time you soothed his tiny little ego, every time you drove him somewhere and for every night he ever slept in your place.

Haha I was about to say something similar ...reply back with a letter of your own detailing charges for anything you can think of and end it by saying 'oh and by the way I'm only messing you complete loser'.

In fact tell everyone you know about it and everytime someone sees him they can have a right chuckle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Petey2006

Send him a reply that reads something along the lines of- 'HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! No chance. And I'm texting you using credit that YOU bought me!' There's literally nothing the loser can do and it'll wind him right the fook up.

Rotten situation though. Having someone cheat on you is a terrible terrible thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

In fact tell everyone you know about it and everytime someone sees him they can have a right chuckle :D

This would be the best course of action. People should know what a spanner this guy is, and it'll help make you feel better. Win-win!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Tell him to work away if he wants to take legal action - his prerogative.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

ignore him, my ex tried to take me to court when we split for the €12,000, i think, he paid half the mortgage for a year. i laughed at him and told to get himself a solicitor, that it was rent as far as i was concerned and i had a rent book to prove it. he dropped it pretty quick then.

he is an idiot, you are better off without him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

As many others have pointed out he hasn't a leg to stand on from a legal standpoint so I would just ignore him.
    Also keep the letter so should he continue to make a nuisance of himself you have as much evidence of his behaviour as possible. (personally I'd also suggest to get it framed as a reminder as to another reason why you dumped him and are better off without him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

What a goon. Photocopy it and hand it around on nights out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

irishbird wrote:
    ignore him, my ex tried to take me to court when we split for the €12,000, i think, he paid half the mortgage for a year. i laughed at him and told to get himself a solicitor, that it was rent as far as i was concerned and i had a rent book to prove it. he dropped it pretty quick then.

he is an idiot, you are better off without him

€12k was half the mortgage for a year?!! In fairness, thats a bit too high for anyone to believe its rent, and would be closer to most of the mortgage for most houses. Did he know it was just rent???

OP the ex is a gimp, tell everyone who know both of you about it and let them have a laugh at his expense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

€12k was half the mortgage for a year?!! In fairness, thats a bit too high for anyone to believe its rent, and would be closer to most of the mortgage for most houses. Did he know it was just rent???
    €1k a month is far from the most expensive rent he'd have paid. Particularly as he was getting the added bonus of sex with the landlady ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Funniest thing I've seen all day. What kind of fool would do that especially after being caught in the scratcher with someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Clause wrote:
    Report him to the Gardai for harassment.

I fifty million this.

See him, and his pettiness, and his bloody cheek to send YOU that letter? thinking he could intimidate you?

Well you have a higher leg to stand on. Pop into a gardai station with letter, say; look, I broke up with my boyfriend and he's threatening to take me to court over mobile phone credit he bought me throughout the course of the relationship and its really upsetting me. Harrasment. He'll get a little visit from the guards and you'll get revenge.

OP did you KNOW the girl you caught him canoodling with?

BTW dont ever get back with THIS guy. TOTAL F**KING LOSER!!

meglome wrote:
    Funniest thing I've seen all day. What kind of fool would do that especially after being caught in the scratcher with someone else.

A gob****e.

Actually, now that I think of it, I'd go with writing up your story, scanning in the letter, then emailing it to as many people as you can.

Make sure you include his full name in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'Like others here I would simply let everybody know about. He will look extremely foolish.'

seamus wrote:
    Actually, now that I think of it, I'd go with writing up your story, scanning in the letter, then emailing it to as many people as you can.

Make sure you include his full name in it.

ah yes d olde chain email of humiliation.

Works a charm.

You can email it to me .. i know a few thousand ppl to sent it too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

people seem to have lost the run of themselves here.
    i doubt he is being serious.

Most likely he is trying to wreck your head.
    typical behaviour when couples break up.

ignore him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

he feels bad and wants to feel justified and needs a reason to resent you when he has none.
    the gardai will laugh if you show them the letter, dont bother.
    just forward the email to everyone you know and let it be known it was gifts.