Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poll, Northside or Southside

• 18-09-2007 8:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭

Hey this isnt a thread which will descend into which side of the river is louder and better.

However last weekend we were talking to a number of guys and there is quite a bunch from the Southside. I'm just wondering how many travel all the way to swords from across the liffey.

Might be worth setting up an airsoft site on this side of the river.

So are you from North of the Liffey or South of it?

So far every member of the Hawks (5) are southsiders.

Are you north or south of the liffey? 15 votes

North
    0% 0 votes
    South
    100% 15 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Dr_Pepper wrote:
    Hey this isnt a thread which will descend into which side of the river is louder and better.

However last weekend we were talking to a number of guys and there is quite a bunch from the Southside. I'm just wondering how many travel all the way to swords from across the liffey.

Might be worth setting up an airsoft site on this side of the river.

So are you from North of the Liffey or South of it?

Oisn, NOIP and my self travel from Wicklow.

Bray, Greystones and Glenroe respectively.

Beat that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I head from Firhouse and normally double back to Ballinteer to bring Lemming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

Typical anyone outside the pale does not count. I have been to Hrta plan on going more but it is a 200km round trip for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

just south of the city for me (D12)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Oisn, NOIP and my self travel from Wicklow.

Bray, Greystones and Glenroe respectively.

Would you like your new callsign to be Dinny or Miley ? :)

Northside for me...just a stone's throw from Swords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

Northside massive ;)

Shiva wrote:
    Would you like your new callsign to be Dinny or Miley ? :)

Northside for me...just a stone's throw from Swords.

Cool Breeze, Betty Blue and Snake Doctor (respectively) will do nicely thank you ;)

10 cool points to whoever spots the reference.

The Unit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

this is wicklow calling, and now some messages...cackle on radio,

Wound mine heart with a monotonous languor, i repeat
    Wound mine heart with a monotonous languor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

this is wicklow calling, and now some messages...cackle on radio,

Wound mine heart with a monotonous languor, i repeat
    Wound mine heart with a monotonous languor

John has a long mustache!

kdouglas wrote:
    The Unit :D

Congrats ... 10 cool points to that man.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming ...

Congrats ... 10 cool points to that man.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming ...
    its back in 7 days!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Haha gud stuff but stay on topic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Northside, no wait Soutside...oh wait...northside.

I really have to stop moving around...moving 6 times in 10 years is not fun.

I'm tempted to buy this cottage that I pass on the way up to swords. It's near the airport and 5 mins drive from HRTA. :D Now that's commitment to airsoft!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭davvowl

im like 200m from the liffey, do i win ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

davvowl wrote:

That would depend on which side of the liffey ;)

Incidentally ...

"southside!! yeah!!!"

Brownie points for whomever can tell me where that quote is from? Two clues; stretching back to the 1980s and it's NOT from tv/movie

Lemming wrote:
    "southside!! yeah!!!"

Two clues; stretching back to the 1980s and it's NOT from tv/movie

Probably some rich SOUTHSIDER!!
    ** couldnt help it **
    :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm from the Saithside.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Loughlinstown, southside all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭bewildered

Up the Farnham. Southside and proud.

Anyone own a minivan? You could make a mint driving poor transport-less southsiders out to HRTA or even Drogheda.

Dr_Pepper wrote:
    Probably some rich SOUTHSIDER!!
    ** couldnt help it **
    :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

I'm disappointed :p

Rogue Trooper; Southers vs. the (evil) Norts.

can take myself +4 in my car, tenner a head? ;)
    bewildered wrote:
    Anyone own a minivan? You could make a mint driving poor transport-less southsiders out to HRTA or even Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Lemming wrote:
    Rogue Trooper; Southers vs. the (evil) Norts.

Hat's off to you sir, for that reference!

Does anyone want to hazard a Rogue Trooper loadout? Bare flesh can really hurt!

Coming from Rathfarnham too, bring one lad from Stillorgan with me and I believe I have another from Rathfarnham coming with me next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

Myself & krazy_8s come from loughlinstown.
    Conkey come's from Dundrum and we pick up Steve in LiffyValley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

kdouglas wrote:
    can take myself +4 in my car, tenner a head? ;)

Myself + 6 in my car 9.50 a head free sing a long to 80s music

are we in competition now Markspi?? €9 a head and no bad music :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

kdouglas wrote:
    are we in competition now Markspi?? €9 a head and no bad music :D

ah yes Kdouglas , 8.50 a head free crisps ,

hmmm... tough to beat that one, fiver a head and an even split on the toll bridge charge :D

anyway.... this thread is getting awfully off-topic, but in all seriousness, if anyone from around the d12 area needs a lift, i go to hrta most saturdays

Hmm 18 vs 9 at the moment. How about a SS vs NS skirmish :D

gandalf wrote:

Thats only because the prison wardens dont let the North Siders use the internet before 5pm :D

(I know I know .. I just couldnt resist)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

NorthSide massive.

In a northside Vs southside game the southsiders would loose hands down. We've more experience with guns. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

its back in 7 days!!!
    great news ,thanks for that KD i love the unit :D.

*sits in the corner and watches the Dubs squable*

18 to 9.
    Thats 2 to 1.
    Thats 66.66666666666666666666666666% to 33.333333333333333333333333% .. roughly
    Interesting facts no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

*sits in the corner and waits for SCOPE to make the 2.5 hour journey to Dublin for a skirmish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

gandalf wrote:

I don't know if we could get enough SS memorobilia for the amount of us...

es-390ss.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I be D16 South (M50 J12). It's a trip alright :rolleyes:

I'll be there Saturday for a half day, 2 seats + 1 baby seat available for free :p

ambro25 wrote:
    I be D16 South (M50 J12).

D16? Jebus there's loads of airsofters all coming out of the woodwork around me! :eek:

Ballinteer, Sandyford, Stillorgan, Dundrum, Rathfarnham, etc.

I'm in Ballinteer, and I work in Dundrum. Ah ... bliss .... I get to smile at everyone sitting in their cars in the rush-hour traffic as I walk past ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

*sits in the corner and waits for SCOPE to make the 2.5 hour journey to Dublin for a skirmish.
    its a bit longer then that :( , hopefully ill make the trip this saturday now that i dont work saturdays anymore, I can be a mercenary for whichever side offers the most coin ;)

Lemming wrote:
    Ballinteer, Sandyford, Stillorgan, Dundrum, Rathfarnham, etc.

Dont forget Knocklyon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Churchtown, takes about an hour but its well worth it. Dunno if there are enough players for another site yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I can never tell if I'm supposed to be Rathfarnham, Knocklyon or Ballyboden :confused:

Aaanyhow, yup, 'tis fair few of us round these parts... I don't suppose anyone owns a tract of forested land up the mountain side, do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

padmundo wrote:
    Hat's off to you sir, for that reference!

Does anyone want to hazard a Rogue Trooper loadout? Bare flesh can really hurt!

*Sticks a bio chip on his FAL and starts painting himself blue*

Feck it that's too much effort. Just give me some sunglasses and a scope. I'll be Joe Pineapples.

Anyway, madness aside, I just live too damn far away from HRTA. It's a killer getting home in the evening.

Southside skirmish site FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

davvowl wrote:
    Just about. The Liberties for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭bewildered

Southside... whats the deal with paintballing places? Apart from the fact that they charge through the hole, has there ever been a "skirmish" skirmish, or something like that, I mean it seems a bit wierd to have a perfectly good, sealed off, structured arena, and not airsoft in it. Surely most of the price covers rentals etc, so an airsoft day might not be to expensive. And sure it's only over the wicklow mountains, or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Paintball sites make a fortune on paintballs. With airsoft that money isn't there.

Plus I can imagine a lot of them wont want it to take off after the amount of money they've put into buying markers and having them authorized.

It's all just business really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Max joins Scope in the corner and sells tickets:D

Jaysus theres a relative army around me here :)

Nonex I reckon you need to follow your customers and set up on the southside :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Great a poll assuming everyone is from Dublin!

I guess I am south of the Liffey being in a totally different
    county! :D

It reminds me of the early days of the Internet when every
    mailing lists, newsgroups, BBS board or chatrooms were Dominated by
    Americans who assumed everyone on the internet was in the
    U.S&A and they did not ask you where you were from they
    asked you what state you were from.

One of the things thats driving me mad at the moment
    the only two airsoft skirmish sites in the ROI are
    more or less Dublin region Based!!!
    I reckon there is a savage interest in Airsoft and a huge
    underground of people across the country that have
    AEG's waiting for the day where a site opens up close
    enough from them to travel conveniently and cheaply.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

id say its a little early for a southside location .no i mean a second location though it would be nice for the carless ppl, anyone know a 7 seat taxi driver thats free on weekends that could do a southside to HRTA return trip ,might be worth checking with local companys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

gandalf wrote:
    Jaysus theres a relative army around me here :)

Nonex I reckon you need to follow your customers and set up on the southside :D
    i can have a site in newtown moutkenndy, it was offered to me last year by a td, but it be a long trip for me,any way just got my new site 2 hour a go
    and i will have a lot of work do on 1 site never mind 2 sites:D