Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

40d , be aware

• 12-09-2007 7:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭

Just a little info on the 40D to anyone who's thinking of getting one. Lightroom nor cs3 as yet supports the Canon 40D Cr2 raw files so you'll have to use the software suplied with the camera untill Adobe come up with an update. I read on a forum that the update is supposed to be made available tomorrow night , although how true that is ,is anyones guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

I must say that the jpgs from the 40D are brilliant. Much more detail and more vibrant than the 20/30D.

The Canon DPP is good software for raw conversion.

I'm looking forward to the Adobe update, but it certainly would not put me off buying a 40D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

The Canon software is truly horrible under OS X. It's not even a universal binary yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

That's fairly shambolic. I despise the canon software... ach well, maybe the 40D will have to wait, my husband will be glad to hear ;)

Well, if Adobe have their raw software released tomorrow, you'll still have another day to wait before the 40D arrives from HK. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

I heard its tuesday for the Adobe updates, shoot jpeg and RAW till then!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭CONMIKE12

Mine arrived from HK on Mon. 2 1/2 days from URgalaxy and the battery grip 53hours from kea-photo.Tonight was the first time i got to upload the shots to the pc and I have to say it's a BIG improvement on the 20D I sold. I am very impressed with the quality of the shots.With the sale of the 20d and the purchase of the new battery grip for the 40D, upgrading cost me €500. BtW , the guy on the forum claimed to be adeveloper with Adobe working on the updates, lol, for whtever thats worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

DPP is clunky but it is excellent at converting RAW files. Truer than LR or Adobe RAW ( I know that they are the same). It does take a bit of getting used to but it's worth the effort.

Judging by some of the photos I've seen on dpreview and elsewhere the quality is really something else. Waiting should not be an option!!:p;):eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭JMcL

Borderfox wrote:
    I heard its tuesday for the Adobe updates, shoot jpeg and RAW till then!! :)

Damn, then I'll have no valid excuse for being a good boy and procrastinating :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Valentia wrote:
    Waiting should not be an option!!:p;):eek:

I caved the other day..:D :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Valentia wrote:
    DPP is clunky but it is excellent at converting RAW files. Truer than LR or Adobe RAW ( I know that they are the same). It does take a bit of getting used to but it's worth the effort.

Judging by some of the photos I've seen on dpreview and elsewhere the quality is really something else. Waiting should not be an option!!:p;):eek:

QFT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

it was the exact same when the 30D came out... Nothing supported it for weeks. I'm not surprised the same has happend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

bovril wrote:
    I caved the other day..:D :D:D

Do I get commission for "selling" it to you? :D

City-Exile wrote:
    Do I get commission for "selling" it to you? :D

hmm, did you check that you still have yours?? :D:D

bovril wrote:
    hmm, did you check that you still have yours?? :D:D

You left before me this morning & it was still under my pillow when I left... :D

City-Exile wrote:
    You left before me this morning & it was still under my pillow when I left... :D

You wish :D !!
    Who needs Calina when you can spread rumours yourself!!

bovril wrote:
    You wish :D !!
    Who needs Calina when you can spread rumours yourself!!
    :D:p

So long as ye don't take photos of each other ye should get on like a house on fire!!! (If this is greek to everybody else have a gawk at their Flickrs! ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Adobe have now released their 40D Raw updates for Lightroom and ACR

http://blogs.adobe.com/jnack/2007/09/camera_raw_42_lr_12.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

besides the software problems is and the shutter sound is loud has anyone else experienced any problems with the 40D. I can't decide if I want the 400D or the 40D more.

This will be my first DSLR I've been using film SLR's for years

trishw78 wrote:
    besides the software problems is and the shutter sound is loud has anyone else experienced any problems with the 40D. I can't decide if I want the 400D or the 40D more.

This will be my first DSLR I've been using film SLR's for years

I'll put it this way. Bovril couldn't justify getting one, but when she got her hands on mine last Saturday, she went straight out & bought one for herself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

isnt the shutter sound quieter than the 30/20D anyway?

rymus wrote:
    isnt the shutter sound quieter than the 30/20D anyway?

Paulw is the only one I know who was in a position to compare them.

maybe I just miss read the other thread with the shutter sounds on it.

Yeah the shutter is a good bit quieter than the 20D/30D. It doesn't sound as metalic now.

trishw78 wrote:
    maybe I just miss read the other thread with the shutter sounds on it.

For a while the lads were trying to put people off getting one in case the 40D became "common". I was threathened on Saturday too to diss the 40D.

bovril wrote:
    For a while the lads were trying to put people off getting one in case the 40D became "common". I was threathened on Saturday too to diss the 40D.

You paint a terrible picture of us! :(
    We were just trying to prevent people from being bullied into buying one, by the peer group on this forum.

City-Exile wrote:

Well if the cap fits!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

City-Exile wrote:
    We were just trying to prevent people from being bullied into buying one, by the peer group on this forum.

So Canon 40D owners are the peer group here.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Fionn

this is addressed to peeps who owned or had experience of the 30D - is it a worthwhile upgrade?
    Whats the best feature that prompted a change from a 20/30D to the 40 D?

on a side note! i recently upgraded to a Vista machine and got CS3 it's RAW conversion is pretty on a par with Lightroom anyone have any thoughts on the need to have both?

Fionn wrote:
    this is addressed to peeps who owned or had experience of the 30D - is it a worthwhile upgrade?

on a side note! i recently upgraded to a Vista machine and got CS3 it's RAW conversion is pretty on a par with Lightroom anyone have any thoughts on the need to have both?

Don't know about the 30D and 40D difference but Lightroom's RAW and CS3's Raw are exactly the same. Adobe are trying to pull a con job by incorporating an image management system into the RAW process. As an image management system LR has a long way to go.That said, I like LR. I know.......

bovril wrote:

Ah bless their little cotton socks, or should that be DSLR's

As some one else said "you need a camera you can grow into and not grow outta" or something to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

City-Exile wrote:

Uhem,

I didn't notice any bullying to buy going on. Only bullying not to buy. It's the gadget freakery coming out, isn't it?

Fionn wrote:

I've had the 20D and bought the new 40D. I think the 40D is a major upgrade. So many new features - spot metering, more fps, bigger memory buffer, more colour depth, more customisation ability, better weather sealing ... and there are probably more features I am missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭CONMIKE12

I agree, the 40d is a major upgrade.It is extremely customisable.It has a fuction called my menu or my settings.You can put 5 of your most used menu settingsd in there and each time you hit menu button it comes up so you don't have to go searching for stuff.Very handy to have mirror lock up in there and exposure bracketing ect.
    Then there is the live view with is extremely handy for macro work.... you can zoom in 5x or 10x on the subject and manually focus for great results.The pcture quality is better than the 20d also. I've barely explored the new features yet but even the huge viewscreen on the back has me delighted i bought one.All in all, a big thumbs up from me.Anyone who wants to come and check it out before buying just pm me or mail on flickr.Oh, and lightroom just updated to read the 40d cr2 files so my workflow is back where it should be!!

I went ahead and I bought it. I'm having palpatations. Can't believe my first DSLR is on the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Congrats trish!

I'm not going to lie to you, trish, it's a fantastic camera! You'll be going crazy looking for excuses to take it out.

It is a really great camera. Worth every cent.

I was out with mine Fri and Sat, but had to spend Sunday processing the images taken.

I'm looking forward to my holidays next week, so I can take loads of photos of Bonnie Scotland.

Have mine beside me now but I'm at work so can't play till I get home.. Roll on 5.30.

You can always charge up the battery in work, ready for when you leave the office.

I'm sure you'll have some great fun with it.

Now you'll have his and hers matching 40D cameras, so you won't have to borrow someone else's when you're getting out of bed in the morning (depending on whose bed you're getting out of).

Paulw wrote:
    You can always charge up the battery in work, ready for when you leave the office.

Good idea.. ignoring the rest of your message :)

Paulw wrote:
    Now you'll have his and hers matching 40D cameras, so you won't have to borrow someone elses when you're getting out of bed in the morning (depending on who's bed you're getting out of).

I feel the need to be a grammar nazi:

"so you won't have to borrow someone else's when you're getting out of bed in the morning (depending on whose bed you're getting out of)"

As you were...

thanks Calina for correcting that, it made absolutely no sense to me before you corrected it..

You're just picking now. LOL. Ok, mistakes corrected.

I don't know what you're talking about anyway. I never have to borrow anybody else's camera; mine is always nearby no matter what bed I sleep in.

bovril wrote:
    Have mine beside me now but I'm at work so can't play till I get home.. Roll on 5.30.

I suppose you've given it a name already!? :p
    Paulw wrote:

I wasn't the only one to do that then!? :D

City-Exile wrote:
    I suppose you've given it a name already!? :p

It was named Billy even before I got it. Charging as we speak :)

bovril wrote:
    It was named Billy even before I got it.

Billy the 40D ?? Doesn't exactly have a great ring to it. To each their own.

Paulw wrote:
    Billy the 40D ?? Doesn't exactly have a great ring to it. To each their own.

Don't mine them Billy, what would they know..

bovril wrote:
    Don't mine them Billy, what would they know..

Grammar nazi back again, I'd say sorry only I am not repentant. Anyway:

"Don't mind them Billy"

Jaysus, I really need to get out more.

Calina wrote:
    Grammar nazi back again, I'd say sorry only I am not repentant. Anyway:

"Don't mind them Billy"

Jaysus, I really need to get out more.

you said it.. I was suffering from fat fingers during that last message.