Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MMA on The Late Late...

• 11-09-2007 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭

ais the bash will be on the late late on friday discussing MMA...

also her and UK champ Rosi Sexton will be on the Tubridy radio show thursday morning http://www.rte.ie/radio1/thetubridyshow/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Very best of luck to her. The common public perception of MMA is not great. :( Here's hoping she can help change that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

wow cool - you know pat kenny is going to rip the sport assunder though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

dlofnep wrote:
    Wont happen mate..I mean hows he gonna be able to talk when Ais be choking him out!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gorman

Can someone record this segment and post it on youtube, I'd love to see it.

Please please.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭bilbo79

Do you think they are putting a female on to make it sound worse than it is or to make a bigger sensation? arrggh a girl fighting-:mad: people that like fight sports can be dead against female fighters-any opinions.
    im not against once there looked after.
    aish is getting on all these things even though there is well known lads on the scene for years that probably should be on it, but wont give the shock factor..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭Drunkmonkey79

I guess Ais is just lucky in the amount of coverage she's getting. I could be wrong but i'm pretty sure its all positive. I've seen newspaper articals and web interviews which only seemed to do good things for Ais and the sport in general.
    Maybe the Irish media is coming around to more open minded ways of thinking about certain sports, Everyone thought last weeks newstalk 106 piece was gonna be a witch hunt, when it turned out to be the complete opposite!

Yeah, I think Pat is going to jump all over it because Aish is a woman. If he does, I think she should address it and call him a big auld feminist! Explain that women compete at very high levels in other combat sports like judo & boxing, both of which are elements of MMA.

Although I'm sure you are working on answers to the barrage of idiotic questions Mr. Kenny might have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dlofnep wrote:

Nah, Plank Kenny is an asshole with women on his show. He gets all flirty, then shy and nearly sh*ts himself in their company.

Ambush city if you ask me lads....I really hope Ais handles it well....Im sure hes gonna throw the kitchen sink at her....I bet she throws it back...but in a nice articulated way befitting of a young lady!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Eh, actually I think it's excellent. Why does everyone smell ambush? The Sunday Indo, the Star and Newstalk haven't ambushed they've just addressed the concerns of the man/woman on the street and in every bit of coverage in the last few months there's been nothing but positivity in the final analysis.

Like or no, Aisling is a better news story than the lads, so I think the concern about her being on just because she's a girl is misplaced. I don't think it's for shock factor at all I think it's the novelty. I also think it's nothing but good for the sport.

Anyone who has met Ais will know that she is very natural and she has cme across very, very well in her previous media encounters and I'm sure that will come across in the interview on Friday.

Mairt wrote:
    Nah, Plank Kenny is an asshole with women on his show. He gets all flirty, then shy and nearly sh*ts himself in their company.

Oh I already hear in my head what he's already going to say.

"But surely punching, kicking and kneeing people is barbaric?"

Roper wrote:
    Why does everyone smell ambush?

Because it's the late late show with Pat Kenny. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

dlofnep wrote:
    Oh I already hear in my head what he's already going to say.

"But surely punching, kicking and kneeing people is barbaric?"

But if Bernard Dunne had won that fight, Pat Kenny would have had him on the Late Late the next week congratulating him.

Gorman wrote:

I'll try to remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I agree with Roper, Ais is not Gerry Adams ye know!

I think he'll give it a fair hearing, sure he'll ask the awkward questions but its not going to be an ambush of any sort - well I hope not cos you MMA guys don't train for ambush attacks :D

Seriously though, I think it'll do the sport well having a woman on there dispelling the whole 'human cock fighting' thing. I'm sure her people will have her well versed and ready.

Good luck Ais.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭Tim_Murphy

Excellent stuff, best of luck Ais!
    I think he'll give it a fair hearing, sure he'll ask the awkward questions but its not going to be an ambush of any sort - well I hope not cos you MMA guys don't train for ambush attacks
    LOL, you have us there. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I think it's great.

By and large, MMA is easy to dismiss as barbaric, human cockfighting or bloodsport as long as you can remain ignorant of it.

Once anyone sees who actually competes, sees that the fighters are just like their sons, daughters, nephews, neices, etc they see "people who love combat sports" rather than "cage fighters".

Simply putting a non-tap out-beanie-wearing face to the sport is positive.

Good luck!!!!

Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

"people who love combat sports" rather than "cage fighters".
    I hate the whole cage fighter name-its just used by people in a negative way-maybe if aish is asked about cage fighting she should say there is no cage but an octagon with material mesh and not metal mesh!! and there is a door that you can exit if you please..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote:
    I hate the whole cage fighter name-its just used by people in a negative way-maybe if aish is asked about cage fighting she should say there is no cage but an octagon with material mesh and not metal mesh!! and there is a door that you can exit if you please..
    Didnt Zuffa copyright the use of the word "octagon"!?!! Maybe she should say "multi sided enclosure"!!:D

dlofnep wrote:
    Because it's the late late show with Pat Kenny. ;)
    NUTSHELL!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Gorman wrote:

Please please.....

Gonna miss it too, I second the youtube motion :p

Best of luck Ais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

Invariably you will have some crank in the audience who will ask all the old stupid questions. I don't see this as a downside, if these questions aren't repeatedly asked ina public forum then people won't get a chance to hear the answers and they won't sink in.

There's a nice way to ask though and I hope Pat Kenny asks in that way.

Good - "how do you respond to people who say that this is barbaric?"

Bad - "this is barbaric"

I just hope the idea that this is a sport with techniques and a rule set is put across. The injury statistics for rugby or soccer versus MMA can be brought up and all injury statistics become irrelevant once you are talking about two consenting adults.

Maybe more productive than contemplating whether or not there will be an ambush would be running through some of the hackneyed arguments and their media friendly rebuttals.

Shane, The

Despite his Action Man figure hairdo, Pat Kenny is actually quite a good journalist. I'm sure he'll be fair.

Roper wrote:
    Despite his Action Man figure hairdo, Pat Kenny is actually quite a good journalist. I'm sure he'll be fair.
    But what about the kids? how long will it take to be asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

I dunno, going by the Tubridy show this morning I would be pretty worried.

I mean, if thats RTE's take on MMA its pretty bad. Pat is an engineer so maybe Kav should talk to him, one engineer to another.

I'm gonna email the Late Late and ask that they avoid such terrible journalism. Ye know try and persuade them that they should actually do what they are paid to. But yeah, Pat Kenny is a zillion times better than Tubridy.

Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

FYI, the Late Late show is on now :)

Gobsh*te oul ones were just on, now someone else is coming on, maybe MMA after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

.....what a set up :mad:

but well done Ais :D:D

Johnnyrotten.... were you the guy she choked out?

It's on now!

Extremely positive!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nice going Ais!:D

Jayzus, that was short and sweet :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

That went well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Plain sailing there. No hard questions, cage rage advertised, nice bubbly intelligent girl - win- win I think.

Good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Ais came across very well, spoke clearly, rationally but with a lot of enthusiasm. Any attempts by Pat to bring it down she had a response to and never reacted to it.

I'm a little pissed at the bashing of injury rates in submission wrestling competitions though! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

That went grand. It was more about Aisling than MMA, a few shocked laughs when she mentioned choking guys out, but nothing bad said

The clip they showed didn't really distinguish what she did as MMA, just looked like a boxing match

Well done to Aisling!

Any chance they're looking for a new Bernard Dunne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Right lads, who did she choke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Clive

Well she's choked me loads of times, but never in competition.

Plus, I had a leg injury...

Ibid wrote:
    Right lads, who did she choke?
    She beat a lad in the NSC this year, she submitted me at a seminar a while back, and I'm sure there are PLENTY of other men on this forum who she's submitted.

The point is she's a smashing athlete and fighter and in the circles she runs in that's all that matters. Not "aw you tapped to a girl" or some such crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

very positive and well handled by Ais, although it didn't give viewers that dont know mma any real understanding...also my critism aimed at the late late show is why the hell did put it on after the random violence piece!

missed this - did anyone record it? if so, could you pop it up on youtube.

It'll probably be on the Late Late show website within the next few days, you can stream it from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Seems like a nice rational lass. Hopefully the UFC will have a womens division someday or more likely WEC so people like her can get a more mainstream following. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭The Shane

This following the random violence piece was a touch unfortunate, but when people look back at that show they will wonder why they had that "Captain Frodo" on right before Pat Kenny interviewed a woman whose son had been killed a week before. A touch incongruent.

Ais came across really well. Didn't fall for any of the baiting questions and rose above Pat Kenny's patronising schtick. Well impressed.

Funny how now that she is famous, people are lining up to admit to being beaten by her... :-)

Shane, The

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭SBG Ireland

I'm a little pissed at the bashing of injury rates in submission wrestling competitions though! :(

eh? when she made the point that somebody faked an injury so as not to admit being choked by a girl

i thought ais was fantastic - 19yrs of age and was that calm on ireland's most watched program. did herself and her sport proud :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭roo1981

Just caught this before tearing out to work. I think Ais did great, handled it very well. In fairness i think had the random violence peice not been on just before that, the crowd would have got into the peice a bit more, having that on first just seemed to numb them up a bit...it did stink of a setup, albiet a ham fisted one

On a side note, I havent watched the show in years, jeezus the whole thing seemed pretty surreal...turks stealing our ould ones, the amazing Captin Frodo (John please say you asked that guy down for a class...), senseless violence (serious i know, but i couldnt help but chuckle at the indignant Scottish bloke who got chucked through the window) musical interlude then cage fighting chick...and that was all in the 40 odd minutes i caught.

Mesmerising stuff. I cant wait for the toy show :)

Well done aish-this had the potential to be awful, got a good clap at the end and could not have come across better..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Scramble

First of all, congrats to Aisling- I think she did a great interview and came across really well as an ambassador for the sport. I told all my co-workers that there was a girl from my gym going to be on the Late Late show and this morning they were all very complimentary.

The fact that the interview was scheduled almost immediately following that segment on street violence initially worried me. I thought maybe the subtext was going to be that 'Cage Rage' is some sort of symptom of this "newly" violent Ireland.

However, in practice I think Aisling was upbeat and likeable and judging from the audience chiming in to laugh at key points she was received very well.

I thought Kenny was a bit stand-offish, but to be honest he's always a bit of a wooden interviewer on the Late Late. He's much better on the Radio.

I actually forgot to record this, sorry lads, if there's a youtube, it wont be from me.
    Scramble wrote:
    I thought Kenny was a bit stand-offish, but to be honest he's always a bit of a wooden interviewer on the Late Late. He's much better on the Radio.

Never understood how he could be so good on radio, and so terrible on tv.