Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rude Young Fella on bus

• 07-09-2007 2:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭

Hey, so I was on a bus yesterday evening heading home from work... (I'm in Cork, so it was a Bus Eireann bus, not a fancy Dublin Bus bus...)

Anyways, there was a young fella (16 or 17 max) sitting on one of those seats up near front that are labelled for Elderly or Disabled people... This lady got on bus, she was around 70ish (maybe a little bit more) and she wanted to sit down there, your man said no, and laughed to himself... Lucky there was a seat just behind him, so the woman got a seat, but still and all, cheeky bastard...

Everyone around him just kinda gave him a dirty look...

And then this morning on bus, 4 elderly ladies got on bus, and people were so quick to jump up to give seats...

It's mad, I'd always give seat if needed, but some people don't give a sh1t... Anybody else experience this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

dulpit wrote:
    Hey, so I was on a bus yesterday evening heading home from work... (I'm in Cork, so it was a Bus Eireann bus, not a fancy Dublin Bus bus...)

Anyways, there was a young fella (16 or 17 max) sitting on one of those seats up near front that are labelled for Elderly or Disabled people... This lady got on bus, she was around 70ish (maybe a little bit more) and she wanted to sit down there, your man said no, and laughed to himself... Lucky there was a seat just behind him, so the woman got a seat, but still and all, cheeky bastard...

And then this morning on bus, 4 elderly ladies got on bus, and people were so quick to jump up to give seats...

It's mad, I'd always give seat if needed, but some people don't give a sh1t... Anybody else experience this??

He paid for his seat and they got on for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

The little sh1t! I'd always give my seat up for an elderly person (or pregnant woman)....it's called respect. Oooooh he needs a serious beating! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He should of asked her to sit on his lap.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Charming young man. I hope he is treated the same if/when he gets to that age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭stcatherine

Clare Bear wrote:
    The little sh1t! I'd always give my seat up for an elderly person (or pregnant woman)....it's called respect. Oooooh he needs a serious beating! :mad:

and therein lies the problem, we're all so afraid to confront these little Sh1tes nowadays in case we get stabbed or beaten ourselves that the little feckers think they are gods and can do anything, bring back the metre ruler I say !!

Never did me any harm ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭missmatty

When I'm old I'm gonna make a point of carrying a walking stick for the single purpose of hitting people like that (old people can probably get away with that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Somebody else should have just grabbed him by the balls and thrown him out of the seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

and therein lies the problem, we're all so afraid to confront these little Sh1tes nowadays in case we get stabbed or beaten ourselves that the little feckers think they are gods and can do anything, bring back the metre ruler I say !!

Never did me any harm ! ;)
    I don't know, I'm fairly quiet but I really think I'd say something in that case....things like that really annoy me. Then again I suppose you never know what he could do to you in return, it's true.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Clare Bear wrote:

It could also be seen as discriminatory. Treating people differently because of their age is ageist. This man is just being PC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

dulpit wrote:
    (I'm in Cork, so it was a Bus Eireann bus, not a fancy Dublin Bus bus...)
    LMAO! fancy I hope to Dog :p you were being sarcastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

I give up the seat for an eldery man (yes they count too) or elderly woman or a pregnant woman. Young/middle-aged women can stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Clare Bear wrote:
    I don't know, I'm fairly quiet but I really think I'd say something in that case....things like that really annoy me. Then again I suppose you never know what he could do to you in return, it's true.

Well I knew his brother and family, and because I didn't fancy a knife in my eyeball, I decided to stay quiet...

The Bollox wrote:
    LMAO! fancy I hope to Dog :p you were being sarcastic

Maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Oh! And here's another thing, when are people considered old enough to give them your seat? Like if I jumped out of my seat to offer it to a 30/40 something year old, they'd be pissed off cos they think they look older than they are...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

I'll give it to most people that look like they need it more than me. Young kids, mothers, fatsos, the decrepit. Pregnant guesses are the worst though, I've had a few close calls over here and have even withheld some offers due to being so unsure. I asked one lady and she went all red and embarrassed and later said "That's it, 2 hours on the treadmill", but I'm 95% sure she was actually pregnant, was just freaked out that people recognised it.. :confused:.

well I'm 34 and if ya gave yer seat up for me I'd think it was cos ya fancied me LMAO ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Pregnant guesses are the worst though, I've had a few close calls over here and have even withheld some offers due to being so unsure. I asked one lady and she went all red and embarrassed and later said "That's it, 2 hours on the treadmill"

LOL! :D

I'd give up a seat to the elderly, an obviously pregnant woman, someone on crutches or carrying a baby/small child. I would never give a seat to someone obese.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

agamemnon wrote:

I would never give a seat to someone obese.

Yeah they'd probably break it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I hate the way old people think the world owes them a living, but still this asshole should have got up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

i was on the luas on the way in to work this afternoon and there was a guy sitting across from me with a box of food on the seat beside him, an old lady got on and he didn't move it so I have her my seat, the luas driver opened his door to the cab and told your man to get his box of the seat, he did then. but ffs he shoulda had the cop on in the first place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

well I'm 34 and if ya gave yer seat up for me I'd think it was cos ya fancied me LMAO ;)

Well are ya hot? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

dulpit wrote:
    Ah yes, the Jedi Death Stare. That is a fate worse than death right there. I would imagine that the perpetrator is now sufficiently blinded by righteousness after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I'd give my seat to a hot woman but not an old woman.

gaz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Some fat woman tried to make me get out of my seat once, don't get me wrong, elderly, pregnant, or carrying a young kid and I'll get up, but tired from carrying her fat arse around is not a reason for getting a seat and making someone else stand (she was only about 30). She was really abrupt, she just said "I'm knackered, get up so I can sit down there" and I just stared at her for a couple of seconds and said "Why should I? I'm knackered too!" so she smacked the knacker lad beside me on the knee and said "You get up then!" so he told her to "fcuk off ya fat bitch" which was nice cos it was the answer I was too afraid to give her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Leeby wrote:
    Some fat woman tried to make me get out of my seat once, don't get me wrong, elderly, pregnant, or carrying a young kid and I'll get up, but tired from carrying her fat arse around is not a reason for getting a seat and making someone else stand (she was only about 30). She was really abrupt, she just said "I'm knackered, get up so I can sit down there" and I just stared at her for a couple of seconds and said "Why should I? I'm knackered too!" so she smacked the knacker lad beside me on the knee and said "You get up then!" so he told her to "fcuk off ya fat bitch" which was nice cos it was the answer I was too afraid to give her!
    LOL

Nicely done.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Well are ya hot? :D

Na, I'm one of them fat women who look like she's pregnant !!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Leeby wrote:

Fcuk that, the cheek of her. Yer man was dead right (if a bit crude)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'll give it to most people that look like they need it more than me. Young kids, mothers, fatsos, the decrepit. Pregnant guesses are the worst though, I've had a few close calls over here and have even withheld some offers due to being so unsure. I asked one lady and she went all red and embarrassed and later said "That's it, 2 hours on the treadmill", but I'm 95% sure she was actually pregnant, was just freaked out that people recognised it.. :confused:.

A Jimmy Carr line comes to mind, "I'd rather see a pregnant woman standing, than a fat girl sitting down crying", :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Leeby wrote:

Really? For some reason I can hear creaking. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is that seat not supposed to be given up when theres no other free seats? ie if some old cow just decides she wants that particular seat because its her favourite and the rest of the bus is empty then she can go jump, but if the rest of the bus is taken then someone in the seat should move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Hypnotoad

If there was a seat behind her then why didn't she just sit there in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

little Sh1tes nowadays

The problem is that the little Sh1tes (aka scumbags) get the (as Gordon put it) - the Jedi death stares, and the non-little sh1ts (who would give up their seat if *asked*) get an earful. I've actually been pretty disgusted at how I've seen these kids talked at at times.

D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Money wasted on your education, or may be you had none?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Money wasted on your education, or may be you had none?
    I'm tired of your crap. Attack the post not the poster. Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

missmatty wrote:
    When I'm old I'm gonna make a point of carrying a walking stick for the single purpose of hitting people like that (old people can probably get away with that)

Why not try one of these
    http://www.cutlerytogo.com/swordcanes.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

dulpit wrote:
    Lucky there was a seat just behind him
    So there wasn't a huge problem then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Where are these old people going on the bus anyway?? Anyhow, I'm off to eat my soylently green takeaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Heh.
    /awaits inevitable feedback spillover.

Anyway, in my day we would have thrown that gurrier off the bus and kept his 2 and sixpence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭wyk

Had that happened in Texas, one of the men on the bus would have grabbed the child and tossed him off and informed him he can come back when he learns some manners. Hell, one of the woman may have done it.

Wez
    dulpit wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Texans kick ass.

What would have happened in Montgomery Alabama?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Terry wrote:
    What would have happened in Montgomery Alabama?

Depends on if he was a black kid or a white kid. Or a black or white OAP.

Surely in Texas, one party would end up being shot by the other? Because it was their right to settle an argument with guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Old people need the exercise, as do fat people... pregnant women should have used contraception.
    The only people who deserve my seat on the bus are the people who're exhausted from their day at a tough physical job... but they're such troppers that they'd never let it show.
    The answer clearly is to run more busses and instruct drivers to stop letting people on when the bus is full... this whole pack-them-in-like-cattle situation makes me mildly agitated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I don't give up my seat for the elderly

pregnant women or women with babies yes, elderly no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

It might work out safer to give up your seat to a fat chick. Imagine if the bus stops suddenly and she falls over on other passengers. Carnage!

She might even land in your lap. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I would have seriously floored the bastard and through his half life carcus in the seat behind, and then kindly say "There you go miss..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Fatties can GTF, but I'd give up a seat for a codger (unless they self-righteously demanded it - manners work both ways). Same for someone with an injured leg or other disability, i.e. someone with a genuine need for a seat.
    Rob_l wrote:
    I'd give my seat to a hot woman but not an old woman.

But what if she used to be hot? If she had photos to prove it, you'd be snookered.
    Nailz wrote:
    I would have seriously floored the bastard and through his half life carcus in the seat behind, and then kindly say "There you go miss..."

I don't think anyone believes you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

Pregnant / blind / on crutches - Yes, they can have my seat.

Elderly / mentally handicapped - No. They don't pay. They just flash a card at the driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Cake Fiend wrote:
    I don't think anyone believes you.
    Did I say I did actualy do that. I said what I would do, I would bust the fúcker for being a disrespectful prick! And I'd add in the cool catch-phrase because I watched too many Arnie films not to do so! :p It's just the type of guy I am...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

I can only hope, for all our sakes, that this thread is just a bunch of lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Thats disgraceful, at least the English know how to treat the elderly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyvDTEhmORw