Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

the "perfect" sale

• 07-09-2007 9:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭

for anyone whos been to the USA will know of the "Best Buy" chain stores, well heres a lovely memo on how they do business, enjoy ! :

The Perfect Sale" - 6 Steps to Success

ATTN: BBY Computer/SOHO

1) Introduce the PSP (product service plan) in your presentation. Do not wait till the end.

Ex.
    Sales Associate: I understand your daughter is going off to college, and while she'll be away we offer a protection plan that will cover anything that goes wrong with her computer/laptop.
    Customer: No, I'm not interested
    SA: Well it's something that you really should look into. Because if anything were ever to go wrong with your daughters computer she would have to take it in to be repaired. To give you an estimate, we charged $60/hr to decide what is wrong with it and $80/hr to fix it not including additional parts that may be needed.
    C: I really don't need that, doesn't the computer come with a warranty.
    S: Well that's a good question. This computer comes with a 6 month warranty but does not cover parts. Know here is a side by side comparison of what we cover and what the manufacturer covers.( hand customer comparison sheet and fill it out in front of him/her).
    C: Ok, but I'm really not interested I just want the computer.
    S: Are you sure, because you are really passing up a great deal here, if something ever happens while your daughter is away she could have no computer for up to a month.
    C:No, I'm sure.

*1*At this time make sure to sell at least 3 accessories and if it is a laptop make sure to offer a bundle deal and a Platinum PSP**

*2*Once you have successfully added at least 3 accessories to the sale take the customer to a mobile register away from the floor traffic.**

*3*Since you Have been unsuccessful selling the Service Plan, Have another associate go with you to "help you" ring up the sale.**

*4*The other associate will help you tag team the customer. The other associates job at this point is to point out how amazing the computer is and what a great deal it is. Once you scan the computer/laptop the Kiosk will ask you if the customer wants the Service Plan. The accompanying sales associate will say, "hey did 'Joe' tell you about the Service Plan that covers anything that may go wrong with your computer...?**

*5* If your accompanying associate is unable to get the Service Plan then you must say, "I'm sorry I'm new here and there seems to be something wrong with my kiosk, I'll be right back with my supervisor and he will be able to fix it."**

*6* You return with your Supervisor, and now You, the accompanying associate and your supervisor Tag Team the Customer Once again until the Service Plan is accepted by the Customer.**

It should not take you till step 6 to close the sale, but if you are unsuccessful in the beginning you must follow the set procedures. Your Supervisor will conduct Roll-Playing During This Month's Sunday Morning Monthly Meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Unless this is an attempt at a joke and it's gone over my head, I would leave the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Heh, I'd take the laptop and cram it down the persons throat if they kept at that. Plus i'd have to ask why the laptop warranty doesn't cover the fecking parts inside it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I Fckuin despise scripted sales pitches. Ask the customer what they want, get it for them, find out what else they need, get that, present it to customer, say 'pay me now, Please' collect money, load customer, next please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I Fckuin despise scripted sales pitches. Ask the customer what they want, get it for them, find out what else they need, get that, present it to customer, say 'pay me now, Please' collect money, load customer, next please.

I'm agreeing with that all the way. I was in an electrical store recently and near the end of te transaction the store gimp tried to start selling me some sh1tty coverplan. Without being rude I made it quite clear from the outset that I was not interested but the guy had to go on talking about it and this will be because of the fact that they are told to learn of some script which will apparently convince me as to the merits of the coverplan - balls it will.

There probably also a bit of commission involved in selling attached products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

One of my friends was buying blank dvds or something in an electrical goods store and the guy at the counter said "Would you like any USB hubs with that?"....weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Jambo

This sounds very similar to how dixons , currys and pc world operate , I once went to buy a digital camera in dixons and one of the 1st things I mentioned to the sales rep was not to talk about extended warranties or I will not buy , guess what he did and so I walked !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I think it may be illegal to do that in Ireland. I used to work in McDonalds and we were told you had to offer the supersize option on a meal or try and sell an extra apple pie, sundae, whatever.... UNLESS the customer said "that's all" at the end of their order. If they said that then you were not to try to sell them anything else because it was "harrasment".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Thats rubbish...

My sister bought a laptop in best buy in NY recently.. The guy asked did we want a store warranty, we said no... end of story..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

While I can believe that there may be some truth to the above I'm more inclined to believe that it's been drawn up by someone who had an unpleasant dealing with Best Buy or who simply doesn't like them. I'm not saying that was you OP as most likely you found that somewhere or were emailed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Ya it's rubbish I bought a Digital camera there in Feb and the sales guy snever even mentioned cover plans.

For the record though I worked in Currys and was pretty good at selling the cover plan. I'd firstly tell them that the cover plan was rubbish unless they new how to play the company at their own game.
    I based it on the fact that the person could damage their laptop 'accidently' in 2 years time by pouring a full can of coke over it or drop it from the top of the stairs :) as their model would be out of stock it would be replaced by a newer model with much higher specs saving them a fortune on upgrading lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's not that unbelievable.

It's almost exactly how Dixons and co. are when it comes to this nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

friend who used to work in pc world called this 'stupidity tax' and it was almost like an instore competition to sell it to people lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It depends where you buy, I got this type of hard sell approach from P.C World when I bought my laptop.

These hugely overpriced service contracts are where the salesperson gets large commissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

One of the many reasons I purchase almost everything of this nature on-line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭colm-ccfc84

I bought an ipod in one of their stores in LA 3 years ago, and no attempt was made to get me to buy anything else. But I reckon the OP could well be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I once done computer training with the staff of a big UK furniture/electrical store who had a branch in Dublin. In conversation, they began laughing at how an old woman had come in to buy a telly and video with cash. They convinced her to buy the warranty plan, and as she didnt have the money to pay for that part, they convinced her to take the whole bill, both equipment and cover, on hire purchase. Her purchases would have cost her about £300, which she had, but with warranty and HP costs, ended up costing about £600.
    I never felt sicker at shop assistants than at that moment.

I was so chuffed when the store itself closed down and pulled out of Ireland a few months later, and I like to think that my serious badmouthing of them to everyone I ever met had something to do with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

I bought a Zen Micro in Dixons a few years ago and was offered the three year accidental damage or theft warranty. I took it, as something that small is likely to fall or be dropped at least once and could easily be damaged.

On something like a laptop though, the manufacturers warranty would suffice.

I wasn't pushed into getting it though. He just mentioned it once and that was it.

Could you not play them at their own game though? Take a 3 year warranty and a week before it's up feck your laptop out the window. They'll have to replace it with a close spec one which is likely to be a huge upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Crucifix wrote:
    One of my friends was buying blank dvds or something in an electrical goods store and the guy at the counter said "Would you like any USB hubs with that?"....weird.
    probably maplin. they always try to sell me random crap. they usually offer slinkys

i've had to sell cover plans in jobs and it pissed me right off. i'd only sell it to people when it was actually a good deal, ie low value items that only cost a few euro to cover and really expensive stuff. once a guy asked for cover and i checked how much it would cost for him. they'd never updated the cover cost after the price of the item had dropped. the cover was done by direct debit and he would've paid off the price of the item in a few months so i told him not to buy it even though he wanted it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

like a spa I took payment protection with a loan I got a few years ago. I shudder to think how much its cost me. Now there is a con.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

For the most part it's ridiculous of them to try and tack on as much as they can, especially when dealing with (in the cases of electronics) people not as savvy when it comes to the product in question. I'm sure when they see the kind of person who calls all MP3 players iPods they're pretty delighted.

That said, offering relevant (and perhaps necessary) side products isn't bad eg. "So you've purchased a digital camera, what about a memory card or a battery charger?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

holy crap :eek: that is like a word for word account of what the hardly normal sales men in Harvey Normans in Swords did to me when I was buying a Plasma screen. He said he would drop the price if I also bought a tempered glass tv stand, and give me the stand at half price, I fell for it (I needed a stand :()

Then he took me over to this cash register away from the main ones (I thought this was odd) he kept hassling me about their 3 year cover plan, I asked was the TV not covered under its own warrenty, to which he said it was but i'd have to pay to ship it off to europe should something go wrong, he made up all these other horror stories like slight spikes in voltage if theres lightning 10km away could blow out the screen. Then when I blankly refused, he said there was a problem with the register. His supervisor came over, fixed it by turning a key in the register and proceeded to ask me again if I wanted the plan. I refused again and tried to change the subject to when it would be delivered.

I eventually got out of there without the plan, but I can honestly say I went to bed that night worried about whether my TV would be on fire in the morning. Glad I didn't go back to them about the plan, they said I had a month to change my mind...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

This same shit happened to me in PC world a couple of years ago when I was trying to buy a PC. The guy took me into a really hot room and kept pushing his cover plan, then he went and got his supervisor and he kept pushing it in the exact same way. I was covered in sweat by the time i left. Why doesn't PC World just forget about the PCs and become an insurance company if there's so much money in it.

Gonna buy stuff from the internet from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

yeah those scripted things absolutely never work... except when i was in a shop one day and the girl asked "would you like to buy a top up card with ur purchase?" and my phone had just zero'd, im sure she said that exact catchphrase 100 times that day, but it got the sale and she may have got a small commission.

/edit when i worked in toymaster (savage job btw, get paid to play basically) we were meant to ask every customer did they want the item giftwrapped. I never did cos i couldn't wrap presents for shíte.

I can't believe people are saying they'd rather buy from the internet because of this. it's the norm now! they even do it with cheapish jewellery (an 80 euro bracelet)!

fukcin hell just say NO yis big sissies! If it's mentioned again (I've never had the pleasure of that) just go straight bloody through them.

it's their job to try to sell addon's to everyone but they only push it on people they think they can bully or manipulate. so if they're pushing it on you, they think you're a mug or a walkover. are you gonna take that? are ya? are ya???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I can't believe people are saying they'd rather buy from the internet because of this. it's the norm now! they even do it with cheapish jewellery (an 80 euro bracelet)!

fukcin hell just say NO yis big sissies! If it's mentioned again (I've never had the pleasure of that) just go straight bloody through them.

it's their job to try to sell addon's to everyone but they only push it on people they think they can bully or manipulate. so if they're pushing it on you, they think you're a mug or a walkover. are you gonna take that? are ya? are ya???
    I don't think it's that people can't take the hassle, more speaking with their money. If you don't like something take your business elsewhere, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I avoid stores like Best Buy and Circuit City, not just because they are overpriced but the constant bother from the associates there. I can say no but it gets tiresome saying it again and again within the space of 2-3 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

I can't believe people are saying they'd rather buy from the internet because of this.
    You're right. Buy stuff from the internet is just mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

zuutroy wrote:
    like a spa I took payment protection with a loan I got a few years ago. I shudder to think how much its cost me. Now there is a con.
    You can cancel it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

I really really hate salespeople in computer shops, especially PC world and Dixons. A while ago I was just browsing around and I overheard a conversation one of them was having with an elderly couple that were trying to buy a new pc. He was trying to make them by loads of crap, overpriced software that he claimed was "essential". I felt like going over to them and letting them know he was conning them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I was in PC World a couple of years ago and I overheard the following conversation. This is exactly how you should deal with these situations, in my opinion:

Sales Assistant: "Hi, can I help you at all?"

Customer: "Yep, I saw an ad for this computer in the paper (pulls out ad from pocket) and I'd like to buy one."

Assistant: "No problem, we still have a couple in stock. I'll just go get one for you". (Goes off to get the machine. Comes back, places it on floor in front of customer.)

Customer: "By the way, this discount in the ad still counts doesn't it?"

Assistant: (Looks at ad briefly) "Yep, it does. Before we run it through the checkout, though, have you any questions or anything?" (Looks as if he's about to launch into the extra sales pitch.)

Customer: (Jumps in before the assistant has a chance to start his spiel) "No, but I will say this. If you so much as mention any kind of Coverplan, Masterplan, extra warranty or any other shít like that, or try to sell me anything else at all, apart from this computer, I will kick you so hard in the bollocks you'll be pissing blood for a month. I'll then pick up this box and repeatedly smash the computer over your head before walking straight out of here. Are we clear?"

Assistant: (Pale look comes across his face) "Ummm, yes sir. Perfectly clear." (Rushes the computer through the till as quickly as he can) "Here you go, sir. Best of luck with it."

Customer: "Thank you very much. Now, that wasn't so difficult, was it? I didn't waste your time, you didn't waste mine and I got what I wanted with no added bullshít on top. Maybe you and your colleagues here should remember that in future, ok?"

Assistant: (With a look on his face at this point like he's about to shít himself in fear!) "Ummm, yes sir."

Customer: "Have a nice day!" (winks at sales assistant and walks out with a sly smile on his face.)

I thought he was brilliant and almost felt like running out after him to shake his hand. Now that's how you deal with those muppets! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

the commission that shops/banks earn on extended warranties/payment protection is absurd. For payment protection the bank usually get between 50-80% commission AND a profit share arrangement. THe likes of Dixons probably make more money from finance and extended warranties than they do from selling electronics.

The last time I bought something in Dixons (a mini disc player about 5 years ago) I was pestered and ended up losing my temper. Told them if he mentioned cover plans or whatever again I'd walk out and not buy the item. He did so i went to walk out. He came after me apologising but i wasn't listening. His manager asked what was the problem. i told him and he gave me a free pack of blank minidiscs if i bought the player (which I did :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

I was in PC World a couple of years ago and I overheard the following conversation. This is exactly how you should deal with these situations, in my opinion:

Customer: "Yep, I saw an ad for this computer in the paper (pulls out ad from pocket) and I'd like to buy one."

Assistant: "No problem, we still have a couple in stock. I'll just go get one for you". (Goes off to get the machine. Comes back, places it on floor in front of customer.)

Assistant: (Looks at ad briefly) "Yep, it does. Before we run it through the checkout, though, have you any questions or anything?" (Looks as if he's about to launch into the extra sales pitch.)

Customer: (Jumps in before the assistant has a chance to start his spiel) "No, but I will say this. If you so much as mention any kind of Coverplan, Masterplan, extra warranty or any other shít like that, or try to sell me anything else at all, apart from this computer, I will kick you so hard in the bollocks you'll be pissing blood for a month. I'll then pick up this box and repeatedly smash the computer over your head before walking straight out of here. Are we clear?"

Assistant: (Pale look comes across his face) "Ummm, yes sir. Perfectly clear." (Rushes the computer through the till as quickly as he can) "Here you go, sir. Best of luck with it."

Customer: "Thank you very much. Now, that wasn't so difficult, was it? I didn't waste your time, you didn't waste mine and I got what I wanted with no added bullshít on top. Maybe you and your colleagues here should remember that in future, ok?"

Assistant: (With a look on his face at this point like he's about to shít himself in fear!) "Ummm, yes sir."

Customer: "Have a nice day!" (winks at sales assistant and walks out with a sly smile on his face.)

I thought he was brilliant and almost felt like running out after him to shake his hand. Now that's how you deal with those muppets! :D
    Pure genius! Would love to do that, but i just end up cutting them off with 'NO!' they reply with "are you sure because..." then i say loudly "For F**KS SAKE" then there mood suddenly changes but atleast they shut up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Having worked part-time for DSG (PC World, Dixons Currys) for years and then defecting to a sales role in HN, I've a good deal of experience with this stuff. Firstly though had I or any member of my customer service team recieved that kind of ignorant treatment--> no, we are not going to serve you at all, there is the door, don't come back.

"Coverplan" or whatever insurance you are offered is designed to be profitable for the seller, and only really useful for the minority of people who are unfortunate enough for something to go wrong.

IMO it is only really worth it on white goods (the cost of callout for a fridge, the cost of having sent to a service center is scandalous) and small electronics that qualify for instant replacement (ie, if it is broken "accidentally", it is relaced on the spot and not sent off for repair).

The only electrical retailer in Dublin who doesn't pay commission to its sales staff is DID (afaik), hence why their service is awful. And yes, the margins are high on insurance and there are often special bonuses for top warranty salesman etc etc

I completely disagree with harassing a customer into buying something they don't need, but it is more to do with head office policy than the sales guy you are dealing with- . Most of these environments are "target driven", so the guys are under pressure to sell it.

Thank god I don't work it retail anymore (I just hope I pass my repeat uni exams now ^^)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I actually got the coverplan once when I bought my first computer from PC World (it was a Comcrap) and thank god I did! It easily paid for itself with the amount of parts and the number of times a technician had to come out. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Hmmm, this could be a new sport (like scambaiting)...
    "Look, I'll buy the coverplan if you dance the macarena while I record you on my camera phone".
    Then walk out.
    Youtube would be filled with dancing sales people.
    ftw

C.D. wrote:
    The only electrical retailer in Dublin who doesn't pay commission to its sales staff is DID (afaik), hence why their service is awful.
    I like DID, I've found their staff quite pleasant to deal with.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I bought my tv in Currys a couple of years ago and the guy tried to sell me the extended cover warranty. I told him I didn't want it and he asked me why, to which I replied that it was a Sony tv and I don't expect it to suddenly turn into a piece of crap as soon as the regular warranty expired, or words to that effect. His reply left me stunned, he tried to be all conspiritorial-like and told me that in fact Sony and other manufacturers build their tvs to break down after a couple of years so that they need replacing. Needless to say I told him where to shove his extended warranty.

zaph wrote:
    he tried to be all conspiritorial-like and told me that in fact Sony and other manufacturers build their tvs to break down after a couple of years so that they need replacing.
    "If that's the case, I don't want to buy one at all... good day sir."
    Checkmate tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

The-Rigger wrote:
    These hugely overpriced service contracts are where the salesperson gets large commissions.

False. In the case of Dixons, PC World, Curry's. In fact, I've worked it out, and it makes sweet feck all.
    C.D. wrote:

I completely disagree with harassing a customer into buying something they don't need, but it is more to do with head office policy than the sales guy you are dealing with- . Most of these environments are "target driven", so the guys are under pressure to sell it.

This is the main point. These warranties are pushed from the top, because they make money. Simple. From the salesperson's point of view, he's getting pressured from above to make targets. Before everyone starts with the "well he chose the job", most retail sales jobs require no experience, so the positions are normally taken by people who need a job and cannot get one elsewhere (or don't want to work in McDonalds).

Harvey Norman's warranty is a joke, it just extends the manufacturer's warranty. DSG's warranty gives extras. If you're buying a high value, portable device, it wouldn't hurt to have it covered against "accidental" damage. If you're stupid, you deserve to be out of pocket for a cover you never use. If you're intelligent, and you're buying a 3,000 euro laptop, you'd be a fool to not cover it for 3-5 years for 500 squid, and then get it replaced when it's "damaged".

It's unfair to be rude to a salesperson for doing their job. If they're rude, and pushy, then by all means. If, however, from the get go you jump down their throat you're a jerk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I have no problem with someone trying to sell me something, but when i say no 3 or 4 times politely and they still persist - thats when I get pissed off and start getting angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭ceidefields

Honestly, I have never had anyone at Best Buy pitch me like that. It's difficult enough to find a sales person to begin with and then they mostly have a look on their face like they could give a rat's ass.... This sounds like Best Buy's Management's utopia

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Best Buy is a rip! Got burned once and will never do business with them again.