Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SUV hater

• 05-09-2007 10:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭

maybe should be in motors with this one but its not really about motors. I hate unnecessary SUV's (no yellow jacket, no hitch and not farmers). Now I know "necessary" is a relative concept however when I see the owners of these F88kers in these killing machines I cant help but look them in the eye (in dublin no go traffic you could nearly have a conversation) scan the monster (the vehicle I mean) they are driving in a way obvious to them and shake my head at them in the most possible disapproving way I can. I started doing this without thinking because I hate them so much. Just wondering if anyone else gives the disapproving stare of disgust/scan scenario. ? (no time wasters please)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

I REALLY hate SUVs in all there forms, get a freaking jeep if you live in the country-side and need the grunt, if you live in an urban aera, dont even dare!
    People carriers if you need the room, but they are still a bit stupidly large.

I tend to try to stare down suv drivers, from my starlet :D
    Never works, but i try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Even the name, Sports Utility Vehicle. A soccer mom is not a sports utility!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dodgyme wrote:
    maybe should be in motors with this one but its not really about motors. I hate unnecessary SUV's (no yellow jacket, no hitch and not farmers). Now I know "necessary" is a relative concept however when I see the owners of these F88kers in these killing machines I cant help but look them in the eye (in dublin no go traffic you could nearly have a conversation) scan the monster (the vehicle I mean) they are driving in a way obvious to them and shake my head at them in the most possible disapproving way I can. I started doing this without thinking because I hate them so much. Just wondering if anyone else gives the disapproving stare of disgust/scan scenario. ? (no time wasters please)

Bleed'n hippy.

Live & let live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

soccer mams eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP, you're not alone. SUVers complaining about petrol prices :mad:
    http://www.fuh2.com/
    http://www.ihateyoursuv.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Paulj

i find myself doing exactly the same thing. They take up so much space on the road its disgraceful. Can't understand why people buy them.....i'd like to think its for the speed bumps around but methinks its just rich people with nothing better to spend they're money on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

suv drivers are basically saying......."hey look at me, i'm so successful and wealthy i can afford one of these, you fu*king peasant in a car":cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Is there some rule where by kids can only get picked up from schools by people in SUV's and it's strictly one kid per SUV. I sometimes think it may even be one kid per 3 SUV's, with mammy's friends tagging along for a 2 hour, 1/4 of a mile drive. Also are SUV drivers specially trained to hug the kerb and block cyclists from passing while they sit in traffic.

Ok I might be exaggerating a bit but I refuse to be open minded about these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

What's worse, someone driving a 2L SUV or a 5L saloon?

You can't tar all SUVs with the same brush. It's not like everyone here is driving a Hummer or a Continental...

Some drivers like the safety and security of the higher position and thus greater visibility (in both senses of the word, seeing and being seen).

I don't drive an SUV, for the record, but I don't have a problem with those who do.

I have a bigger problem with these Lexus Hybrid cars which claim to be green while hiding a 5 litre engine behind an electric engine the equivalent of 1 litre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭McSandwich

Some drivers like the safety and security of the higher position and thus greater visibility (in both senses of the word, seeing and being seen).

Safe for drivers, maybe, but I'd hate to come to blows with one as a pedestrian. SUVs achieve very low Euro NCAP scores, the Hyundai Santa Fe was awared zero for its pedestrian rating!!

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/hyundai_santa_fe_2006/273.aspx

philstar wrote:
    suv drivers are basically saying......."hey look at me, i'm so successful and wealthy i can afford one of these, you fu*king peasant in a car":cool:

The thing I hate about these drivers is their total disregard for dividing lines between spaces when parking - even when the space(s) next to them is already occupied...

The stupid ****ing things should require a special license - L plates might just be enough to put off idiots from buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah I just point and laugh at them when I see them having to fill the tank up and the prices of petrol in the US. :)

If I could afford this, i would buy it:
    Gmc Topkick 1.jpg
    I couldn't care less about the carbon footprint of the 8 litre petrol engine.
    This hostility towards suv's is pure irish begrudgery.

If I could afford this, i would buy it:
    Gmc Topkick 1.jpg

[andy]Monster Trucks Monster Trucks[/andy]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

If you could afford a SUV then you'd STFU ;) When I lived abroad I owned a Ford F150 Crew Cab 5.6L, best car/truck I ever owned, if they made them in RHD I'd buy one!!!

Works the other way around too though, with the driver becoming too insulated and not paying much attention to lesser road users.... like me on my push bike with no bumpers airbags or side impact bars to protect me.
    You can't tar all SUVs with the same brush.
    Of course you're correct and a lot of SUV drivers are probably very aware but I like tarring them all regardless. It's just one of those things I allow myself to do even though I know I'm not 100% right.

clown bag wrote:
    I like tarring them all regardless. It's just one of those things I allow myself to do even though I know I'm not 100% right.

Just like all cyclist are feckless arseholes who have absolutely no respect/regard for the rules of the road.

This hostility towards suv's is pure irish begrudgery.

But why would the begrudgers single out SUVs? I don't recall hearing anyone vent steam about drivers of large expensive saloon cars..

If there was a way to prevent idiots from buying SUVs, leaving them in the hands of good drivers then they wouldn't be such a scourge.

Just like all cyclist are feckless arseholes who have absolutely no respect/regard for the rules of the road.
    :) You'd be surprised how road aware regular cycilists are.

A cyclist will not kill you if he hits your side. A SUV is more likely to kill you than any other type car.

Totally agree re becoming insulated, but you can say that about folks who drive Volvos too (like me).

I still look at the idiotic things some folks do on the road and mutter to myself "facking Volvo drivers!!!!" How's that for tarring!!!!
    mcsandwich wrote:
    The thing I hate about these drivers is their total disregard for dividing lines between spaces when parking - even when the space(s) next to them is already occupied...
    I've seen Micras and all sorts of 1l shopping trollies parked the same way too.

Quick google... http://www.flickr.com/photos/therealgrudge/1151063303/in/pool-parking/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/48102343@N00/496373735/in/pool-parking/

And yes, there were as many SUV examples too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

ugly ugly vehicles, its a wonder how they ever took off, that said crazy frog...this year banana phone should be all the rage (creepy ad for it imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

clown bag wrote:
    :) You'd be surprised how road aware regular cyclists are.

Yep, SUV driver doesn't avoid cyclist, cyclist gets killed. Cyclist doesn't avoid SUV cyclist gets killed. Cyclists have a lot more to lose from acting recklessly.

McSandwich wrote:
    But why would the begrudgers single out SUVs? I don't recall hearing anyone giving out about large expensive saloon drivers..
    Because this thread is about suv's in particular I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 T-Boner

SUV's don't really bother me as such.

But I do wonder why someone would buy a car which will cost them an arm & a leg in tires, juice, services, road tax etc.

T-Boner wrote:
    SUV's don't really bother me as such.

But I do wonder why someone would buy a car which will cost them an arm & a leg in tires, juice, services, road tax etc.
    because it's shiney and bigger than all the other cars and the owner needs only pay attention to trucks and buses while driving.

clown bag wrote:
    because it's shiney and bigger than all the other cars and the owner needs only pay attention to trucks and buses while driving.
    Yup. If I won the lotto, first thing I would do is buy an SUV. I'd get the biggest meanest gas guzzler money could buy. And then drive it carefully with all the caution and care that riding a motorcycle has ingrained in me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I have a Landcruiser, does that count?

I laugh at people who whinge about Fuel prices, I am currently able to fill the Cruiser for about 15c/L, we grow our own Biodiesel, so my 4L straight six is less polluting than a 1L Starlet.

Landcruisers scare other people on the road into staying out of my way, I just dont get that sort of reaction when I'm driving my little BMW, people will try to cut you off, sneak out in front of you etc, but no one really wants totangle with a cruiser

to the OP, What gives you the right to decide whats acceptable for people to drive, if I parked alongside you in my Landcruiser exactly what would you say to me??

Someone also posted about the F150, they are available in RHD, we have them here in Australia, couple of my mates have F250's with the 7.3L Turbodiesel V8, now they're big cars

Because this thread is about suv's in particular I suppose.

I assumed that you weren't referring to this thread alone when you said "This hostility towards suv's is pure irish begrudgery"

I've seen Micras and all sorts of 1l shopping trollies parked the same way too.

They're just as bad, if not worse because that kind of parking is inexcusable in a small car. Imagine how it would be if all of these idiots traded in their micras for the biggest baddest SUV their money could buy..

McSandwich wrote:
    I assumed that you weren't referring just to this thread when you said "This hostility towards suv's is pure irish begrudgery"
    I was referring to this thread only. The op's post just came across as begrudgery to me. If people aren't whingeing about suv's then its usually abut merc or bmw's etc. etc.

I think most SUV hatred is down to two things.

1. They're big, easily identifiable vehicles, and can be easily labeled as 'SUV'

2. Most of their owners drive them badly and in the process get up the noses of other road users.

Other, non SUV, drivers may be just as guilty of driving badly, but they're not as easily identified as part of a group (or subset of drivers). Ironically cyclists and pedestrians get lumped together in a similar way as SUV drivers - individuals labeled because of the perceived misbehavior of the larger group.

McSandwich wrote:
    I think most SUV hatred is down to two things.

1. They're big, easily identifiable vehicles, and can be easily labeled as 'SUV'

2. Most of their owners drive them badly and in the process get up the noses of other road users.

Other, non SUV, drivers may be just as guilty of driving badly, but they're not as easily identified as part of a group (or subset of drivers). Ironically cyclists and pedestrians get lumped together in a similar way as SUV drivers - individuals labeled because of the perceived misbehavior of the larger group.
    Very true. But the op's habit of scowling at people who drive a nicer car is pretty childish in my opinion. That why I said it was just good old fashioned begrudgery.

Maybe a lot of that is true about old fashioned begrudgery, we're certainly a nation known for it but I single them out more than others because they are more dangerous, take up more of the road and their drivers seem to be oblivious to lesser road users. Obviously not all SUV drivers but enough for me to notice over other cars. If it makes you feel any better I don't much like little micra owners with go fast stripes and fancy alloy wheels who speed erratically all over the road with their windows rolled down and bass enhanced radios blaring either. Sporty Peugeot coupe drivers are always high on my radar too.

On the plus side I find the vast majority of bus drivers, Taxi drivers, older drivers and generally people who drive mid range models to be safe drivers. All purely observational of course but this is what I notice using the roads every day from the point of view of a cyclist.

OH .... and I find 30+ women who don't have a car full of kids distracting them to be the most considerate drivers of all. Maybe it’s the protective mother thing kicking in but they usually watch out and leave enough room for me to get through safely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

I dont begrudge them, I can afford a few SUVs if I want. I think the people who drive them are selfish and egotistical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭jawlie

biko wrote:
    A cyclist will not kill you if he hits your side. A SUV is more likely to kill you than any other type car.

I wasn't aware of that. From where do you get your statistics to back up this claim?

to the OP, What gives you the right to decide whats acceptable for people to drive, if I parked alongside you in my Landcruiser exactly what would you say to me??
    "How's them sheep Billy-Bob"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Steez

Oh noes! They is killing teh earth!
    Go go new BMW crossover!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Steez

jawlie wrote:
    I wasn't aware of that. From where do you get your statistics to back up this claim?

It'd sorta make sense - with an SUV you're more than likely going to go under it considering its height, or struck straight on. Whereas with a car you're probably going to roll onto it.
    Obviously the speed of the vehicle's going to be an important factor, as is how it hits you, but being above wheels > being beneath wheels.

Unless you smack your face off the windscreen, in which case you're screwed either way.

jawlie wrote:

It has to do with the fact that their bull bars are so high they render your own protection useless.
    I can't remember now where I read this but I'll find out.

SUV drivers are also a danger to themselves:
    Sports utility vehicle accident statistics show that SUVs are three times more likely to rollover in a single vehicle accident than any other car on the road. Of all vehicle accidents, rollover crashes are among the most fatal *
    SUVs dominate dangerous vehicles list *

biko wrote:
    Well if you want to look at it that way,I'd imagine it's a choice between being severely handicapped for the rest of your life and surviving or being killed stone dead.The latter might probably be better.
    Which would you choose?
    Neither hopefully.

By the way I drive a touareg business and I use it mainly for work.
    It does have a tow bar (retractable).
    I also use it for all other driving too though and it's the best darn drive I've ever had.
    I take the point that SUV's are the rich tigers child collection/Mumsy's 2nd vehicle and unnecessary for that purpose and agree with that but draw the line at the sneering at other peoples free choices to spend their hard earned money legally in whatever way they want.
    If the root of the complaint is that they are unnecessary-then thats fair enough and valid enough but IF as I suspect and have heard thrown about..the real complaint a lot of the time is the person is rich,I'd suggest that the complainant mind their own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

biko wrote:
    A cyclist will not kill you if he hits your side.

is that why they are always on the foothpaths then;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

I hate SUV's

-They block my view when sitting in my small polo, crossing the street with a SUV at your side is always nasty, they force me into dangerous situations.
    I can look through a normal car window for oncoming traffic, cant do that with a huge door blocking my view.
    -still can not figure out why they are called 'Utility', only thing they do in town is annoy me.
    -Most SUV's I see in town are cleaner then my polo, my polo has seen more off-road then them, mostly because they park so badly.
    -the new AUDI SUV is silly...the fricking thing is a boat, somebody give me one good reason someone would need this in town ?
    http://images.intellichoice.com/images/AutoShows/Big/2007_audi_q7_suv.jpg
    -Congested roads are bad enough in town, please remove all those trucks and it might flow bit smoother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭AdrianR

Someone also posted about the F150, they are available in RHD, we have them here in Australia, couple of my mates have F250's with the 7.3L Turbodiesel V8, now they're big cars

I’m intrigued by this posters comment, the original post was referring to Ireland and in particular the Dublin urban area, I'm just wondering what your biodiesel cruiser in Australia has anything to do with this thread?

As regards the original post, I hate them with a passion, I can't understand why anyone feels that have to have a SUV or a saloon for with a ridiculously big engine.
    Irrespective if you dismiss the whole global warming issue as a load of bunk, the reality is that the world is running out of oil, anyone that argues this point needs to educate themselves. SUV sales are dropping worldwide but they are increasing here in Ireland, a lot of people here need a reality check. The sooner John Gormley taxes over size engines off the road the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Necessity my hole

Lads No -one needs a merc S class , no -one needs a 6 bedroom mansion when they have two kids.

If we all just bought what we need well we all would be a lot poorer. As ambition and want as well as need drives industry and those of you in small cars would have no cars.

Its pure begrudgery plain and simple. Granted it is hilirous to see a 60 year old frail woman driving a range rover, but thats what she wants I have no right to judge her. Though I often do.

That said I have no issue with the increased taxing of high litre engines on non commercial vehicles. As like i said no-one needs them they are luxury items.

AdrianR wrote:
    As regards the original post, I hate them with a passion, I can't understand why anyone feels that have to have a SUV or a saloon for with a ridiculously big engine.
    Theres very few being driven around in that category.
    Most of them are either 2 litre or 2.5.

I doubt a move to tax 2 litre cars off the road would prove too popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

AdrianR wrote:
    they are increasing here in Ireland, a lot of people here need a reality check. The sooner John Gormley taxes over size engines off the road the better.

and ban them between the canals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I'm sick to death of cyclists. They have had tons of cycle lanes built for them all over south dublin. yet, they feel the need to take up the road.

Another problem seen with cyclists is their lack of respect for the rules of the road. They break red lights, swerve in between cars and are a hazard to pedestrians.

They complain about the complete lack of safety they have. I've no problem with that, except there is only a small minority that actually wear helmets and reflective clothing. Also do they think that people can't see them in the dark without lights.

The most annoying part about cyclists is their lack of identity; no insurance and no reg plates.

They are a complete nuisance.

rant over

rant over

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

AdrianR wrote:
    I’m intrigued by this posters comment, the original post was referring to Ireland and in particular the Dublin urban area, I'm just wondering what your biodiesel cruiser in Australia has anything to do with this thread?

Well the OP made a general reference about his dislike of large vehicles often classified as SUV's and how he sneered at their drivers disdainfully to impart his distaste at their choice of vehicle.

someone else mentioned that they had an F150 at one point but couldn't get one in RHD, thats when I mentioned that they are available in Australia.
    because they can :D
    Irrespective if you dismiss the whole global warming issue as a load of bunk, the reality is that the world is running out of oil, anyone that argues this point needs to educate themselves.
    yeah, make yer own fuel.
    SUV sales are dropping worldwide but they are increasing here in Ireland, a lot of people here need a reality check. The sooner John Gormley taxes over size engines off the road the better.
    so whats an oversize engine comrade?

jawlie wrote:

Compare the Eur NCAP results for the Hyundai Santa Fe and a Honda Civic (paricularly the pedestrian protecton diagram)

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/hyundai_santa_fe_2006/273.aspx

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/honda_civic_2006/270.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Agree with you that cyclists should follow the rules, use lights etc. But you'll find that the cyclists that do follow the rules are also very liable to get squished by moronic motorists. I've been involved in 2 accidents as a cyclist (neither of which were my fault) and never as a motorist, even though I drive far more than I cycle.