Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Return of the "Grudge Match" !

• 06-09-2007 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭

just wondering if ppl are interested in grudge match part two.
    seen as in the first one ppl expressed their interest in a similar match again ,i was wondering if there is still interest to get this going again.

the first one saw the following line up fighting in a "winner take all" one table tourny.
    it was 10K stack with 30min clock and all the levels.
    the line up was:
    HectorJelly
    Ollieboy
    KpNuts
    Dathio
    Gholimoli
    O'Callagh
    BigCityBanker
    PPPSpecial(he was very Special in this)
    Mr PillowTalk.

it was won by the one and only HectorJelly and once again he came back from the dead to kick ass.
    i suggest a very similar setup for the tourney and it's only fair that first choice should go to thoes who made and effort to show up in the first one.

just like the first one the event will be followed by "the night on the piss" in town.
    please reply here if you are interested.
    we will work on the date later when/if there is enough interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

yeah - this was great craic, id be up for it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Can't believe they let you back into the country.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

HalfBaked wrote:
    Can't believe they let you back into the country.:rolleyes:
    lol yeah got back yesterday,they let me back in but not my suitcase.
    the feckers lost my bag and i had pretty much everything fit in to one bag.
    you still in ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

I'd be interested in playin if there's room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

yeh count me in, but dates could be a problem with all the poker action on over the next few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Can I take daithio's place? Since he's in australia and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

yeah definitely.

Can I take daithio's place? Since he's in australia and all.

if your playing, Len as to get a invite....sorry nearly most people on boards.lol

flipper and cardshark are in as first two reserves,im sure we will not be able to get every one back together,but i still have to gim them the option seen as they made the efoort first time around.

so far the list is:
    Gholimoli
    Olliboy
    HJ
    BCB

Reserves:
    Flipper
    CardShark.

if theres enough interest you could have two tables. Alternative just get everyeone to send me the money on stars and save the hassle.

Ollieboy wrote:
    sorry nearly most people on boards

This may have to be run as a side event at the EPT..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

If theres gonna be 2 tables i'll play. I'm all up for showing you superstars how badly i've deteriated as a player over the last 9 months so it should be fun watching me 4bet you allin with J10 only to be shown AA.

Of course though, i'll hit 2 pair and couldnt give a sh!t as long as theres 2k in my back pocket :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I'd be up for a 2 table grudge match. You're all sh1t at poker anyway so the dead money makes the game very attactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Flushdraw wrote:
    If theres gonna be 2 tables i'll play. I'm all up for showing you superstars how badly i've deteriated as a player over the last 9 months so it should be fun watching me 4bet you allin with J10 only to be shown AA.

Of course though, i'll hit 2 pair and couldnt give a sh!t as long as theres 2k in my back pocket :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

count me in ya big fish

Dave get your finger out and transfer your money for the headsup league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

Ill play, if im still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

sikes wrote:
    Ill play, if im still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

sort out some video action for this. would be good viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

I might have to throw my hat into the ring as well as my belt , trousers, shirt and underpants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Shortstack

Stick me down as a reserve. I can also get an amateur documentary maker to film it also depending on dates.

Shortstack wrote:
    I can also get an amateur documentary maker to film it also depending on dates.

DeVore???

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Oi!

Depending on the buy in I'm interested too. This has to be the worst value tournament ever.

Also, HJ, I havent forgotten about our heads up grudge match. I'm still up for it, maybe at the Boards HU finals as one of the side fun games?

DeV.

wow this is getting much more interest than the first one which im glad about.

we will make it a two table tourney this time .
    by the looks of things places are going quickly so get your name in quick.
    there will be places reserved for the people that played the first one unless they say that they dont want to play it.
    im still waiting to hear from pillow and kp and that's pretty much the first table.

the second table would be based on first come/first served.

Flushdraw wrote:
    DeVore???

No. Amatuer > Novice.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Novice > Donkey :p

DeV.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

If the buyin is 200 or less I am in. I have equal grudges against everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

I'll add some value to the game depending on dates.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I'm definately up for mixing it up with ye if its going to be 2 tables. Count me in Eshan if theres room.
    Connie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Looks like a 15 man 2nd table so far!!

flipper
    Flushdraw
    NickyOd
    TheChopper
    Sikes
    BigDragon
    Fatboydim
    ShortStack
    Devore

Reserves:
    5starpool
    OPR
    Connie
    LuckyLloyd

ok so the above is the second table and the list of reserves.
    i still need 2more ppl to confirm from the first table.

as for the buy in i suggest a 250 buyin.
    the reason being that it's not much to put ppl off but at the same time it's enough to make ppl play proper which is always good.
    it will be a winner take all tourney as per last one.

now moving on to dates.
    it will have to be a saturday.
    i want to get this going asap to can people start voting on which saturday they can play from the below list:
    Sat 15 Sep
    Sat 22 Sep
    Sat 29 Sep
    and the first Sat in Oct.
    please all thoes who are listed just reply and say which one you prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

22nd

Shortstack wrote:
    22nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

I can play 15th or 22nd.

PS: Gholi, make it tables of 10, then I'm in Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Yeah 22nd would be ok for me.

Opr

It is unlikely I can play the 22nd. 29th would probably be best for me if I make the list.

I'm working on the 15th.

I should be good for the 22nd or 29th

im free whenever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

22nd

ok based on repliys so far looks like most can make Sat 22nd Sep.
    so can every one who is on the list and can play Sat 22nd please say so here.
    obviously thoes who have already said they can play that date dont need to do so.

also make sure you leave the whole night free as the last grudge match day ended with me,pillow,KP,BCB ,halibut totally hammerd and playing omaha in the jackpot at nearly 6 am.

im free whenever.

Apart from Tuesdays coz thats signing on day! :p
    Gholimoli wrote:
    also make sure you leave the whole night free as the last grudge match day ended with me,pillow,KP,BCB ,halibut totally hammerd and playing omaha in the jackpot at nearly 6 am.

Time to get a loan from the bank...that game is full of value :eek: :D :eek:

that day is fine with me

at the moment its ok with me too. Why did I go home so early last time piss at 2pm....that game seems great value in jackpot..lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

I should be ok for that day, will know closer to the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

22nd is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Eshan I'd love to play this, but I can't make the 22nd - my sister is getting married on that day! If the dates are changed in any way then stick me down,it was a great tournament last time

This is so far the final list for the grudge match on the 22nd.
    The venue will more than likely be the Fitz.
    I still need a few people to confirm if they are able to play on that date or not.
    People have until next Tuesday to confirm their place otherwise it will be given to the next person on the list.
    If any one on the list wants to drop out please let me know with as much notice as possible so that I can get a replacement.
    Also there will be draws for seats on the day and the below layout is not how people are going to be placed.

Table 2:

Flipper
    Flushdraw confimed
    NickyOd
    TheChopper confimred
    Sikes confirmed
    BigDragon confirmed
    Fatboydim confimed
    ShortStack confimred
    Devore

Table 1:
    PPPspecial confirmed
    Gholimoli Confirmed
    BCB confirmed
    HJ confirmed
    OllieBoy confirmed
    PillowTalk
    KPnuts
    Hlafbaked confirmed
    CardShark confirmed

Gholimoli wrote:
    This is so far the final list for the grudge match on the 22nd.
    The venue will more than likely be the Fitz.
    I still need a few people to confirm if they are able to play on that date or not.
    People have until next Tuesday to confirm their place otherwise it will be given to the next person on the list.
    If any one on the list wants to drop out please let me know with as much notice as possible so that I can get a replacement.
    Also there will be draws for seats on the day and the below layout is not how people are going to be placed.

Table 2:

Flipper
    Flushdraw confimed
    NickyOd
    TheChopper confimred
    Sikes confirmed
    BigDragon confirmed
    Fatboydim confimed
    ShortStack confimred
    Devore

Table 1:
    PPPspecial confirmed
    Gholimoli Confirmed
    BCB confirmed
    HJ confirmed
    OllieBoy confirmed
    PillowTalk
    KPnuts
    Hlafbaked confirmed
    CardShark confirmed

Two things:
    1. I think it might be better to draw for seats - that way all is fair.
    2. If we are playing 2 tables - might I suggest that we pay top 2, 1st with 2/3s the money and 2nd with 1/3rd. What do people think?