Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tarantino is coming to Dublin

• 04-09-2007 2:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭

Anyone heard anything about how to get tickets for this? He's going to be taking questions from the audience after the screening of Death Proof later on this month - w00tage.

From independent.ie:
    Cult film-director Quentin Tarantino will be in Dublin later this month for the premiere of his new film, Death Proof.

The movie trails a psychopathic killer played by Kurt Russel and also stars Rosario Dawson and Rose McGowan.

It is being shown for the first time as part of the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival.

Tarantino will be present after the screening to take questions from the audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

As far as I'm aware of you have to be a member of the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival to be eligible to be put into the ticket 'lottery'. I was a member for the last film festival back in February and I got an e-mail from them yesterday asking would I like to put into a draw to win tickets. On that evidence it seems that the tickets are like gold dust and you would have a very slim chance of getting your hands on some unless you knew some important people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,280 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Damn missed out on the lottery, as expected. Can't complain, because I didnt even know I was a member :p
    Im not sure if I should say this (in case everyone else gets there first ;) ) but tickets are on sale at 10am tomorrow according to the email.

Im not giving any links though - ye can all find that out yourselves :)
    Edit: Ah I wont be that mean Here ye go .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

Really enjoyed death proof, highly recommend it if you liked any of his films. I reckon the Q&A would be interesting, i'd rather Kurt Russell though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I got tickets.

But I watched Death Proof there on Sunday and I thought it was terrible.

I have something else on that evening as well, so I may be distributing my tickets to anyone that I deem worthy... stay tuned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

tickets on sale now people............
    www.dubliniff.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Damn missed out on the lottery, as expected. Can't complain, because I didnt even know I was a member :p
    Im not sure if I should say this (in case everyone else gets there first ;) ) but tickets are on sale at 10am tomorrow according to the email.

Im not giving any links though - ye can all find that out yourselves :)
    Edit: Ah I wont be that mean Here ye go .

Cheers for the head's up man. Got me tickets. Woohoo. Think their server just got a serious kicking. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Meh, page just crashes out when I try to book them. I guess I won't be going :( Ah well, I suppose I can still stalk Tarantino while he's here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Yeeeees.
    <3 Tarantino

Owman, what the hell, page crashing for me too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

Anybody else having trouble adding seats to their cart when they've selected them? So frustrating...

Edit: nm... figured it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭The Cowboy

I am having trouble imp.
    What did you figure out to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭imp

The Cowboy wrote:
    I am having trouble imp.
    What did you figure out to do?

There's a little animated ticker to the right above the seating chart that appears when you select a seat, it disappears after a (long) while which I reckon is when the seats have actually been added to the cart....

I'm testing my theory now... unfortunately the cart page won't load now but whenever I hit the Back button now the seats are still selected whereas before I had to start again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Nothing Happening when I press the book tickets link:mad:

Anyone having a similiar problem.

Dont think Ill get them now:( so if anyone wants to sell me a ticket or two I would really appreciate it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,280 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Oops fogot about these this morning.
    If anyone has any spares (even a single spare), I will gladly take them off your hands. Remember who gave you the link in the first place now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Neo#

Damn im too late. If anyone is offering tickets send me a pm. aggghh would have loved that. Why didnt I check boards earlier!:mad:

Ditto, want tickets but the stupid site didn't work for me all morning, so I don't have any. Grrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

i'd rather Kurt Russell though! :D

Me too, I just got this nice new rifle!

Anyone still looking for tickets try again.
    I just got 10 in the last 15mins. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 devils_reject

Thankfully got mine just before thay all went :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

10 tickets, is it not meant to be 4 per person

Yeah, that's pretty ****ty tbh.

Somehow managed to get mine anyway, link on the IFI page wasn't working but I still had the direct URL for the store from trying earlier today. Seems to be sold out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I'm annoyed I had such a busy day today and missed out on this. Would love to go to this so if anyone would be kind enough to consider me if passing on 1-3 tickets I would be very grateful.

Should be a great showing.

koneko wrote:
    Yeah, that's pretty ****ty tbh.

Somehow managed to get mine anyway, link on the IFI page wasn't working but I still had the direct URL for the store from trying earlier today. Seems to be sold out now.

Pretty ****ty!? :confused:
    Why? Because i had the patience to refresh and reapply countless times for nearly 2hours?
    Because i had the foresight to order the maximum of 4 tickets per order a couple of times?
    Because i wanted to get myself and my friends tickets to this?

Emotions can sometimes get the better of the best of us.

Wow, nice abuse there.

I'm saying if someone can order that many tickets I'm sure more people did too, and that's ****ty/unfortunate for people here that wanted to go because all the tickets would be gobbled up by a few. That's why the 4-tickets-max thing is there, they don't seem to enforce it though.

Okay... here's the deal... whoever can come up with the most amusing answer to this question before midnight tonight gets my 2 tickets.

What was in the briefcase in Pulp Fiction?

(Please only answer if you failed to get tickets to the screening)

You should award bonus points for illustrations done in Paint ;)

koneko wrote:
    You should award bonus points for illustrations done in Paint ;)
    Oh good point... I've extended the deadline to allow people time to create masterpieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

Okay... here's the deal... whoever can come up with the most amusing answer to this question before midnight tonight gets my 2 tickets.

Umm, was it yore ma by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

My opinion too. I think he's very hit and miss - more miss than hit for me. Don't want your tickets, I'm sure brickbats will be confiscated at the door :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Was it your tickets to the screening? If I win*, I want them presented in that briefcase

*I can't even go, so don't worry about it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

The Cowboy wrote:
    F*** right off with yourself. :mad:

Less of that now, please. Try and keep things civil, ok?

I shall. In the heat of the moment i got carried away.
    Apologies to koneko also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

A 12inch black rubber cock.

In 1996 the city of Atlanta hosted the olympic games.

Two years prior to this a competition was held to design a special gold medal to mark the 100th anniversary of the modern olympic games. Many top designers and Advertising agencies were contacted, many designs and ideas were submitted and 50 designs were shortlisted.

Out of these 50 designs 100 prototype medals were made (two for each design) of the highest quality gold to get an idea of what the medal design would be like "in the flesh".

All this was kept top secret as the Atlanta games were already under fire because many felt the games should have gone to Athens and this was there way of doing something special and making amends. However things did not turn out as planned............

On the 13th of January 1994 an armoured van on its way to a secret judging panel(which was rumoured to include then president Bill clinton) was intercepted by a gang of four. The three security personal were killed, an ambulance was found burned out some distance away and one of the hijackers was overheard calling one of the guards "slick" but they were never found.

The gold medals were on their way to one Shotaro Kaneda, a brash Japanese ex-con whose job it was to melt the gold medals down (shame;) ) and pour the molten gold into a specially made briefcase.

Shotaro was working for Marsellus Wallace a feared gang leader who had learned of the top secret project a few months previously from a pro boxer who owed him a favour and had close ties to the olympic commision being an ex gold medalist himself.

0n the 29th of Januay 1994 some two weeks after the van heist the the specially made briefecase was used as part of a deal, the particulars of which are only know to Marcellus himself............the results were'nt great!

So there you have it the story of the contents of the mysterious briefcase and as you might of guessed I really reallly really want (need:o ) those tickets:)

And as you can probably gather from my previous posts I am a massive fan of gindhouse/exploitation cinema from the 70's and 80's and QT is my fav director of all time (which is saying something) so this is soemthing I would kill for. I assure you, you would be hard pressed to find anyone who will enjoy this event as much as me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

A 12inch black rubber cock.

With a gold top

Oh good point... I've extended the deadline to allow people time to create masterpieces.

Whats the new deadline monkeyfudge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Narcissus

Ferrero Rocher

Oh Marsellus, with this briefcase you are really spoiling us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

another few scripts that he was planning on ripping off then turning into a sub-standard over-hyped movie?

ooohhh, me me me!

Babybing wrote:
    Whats the new deadline monkeyfudge?
    Midnight... don't worry... I haven't forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

A birthday cake for marsellus wallace (explains the glow)?

For a time I thought it may have been the diamonds from resevoir dogs.

I was so annoyed today, didn't have a credit card with me so ran to film base (I was only on a ten minute break) since it's linked to the jameson film fest...then IFI.....then temple bar property....then the Savoy. The savoy weren't selling them even though it's playing there.

End coming back to college an hour late, and end up getting sent home (I pretended to be sick but it backfired when the teacher said that I would be a risk to the other students. I had to lie to my classmates which was terrible since they were quite concerned).

If anyone has any spare tickets I gladly pay double for them (I'm preferably looking for two).

PLLLLEEEEAAAASSSSEEEE!!!!:(

What was in the briefcase?
    roayleml1.th.png

your all mad........... it's a 60watt light bulb :p

Aw man.... this was really tough.

It's between Babybing and neXus9 as it sort of seems pretty important to them.

Would you be willing to take one ticket each?

(I can't believe no one said a monkey was in the briefcase... that would have been an automatic win....)

DAMN:mad: Seems so obvious now:D

Ill put it this way, Ive never been looking more forward to a film in my life and if it means going on my lonesome, so be it. Although I would prefer to bring a friend:D

yeah make them sit together with " I love monkey fudge " t-shirts on, so i can point and laugh at them on the night. :D

Yes, ofcourse, one would be great!!

Been wanting to talk to Tarantino ever since I saw resevoir dogs when I was 14.

One each would be the best option, I'd say.;)

Well I should have them in the post this week to me... I'll PM you both when I get them.

Thank you, you're a life saver!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I got tickets.

I have something else on that evening as well, so I may be distributing my tickets to anyone that I deem worthy... stay tuned.
    you know, I've always rather liked monkeys...

EDIT: I'm too late, bummer.

Well I should have them in the post this week to me... I'll PM you both when I get them.

Nice one Mokeyfudge, really appreciate this:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 elviira

Ok, I know I'm ot the first in queue but if anyone has 2 tickets to premiere you can now support the seventh year of our marriage by enabling us to do something that we both want to do at the same time (doesn't happen often)-Go see Death Proof and Tarantino!:D :D:D:D;)
    Oh pleasepleasepleaseplease:)
    p.s. We will even pay you;)