Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prosperty RTE II..

• 03-09-2007 9:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭

Bleed'n crap Dublin accents, crap show. I'm going to bed...

Looked forward to seeing this all week. What a let down :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah it's a loada arse........ disappointed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

If I want to see chavs wandering around aimlessly, I'll go to Dublin...or Cobh.

Skanger sympathiser Julie Burchill would probably love it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Take it to TV gripers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Any repeat on?

In fairness nearly every Network 2 drama has been either crap or poorly received in recent years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Msfc

Nearly as bad as Fair City! Bleedn crap!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

RTE + Drama + Sitcom = Crap

thank god they never got their hands on FR TED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Wha er yiz on??? it wz bleedin savage! ;)

Seriously tho.....I cannot waaaaait til next wk!!! That was class viewing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Next week's episode looks a bit better.

Seriously, all yer one said was "yeah", "yeh", "no" and "i want yer cóck inside me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

The dangly earrings and soverign rings were "Deadly"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

i lol'ed watching it :D

yeh. no. yeh. yeh. yeh. yeh.

poxy
    poxy
    yeh yeh poxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

philstar wrote:
    RTE= Crap

fixed that for ye there, no charge.

Jaysis yiz hav no tastes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

I thought it was quite good. It was a bit grim and the young one was a bit anoying alright, but it was a good story. Next week looks like it'll have more action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

Anyone who hates Dubs would have loved it as it re-enforced the cliched stereotypical skanger view of them. So eh...that's why I liked it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

What an amazing personality. ''say sumtin durty''.......'i want yur cock inside me''

How good was the conversation between her and her sisiter.

What an amazing personality. ''say sumtin durty''.......'i want yur cock inside me''

How good was the conversation between her and her sisiter.

haha yea! n when Donna says to her son "get out of here" n he goes "for fcuk sake" n she goes "dont fcuk sake me" n he goes "jaysus" n she goes...ok i'll shut up now...... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Can't wait to see the 8 year old junkey next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Mairt wrote:
    Bleed'n crap Dublin accents, crap show. I'm going to bed...

Looked forward to seeing this all week. What a let down :mad:
    Aw ****eroo!! forgt about it!! was it that bad?? dont feel so bad then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Will it be on again?

Niamho! wrote:
    Aw ****eroo!! forgt about it!! was it that bad?? dont feel so bad then!

Niamh dont listen to these muppets... it was quality viewing end of! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Ah crap..wish I'd watched this now! If it was so bad it was funny I'll try catch a repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

ah crap. lol.

didnt realise how late it was. way past my Bedtime! night Folks! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

The "I'm as thick as a plank" security guard in the Jervis centre who " was goin to retire early from the dole" was a howl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

simu wrote:
    Will it be on again?
    the RTE website usually lets you watch shows online that were on during the week. (well prime time and q&a anyway, maybe keep an eye on the site)

edit: I checked for ye because that's just the kind of nice guy that I am. http://www.rte.ie/tv/prosperity/episodes.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

It wasn't fantastic by any means, but i'd bet that if Spike Lee made something similar about an inner city youth, all of you would be praising its "gritty realism" and "authentic dialogue". Oh well...its RTE drama, lower your expectation and it'll be fine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

clown bag wrote:
    the RTE website usually lets you watch shows online that were on during the week. (well prime time and q&a anyway, maybe keep an eye on the site)

edit: I checked for ye because that's just the kind of nice guy that I am. http://www.rte.ie/tv/prosperity/episodes.html

<3

http://www.pulpexplosion.com/tv/captain/mati.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Gritty realism and authentic dialogue doesn't have to be bland as sh*t......

But from now consider my expectations lowered! The only good thing RTÉ have made is Reeling in the Years......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

PROSPERITY is a series of four one-hour dramas for television from director Lenny Abrahamson and writer Mark O’Halloran, the team behind ADAM & PAUL and the forthcoming feature film, GARAGE. PROSPERITY tells four powerful, moving and funny stories set on the same day, with each episode examining the life of a single character.

Stacey, (17), a single mother, kills time walking the streets with her infant daughter, pinning her hopes on a hopeless relationship; Gavin, (14), bullied and bullying, takes out his aggression on his vulnerable best friend; Georgie, (42), is separated and struggling with a drink problem, as he tries to gain the respect of his young son; Pala, (31), an African immigrant, separated from her child, finds her hunger for human contact becoming increasingly desperate.

Not sorry I missed it. Sounds like a load of whingeing, miserable, Roddy Doyle shite. Someone should tell these people it's not the 80s any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

bronte wrote:
    Ah crap..wish I'd watched this now! If it was so bad it was funny I'll try catch a repeat.

Dont worry you missed bugger all - it's not worth a ****... that said over on RTE 2 at the same time, there was a suprisingly-good Irish-made documentary about the late Fr Michael Cleary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

At least it's not the Big Bow Wow... anyone remember that?

agamemnon wrote:
    Someone should tell these people it's not the 80s any more.
    I think that's the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

At least it's not the Big Bow Wow... anyone remember that?

AAAAAAAAAAGGGGHHHH!!!

Dam you Monkeyfudge - why did you have remind us of that fukcing awful piece of sh1te by Eoghan Harris :mad:

I had succeeded in erasing it out of my head...

I watched it there on rte.ie .
    Wasn't great, but wasn't as ****e as I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I'd be interested in seeing this, maybe i can find it on the net somewhere :cool:

Theres a link to watch the 1st ep on rte.ie but its not working :(

reload the link a few times, 3rd time lucky (or unlucky) for me.
    For some reason it has a problem seeking first time.

clown bag wrote:
    reload the link a few times, 3rd time lucky (or unlucky) for me.
    For some reason it has a problem seeking first time.

reload?

I can't get it to work :mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

reload?

Yeah you're out of ammo.

reload?
    refresh button on internet explorer.

meh, could just be a site problem, check back some other time and it should work. RTE site is a bit weird like that.

Yeah you're out of ammo.

I shot it all in yore ma last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

What the fúck is prosperty?

Is it another makey uppy word like edutainment? A cross between property and prosperity?

Yeah, I know portmanteau is the correct term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

DaveMcG wrote:
    Gritty realism and authentic dialogue doesn't have to be bland as sh*t......

It was boring... simple as. It reminds me of that Adam and Paul movie, but without the small amount of comic relief that was in that.

Is it really this depressing to be a scumbag? Most of the time they seem to be havin' a deadleee rapi' buzz, sure dey does be doin.

Anyone else notice the way the main characters accent kept slipping into a Southside one? I noticed this when she visits her sister. She only had to say "yeah", but yet, there was something not right about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jebusmusic

Short summary of what happened;

I do be, they do be, he does be, ananyways, ananyways, yeh, yeh, yeh, poxy.

Fu.ck off, poxy, he does be, ah sure, they do be, ananyways, where can i plug it in?, yeh, tanks.

Chip?, no, yeh, yeh, he does be, ananyways, I want your co.ck inside me, dyawantha? fu.ck off.

Ah heor, yeh, yeh, no, fu.cksake, ananyways, they does be do be do be.

Can I borrow a can of yi? yeh, you does be, alright, alright, yeh, fu.ck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 baxterfly

You can download the scripts. Some classic lines in it. Anyone think that the guy who borrowed one of Staceys cans is the same guy from Adam and Paul, who borrows one of their cans in Stephens Green?

Yeah. Junkies get in the skylight a
    bit and then they’re stuck then.
    The fu**en edjits.
    Stacey watches him.
    They’d try steal anything.
    He checks the last cubicle.
    KENNY (cont’d)
    Honest to God they’d rob your sh**e
    wouldn’t they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Security guard - "Is it a boy or a girl?"

Stacey - "It's a hoor"

Where's the rolley eyes smiley when you need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

My view, taken from another forum:

What a load of rubbish.

I think that the main problem is the characters being Dublin skangers, who seem to have poor conversational skills at best.

They should have picked different characters for the show. Just because they're skangers doesn't mean the dialogue has to be so bland, full of "yeaaah".

There was pretty interesting dialogue in the likes of the Welsh Twin Town and of course Trainspotting.

RTÉ seem to think that drama = boring.

There must be about twenty pages of "yeh" in that script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Not a patch on Shameless then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Glad I missed that crock of piss me.

Good decision to watch the golf.