Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swimming Pool in Trinity?

• 01-09-2007 12:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭

Someone told me today that the new sports centre in college has a 25m pool.

Is this correct? Assuming graduates can join, what's the pool like? And how busy does it get? I have a season ticket to the Markievicz on Townsend St that expires at the end of this month so I'd certainly consider moving across the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

I've never used it as I have started college yet but here's a pic

http://www.tcd.ie/Sport/NewSportsCentre/Pool2.jpg

(Big image!)

It's 25m pool with 6 lanes. I'm sure someone who has used it can be more help

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Sarsfield wrote:
    Someone told me today that the new sports centre in college has a 25m pool.

Is this correct? Assuming graduates can join, what's the pool like? And how busy does it get? I have a season ticket to the Markievicz on Townsend St that expires at the end of this month so I'd certainly consider moving across the road!

If used it. Its grand.

I'm a graduate but cant remember how much it cost last year.

Going back to college this year so its only costing €70

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Its grand, I like it. It uses ozone so a lot of chlorine which is feicing great. There are uni sex changing rooms with private stalls and some private showers. Lockers are provided as well. Everything is left handed though, which is a pain in the bollix to say the least. For example the locker doors are hinged on the right. Theres a sauna attached to the pool which is nice, but don't be expecting a Turkish bath type thing.

Take off your shoes before you go into the changing rooms though as the stalls are always filthy at the end of the day (when i go) , theres like a dozen signs saying it, ill say it nicely to people once and if they ignore me... well lets just say having a angry joe asking you why you're being an asshole isn't pleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

Boston wrote:
    Take off your shoes before you go into the changing rooms though as the stalls are always filthy at the end of the day (when i go) , theres like a dozen signs saying it, ill say it nicely to people once and if they ignore me... well lets just say having a angry joe asking you why you're being an asshole isn't pleasant.

I agree with you. The problem comes about because nobody follows the rule. One way to solve the problem is to have a staff member ensuring people firstly take their shoes off after the turn-stall for the pool and then also ensures that nobody - who after a swim - puts their shoes on until they pass back through the turn-stalls. The first problem comes about when nobody will do this. I don't like walking in muddy water and I agree that the first way to eliminate it (or at least reduce it) is to take my own shoes off but for me its everybody or nobody! So yes to your point, but get a staff member to ensure nobody else does it ‘cus I don’t want muddy feet!

People are far to slow to say, "you take off your shoes".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭low

That whole thing is stupid. Do any other swimming pools do that? Of course I've no problem taking my shoes off in that little area but surely they could have designed it a bit better?

There seems to be about 50 cubicles, some of them smaller than others. But how many private showers are there? 3? Wtf is the story with that.

So you want to do some weights in the gym than go for a quick swim/sauna afterwards. You go into the sports centre, go upstairs, get changed, put your bag in a locker. Go downstairs, with your id card and swipe into the weights area. You do your session. Than you go back up stairs, get your bag, and go downstairs. You go into the swim area and take your shoes off after you swipe in and put on your flipflops. Than you go into a little cubicle and get changed into your speedos and swim hat. You than put your bag in another locker and have a shower. You go for you swim, come out, rinse off in the showers there and go to get your bag. You go to a cubicle, get your shower gear and go off with your towel to the 3 private showers (I think some have a dodgy door lock too). In here you can hang your towel over the door, strip down and leave your speedos on the floor or try and hang them on the door knob and have a proper shower. Than you go back to you cubicle and try and get changed back into your dry clothes without anything dropping on the wet floor. However, you have to stay in your flipflops (better roll your trousers up) and go and put your shoes back on in that little area with the mirrors.

Genius design.

low wrote:
    That whole thing is stupid. Do any other swimming pools do that? Of course I've no problem taking my shoes off in that little area but surely they could have designed it a bit better?

What design feature would you suggest that would eliminate this problem?
    There seems to be about 50 cubicles, some of them smaller than others. But how many private showers are there? 3? Wtf is the story with that.

Few people require full showers.
    So you want to do some weights in the gym than go for a quick swim/sauna afterwards. You go into the sports centre, go upstairs, get changed, put your bag in a locker. Go downstairs, with your id card and swipe into the weights area. You do your session. Than you go back up stairs, get your bag, and go downstairs. You go into the swim area and take your shoes off after you swipe in and put on your flipflops. Than you go into a little cubicle and get changed into your speedos and swim hat. You than put your bag in another locker and have a shower. You go for you swim, come out, rinse off in the showers there and go to get your bag. You go to a cubicle, get your shower gear and go off with your towel to the 3 private showers (I think some have a dodgy door lock too). In here you can hang your towel over the door, strip down and leave your speedos on the floor or try and hang them on the door knob and have a proper shower. Than you go back to you cubicle and try and get changed back into your dry clothes without anything dropping on the wet floor. However, you have to stay in your flipflops (better roll your trousers up) and go and put your shoes back on in that little area with the mirrors.

Genius design.

Well thats probably the stupidest approach I've ever heard. Even if you did want a full shower up stairs theres no reasons not to change into your swiming gear up there and then go down.

Whats the sauna like?

sounds.. complicated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cunnins4

The pool itself is usually perfect temperature and it's very clean. The fecking slime on the tiles is horrible though-i've noticed lines of it on my shorts from leaning against the edge of the pool and when you kick of the wall it's real slippy. I hope they sort that out as the claim they will be.

The "changing village" thing's a joke though. I'd much prefer a lads changing room and a girls one like in markievicz with common locker area. The whole remove your shoes thing wouldn't be as much of an issue then. I just find the whole changing area to be an unpleasant and not ver y well designed, but hey, for 70quid for a year, who am I to moan! I'm just thankful to have such a facility so close at hand for the year.

The sauna is good but not great. For instance it isn't air tight and theres often alot of water on the ground.

cunnins4: I fail to see how separate changing rooms would solve the problem of peoples shoes being filthy.

Boston wrote:
    The sauna is good but not great. For instance it isn't air tight and theres often alot of water on the ground.

cunnins4: I fail to see how separate changing rooms would solve the problem of peoples shoes being filthy.

Read it again, i didn't say it would solve the problem, but it would certainly confine the filth to the two changing rooms and the locker area etc.... wouldn't be as dirty. Like in markievicz-dirty floor in the changing room, but as soon as you step out into the locker room it's nice and clean. And the staff there routinely hose down the changing room throughout the day so it's not that filthy. In the pool in finglas they have both-changing village style and a separate changing room for everyone-it works great.

I just think the design is a nice idea, but impractical.

Boston wrote:
    Even if you did want a full shower up stairs theres no reasons not to change into your swiming gear up there and then go down.

NOT WALKING AROUND THE SPORTS CENTRE IN YOUR SWIMWEAR IS ONE REASON.

stop trolling please.

low wrote:
    NOT WALKING AROUND THE SPORTS CENTRE IN YOUR SWIMWEAR IS ONE REASON.

stop trolling please.

Walking up and down a stairs is hardly around the centre, and even if it was, whats the problem with it. You should get a grip.

got an email from the sports center today-they're fixing the slime problem on the tiles in 2 weeks time. That's good to hear anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

Thanks for the info. I'm a little confused on the shower issue! So in summary, there are only 3 showers available for swimmers? And they're not convenient to use?
    Boston wrote:
    Few people require full showers.

Huh? :confused: Is smelly the new clean?

there are 15 showers 3 private

I have a sports tour on the first of October. What will it be? Just showing us around the place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Moorsy

Boston wrote:
    there are 15 showers 3 private

I know only of the 3 private showers. There are then additional showers at the edge of the pool to 'clean off' before you go into the water. NOTE 'clean off' - this tends not to include common showering activities such as :wash your hair and throw a bit'o soap around your body and also tends, at least in TCD Swimming pool, to include an audience of the people in the pool!

For the amount of money spent on the sports centre, I'd expect more tbh. Boston can troll all he likes but everyone has to admit that there are just too many **** ups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 561 ✭✭✭paperclip

Do continuing students need to do the whole sports tour thing AGAIN?

noone needs to do it.

I wish they had a 'weight lifting for women' class. I would go to that, but only if it isn't all about the machine weights, woohoo freeweights.

Fake Edit: for any women who might be looking: clicky. We can look toned too!

Moorsy wrote:
    I know only of the 3 private showers.

Well done. the poster above me didn't. what on earth made you think my post was directed at you.
    There are then additional showers at the edge of the pool to 'clean off' before you go into the water. NOTE 'clean off' - this tends not to include common showering activities such as :wash your hair and throw a bit'o soap around your body and also tends, at least in TCD Swimming pool, to include an audience of the people in the pool!

I've seen people use shampoo and body wash in those showers. Also, audience wise, whats the problem. Additionally, anytime I've been there, there's been a private shower available.

low: Am I bothered?

paperclip: The instructors are very friendly and more then willing to show women how to use free weights. As for weight classes, I've not heard of any taking place for either gender.

paperclip wrote:
    I wish they had a 'weight lifting for women' class. I would go to that, but only if it isn't all about the machine weights, woohoo freeweights.

Unfortunately there is no weightlifting or powerlifting clubs in the college so this type of thing is hard to organise. However, do you think there would be significant interest from girls in college to do this, if such a service was offered?

I think heavy weightlifting like squats, deadlights and bench pressing in a combination with the more complex and technical Olympic lifting is one of the best ways to lose weight, get "toned" and improve your strength and flexibility big time. Unfortunately a lot of girls seem to be put off by free weights either because they associate them with masculinity or they don't want to "get all big and muscley". If only it was that easy! Of course there are more than a few girls who do hit the weights properly in Trinity gym but they usually also competitive athletes in another discipline. Again, if you think there would be interest in getting a group of girls in at the same time to do weightlifting you should speak to Pete (the big muscley mohician haired gym guy) about it.

Whether they really have the facilities for that though is another issue, I still think they should have got a more private free weight area for serious lifters. (I'm not a serious lifter by any stretch of the imagination if I've given someone that impression, I just like to talk about exercise, not doing it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Boston wrote:
    Walking up and down a stairs is hardly around the centre, and even if it was, whats the problem with it. You should get a grip.

That is where you lost ll your credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

I want to use the weights facilities to keep...are there people there who will tell me what to do?

(Complete noob when it comes to gym equipment - I just do sports as exercise)...

4Xcut wrote:
    That is where you lost ll your credibility.

I don't see the problem. Its not a private swimming pool, people will see you in your gear. What difference does it make where.

Thirdfox wrote:
    I want to use the weights facilities to keep...are there people there who will tell me what to do?

(Complete noob when it comes to gym equipment - I just do sports as exercise)...

Yes definitely. You're better off going with someone you know who knows what they're doing. But if not you can go in just ask the instructor at the desk or perhaps book a session with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

paperclip wrote:

I'm intrigued as to why the author of that page refers to herself as "mistress" krista :P

Maybe you should go into her closet and find out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I dunno, a mistress who lifts weights...I can see myself getting the living **** kicked out of me :p

So, all in all, a good development?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Anybody know if we can go in before we register for this year? What do they ask for on the door, just a student card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

No you can't use it until you register. I emailed the Sports Dept. and thats what I was told.

cianclarke wrote:
    Anybody know if we can go in before we register for this year? What do they ask for on the door, just a student card?

If your already a student and willing to pay then yes, otherwise no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

After considering all your helpful opinions I signed up and had my first swim in Trinity this evening.

I'm more than happy. The pool was just open again after being closed for a few days for maintenance (the slimey walls?), so the water was crystal clear and bloody cold as it hadn't had time to heat up! And there was no shallow end today which was good.

I had a whole lane to myself for almost the full session. Fantastic! And this was at 5:30. That NEVER happens in the Markievicz. I guess this will change when term starts. Steam room & sauna are fine but small.

The changing area is a bit awkward but it's nice & spacious. Too warm though. And 3 shower cubicles isn't enough.

Everyone I saw had taken off their shoes where they were supposed to but the floor still managed to be a bit dirty in places.

Overall it's much better and quieter than the Markievicz and half the price so I'm not complaining one bit!