Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remember the 80's?

• 31-08-2007 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭

...Because I don't! I have an 80's themed party to goto over the weekend and was wondering what/who I should dress up as. Any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

pocketac3s wrote:
    ...Because I don't! I have an 80's themed party to goto over the weekend and was wondering what/who I should dress up as. Any suggestions?

If you're aged between 16-25, just go dressed normally. Chances are that you'll look the part.

Phil Collins:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The Hoff in Knightrider or a character from Baywatch (was late 80's, early 90s) but you could catch a chill. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Go as Marty McFly from 'Back To The Future' or one of the 'Ghostbusters'. That's 80's in a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

You could try the All Things Retro Forum. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

the 80s..............

keyboard tie,
    white socks,
    black slip-on shoes,
    shiney jacket and trousers (make sure jacket sleeves are rolled up to elbow)

*if possible...barry mcguigan moustache and mullet hairstyle

follow the above you'll be dandy;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

go as gordon gekko

red braces ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

dress up as Boy George did in the Karma Chameleon video ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Go as Theresa Lowe from 'Where in the world'! Anyone else remember that Kak that used to be on before Glenroe on a Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

pocketac3s wrote:
    I can't remember 5 minutes ago.
    Apparently it's good not to remember the 80's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Go as Theresa Lowe from 'Where in the world'! Anyone else remember that Kak that used to be on before Glenroe on a Sunday!

Yeah but she was fine! Murphys Micro Quizm, now that was Kak:D

Miami Vice or Dallas/Dynasty anybody? :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭¬_¬

Gay Byrne. What, are we psychic? are you fat or skinny? black or green? Photographs or GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Seanies32 wrote:
    Dallas/Dynasty anybody?

Ah yes, Dallas, used to love it, id sneak out of bed and hide under the table watching it when I was about 6!

Yeah, think we all did that ;), but Murphs Micro Quizm?. You're a lightweight!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Dangermouse and Cracker Jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Seanies32 wrote:
    Dangermouse and Cracker Jack
    I'l see that and raise you "The Reardons".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dress and make up as a really old person with grey hair and a walking stick.

When people ask about it, say the party is for people in their 80s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Georgie Michael from Wham. Or if that's too heavy for you go as Andrew Ridgley from Wham.

Hair spray. Day-glo. Don't worry everyone was gay in the 80s.

If you want to be a stud go as Ivan Drago from Rocky III. But yes like everyone in the 80s he was gay. Everyone except Rick Astley. He was the only one not taking it up the tail pipe. The only real ladies man of the era.

I did love the 80s though. Best time of my life. The world seemed like a more laid back place back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

The 80s were truly supernal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭im_invisible

aciiiieeeeeed houuuse!
    just wear a t-shirt with a big smilyface on it -> :)
    or there were supermario tabs, wernt there? im a 90-'00s man myself,
    or just mario/ luigi/

actually, ive seen people with t-shirts with the atari logo on, pretty cool, if you could find one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

ah yes Eighties nostalgia

1) take all your money and give it to the most corrupt Bstard you can find
    2) drive a clapped out cortina to this event
    3) dress in tattered 70's handmedowns that look awful and dont fit
    4) smoke indoors without anyone naggin you
    5) convince all the people at the party to go with you on the next B+I ferry to engerland lookin for Work

yay nostalgia :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

stovelid wrote:
    If you're aged between 16-25, just go dressed normally. Chances are that you'll look the part.

In that case, maybe he/she should go as a schoolboy/schoolgirl to reflect the age they were then? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

pocketac3s wrote:
    Damn... now I feel really old....

If you want to look all cute to get the ladies:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orville_the_Duck
    But then come to think of it they probably won't remember him either... pah!

You can larf at the 80s all you like.

However, I do not seem to recall girls waltzing around Tesco in their pyjamas back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Lirange wrote:
    You can larf at the 80s all you like.

However, I do not seem to recall girls waltzing around Tesco in their pyjamas back then.
    Not even sure we had that in the early 90's, even in the late 90's we just thought they were fresh out of the loony bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Slow coach wrote:

Brilliant suggestion. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Terry wrote:
    That's a Grand Cake Nora :D
    PS: Wasn't it Riordans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Lirange wrote:
    Georgie Michael from Wham. Or if that's too heavy for you go as Andrew Ridgley from Wham.

Hair spray. Day-glo. Don't worry everyone was gay in the 80s.

If you want to be a stud go as Ivan Drago from Rocky IV. But yes like everyone in the 80s he was gay. Everyone except Rick Astley. He was the only one not taking it up the tail pipe. The only real ladies man of the era.

I did love the 80s though. Best time of my life. The world seemed like a more laid back place back in the day.

fixed it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Not remembering the 80s is no excuse. It's probably the most image-specific decade of all. I mean, it's kinda difficult to pinpoint a 90s look (apart from the very start of the decade and all that horrible "rave" stuff) but an 80s look - that's instantly identifiable.

OP, are you male or female? If you're female, just wear the generic 80s female outfit: shiny, brightly coloured leggings with a puffball skirt over it made of several layers of netting. A bat-wing top or one of those smock things which are available everwhere at the moment and a black mesh vest over it. Plimsoll shoes or high heels will do - although those monstrous really soft, "collapsed" looking ankle boots would be the best option if possible. What else? Legwarmers, lots of bangles, hair back-combed and hair-sprayed to within an inch of its life, A small chiffon scarf made into a hairband with a big bow tied in the middle, hoop earrings, really bright blusher, orange lipstick, green/blue eyeshadow and you're away (if you're a girl, that is - well there's no law that says you can't dress like that if you're a guy)!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

I think this would work:
      A white or pink t-shirt
      Slacks
      White runners
      A blazer where you can pull the sleeves up

Happy days, you could wear a hairband if you wanted.

That's the Duran Duran look that Miami Vice rippled off. Very 80s

http://www.style-icon.com/miami.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Dudess wrote:
    If you're female, just wear the generic 80s female outfit: shiny, brightly coloured leggings with a puffball skirt over it made of several layers of netting. A bat-wing top or one of those smock things which are available everwhere at the moment and a black mesh vest over it. Plimsoll shoes or high heels will do - although those monstrous really soft, "collapsed" looking ankle boots would be the best option if possible. What else? Legwarmers, lots of bangles, hair back-combed and hair-sprayed to within an inch of its life, A small chiffon scarf made into a hairband with a big bow tied in the middle, hoop earrings, really bright blusher, orange lipstick, green/blue eyeshadow and you're away (if you're a girl, that is - well there's no law that says you can't dress like that if you're a guy)!

Well after a description like that there's no need for you to post in know your nerds anymore dudess - I should be able to spot you if I ever meet you on the street :D

OP I can't believe no-one has mentioned the A-Team yet ... if you can pull it off go as Mr. T!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Slow coach wrote:

Brilliant :D

Terry wrote:

You might find that was largely in the 70's.

Anyway "Leave it Mrs. O'Brien" . Checkmate :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭pocketac3s

I think this would work:
      A white or pink t-shirt
      Slacks
      White runners
      A blazer where you can pull the sleeves up

Happy days, you could wear a hairband if you wanted.

That's the Duran Duran look that Miami Vice rippled off. Very 80s

http://www.style-icon.com/miami.html

How easy is that? I think I have myself a winner here, thanks for the help everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

WAKADAY

DJ Katt

And the all things retro forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Anything with shoulderpads....

Dudess wrote:
    Not remembering the 80s is no excuse. It's probably the most image-specific decade of all. I mean, it's kinda difficult to pinpoint a 90s look (apart from the very start of the decade and all that horrible "rave" stuff) but an 80s look - that's instantly identifiable.

OP, are you male or female? If you're female, just wear the generic 80s female outfit: shiny, brightly coloured leggings with a puffball skirt over it made of several layers of netting. A bat-wing top or one of those smock things which are available everwhere at the moment and a black mesh vest over it. Plimsoll shoes or high heels will do - although those monstrous really soft, "collapsed" looking ankle boots would be the best option if possible. What else? Legwarmers, lots of bangles, hair back-combed and hair-sprayed to within an inch of its life, A small chiffon scarf made into a hairband with a big bow tied in the middle, hoop earrings, really bright blusher, orange lipstick, green/blue eyeshadow and you're away (if you're a girl, that is - well there's no law that says you can't dress like that if you're a guy)!

Something like this?

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z24/IrishEskimo/dancing2.gif

I bet you can't identify who she is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

"I think we're alone now", but I can't remember the singer's name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

pocketac3s wrote:
    Leggings and leg warmers, like your one from that there film with Travolta. Some gym something.

Or like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Lirange wrote:
    Something like this?

http://i190.photobucket.com/albums/z24/IrishEskimo/dancing2.gif

I bet you can't identify who she is!

Tiffany, I think. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Doffaldinho

It was acceptable in the 80's :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

for blokes, roll the sleeves up of your jacket, wear white socks.

Now, has anyone posted a link to a rick astley video yet or am i flyin' solo here??

Bambi wrote:
    for blokes, roll the sleeves up of your jacket, wear white socks.

Now, has anyone posted a link to a rick astley video yet or am i flyin' solo here??

Delivery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭¬_¬

this is the nasty one.... NSFW or anyone who doesn't want a window that wont close

¬_&#172 wrote:
    this is the nasty one.... NSFW or anyone who doesn't want a window that wont close

Task manager nub :p

Ruu wrote:
    Tiffany, I think. :)

No! Tiffany was a ginge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Hagar wrote:
    "I think we're alone now", but I can't remember the singer's name.

Tiffany I think! Was she a redhead? Not bad for a Redhead:D

Speaking of 80's singers - Kim Wilde - wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

blondie, madonna, kylie, kate bush, tiffany, cyndi lauper, new kids on the block, adam ant, boy george,

those rubber bracelets, electric colours (in fact most of the high street today is very 80s (but a little more tailored)), puffball skirts, sideways ponytails, legwarmers, leggings, those really cool logo tops (like "make love not war" or "dont be jealous" etc)

Guys very very much showing their socks (michael jackson in thriller for example)

oh or you could just be bosco!!