Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Commitments.... the british connection????

• 30-08-2007 09:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭

Howye,

I was watching either E4 or Channel 4 about 2 minutes ago and seen an ad for the commitments and at the end of it, i seen that this was part of the movie collection from the "British Connection" !!!!!!

The commitments???? British????? Ive had enough of this crap!!!

Any opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

It was directed by Alan Parker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yawn.

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

point taken.

But do you consider it a british film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Probably British money behind it too.

No. But it has a British connection.

And sure Roddy Doyle is probably a proddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Co-written by British Writers, and produced with British production...

Dick Clement is British (wrote the screenplay).

sure owl rod wasnt a prodestant.. but if he was, he's still irish.

They should have an irish connection..

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well imdb lists it as and Irish/British/American co-production.

Would you consider Letters From Iwo Jima an American film because Clint Eastwood made it, or a Japanese film because the the story is about the Japanese army and the actors are Japanese?

Stekelly wrote:
    Dick Clement is British (wrote the screenplay).

Even though Im hit with all these facts i still am angry that its part of the British Connection.

Father Ted aswell? :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Protestantism does not imply Englishness. Believe it or not there are protestants who don't consider themselves English. My 2 cent....

Those silly Brits, eh? :)

neil_hosey wrote:
    sure owl rod wasnt a prodestant.. but if he was, he's still irish.

They should have an irish connection..
    I'm sure if RTÉ had an Irish Connection series, the gents from England wouldn't complain if The Commitments was included. Sure they're a grand bunch. We really should never have left.

zaph wrote:

Would you consider Letters From Iwo Jima an American film because Clint Eastwood made it, or a Japanese film because the the story is about the Japanese army and the actors are Japanese?

American. It was writen/Directed/payed for etc by americans. Its a hollywood film. The subject matter doesnt change that.

zaph wrote:

true true

neil_hosey wrote:
    Father Ted aswell? :(
    Written and directed by two Northern prods.

SOOOOO.....
    YAY or NAY ?

SDooM wrote:
    Protestantism does not imply Englishness. Believe it or not there are protestants who don't consider themselves English. My 2 cent....
    Yeah but we wouldn't consider them as Irish ya know? Not as Irish as you or me. No offence to them or anything like.

It's my opinion and I'm entitled to it though.

Ibid wrote:
    Yeah but we wouldn't consider them as Irish ya know? Not as Irish as you or me. No offence to them or anything like.

are you irish out of interest... only

born bread and buttered ????

Yes.

Ibid wrote:
    I'm sure if RTÉ had an Irish Connection series, the gents from England wouldn't complain if The Commitments was included. Sure they're a grand bunch. We really should never have left.

:D:D....

no

wow!!!

wat age did you move over there?

Ibid wrote:

As closed minded as it is. I

So if they were born in Ireland, can speak Irish, lived here their whole life, they are not Irish?

I'm on holidays, Ted.

Ibid wrote:
    I'm on holidays, Ted.

so your tellin me, everytime you go on holidays you change your address on boards??? :D:D

EDIT: wat about commuting to Dublin?

SDooM wrote:
    As closed minded as it is. I

So if they were born in Ireland, can speak Irish, lived here their whole life, they are not Irish?
    They are Irish. But it's a bit like, if you had to choose, who is more "Irish" - the guy who grew up in Galway playing hurling dreaming to play in an All-Ireland final with his eleven brothers or the D4 type named Ross who thinks Gaelic football is for plebs. So yeah they're both citizens but there is a bit of a scale of Irishness. And Proddies imho just don't fit in.

neil_hosey wrote:
    so your tellin me, everytime you go on holidays you change your address on boards??? :D:D

EDIT: wat about commuting to Dublin?
    No, just this once.

And I'm generally not on Boards while commuting. How could I change it then? Duh.

Ibid wrote:
    They are Irish. But it's a bit like, if you had to choose, who is more "Irish" - the guy who grew up in Galway playing hurling dreaming to play in an All-Ireland final with his eleven brothers or the D4 type named Ross who thinks Gaelic football is for plebs. So yeah they're both citizens but there is a bit of a scale of Irishness. And Proddies imho just don't fit in.

wat about Darren Graham???

Before I say who he is, ill give you the time to google him. if your rewally irish you should know him already!! :D:D:D otherwise your obviously not as irish as me :D:D

Of course there are exceptions. A hurling player is more Irish than a proddy who makes fun of North Dubs with his pen, no?

Anyway, off-topic.

Ibid wrote:
    No, just this once.

And I'm generally not on Boards while commuting. How could I change it then? Duh.

ok... so you have time to change your address when on 'holidays' but not while communting?

Ibid wrote:
    Of course there are exceptions. A hurling player is more Irish than a proddy who makes fun of North Dubs with his pen, no?

Anyway, off-topic.

:D:D:D

you better check again who he is

EDIT: Noth Graham Norton

Ibid wrote:

You know there are protestants that dont fit your stereotype, right?

And ones who fought for the "Irishness" you are depriving of people?

I know two protestants that love GAA.

Broaden your horizons, you might be suprised.

Sorry for going off topic.

SDooM wrote:

Sorry for going off topic.

and more to ye...

If I had my way, the world would be playin hurlin, then there would be no problem! cas everyone would be playin it!.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

i taught we were talking about the commitments here???

well to be fair it was directed by a brit ..alan parker and most of the production staff were british.

and not to mention financed by a british film company

so ...yes it does have a british connection

can't see the problem really...no reason to get your knickers in a twist:rolleyes:

SDooM wrote:

As I said, there are exceptions to the rule. Just like there are some unfriendly gay people.
    Good for you. I know about ten who really have no interest and I'm sure they're statistically lest interested than the rest of us.
    My horizon is as broad as yours. Reported post for personal abuse via assumptions of poor eyesight. I just disagree with you.

philstar wrote:
    well to be fair it was directed by a brit ..alan parker and most of the production staff were british.

and not to mention financed by a british film company

so ...yes it does have a british connection

can't see the problem really...no reason to get your knickers in a twist:rolleyes:

:D:D true again. better wrap this up before.. well.. ye know.

I got out of bed to b*tch about this!! :D

Nighty

EDIT: I suppose the moral of the story is: "DONT DRINK AND DRIVE"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I did a northern chick up the ass.
    Bow before me.

Terry wrote:
    Bow before me.

**BOWS**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Look it's a ****e film, let them have it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,368 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Terry wrote:
    Bow before me.

Was she one of our lot or one of, you know, them? Two bows if it's the latter :D

Anto McC wrote:
    Look it's a ****e film, let them have it.

Samuel L. Jackson. The screen legend was
    > recently
    > interviewed by Kate Thornton on British T.V. about
    > working with
    > Colin Farrell in S.W.A.T. when the following
    > conversation took place:
    >
    > Kate: What's it like working with Colin, 'cos he is
    > just so hot in the
    > U.K. right now.
    >
    > Samuel: He's pretty hot in the U.S. too
    >
    > Kate: Yea! but he's one of our own!
    >
    > Samuel: Isn't he from Ireland
    >
    > Kate: Yeah, but we claim him 'cos Ireland is beside
    > us.
    >
    > Samuel: You see that's your problem right there. You
    > British keep
    > claiming people that don't belong to you. We had
    > that problem in
    > America too - it was called slavery

??? point?

PS about Colin Farrell btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bear in mind that the prods arent really really Irish argument allows us to disown bono, and thats a good thing.

So is ould roddy really a proddy? That explains A star called henry, the sly fecker.

Bambi wrote:
    bear in mind that the prods arent really really Irish argument allows us to disown bono, and thats a good thing.

And Graham Norton, this isn't such a bad thing after all.

zaph wrote:
    Was she one of our lot or one of, you know, them? Two bows if it's the latter :D
    Yeah, I forgot to mention that she was one of them.

Also did a daughter of a protestant preacher (don't tell my friend, he was going out with her at the time).

I'll violate them at any given opportunity.

Bambi wrote:

So is ould roddy really a proddy? That explains A star called henry, the sly fecker.
    Banned for dissing Bono.

jayus!!!........that kate thorton interview has been quoted to death at this stage:rolleyes:

so she made a slip up.....big..... f*cking .... deal

i mean don't we (the irish) claim Jack Charlton, Daniel Day Lewis, David Gray etc as our own??

it works both ways

(why do the irish have to be so petty about these things??)

philstar wrote:
    i mean don't we (the irish) claim Jack Charlton, Daniel Day Lewis, David Gray etc as our own??

Do we? I've never, nor do i know anyone who has claimed any of those people you mention, as Irish.

Terry wrote:

I'll violate them at any given opportunity.

are you a catholic priest???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Anto McC wrote:
    And Graham Norton, this isn't such a bad thing after all.

Is he? Jaysus they havent gone away you know. :eek:

I think they should be made to declare their interests or something, all these influential prods running around being "irish" and not letting on that they're diggin offa the other foot the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Used to annoy me a fair bit too..... whenever anyone Irish did something worthy, they were "claimed". Anytime Eddie Irvine made the podium, always "British driver Eddie Irvine", but if he's caught doing a coke-fuelled 3some with 2 hotties off the coast of France he's an Irish playboy!! Actually in retrospect that's kinda a compliment....

Then....then i discovered i actually enjoyed cricket and rugby a lot! Screw it i even enjoy NFL and Aussie Rules! I should probably be lynched, an irish catholic lad admitting to enjoying cricket.

I think what im trying to say is it is a roundabout compliment if they want to claim them as their own - as long as it doesnt go to nauseating proportions. If we're confident in our Irishness who cares who wants to claim any part of our culture?

I should probably be lynched, an irish catholic lad admitting to enjoying cricket.

never mention that in Tipperary