Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

to anyone that I have gotten off on the wrong foot with

• 28-08-2007 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭

I just want to say I want to wipe the slate clean and start over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

why are you writing this? This is a public forum, you can ask what you want. I dont know why your apologising for anything. fcuk the begrudgers. fcuk em all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I don't know if you had anyone in mind when you posted that... but fair f**ks to you for saying it at all!!

The thing is, there's lots of people who come along to the forum and post questions about wanting to lose weight/ get fit/ bulk up/ slim down/ get jacked etc etc but very often once the questions have been answered, they disappear. Maybe they got all the info they needed and they succeeded in their goals, or maybe they tried it and it all went belly up.

But the thing is, at least you're actively researching and asking questions!! While some of the questions might be a little... well, strange tbh :o it shows you're interested and willing to learn. That kind of enthusiasm is hard to come by.

Now, take all that determination and willingness and put it into action - we love success stories here!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭juanveron45

I am starting a new job in galway next monday and this will also be the re-start of my fitness plan

I am going to give the bodyforlife program another go,i know alot of people wont or dont agree with some of the principles of the programme or taking alot of supplements but Its only 12 weeks of my life and I really just want to see, what kind of progress I make if I follow it exactly as written so to document my plan I will also be starting a log here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

g'em wrote:
    The thing is, there's lots of people who come along to the forum and post questions about wanting to lose weight/ get fit/ bulk up/ slim down/ get jacked etc etc but very often once the questions have been answered, they disappear. Maybe they got all the info they needed and they succeeded in their goals, or maybe they tried it and it all went belly up.

Or they still lurk like me but don't post up advice as they really don't know much, again like me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

I might as well mention that my goals are going quite well. When I have a success story though I will share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Boston wrote:
    Or they still lurk like me but don't post up advice as they really don't know much, again like me.
    ah jeebus, I don't know much either, I'm just great at pretending :D

workaccount - so glad things are going well for you. 'Success' doesn't necessarily mean a huge big transformation either. When doing something makes you happier and healthier or gives you a positive outlook, that's just as much a success as anything else. It's all compeltely relative to you, not comparing yourself to somebody else.

I dunno, I guess people get caught up with what 'success' actually means (sorry in advance - I'm in a bit of a philosophical mood this morning. Well, not so much philosophical as completely ploopy :o ). Sure, there's people on the board who compete at things or play sport at high levels, but does that mean their opinions or their advice is more important than anyone else's? I don't think so. Sure, people who've 'proved' themselves are more likely to be given the time of day when they claim x, y and z but that doesn't mean that that persons opinion on things is more valid than someone who isn't in this professionally.

There's some *fantastic* people on the board who are so good at giving advice and helping people out but I'd hate to think that there's lots of lurkers who feel they can't post because the board is intimidating or they'd get shot down for asking a question.

Ah, ignore me - I don't know what I'm talking about. Yeah, yeah, what's new :o :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Why wait until next week to start?
    Why not go for a run/walk/other sports between now and then ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

I just want to say I want to wipe the slate clean and start over
    As far as I can see you were just asking questions. If you ask me the some of the people replying were the ones with the problem, not you.

Every so often somebody comes on here or any other forum and asks what could be construed as a stupid question - so what? There is always the option of not replying !!

Fair play to you though, you seem to be able to take a bit of heat - you could have been one of those people who posted a thread with the subject "I'm never posting here again ... ". Use your persistence and apply it to your health and fitness goals and you'll get on well. ge'm made a good point, it may not always be about winning an Olympic gold, feeling fulfilled and happy is a big part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

aoa321 wrote:
    As far as I can see you were just asking questions. If you ask me the some of the people replying were the ones with the problem, not you.

i had a quick scan through his posts and i'd say this is all too true

this seems to be one of the most helpful parts of boards and yet some of his questions got really snide answers

life is hard enough without that kinda behaviour

but hey some people ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

The first thing a lecturer will say to his class is "There is no such thing as a silly question", Some Questions may seem silly to other people but thats only because they know the answer. And generally at some previous stage, they would have had to ask the same question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

yes there is no such thing as a stupid question. However alot of questions are repeated over and over and over again and there is only a small portion of people to answer all the questions so posters have to have a little cop on and should read through at least the first 3 pages of posts to see if something has been asked before.
    Also this isn't a play school, we aren't hear to hold peoples hand, it's the internet for feck sake, you have to accept that some people are going to be short and abrupt. If you don't want to get advise like that go actually pay for the advise rather then getting it for free here.
    The other thing it is not stupid questions that get people here, it is how some people will continually ask question to which people go out of there way to answer and then ignore the advise given and then post another stupid question and another and each time ignoring the advise given and lookign for someone to tell them that there is a easy way out, when there isn't. that is what will get people pissed off

edit: By the way I am not getting at the OP here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

jsb wrote:
    yes there is no such thing as a stupid question. However alot of questions are repeated over and over and over again and there is only a small portion of people to answer all the questions so posters have to have a little cop on and should read through at least the first 3 pages of posts to see if something has been asked before.
    Also this isn't a play school, we aren't hear to hold peoples hand, it's the internet for feck sake, you have to accept that some people are going to be short and abrupt. If you don't want to get advise like that go actually pay for the advise rather then getting it for free here.
    The other thing it is not stupid questions that get people here, it is how some people will continually ask question to which people go out of there way to answer and then ignore the advise given and then post another stupid question and another and each time ignoring the advise given and lookign for someone to tell them that there is a easy way out, when there isn't. that is what will get people pissed off

Point Taken!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Some people on Fitness think they are the business after working out in the gym for 6 or 12 months. Believe me we all have loads to learn. The best coaches/trainers are those who are humble, aware they don't know everything and always willing to learn.

Juan veron may ask silly questions and annoy people, but the same could be said of 95% of us here if the top coaches or olympic champions were posting here, its all relative.

If you think the content of a post is beneath you, maybe just ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

jsb wrote:

edit: By the way I am not getting at the OP here
    Though i can totally relate to that. Sure before i got real about training and diet and actually started i spent a lot of time planning and obessing over what i was going to do instead of actually doing it, my energies where focused on all the wrong things.

Tingle i totally get what you are saying too, but sometimes IMO when starting out people also need to KISS-Keep it Simple and Start rather than get caught up in the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

There are no stupid questions, just stupid users.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I am starting a new job in galway next monday and this will also be the re-start of my fitness plan

I am going to give the bodyforlife program another go,i know alot of people wont or dont agree with some of the principles of the programme or taking alot of supplements but Its only 12 weeks of my life and I really just want to see, what kind of progress I make if I follow it exactly as written so to document my plan I will also be starting a log here

I don;t know why only one person has picked up one this. I don't know exactly how long JV has been posting asking questions here but I'd say it's >6 months. In that time it would appear he's made no effort to make the neccessary changes. Or he has and just hasn't stuck with them.

Is it any wonder why people get frustrated? Every couple of weeks there's more and more obscure (sp) and quite frankly irrelavant (along the lines of... even tho I'm overweight and don't like to work I'm willing to make he giant sacrifice of eating one less serving of chocolate a day, how long will it take me to get a six pack??) questions thrown up here.

JV, this isn't an attack on you, and I honestly hope you've turned over a new leaf and start to work instead of just talk. Just trying to explain why some posters (including myself from time to time) react the way they do.

And it's funny to see how it's the people who barely ever post here and aren't seeing the exact same questions week in week out that are jumping to his defense and telling us how we should conduct ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

Hanley wrote:
    And it's funny to see how it's the people who barely ever post here and aren't seeing the exact same questions week in week out that are jumping to his defense and telling us how we should conduct ourselves.

From my own point of view, I stand corrected, while this thread was live and kicking he started another asking how to make a complaint against a poster. I obviously was not fully aware of the history with this guy and now feel like a prat for butting in - i think juanveron is a piss taker !! and I don't think a sincere word comes of of his childish mouth.

The latest and most deadly evolution of the dreaded troll !!

This Juan Veron lad is a complete joke...he is about as flippant and ditzy as a 14 year old girl. He never takes anything in and comes back every few weeks asking similar questions. A total **** up.

The reason I wanted to make a complaint is because I dont think I deserve the type of abuse as I did in the quote above.

I have never verbally abused someone here on this site and fair enough I ask alot of questions and I may repeat myself but the only one that will suffer from lack of action is me and if you dont like my posts you dont have to read them.

Also Hanley I take what you said on board but because you have alot of influence on this forum which influenced the following comments from aoa321 they are so dramatically different and so abrupt, I think people will agree with you no matter what you say, I mean the following was just not warrented
    From my own point of view, I stand corrected, while this thread was live and kicking he started another asking how to make a complaint against a poster. I obviously was not fully aware of the history with this guy and now feel like a prat for butting in - i think juanveron is a piss taker !! and I don't think a sincere word comes of of his childish mouth.

The latest and most deadly evolution of the dreaded troll !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

g'em wrote:

workaccount - so glad things are going well for you. 'Success' doesn't necessarily mean a huge big transformation either. When doing something makes you happier and healthier or gives you a positive outlook, that's just as much a success as anything else. It's all compeltely relative to you, not comparing yourself to somebody else.

I'll remember that. :)

Every so often somebody comes on here or any other forum and asks what could be construed as a stupid question - so what? There is always the option of not replying !!

Fair play to you though, you seem to be able to take a bit of heat - you could have been one of those people who posted a thread with the subject "I'm never posting here again ... ". Use your persistence and apply it to your health and fitness goals and you'll get on well. ge'm made a good point, it may not always be about winning an Olympic gold, feeling fulfilled and happy is a big part of it.

I take it now that you made a mistake and disagree with your above statement because your were right all I was doing forming my own opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl