Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident on the Lower Hogan stand

• 28-08-2007 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭

Apologies if this has already been mentioned in another thread.

Another thread about the Dublin v Kerry game on Sunday.. (Mods: Feel free to merge with main thread if you think that's more suitable.)

Just wondering if anyone saw a bit of a scuffle on the Lower Hogan stand by the corner where it meets the Canal End?

Everyone stood up to look over, and it made it impossible for me to see anything from where I was sitting. I later heard that there was 2 supporters arrested, one from Dublin, and one from Kerry. I have no idea what happened though.

Anyone here see or hear anything more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

TirEoghain wrote:
    Apologies if this has already been mentioned in another thread.

Another thread about the Dublin v Kerry game on Sunday.. (Mods: Feel free to merge with main thread if you think that's more suitable.)

Just wondering if anyone saw a bit of a scuffle on the Lower Hogan stand by the corner where it meets the Canal End?

Everyone stood up to look over, and it made it impossible for me to see anything from where I was sitting. I later heard that there was 2 supporters arrested, one from Dublin, and one from Kerry. I have no idea what happened though.

Anyone here see or hear anything more?
    I didnt see that....bit of a row where we were sitting too. At one stage something happened on the pitch, all the kerry subs in front of us stood up, we couldnt see, so had to stand up as well....some Kerry gob****e behind us pushed my boyfriend and said "sit down you f**kin w**nker...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

GalwayDub2 wrote:
    I didnt see that....bit of a row where we were sitting too. At one stage something happened on the pitch, all the kerry subs in front of us stood up, we couldnt see, so had to stand up as well....some Kerry gob****e behind us pushed my boyfriend and said "sit down you f**kin w**nker...!

Nice! Maybe he's been to a few too many Premiership games over the water... or maybe he's a bit of a f**kin w**ker himself.......
    Yep a pure gob****e. He soon shut his hole though, my b/f got a bit carried away and grabbed him by the throat nearly! I told him to tell his w**nker subs to sit down and we'd all be able to see it.

Did you get the train up? We flewwwwww back to heuston for the 6:05 train, and there wasnt one, ended up getting the 6:45.

Nope, was driving, got to have the mammy's dinner at home so a rare treat!
    I've never had bother in Croker, prob cos about half the times I've been to Dub games I've been on the Hill, the last few years I've been in the stands more and still no bother, only rows I've seen were at matches not involving the Dubs, but they were few enough too, only one I can really remember was the Armagh-Donegal Ulster final a couple of years ago.
    No call for it TBH, its the great thing about GAA games that we can sit beside fans from the opposing county and have a bit of craic (well most of them!:D )

Yep, its great, read in the paper yesterday, Ricky Hatton was at the match, he just couldnt believe the way opposing fans can sit beside each other. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

I was in the corner of the Canal and Cusask and there was a small incident also. I was 1 of about 15 Dub fans amongst a pocket of Kerry fans. We were at pitch level and the Kerry supporters kept standing up and blocking everyones view including their own fans.

One Dublin fan shouted 'Here, will you sit down please?......' (absolutely no profanities used), to which he was greeted with......'Fúck you, we're in control of the game, we're leading, I've got a fúcking right to do whatever I want!'. Kerry were only leading by a point at this stage. It was towards the end of the 2nd half.

One of his own supporters had to step in to get him to sit down. I thought it was in bad taste. I've been going to Croker for 15 years now, and it was the 1st match of been at where there was a clear animosity between fans. I've heard of other similar incidents at the match also.

It does my head in when people stand up blocking everyones views, but we had to on Sunday at one stage, when the kerry subs stood up and blocked our view, then it all kicked off because we were blocking the view of that gob****e behind us...

GalwayDub2 wrote:
    Yep, its great, read in the paper yesterday, Ricky Hatton was at the match, he just couldnt believe the way opposing fans can sit beside each other. :)

He must have been over for the Bernard Dunne "fight" the night before. Bet he got better value for his money at Croke Park... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

There was more boxing on the pitch then in the ring the night before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 doylo0707

first things first up da kingdom!there was an incident near me,lower hogan hill end, at the start of the second half. some dub started playin a f**king trumpet which really vexed all the kerry fans and then the hill started cheering him but thankfully a kerryfan near me got up and pushed the dub down the steps back to his seat, and by god he didn't play the trumpet again! i'm being honest here, the dublins supporters on the hill are so ignorant?

jameshayes wrote:
    There was more boxing on the pitch then in the ring the night before!
    If by "boxing" u mean shoulder ramming then yes there was!!! I was so sick of that by the end of the match (Im a Dub) from both teams, I mean if ur gonna cause that crap over n over u might as well make it worth watchin for Mr Hatton!!! Joke, im not advocating violence!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i love the way tis the kerry fans that are getting the blame ere....the dubs were no angels at this game i tell you. i was in the corner of the hogan, mostly full of dubs. the incident was where it looked like a dub fan sat in an other dubs seat and he got the cops to come in and move him....end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

GalwayDub2 wrote:
    It does my head in when people stand up blocking everyones views, but we had to on Sunday at one stage, when the kerry subs stood up and blocked our view, then it all kicked off because we were blocking the view of that gob****e behind us...

Similar thing happened to me last time I was in Croke Park for the Wicklow game. There were three Sligo fans came early for their match and sat two rows in front of us and kept standing up to take off coats and scarfs and swapping seats. After telling them a few times to sit down the man beside me lost it with them, so they proceeded to wave there flag blocking our view for the rest of the game.

I never heard or saw this behaviour in Croker before this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

I was in the lower cusack and looked over to the hill after the match and a Kerry boy (about 10) was waving his flag!Sopme Dublin adult (who should know better) took it off him and tore it and threw it on the ground. Same sort of thing happened to me after the Ulster replay in 02 where Armagh beat Tyrone.Was stuck in traffic coming out of Clones and had my stickless flag hanging out the window.Some (female) genius from Tyrone yanked it out of the window and ran off!Stupid Trout

Also my mate told me on the upper cusack a Kerry fella pumped up on steroids by the look of him hit a 60+ year old Dublin man when he gave out about a refereeing decision!

Are we going to be sectioned off like them gob****es in the soccer across the pond.The beauty of the GAA is the integration of different fans isnt it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

doylo0707 wrote:
    first things first up da kingdom!there was an incident near me,lower hogan hill end, at the start of the second half. some dub started playin a f**king trumpet which really vexed all the kerry fans and then the hill started cheering him but thankfully a kerryfan near me got up and pushed the dub down the steps back to his seat, and by god he didn't play the trumpet again! i'm being honest here, the dublins supporters on the hill are so ignorant?

So you think Dublin fans are ignorant because they cheered one of their own fans playing the trumpet? How does this make them ignorant? Trumpets, along with various drums, horns and hooters only add to the atmosphere in the ground and therefore should surely be encouraged, no? Don't be ridiculous.

That post really vexed me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

doylo0707 wrote:

Are you serious? You say the Dublin fans on the Hill were ignorant? While saying
    thankfully a kerryfan near me got up and pushed the dub down the steps back to his seat

I think you should understand the meaning of the word ignorant before saying it.

+1.

My sentiments exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Yeah, was a nasty atmosphere alright. Good few Kerry fans got a couple of digs on the Hill just after the game. They had the right to go wherever they wanted in the ground and some of the assaults I witnessed were totally uncalled for.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

bohsboy wrote:
    Yeah, was a nasty atmosphere alright. Good few Kerry fans got a couple of digs on the Hill just after the game. They had the right to go wherever they wanted in the ground and some of the assaults I witnessed were totally uncalled for.

Only at a dublin match would this happen. They may have been **** like this before but very VERY rare, but by the ways you guys are going on it was widespread!
    Will it be the same at cork v kerry? I doubt it

jank wrote:
    Only at a dublin match would this happen. They may have been **** like this before but very VERY rare, but by the ways you guys are going on it was widespread!

You only seem to pop up on these threads to take a pop at Dublin fans jank, you know, if I wasn't so trusting, I'd think you were a TROLL...

Your own fans haven't exactly got the best reputation themselves....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭mickd

Funniest thread I have read in ages, imagine skangers playing trumpets, next they will bashing each other over the head with tubas .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

You only seem to pop up on these threads to take a pop at Dublin fans jank, you know, if I wasn't so trusting, I'd think you were a TROLL...

Your own fans haven't exactly got the best reputation themselves....:rolleyes:

In fairness he was responding to this:
    bohsboy wrote:
    Originally Posted by bohsboy

jank wrote:

Bohsboy did say it was uncalled for behaviour by Dublin fans on the Hill.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Also my mate told me on the upper cusack a Kerry fella pumped up on steroids by the look of him hit a 60+ year old Dublin man when he gave out about a refereeing decision!

I find this hard to believe. Did your "mate" say wheter or not he got arrested, plenty of cops and stewards around.

I've never sensed a nasty atmosphere at a GAA match in my life...

Seanies32 wrote:
    In fairness he was responding to this:

Bohsboy did say it was uncalled for behaviour by Dublin fans on the Hill.

Even if he believed Bohsboy (which I don't, I was on the Hill and saw nothing of the sort, reckon he's trolling too) he wasn't there himself and he starts saying "only at a Dublin match, etc". There were other incidents mentioned on this thread, involving bad behaviour by Kerry fans and Sligo fans, yet he says "only at a Dublin match".
    He's a troll and just another one of those anti-Dub posters who are so blinkered they can only see foul play or bad behaviour when its a Dub involved. Probably one of those Cork fans who stood behind Davy Fitzgerald at Munster games and roared the most disgusting personal abuse at him but thought it was just a bit of banter, sure its only a bit of craic boy, not like those dirty Dubs....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Ice_Box

I dont think there is anything wrong with standing up to cheer on your team. You're not at the fecking cinema you know. Im a Kerry man and I had a great time at the match (lower hogan). Dublin and Kerry fans were well behaved before during and after.

Ice_Box wrote:
    I dont think there is anything wrong with standing up to cheer on your team. You're not at the fecking cinema you know. Im a Kerry man and I had a great time at the match (lower hogan). Dublin and Kerry fans were well behaved before during and after.
    I agree with having to stand up if your blocked in front of you (as we were, by the kerry subs standing up) but I dont agree with getting pushed for doing it (as the kerry fan did behind us)

Ice_Box wrote:

It might be ok at Old Trafford but not at Croke Park - not everyone can stand for the whole match, its the reason there are seats. Old and disabled people, short people, kids, all are entitled to watch the match from their seat without having you standing up in front of them. OK, everyone jumps up when their team scores a goal, but sit down again afterwards. If you want to stand, get a terrace ticket and don't be ignorant to those sitting behind you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭frankbrett

So you think Dublin fans are ignorant because they cheered one of their own fans playing the trumpet? How does this make them ignorant? Trumpets, along with various drums, horns and hooters only add to the atmosphere in the ground and therefore should surely be encouraged, no? Don't be ridiculous.

That post really vexed me.

The Dub fan with the trumpet was standing next to me in the Nally Stand during the first half.
    At half time, he walked around to the bottom of the Hogan Stand where there were pockets of Kerry fans and sat amongst them playing c'mon you boys in blue on the trumpet. A Kerry fan from a few rows above ran down and pushed him away and then the stewards escorted him back to the Nally Stand.

i love the way tis the kerry fans that are getting the blame ere....the dubs were no angels at this game i tell you. i was in the corner of the hogan, mostly full of dubs. the incident was where it looked like a dub fan sat in an other dubs seat and he got the cops to come in and move him....end of story.
    I think you'll find its not all the "kerry fans getting the blame ere" Read back there are incidents from both sides. I just wrote about what happened to us when an ignorant kerry fan pushed my boyfriend and called him a w**ker for stanindg up because we were blocked by his teams subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

involved. Probably one of those Cork fans who stood behind Davy Fitzgerald at Munster games and roared the most disgusting personal abuse at him but thought it was just a bit of banter

I was at this match behind the goal, and heard nothing of the sort, I've seen it mentioned all over the internet though. I ain't denying it happened but i have my doubts.

And what exactly do you mean at "munster games", are you saying it happens every time Cork play Clare???? Cop on.

The only small bit of nastiness i have ever seen at a gaa game was when a small group of waterford fans were singing songs about Sean Og been a refugee outside thurles, even then it was only about 10 inbred fools at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

I'll be really saddened if things start to go this way. The fact that fans don't have to be segregated is something everyone who appreciates GAA sports can be proud of.
    This bollox about "I can do what I want" is all too prevalent nowadays & the GAA should have enough stewarding to put a stop to it.
    Likewise, with enough good stewarding, any physical stuff should quickly result in the offenders getting lobbed out. See that happening a few times & maybe the gob****es will think twice.

Its very easy to dismiss users opinion with the word TROLL!

Like being in america, critising the administration is being unpatriotic

Oh an yea we did stand behind davy fitz, gave him some banter(not personal abuse), but when the match was over he appluaded us on the town end thurles, and we did in return. When the match is over, its over!

Just seems there is a much more of a soccer element to the dubs at matchs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Such a load of complete BS.

A kerryman on steroids punching a 60 year old dub ? Yeah ....

jank wrote:
    Its very easy to dismiss users opinion with the word TROLL!

Like being in america, critising the administration is being unpatriotic

Oh an yea we did stand behind davy fitz, gave him some banter(not personal abuse), but when the match was over he appluaded us on the town end thurles, and we did in return. When the match is over, its over!

Just seems there is a much more of a soccer element to the dubs at matchs.[/QUOTE]
    Yeah right.....which is why a kerry fan nearly knocked us over for standing up because we couldnt see?? Cop yourself on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭killeoin

He's a troll and just another one of those anti-Dub posters who are so blinkered they can only see foul play or bad behaviour when its a Dub involved. Probably one of those Cork fans who stood behind Davy Fitzgerald at Munster games and roared the most disgusting personal abuse at him but thought it was just a bit of banter, sure its only a bit of craic boy, not like those dirty Dubs....:rolleyes:

Galwayguy99...Did you ever go to a Clare hurling match before? Do you have any idea what kind of physical and psychological abuse that team brought to a playing pitch? (Munster final replay 1998 being the prime example). The antics on Sunday made the Dubs look like angles compared to what Davy Fitzgerald and co have done and said on the pitch in the past. To use what a few cork fans shouted in ONE match towards Davy Fitzgerald as an example just displays your own bias and ignorance.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

There is always going to be incidents at matches, unfortunately they are getting more common.

you have to consider that there is 80k people so where ever you have that amount of people there is always going to be a few twats.

Hopefully we never go down the route of soccer and segregation, that is something even after 15 years of going across the pond to matches I cannot get used to.

Even last year against the Dubs yes there was plenty of abuse thrown as much from men and women in Mayo jerseys but at least after the match we all could laugh about it and walk out the same door.

Long live GAA and its mixed crowds.

killeoin wrote:
    Galwayguy99...Did you ever go to a Clare hurling match before? Do you have any idea what kind of physical and psychological abuse that team brought to a playing pitch? (Munster final replay 1998 being the prime example). The antics on Sunday made the Dubs look like angles compared to what Davy Fitzgerald and co have done and said on the pitch in the past. To use what a few cork fans shouted in ONE match towards Davy Fitzgerald as an example just displays your own bias and ignorance.

Actually yes, I've been to quite a few Clare matches, and Cork ones too, and Waterford, Tipp, Limerick, Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin etc. Was on the Canal End in 95 when Clare beat Offaly in a great match, the two best displays of full back play I've ever had the privilege to witness, and both in the same game.

I mentioned the abuse of Davy Fitz for this reason - jank and other posters are highlighting alleged incidents of bad behaviour by a few Dublin fans, ignoring those by fans of other counties. I know it was only a few Cork fans who did it, same as its only ever a few Dublin fans who misbehave, or a few Meath fans, or Kerry fans, or wherever they're from. People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. The vast majority of Dublin and other counties' fans are fine people, but there is a minority in every county who will cause trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

doylo0707 wrote:

Bad attitude there altogether lad. It’s attitudes and actions like that of your fellow Kerry fan that has a need for Fan segregation at premiership matches across the water.
    The fact we never had a need for this in Croker is something I for one have always been proud of.

A fan blowing a trumpet to his fellow supporters is now an offense worthy of assault!!!
    It saddens me to hear that from Croke Park regular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

And the thread starts going out of hand, no surprise. Anyway, im gonna stay away from all the bs and just comment on things that arent gonna end up in the thunderdome (or whatever its called).

Jank. As far as i can tell Bohsman agrees with most of what you were saying, yet he never mentioned anything about how widespread or exclusive it happens. Why have a go at him for that?

I didnt personally see anything afterwards, and for the second half i was alot closer to the area of the Hill where the trouble comes up at times. After the game, there were alot of frowning faces, a bit of a chant to get the players back up on their feet and a clap for both teams as they left the field. Im not saying there was no trouble, nor calling anyone a liar, but whatever incidents there were must have been minimal. There should have been none of course tho.

doylo: you seem to have a very twisted way of looking at things. A guy plays a trumpet (he played Cumon You Boys In Blue if i remember rightly), The Hill (Including me) clapped and cheered (as most fans would) and a Kerryman pushes him down some steps........And you call the Dubs on the Hill ignorant??? You look at all sports across the globe and alot of them have drums, trumpets and the likes. We have people here complaining about incidents of people pulling flags off kids and defacing them, people hitting opposing fans and all rightly so, but then you come on and attempt to dignify a man being pushed down some steps simply for oplaying a trumpet??? You really need to get a grip mate. Well done to the Kingdom anyway and hopefully we will see you again next year.

As yop is saying, it is something that is getting more regular. Some people unfortunately cannot simply congratulate the opposing team and fans after a game and it is something that hopefully will not get too serious. How it can be stopped? Well, you can add cameras etc to stadia to route them out, but in the pubs after, you will probably see the same people causing the same trouble. After the game we had some good banter with alot of Kerry supporters. At no point did anyone offend eachother, nor did anyone get serious about what happened in the game, or over the result. Just a bit of playful slagging thrown at us and a bit of Up Cork and the likes back to them (There was also a small mention of the actual game i think :) ). We then wished them well, they wished us hard luck and that was it. Some fans cant do this it seems and it is a sad reflection on todays GAA supporters.

I was gonna type more but my hands are getting tired :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 doylo0707

Let me clarify the situation, the dub was playing his trumpet as the 2nd half was under way, I would have no problem with him playin his instrument at half time or during the warm up, but to continue to play whilst obviously annoying other supporters is just not on, and I defend the kerry fan who "moved" him as he was there for 2 or 3 mins, and calling kerry fans "sheep shagging culchies" is just banter and not ignorant? i'm interested to see how you defend that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Im not going to defend that. Funny you didnt mention that in your original post tho. Wonder why. But how can you defend a guy "moving" in otherwards pushing another fan down steps??

Cop yourself on

Nice come back:D

jank wrote:
    Yeah...good isnt it! :D

are all your 70 odd posts on this board so witty...:rolleyes:

jank wrote:
    I just wish I could be as witty and funny as you jank..:p

jank wrote:
    jank wrote:

Well you've shown your true colours now jank, all you can offer is silly insults. You haven't offered anything to this debate but abuse of Dublin players or fans, and now you descend to personal abuse. One word... TROLL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

Talk about exaggeration and talking things up. As a Cork fan I remember a lot more serious incidents in the past. Cork V Galway in 86 fellas breaking sticks off each other heads at half time on the Hill and a woman taken to hospital after her head was split open by bottles being thrown between opposing fans. That was the last time for a long number of years that opposition fans were allowed together on the Hill for AI Final day. Cork V Galway at a semi final in 83 (i think) where Cork fans charged at the Galway fans for taking their spot behind the goals. I know of one fella at that match who had his arm broken afterwards at fighting between fans at Connolly station, Cork v Kerry again early 80's when Cork fans (again) were throwing bottles at the Gards for taking a ball away from them from the roof of the dressing rooms, Cork v Dublin 83 when there were a lot of Gards on the Hill waiting for Cork fans (who never arrived) to arrive were attacked by the Dub fans. Nothing like that these days.

Fan violence at GAA is a non issue generally speaking these days and talking it up will only serves to make it an issue and IMO make it far more likely to happen. There will always be minor incidents when you 80,000 people in the one place.

I heard about that Galway v Cork match from people that were at it. There were fans throwing apples with razor blades in them!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

Some of the Cork fellas from those days were lunatics alright full of the skinheads or the booth boys as we used to call them. They started following Cork GAA teams around the early 70's and Jimmy Barry Murphy was their hero, who was a skinhead himself at the time. In fairness they also brought a lot of colour with them and started the craze for the foreign flags. Believe it or not they used to rob the US flag from the Hotels around the city and the Polish and Pananiam flags from the ships that used to dock in the city. Couldn't believe it one time going to a match and seeing this skinhead shimmying up the flag pole at the back of a Polish coal ship down the docks trying to rob the flag!:)
    At one of 76 or 78 Ai finals they even starting fighting amongst themselves, something to do with Cork Celtic and Cork Hibs, the two LOI clubs in the city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭frankbrett

Nalced_irl wrote:
    Im not going to defend that. Funny you didnt mention that in your original post tho. Wonder why. But how can you defend a guy "moving" in otherwards pushing another fan down steps??

well the trumpet guy walked from his spot on the nally all the way around the hogan stand and took a seat that wasn't his in the middle of the kerry fans and then started to play his trumpet. the kerry fan ran down the steps to push him -not down the steps as such but away from the seat he had occupied. the stewards then sent trumpet man back to the nally stand