Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The haters are out in full force.

• 25-08-2007 10:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

I see how quite you all were while Bernard was winning, but you all jump at the chance to belittle him when he loses. Saying stuff like he's a "disgrace to irish boxing?" What the hell like?

Bernard got caught - It happens, boxing is an unpredictable sport with an unpredictable outcome. The amount of disrespect on here for someone who has the balls to step in the ring and throw down in the name of Ireland is disgusting.

Anyone who has ever competed in their life in a combat sport knows how hard it is to step into a ring, especially with an undefeated record on your shoulders and 8000 strong to keep happy.

Bernard lost, he will come back. Stop being so bitter.

John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

J.

You and I both know how hard it is to step up the the plate and compete.

And although I don't post in this forum often. But as soon as our media went down the British media route, promoting a half decent fighter into something he was never going to be, we ran the risk of Dunne being knocked on his ass by a 3/4 decent fighter!.

I posted here sometime last year that Dunne had a sh*t defence, wasn't aggressive and was fighting muppets and was I ate alive. So now tonight I stand by those same sentiments.

Having said that, for his supporters and fans I'm truely sorry for his/your loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There is no problem with criticising Bernard's defense, his jaw was questionable for some time - but the comments posted on here is absolutely disgusting.. He trained hard and did what he could. He got caught early and it took his legs out. Once you get caught, it's really hard to get your feet back and your body stiffens up.. Although as a competitor, I'm sure you're also away of this Mairt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

That's sport. Half the people that clap you on the back when your winning are the first to kick you when you lose.

Honestly, I can't say I'm totally surprised that he lost. I don't think he's quite at the top level. But in no way should people be referring to him as a disgrace. Over the last 2 years, he's put boxing back into Irish mainstream sport and given alot of people some great nights. People have short memories.

I agree Vince, Bernard has put boxing back on the map in Ireland and given the chance to boxers like Andy Lee & John Duddy being able to make it back on their homeland. They only fought in the US in the first place because the demand wasn't here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Mairt wrote:
    J.

And although I don't post in this forum often. But as soon as our media went down the British media route, promoting a half decent fighter into something he was never going to be, we ran the risk of Dunne being knocked on his ass by a 3/4 decent fighter!.

I posted here sometime last year that Dunne had a sh*t defence, wasn't aggressive and was fighting muppets and was I ate alive. So now tonight I stand by those same sentiments.

Having said that, for his supporters and fans I'm truely sorry for his/your loss.

well said, he has been fighting crap for 2 years, both himself and opponents, met his match tonight, better fighter, stronger fighter, and most importantly, not as cocky fighter...........european belt, not much but a stage and Dunne let that go to his head, he might come back, doubt it, but best of luck to him. As for Andy.......dont get cocky !.........man will go a long way !

dlofnep wrote:
    There is no problem with criticising Bernard's defense, his jaw was questionable for some time - but the comments posted on here is absolutely disgusting.. He trained hard and did what he could. He got caught early and it took his legs out. Once you get caught, it's really hard to get your feet back and your body stiffens up.. Although as a competitor, I'm sure you're also away of this Mairt.

Of course I am, and I haven't read the comments. TBH I don't bother reading what I think might be rubbish.

Like I said, I'm truely sorry for Dunne and all his supporters.

oleras wrote:
    well said, he has been fighting crap for 2 years, both himself and opponents, met his match tonight, better fighter, stronger fighter, and most importantly, not as cocky fighter...........european belt, not much but a stage and Dunne let that go to his head, he might come back, doubt it, but best of luck to him. As for Andy.......dont get cocky !.........man will go a long way !

In fairness, Pickering wasn't a bad fighter. I do agree Bernard could of fought some higher competition, but that's his management's decision, not his. He did want he could, given the circumstances. Kiko was a wild card, we didn't know much about him other than he was undefeated in pro and amatuer and a heavy hander.. He had never fought anyone of high quality.

Mairt wrote:
    Of course I am, and I haven't read the comments. TBH I don't bother reading what I think might be rubbish.

Like I said, I'm truely sorry for Dunne and all his supporters.

Oops, I meant "aware" lol

That's sport. Half the people that clap you on the back when your winning are the first to kick you when you lose.

Actually, usually their not!.

They're the lads you want to leave you alone. They're the lads who tell you how great you fought (although you lost) and that you'll "only learn something from a defeat" when all you want is for the f*ckers to leave you alone to get your thoughts together.

A loss is sh*t. I was doing good, but my last four fights I'm lost and it sucks big time.

But thats getting off topic.

I'm sure Dunne is surrounded by a fantastic support team, he's not going to sign on the labour tomorrow, and although he'll lick his wounds for awhile I'm sure he'll come back again with (again) a half decent pro career.

Guys, lets just be happy the lad isn't bloody hurt!.

While alot of Irish pride has been dented the lad still has all his faculties about him!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 royboy27

guys i agree with mairt totally dunne was found out tonight although he didnt get into any rythm andy lee though is a diff class

I agree - Andy Lee is the future of Irish boxing. he'll be fighting for a world title within 18 months IMO.

dlofnep wrote:
    In Kiko was a wild card, we didn't know much about him other than he was undefeated in pro and amatuer and a heavy hander...

he was the #1 contender.....Dunne knew what to expect, not like he didnt turn up and he was met with a journey man, i think Dunne just met a better fighter, some might say too early..........some might say about time........im in the latter !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Mairt wrote:
    J.

Key point there! Its the Irish media who is a disgrace for the way they have handled Dunne, and RTE especially. They way they built Dunee up into a top fighter was ridiculous, but hey it packed the point out for substandard fights at 100 quid a pop for tickets and kept ratingshigh and I guess that is all they really cared about. Lets see how they stick by Bernard now!!!!

Although you really have to question the quality of the pundits when you hear dowling make a comment like Tyson was not a skillful fighter:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: Did he really say that or was I hearing things?

oleras wrote:
    he was the #1 contender.....Dunne knew what to expect, not like he didnt turn up and he was met with a journey man, i think Dunne just met a better fighter, some might say too early..........some might say about time........im in the latter !

#1 contender means nothing in europe.. kiko had not fought one decent or credible opponent prior to fighting bernard.. check his record on boxrec if you don't believe me. It's very easy for someone to look good against scurbs, which is why it's very hard to judge them and that is what makes them a wild card.

Can I lighten the mood here for a second...

I attemtped to come back to this discussion after reading a PM, went down the 'sports' drop down menu and clicked on 'Bowling' instead of 'boxing'!!!.

Now there'a tough bunch of ol' whores!..

i hate dial up....lol

double post

Babybing wrote:
    Key point there! Its the Irish media who is a disgrace for the way they have handled Dunne, and RTE especially. They way they built Dunne up into a top fighter was ridiculous,

What did you expect them to do? It was in everbody's interest (RTE, Dunne, Peters, Hunk Dories) to promote Dunne in the best way possible. That's what promoting is all about. Thats how you sell tickets and thats how you get people interested.

Obviously the **** has hit the fan tonight. But still from a broader perspective, hundreads of thousands of people have watched each of his fights on RTE over the last 2 years. He's brought an interest back into boxing for causal Irish fans and I think thats a positive thing even if he was promoted as something he was not in some peoples eyes (including mine).

What did you expect them to do? It was in everbody's interest (RTE, Dunne, Peters, Hunk Dories) to promote Dunne in the best way possible. That's what promoting is all about. Thats how you sell tickets and thats how you get people interested.

Eh show support for him becuase he is Irish but also report on events objectively and fairly and dont take every opportunity to make us believe he will be a future world champion.

The whole set up was a joke from day 1 and was unfair on Dunne and the average punter who had to shell out substantial amounts of hard earned cash to see Dunne fight mostly lacklustre opposition.

dlofnep wrote:
    .. kiko had not fought one decent or credible opponent prior to fighting bernard.. .

Shocking, but same could be said for Dunne.

Babybing, I do agree Bernard's career was slow - but I do believe that Bernard was to fight Molitor had he of beaten Kiko.

oleras wrote:
    Shocking, but same could be said for Dunne.

In fairness.. Dunne's opponents last 5 fighter's had records of 16-1-1, 19-4-0, 29-4-0, 15-1-1 and 20-6-3 - this is compared to Kiko's opposition - 1-12-0, 39-25-4, 6-15-0, 1-7-0 and 16-11-0.

Come on man - a little bit of perspective.

Babybing wrote:
    Eh show support for him becuase he is Irish but also report on events objectively and fairly and dont take every opportunity to make us believe he will be a future world champion.

But see boxing is different to golf or tennis in that sense. Its all about promotion and building your stars to a casual audience to ultimately sell tickets and get people watching. It happens everyday of the week in boxing and MMA.

And lots of people bought into the hype. They sold tickets. Its been great for boxing over here.Again I don't see anything wrong with that. I wish it had turned out better for Bernard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

dlofnep wrote:
    I see how quite you all were while Bernard was winning, but you all jump at the chance to belittle him when he loses. Saying stuff like he's a "disgrace to irish boxing?" What the hell like?

Bernard got caught - It happens, boxing is an unpredictable sport with an unpredictable outcome. The amount of disrespect on here for someone who has the balls to step in the ring and throw down in the name of Ireland is disgusting.

Anyone who has ever competed in their life in a combat sport knows how hard it is to step into a ring, especially with an undefeated record on your shoulders and 8000 strong to keep happy.

Bernard lost, he will come back. Stop being so bitter.

John.

spot on mate. Fair dues to Martinez, the better man on the night. The world of sport is a topsy turvey one.
    I hope Ben recovers well. Best of luck to him, he's a good guy.

Jon wrote:
    I hope Ben recovers well. Best of luck to him, he's a good guy.

Nigel or Big ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

yep, getting his head right is going to be tough. Let's hope with good people around him that he'll be able to do it. Martinez is a really great sportsman and i hope he goes far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

i cant believe you have started your own thread about this
    i'll stay out of this one i think

you're about an hour late.

lezizi wrote:
    i cant believe you have started your own thread about this
    i'll stay out of this one i think

You do understand the concept of staying out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

i agree op- it's ****ty how people kick the man cos he's down. Sure he lost badly last night. anybody can get Ko'd it's happened to many greats.
    unfortunatly it happened at teh start of the fight. had it not happened like that we could have seen dunne outbox and win and then these muppets would be "go bernard".
    I think Dunne is still a great boxer - he hasn't got any worse cos of a loss and he will be back and imo still challenge for a world title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

For the most part the old adage is true... if you haven`t lost you haven`t fought anyone. Obviously there are exceptions but I think for a fighter of Dunne's talent it is pretty spot on. So he got beat, who cares? Kiko came out like a steamroller and rolled right over Dunne. Does that mean if they fought ten times the same thing would happen? Not imo.

I thought that Dunne's biggest problem lasts night was his ego. When he got knocked down the second time you could see he was pissed off and he got back up and started swinging with kiko which was a big mistake. maybe I`m wrong about Kiko but it was my contention watching the first few seconds that if Dunne just calmed down and made it to round twwo he would be ok and Kiko would run out of steam.

But its understandable he is still relatively young and hopefully he will learn from that. As for some of the other things said here on the other threads:

The national disgrace thing is just ridiculous and I assume was a troll so it probably shouldn`t be given anymore consideration.

Another thing that annoyed me though was the implication that if you had never been a boxer that your opinion is somehow not valid. BS I say. Some ppls opinions weren`t valid because they were trolls and idiots snot because they had never boxed! I think you will find that for most sports, the real experts are actually the ppl that sit back and analyse it. Often time actual sports ppl have very little to say.

I also think that giving out about Bernard's promotion and the hype is a bit stupid too. Npbody besides boxing die-hards cared about the sport in this country until he came along. Why shouldn`t we hype up our own fighters? Its part of the fun of being a fan. I`m firmly on the Bernard Dunne bandwagon (and many others) and thats what makes it fun. Sure I can see his weaknesses as a fighter. But I also think that he has been great for boxing in this country. The only caveat being the absurdly high price of a ticket to lasts nights boxing. E75 to the cheapest seats!:eek:

I expect Bernard to come back improved and better for this loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

i agree op- it's ****ty how people kick the man cos he's down. Sure he lost badly last night. anybody can get Ko'd it's happened to many greats.
    unfortunatly it happened at teh start of the fight. had it not happened like that we could have seen dunne outbox and win and then these muppets would be "go bernard".
    I think Dunne is still a great boxer - he hasn't got any worse cos of a loss and he will be back and imo still challenge for a world title.

Part of that is the hype that goes with him unfortunately. And he does have a responsibility in that.

But he lost and he got caught early. It doesn't suddenly make him a bad fighter but it certainly does entitle people to look a bit more closely at him. Whether they know anything about boxing or not is irrelevant. 8,000 of them paid money expecting him to win, rightly or wrongly and countless others sat in front of their TVs.
    After all he and RTE have helped created the "image". As for the fight well , he got caught but could he not have avoided it being as good as we think he is?
    He'll be back in time. Losing can knock you down for good or make you stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I was at the fight last night, and it was my first ever boxing match.

I went to see it as I am a big fan of Andy Lee and Dunne.

Saw many great fights, and the atmosphere was electric the moments leading up to the Dunne fight.

I was appalled to see everyone leave when Dunne went down, i admit i was absolutely shell shocked and so was everyone else. But i felt so sorry for Dunne as he must of felt like shít to look around and see the point half empty.

I myself stayed back and applauded him, i just really hope he can come back from this, even though it will be extremely tough. Ive liked him from the first time i saw him fight and i admit i myself got a bit caught up in the hype around him, however i really want to hear some news from him in the coming days, i want to know what his plan is. I hope the media take it easy on him over the coming days.

Good luck to Bernard and i think we should be thankful for the way he has put Irish boxing back on the map and hopefully we will see him back in the ring soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

A lot of people are coming out and saying they knew it would happen. Easy to say after the fight. This is what I said over a month ago on the now closed thread::

"The irish (Dublin especially) Boxing public have been big-upping Dunn a lot. I think he is way overrated. His punch really lets him down. At world class they will just walk through his punches and hurt him. If martinez is world class he will beat Dunn. I am not saying he will, I don't know him; but Dunn will never be world champ."

What I said has come true. I cannot say that Martinez is world class yet, he will need to prove himself in much more difficult fights. Dunne may as well just retire. He will never make it.

Well Dunne can improve, theres no reason why he can't. He knows he got beat, he know realises that he has weaknesses so hoepfully he will improve on them and we will see him back. Just because he lost one fight in his career does not mean he should give up,no way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

dlofnep wrote:

disgrace to Irish boxing?
    Someone actually said that? I’m not going to claim to be his biggest fan, I’ve always had a problem with his defence and such low hands, especially for a guy standing at a mere 5’7, but Dunne is far from a disgrace.

He got caught cold.. Simple as! I mean if the guy was dominated for 5 -7 rounds before being put down, maybe some of the more colourful comments would have more justification.
    The fact reminds, he wasn’t destroyed by a better fighter, it was bad luck, plain and simple.

It’s not about who’s better on the night, it’s about who’s better at that spilt second.

Everyone knows a fighter learns a lot more from his defeats then his victories, hopefully Dunne is no different.

Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

menoscemo wrote:
    What I said has come true. I cannot say that Martinez is world class yet, he will need to prove himself in much more difficult fights. Dunne may as well just retire. He will never make it.

Retire ? , wtf he can still come back and at the very least become European champion again at Super Bantamweight or Featherweight and with the right opponent(someone feather fisted) could still win a version of the World title .

This is Dunne's job , this is what he does for a living and he should give it up just because he can only go to the top of Europe not the whole World ?

Trevor 5'7 is actually quite tall for a Super Bantamweight .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

woooo232 wrote:
    I think you will find that for most sports, the real experts are actually the ppl that sit back and analyse it. Often time actual sports ppl have very little to say.

That may be true for some sports (I can't think of any though) but it's certainly not true for boxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Big Ears wrote:
    Retire ? , wtf he can still come back and at the very least become European champion again at Super Bantamweight or Featherweight and with the right opponent(someone feather fisted) could still win a version of the World title .

This is Dunne's job , this is what he does for a living and he should give it up just because he can only go to the top of Europe not the whole World ?

Well, yes actually. Obviously he probably won't retire as he can make more money boxing. But you know as well as I do that he just doen't have the class to be a 'genuine' world champion and the things he lacks i.e. power and chin, will never be taught to him.
    Wayne McCullough was (and probably still is) a much better fighter than Dunne ever will be. He has done much more for Irish boxing. I guess all this Dublin based Hype has rubbed off badly on none dublin people (and Ilive in Dublin so I should know). Watching the fight in the pub last night I was surprised to see how many people dislike the guy and took glee in him getting sparked. His cocky and arrogant attitude does not go down well with people outside the pale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

Obviously the **** has hit the fan tonight. But still from a broader perspective, hundreads of thousands of people have watched each of his fights on RTE over the last 2 years. He's brought an interest back into boxing for causal Irish fans and I think thats a positive thing even if he was promoted as something he was not in some peoples eyes (including mine).

thats ridiculous,they handled it rubbish and that a fact,he was promoted as a guy who could be champion in a few year,which he never would,tbh european titles mean nothing,the real deal is the world,where you get the mexicans etc.rte did everything to build the pressure on dunne and his arrogance didnt help,as he had no right to be arrogant as the first time he fight a half decent fighter he get knocked out,people are saying that happens,which is true but had kiko not dunne it(excuse the pun) someone else would have.imo a half decent fighter who was being piped as something he wasnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

I was at the fight last night, and it was my first ever boxing match.

I went to see it as I am a big fan of Andy Lee and Dunne.

Saw many great fights, and the atmosphere was electric the moments leading up to the Dunne fight.

I was appalled to see everyone leave when Dunne went down, i admit i was absolutely shell shocked and so was everyone else. But i felt so sorry for Dunne as he must of felt like shít to look around and see the point half empty.

I myself stayed back and applauded him, i just really hope he can come back from this, even though it will be extremely tough. Ive liked him from the first time i saw him fight and i admit i myself got a bit caught up in the hype around him, however i really want to hear some news from him in the coming days, i want to know what his plan is. I hope the media take it easy on him over the coming days.

Good luck to Bernard and i think we should be thankful for the way he has put Irish boxing back on the map and hopefully we will see him back in the ring soon.

i think it says it all,the fact that they got up and left,people without a clue,whos expectations were rediculous,it was gona happen without a doubt

i'm gonna ask you - where is this arrogance you all speak of? - I always thought of dunne as quite a affable guy and respectful to his fellow boxers. i see no arrogance. maybe a little cocky but which boxer isn't.

But if being confident of doing the job is arrogance - i guess we're all ****ed so.

Dunne promises to bounce back

http://rte.ie/sport/boxing/2007/0826/dunne.html

i hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Hopefully he can get his head sorted as this fight will have damaged him much more mentally than physically .

I wouldn't like to see him out too long , back within 4/5 months and have been working big time on his defence during that time . I think it's a case of when Alex Arthur got destroyed by Michael Gomez now , fix the defence and slowly build your way back up .

Salem Bouaita([URL]="http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=6586&cat=boxer"][/URL]) should he be able to defend his EU title in his next fight or Isaac Ward(http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=128299&cat=boxer) would be good opponents . Especially Ward who will come forward throwing punches but doesn't have the power to do too much damage .

Or maybe even Galway born Billy Corcoran([URL]="http://www.boxrec.com/list_bouts.php?human_id=132503&cat=boxer"][/URL]) up at Featherweight .

i'm gonna ask you - where is this arrogance you all speak of? - I always thought of dunne as quite a affable guy and respectful to his fellow boxers. i see no arrogance. maybe a little cocky but which boxer isn't.

But if being confident of doing the job is arrogance - i guess we're all ****ed so.

You must be joking, he is (was?) completely arrogant, My brohter trains in the same club as him and I always love cheering any Irish sportsman/team so for all intents and purposes I should have loved Dunne and been a huge fan but I just found it so hard to warm to the guy,becuase of his attitude and the way he carried himself.

His showboating in the ring when he clearly was'nt that good, his general attitude when being interviewed and some of his comments on tv shows.

As most people said all boxers are confident in their ability but Dunne was completely arrogant.

Babybing wrote:
    You must be joking, he is (was?) completely arrogant,
    not joking in any way

Babybing wrote:
    His showboating in the ring when he clearly was'nt that good, his general attitude when being interviewed and some of his comments on tv shows.

As most people said all boxers are confident in their ability but Dunne was completely arrogant.

can't claim to have seen every single interview but any i've seen he has been fine - confident but not arrogant.
    The showboating / appearances etc... are must do's in the boxing game.
    the bigger the profile the bigger the purse. After all it is his job.
    But have to say i disagree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

ireland is a nation of begrudgers,.........

most irish people are misreable, hating,negative ,envious, money hungry people...... im irish born and bred and feel no loyalty to anyboody because they are irish. the average attitude of irish people today pitiful.

they run you down for anything they can ,... no morals, and they hate anybody else succeeding if they cant.

not everybody is like that , but its the general main line theme of most.

if you win the lotto this week, you'll have a huge number of people cursing you and very few genuinely happy for you.

ive been around different cultures/races/societies in various parts of the world and only then did i see the bad attitude of the irish , when i had something to compare them against.

the haters are everywhere,... lets hear a few people say something positive and non-argumentitive. if not in favour of dunne, then martinez !

Pretty accurate assessment B-hop. ^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭slemons

lol @ B-hopkins. doesnt that make you a begrudger of begrudgers?

i was happy dunne lost to be honest. He's an average fighter at best. He doenst have a knockout in him and cant take a punch. Add to that he's extremely cocky, bordering arrogant, i think you can see why ppl are happy he lost.

He can come back but he has to shut his mouth & his ears and start training seriously. Look at his body type/composition compared to his opponent or wayne mcullogh. Wayne was made of steel cables. You could see every muscle and sinew. Dunne is a limp looking haysop. No muscle, no hardness in him. I know boxing isnt a bodybuilding contest but you just know by the look of a fella if he's right or not and Dunne is miles away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

BH, being Irish has nothing got to do with this so why are you using it as a excuse to spout your self-loathing and racist crap?

Do you often make statements containing the words "is a nation of" or is it just when you run down your own country?

A lot of people wanted to see Dunne take a tumble because there are views that he was being promoted as something he was not, had his fights hand picked and had started to believe in his own hype.

When that happens, people will take a bit of glee when the fall comes because, in their eyes, firstly, it's fair, and secondly, they get "proven right". That, unfortunately, is human nature - it is not restricted to Irish people.

One extreme example is Naz: How many people took delight in that? Where the English or Yemenese saying "god, we're an awful shower of w@ankers because some of us were delighted to see him get beaten". It wouldn't come into it because it's sport and sporting fans are fickle and people are entitled to their opinions without being branded "a nation of" anything.

Please keep your racist generalisations to yourself and just talk about boxing on a boxing forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I'm not a mega fan of Bernard Dunne but I like him in general as a bloke and think he's an ok fighter albeit with a few obvious limitations. I would be uncertain whether he can reach ultimate greatness on a world scale and to even count him as an Irish great would be way to premature even if we were to ignore this weekend's result. What happened will have shocked him but it is a great lesson to be learned especially in this manner and with this timing on his way up when he still has plenty of time to rectify the records. He needed this type of loss - it can be chalked down to a bad night in the ring (everyone is entitled to one) and it will wake him up a little. I'm sure he'll now improve to become a fighter befitting the hype that preceded him.