Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wow!...90 seconds

• 25-08-2007 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭

What a beating! Dunne never even got his feet set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

He was too cocky going into it imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Blink and you miss it, wayyyyy too cocky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,395 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Nothing to do with cocky. He just got hit hard and fast.

Nice career he had there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

That's what he gets for being so cocky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Well, cockiness is his thing. Don't think that's why he got beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭sabrina99

balls was going to back martinez at 5/2 a few minutes ago but decieded against it,
    he was way too arrogant anyway.

zuutroy wrote:
    Well, cockiness is his thing. Don't think that's why he got beaten.

Martinez was just stronger and quicker imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

86 to be precise!

I don't know about Dunne being too cocky, if anything I thought he looked nervous when the bell went.

I can see why they call Martinez the miniature Mike Tyson. The guy knows how to throw a punch.

Also thought that it was quite ironic that the crowd were chanting Olé Olé Olé to egg on the Irish guy fighting against a Spaniard.

Classy enough interview. Every boxer talks themself up. As he said, the true test starts now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

sabrina99 wrote:
    balls was going to back martinez at 5/2 a few minutes ago

I went for that one ;) lol

Disaster for Bernard :( Yer man just came at him hard and fast, Bernard couldn't do a thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I keft a great party to come home and watch what i thought would be a tremendous battle.. sh1te anyway

Onkle wrote:
    I keft a great party to come home and watch what i thought would be a tremendous battle.. sh1te anyway

Go back to the party dude!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Jaysus, wasn't expecting that.

Interesting to hear that Martinez's people had him at 66 - 1 for a first round KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

the sad, but true, fact is that Bernard has no chin and no defence.

He has not fought one opponent so far who was good enough to expose that. I knew he would eventually fight that opponent Im just surprised it was martinez (although I thought twice when I seen the size of the guy:eek: )

I never really warmed to Dunne the way most did but it is said when an Irishman gets beaten like that.

On a brighter note though Andy Lee looked class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

TheGooner wrote:
    Go back to the party dude!!!!

Coulodn't be arsed now.

On the cockiness, does anybody know a good fighter who isn't very cocky? It's part and parcel of being a fighter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Dunne & dusted:D ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Big Ears

136 seconds actually despite what Darragh Maloney said .

2 mins and 16 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

hope the dubs last about 10 seconds longer tomorrow :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

evil_seed wrote:
    Dunne & dusted:D ;):p
    God I hate Jimmy Magee........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

DaveMcG wrote:
    God I hate Jimmy Magee........................
    Jimmy Magee is a legend, in the earlier fight he started saying things like, "for those of you watching in colour....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭mad m

10grand@66/1 for the ringside team,wow! Don't mind Dunne,I pity the bookie :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

mad m wrote:
    10grand@66/1 for the ringside team,wow! Don't mind Dunne,I pity the bookie :)

Never ever ever ever pity a bookie...;)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I'd say the sponsors would have been p!ssed it was such a short fight. I had barely dat down and it was over, was looking forward to a decent brawl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭lushballs

You need to be cocky to box. I think Dunne got caught up in the hype and distracted about putting on a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭masseyno9

Onkle wrote:
    Coulodn't be arsed now.

On the cockiness, does anybody know a good fighter who isn't very cocky? It's part and parcel of being a fighter

Ricky Hatton isn't overly cocky. He's confident, but not arrogant like dunne. And even if he was cocky and arrogant he could probably get away with it because he's one of the best in the world, not a european champ, as dunne was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Im going to hedge a bet that most of you are Man U fans. Its just the whole sh1t attitude, the complete contempt for anything that is going through a bad patch, the glory hunting. ****, id say back last winter you were all on the Soccer forum spouting "Ireland are a disgrace, I hope San Marino win tonight" bollix. The man went 26 fights unbeaten. Something has to give eventually. Mike Tyson was defeated by Douglas in what, 1990? Ah sure, hes been pure ****e since that night hasnt he :rolleyes: Its an awful night for Dunne and I felt the hurt in his post bout interview, tragic stuff, hes down but hes not out. I thank god none of you were in the point, as instead of a "hard luck" applause he would have been booed out for a mere misjudgement.

*from my post in another seemingly dead thread, in particular i want the last question answered*

Back in school i was a pretty well regarded brawler when it came to playground fights over whatever petty issue we had. Got into a verbal with a lad with his left arm in a cast at the time, thought it would be easy but he whacked me with a fine right hook at the start and I never recovered, fight lasted about 3 minutes but i never regained myself. Absoloutely terrible for Dunne and I couldnt believe it was over so fast. He will be back, he was underprepared but he will be back (unlike the predictions of some overweight armchair pundit gob****es in the pub "ah hes finished, hes a load of ****e", it was probably the first Dunne bout they ever bothered watching)

Did something happen at the beginning though? The sound in the pub was awful but if we heard correct, the announcer announced Bernard and there was then about a 2 minute gap between that and his enterence Whole atmosphere reminded me of Ronaldos anti climactic performance against the French in 1998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

shane86 wrote:
    . The man went 26 fights unbeaten.

come on, it proves he was fighting nobodies

Martinez was the first fighter that actually threw a few punches at him and look what happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭masseyno9

I thought the whole 2 minute gap thing was Dunne trying to shake Martinez by making him wait in the ring and have him cool down etc before the bell. Could be wrong though.

For the record, i hope Dunne comes back from this. Never been his biggest fan due to his cockiness, but hope he returns with a more reserved attitude. If/when he becomes world champ, then (IMO) he can be cocky as he has earned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

AdrianII wrote:
    come on, it proves he was fighting nobodies

Martinez was the first fighter that actually threw a few punches at him and look what happened

Nobodies? Ah yeah sure remember Walstad, total ****, couldnt hit a slap :rolleyes: To be a nobody in the world of professional boxing you have to be a hell of alot better than the thousands of boxers dreaming of even making it to that level.

Have you ever watched any of his bouts or just noticed his existence when he started showing off his belt at football matches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

martinez looks a class act. dunne got taken in by the atmosphere and was a bit over excited and went straight into him and left himself wide open, instead of sticking to his fight plan. not sure if this is the end of the road for dunne now, but we'll see if he can bounce back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I was at it last night, im absolutely devastated, i expected a really good fight (and a dunne win). I never saw so many people leave at once, just shows the amount of people who are 'true' fans. Felt really sorry for Bernard, i really hope he comes back from this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Heinrich

I was at it last night, im absolutely devastated, i expected a really good fight (and a dunne win). I never saw so many people leave at once, just shows the amount of people who are 'true' fans. Felt really sorry for Bernard, i really hope he comes back from this.

Most of these fans paid big bucks for the main event! 90 secs...

Do you blame them. Who said there was a thin line deviding loyalty and stupidity?

well if your going to pay big bucks for one fight, thats a bit silly. There were many good fights on, and i made sure i got alot of bang for my buck. The Lee fight and the Magee one were both excellent.
    Pity about Dunne, but i stayed back and applauded him and the new champion as many others did thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

At least we got a good fight outta Andy Lee.

Heinrich wrote:
    Most of these fans paid big bucks for the main event! 90 secs...

Do you blame them. Who said there was a thin line deviding loyalty and stupidity?

That's the best undercard we've had in Ireland for 10 years , if people just payed for the Dunne fight then hard luck but that's what can happen when you're not a boxing fan and just support 1 fighter(it'll happen to Amir Khan's cronies pretty soon) .

Dunne fought the best 3 fighters in Europe in his last 4 fights , Martinez , Pickering and Walsatd . You can't fight what does not exist .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Can't say I can claim to have seen many of Dunne's fights but last night was a farce ! I mean WTF? Altho the other lad was the same weight was built like a tank compared to Dunne but for it all to be over in a flash was surely a major embarassment for any boxer, must have been the quickest fight in recent years? He claims he was caught cold, what was he expecting :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

While a certain amount of cockiness is needed to be a boxer you still need some good boxing ability to back it up.

It was Dunne's cockiness that knocked him out. The ref even told him to put up his hands and he didnt listen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭johnathan woss

I wonder how many of these new boxing fans are like the "lifelong munster rugby fans" from 2 years ago that had never touched a rugby ball in their life ?

Face it the majority of Irish sports fans are a disgrace. Look at the people who "love man united", are "huge football fans", etc and probably couldn't tell you the name of their nearest league of ireland team, let alone any of the players.

Regarding Andy Lee giving us a good fight, I thought it was a bit distasteful. His opponent had fought in a bout a week ago for God's sake ! I know pro-boxing is a cut-throat business but he had no business being in that ring with Lee, let's be honest.

Sizzler wrote:
    surely a major embarassment for any boxer, must have been the quickest fight in recent years?

That probably wasn't even the quickest fight this week .
    From Thursday to Saturday at least 21 professional fights ended in the first round and once all the results are in from last night that will probably be closer to 25/26 .

I wonder how many of these new boxing fans are like the "lifelong munster rugby fans" from 2 years ago that had never touched a rugby ball in their life ?

You can't blame people for watching whats on TV. I'm not a huge boxing fan but when its served to me on a plate I enjoy it. Same with the cricket. You can be a fan of sport without taking an in-depth interest in every single sport you watch. There's 60k people in Croke Park now that probably wouldnt know how to get to Parnell Park. If Dunne's fights raise the profile of boxing then it can't be a bad thing regardless of what the old boys club says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

shane86 wrote:
    Nobodies? Ah yeah sure remember Walstad, total ****, couldnt hit a slap :rolleyes: To be a nobody in the world of professional boxing you have to be a hell of alot better than the thousands of boxers dreaming of even making it to that level.

Have you ever watched any of his bouts or just noticed his existence when he started showing off his belt at football matches?
    banned for using homophobic epitaph. That language will not be tolerated on the Sports forums

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

finally the irish public get their wake up call!!

he was never goin to be world champ...he's too frail, and now too old:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Action gets underway after 6minutes.

Only watched the footage today, after reading much of the comments.

To the casual fan (like myself) he seems to get caught a bit cold, and was unlucky imo, who knows what would have happened if he made it to round 2.

Boxing is built on hype, so you can't blame him and his promoters for riding the crest of a wave, generating huge interest in Irish boxing, but this is hardly the death of it, merely a setback.

As someone mentioned, the ManYoo/Glory Hunter mentality exists in every sport, it just seems the Irish variant have the inside track of begrudging success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

zabbo wrote:

Action gets underway after 6minutes.

Only watched the footage today, after reading much of the comments.

To the casual fan (like myself) he seems to get caught a bit cold, and was unlucky imo, who knows what would have happened if he made it to round 2.

I have heard this again and again since last night. "He was unlucky", "he was caught cold".

Thats bull tbh. His defence was always poor and he clearly does not take a punch well. He was gonna get hit hard at some stage of the fight and it would have had the same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Babybing wrote:
    I have heard this again and again since last night. "He was unlucky", "he was caught cold".

Thats bull tbh. His defence was always poor and he clearly does not take a punch well. He was gonna get hit hard at some stage of the fight and it would have had the same result.

Well with my lack of technical knowledge on boxing, I thought it inappropriate to knock him from that point of view.

Yes, he was going to get hit at some stage (I'm guessing he would of knew this as well) but for it to happen so quickly into the 1st round, and for him to have no answer, I would deem this unlucky for him.

/Shrugs

I guess my first instinct would be to wish any Irish sportsman well, and hope he can bounce back.

Man i hate watching that....

Thought I'd post this as the first round isn't all that dissimilar to Saturday nights.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PeEABJSpKQ
    If Joe Cortez had stopped the fight in the first(which he could have done) Juan Manuel Marquez would have been labelled as having a china chin .

While I do think Dunne has a weak chin , I just thought I'd post an example of someone being caught cold , or having not warmed to someones power(Pacquiao landed just as clean later in the fight and it didn't have the same effect)

The difference is Marquez got through the first round , sorted out his defence and for long periods boxed Pacquiao's ears off to claim(what was imo) a deserved draw .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Big Ears wrote:
    Thought I'd post this as the first round isn't all that dissimilar to Saturday nights.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PeEABJSpKQ
    If Joe Cortez had stopped the fight in the first(which he could have done) Juan Manuel Marquez would have been labelled as having a china chin .

While I do think Dunne has a weak chin , I just thought I'd post an example of someone being caught cold , or having not warmed to someones power(Pacquiao landed just as clean later in the fight and it didn't have the same effect)

The difference is Marquez got through the first round , sorted out his defence and for long periods boxed Pacquiao's ears off to claim(what was imo) a deserved draw .

its a different story because dunne has been out of his tree by punchers like voronin and down before whereas marquez hadnt. everyone knew his chin was a question mark. with marquez and pacman, everyone knew about pacmans power and it would have been attributed to getting caught cold, not having a glass chin. why? because marquez had never been hurt badly before and had stepped up to world class level. dunne hadn't. sure he got dropped in a fight and lost to valdez in america and got wobbled a few times there for gods sake (i have the fight).

thats a very bad comparison/

akindoc wrote:
    its a different story because dunne has been out of his tree by punchers like voronin and down before whereas marquez hadnt. everyone knew his chin was a question mark. with marquez and pacman, everyone knew about pacmans power and it would have been attributed to getting caught cold, not having a glass chin. why? because marquez had never been hurt badly before and had stepped up to world class level. dunne hadn't. sure he got dropped in a fight and lost to valdez in america and got wobbled a few times there for gods sake (i have the fight).

thats a very bad comparison/

Both fighters stepping up to a much higher level , Marquez had been fighting at World level but nowhere near Pacquiao . Both were going in with much bigger punchers than they had ever faced . Both had planned on outboxing their opponent(who would probably be going for a knockout) going in .
    Marquez had been down before in his career(twice) , as had Dunne(once) .
    Both were knocked down 3 times in the first round .

The difference is Marquez survived and showed what he can do after the first , while Dunne did not . Marquez was knocked down pretty heavily by Barrera recently , his chin is fairly good , but he can be hurt and can be dropped .

Also welcome back to the forum , it's been a long time since you were around .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭akindoc

Big Ears wrote:
    Both fighters stepping up to a much higher level , Marquez had been fighting at World level but nowhere near Pacquiao . Both were going in with much bigger punchers than they had ever faced . Both had planned on outboxing their opponent(who would probably be going for a knockout) going in .
    Marquez had been down before in his career(twice) , as had Dunne(once) .
    Both were knocked down 3 times in the first round .

The difference is Marquez survived and showed what he can do after the first , while Dunne did not . Marquez was knocked down pretty heavily by Barrera recently , his chin is fairly good , but he can be hurt and can be dropped .

Also welcome back to the forum , it's been a long time since you were around .

thanks.

i guess it was just the comparison of dunne and marquez that i kind of took a heed to as I rate marquez 10 times higher than dunne, although dunne isn't a bad fighter at all.

the comparisons are there i guess. i see walshb also argued when you compared barrera vs jones with dunne. i see now that you are not at all inferring that dunne is in any was as good as barrera or marquez and that was my problem.

marquez proved himself by getting up after the 3rd knockdown by pacman. do you think dunne could have turned it around? surely not. it seemed as though you were inferring that dunne might have been able to go on if it was allowed to go on but im not sure. his first words in the corner should make it obvious he couldn't continue, "is it over or what?".

however one good thing about dunne is he has us all talking. this loss can be a good thing. it can make or break him. at the time i said to myself, "he'll never be the same again", but maybe he'll be even better. if he fights kiko in a rematch (ireland would be behind him) and wins, he'll go on to be a world champ i'd say.

by the way, i've seen you pop up on some other boards. try fightbeat.com it's a great board imo.