Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"You look very young for your age!"

• 24-08-2007 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭

OK... recently a common situation has come to light which irritates the arse of me.

I am 23 years old... turning 24 in December and yet i've been told i look young by loads of people. I know i do look young but being told it can often have this irritating feeling of degradation in it.

I work with computers mainly and i interact with people a lot. Over the last couple of months, i have had numerous comments like:

"Are you a netwhiz-kid too?" (eurgh... whiz-kid?! :mad:)
    "Does your mommy know you're working?" (i'll admit i laughed along with the person at the time at the slight jokey dig, and then pictured tiny daggers stabbing said person in the eye)

I suppose there's no real way to sugar coat saying it!

Anyone else face a similar issue regularly which is an ever increasing irritating and altogether condescending little pet peeve of mine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

No. I age badly.
    You don't; boo****inghoo for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

basquille wrote:
    OK... recently a common situation has come to light which irritates the arse of me.

I am 23 years old... turning 24 in December and yet i've been told i look young by loads of people. I know i do look young but being told it can often have this irritating feeling of degradation in it.

I work with computers mainly and i interact with people a lot. Over the last couple of months, i have had numerous comments like:

"Does your mommy know you're working?" (i'll admit i laughed along with the person at the time at the slight jokey dig, and then pictured tiny daggers stabbing said person in the eye)

Anyone else face a similar issue regularly which is an ever increasing irritating and altogether condescending little pet peeve of mine?

Nods, I am turning 27 next month and a person I am working for thought I was turning 22! :mad: I'm a girl so it is complimentary, still tho, its a bit weird to have folk say I have a baby face I'm nearly 30 ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

basquille wrote:

Grow a beard or smig.

I get that whiz-kid the whole time (IT too) and it is the most annoying thing to hear - to me to sounds like a derogatory comment.

axer wrote:
    Grow a beard or smig.

And what will I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

It's more of a personal rant than anything.. but i suppose it does get to me!

And there's only so much of "just imagine how good you'll look at 50?" ... balls to that.. just because i look young now doesn't meant 30 years of drinking and late nights won't age me horribly!
    axer wrote:
    Grow a beard or smig
    I've had variations of both. Both don't make me look older... they just make me look like a bum!

TheGooner wrote:
    And what will I do?
    Cope with the beardrash.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im was told the opposite dude when i was young and now im at the age that everyone told me i was 10 years ago.

** how the sands have time have ravaged my good looks! :(

** I'm still a ride tho! ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People give me all sorts of different ages, from older to younger then I am, of course I'm not going to say what age I am :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I'm 24 and I get it a fair bit too. I used to hate it but now I love it. I'm getting old but I still look youthful - woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

TheGooner wrote:
    And what will I do?
    Let your tits go saggy.

Anyway, I am not afflicted by this particuar umm affliction.

I went to a boards beers once and several people said they thought I was younger. Probably due to my moronic posting style.

Terry wrote:
    Let your tits go saggy.

LMFAO Over my dead Body!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Terry wrote:
    Let your tits go saggy.

Probably due to my moronic posting style.
    Case and point! ;)

basquille wrote:
    Case and point! ;)
    I haven't knocked one out in a couple of days.

Goodby basquille.

You didn't just ban him did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

gooner, take up smokin! that'll age ya! then live on Mcdonalds! once u become a minger, no1 will care how old u are! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I'm the opposite, some 30 yr old lady thought I was 32 once:eek: I mean c'mon!! I'm only just 23 since July! Maybe it could have it's advantages though, going to Woodies 10% off for over 60's Thursday when I'm 41!

Do I really look 32?? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

TheGooner wrote:
    And what will I do?

Scribble with a permanent marker. ;)

The_B_Man wrote:
    gooner, take up smokin! that'll age ya! then live on Mcdonalds! once u become a minger, no1 will care how old u are! ;)

Um ok, sounds like a plan! LOL I

keep thinking when I'm 40 i'll look 30 so all is gooooood really :D

ah, the old "Demi Moore" trick! turn 40, and then go for a young 'un for all ur sinister needs, but only tell them ur 30! dastardly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I will tell you look old and wretched and ravaged. They should just put you in a box and be done with it. There you go, don't you feel all better now!

The_B_Man wrote:
    ah, the old "Demi Moore" trick! turn 40, and then go for a young 'un for all ur sinister needs, but only tell them ur 30! dastardly!!

qft.

Please explore the remaining parts of your keyboard, The_B_Man - we don't charge per character.

lol i checked me post again. i used "ur" twice! thats it! no other "txt spk"! touchy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

TheGooner wrote:
    And what will I do?
    Grow a smig too!:D

The_B_Man wrote:
    lol i checked me post again. i used "ur" twice! thats it! no other "txt spk"! touchy!
    You're better than this! Come on Jimmy!

You didn't just ban him did you?

Yes I did.

I'm waiting for the feedback thread.
    Then the toys comeout.

Terry wrote:
    Yes I did.

I'm waiting for the feedback thread.
    Then the toys comeout.
    lol, I guess you're as bored as I am

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

The day before I turned 20 (last month), I got on the bus for work, popped in my fare and said "One ninety please" to which the bus driver responded "Are you over 16, love?" I didn't know whether to be happy or insulted! Stupidly laughed that I was definitely over 16. Loads of people tell me I've a young face without make up...I think I look my age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm 24 and I get it a fair bit too. I used to hate it but now I love it. I'm getting old but I still look youthful - woot!

Ah here.... stall the ball pepe, you're only 24 and you have a 1999 join date? were you a member of ze boards jugend or something :confused:

*ragin jealous*

I used to get this quite a bit because i was quite baby faced and juvenile. I think im just chubby cheeked and retarded now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

I get it all the time.
    I'm 25 and find myself getting nervous about being asked for ID in tesco because I don't have a Garda ID card .
    Some bint of a woman referred to me as "this young girl" the other day.
    I wanted to hit her, but then I realised she was just an old before her time hag with 2 ginger kids to look after, it'd be easy for her to be bitter!

Oh well, at least we can enjoy the benefits of youth a little longer than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

yep, ive been cursed with this problem all my life. I'm now 22 and I look 16/17.

I'm at the stage where I just dont tell people what age I am and let them assume. (unless I'm asked directly)

I also "feel how I look".... I dont feel like an adult I still feel like a teenager....

It wrecks my head seeing people who look about 24 to me and finding out they are 19 or something. Or watching TV and its a show about people in school or something and they all look about 7 years older then me... BAH! Then theres the whole "birds only fancy older guys" problem. I get a lot of unwanted attention from 14 year olds :mad:

Hell.

Least I'm not this guy! :http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Pp_5Ni7xmDE

He's fkin' 32 or something!!!!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

If it's dark, I dress to kill, put my hair up, in the arm of an older lad, and have an attitude, I can generally get past the bouncers in the States. By day, forget it!*

*Helps to have a grand fake ID (not that I would ever have such a thing...).:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Cunny-Funt wrote:

He's fkin' 32 or something!!!!!!

Hey, what's wrong with 32! :confused: :mad:

OP, just wait til you're 32 and told you look 25, you'll love it! ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

basquille wrote:

if he or she (assuming it's a fellow employee) is in a similar role to you, do you not think it looks bad on them that they are still at entry level? sod them, ya prob make more dosh than them by 25. ye it is ridiculous how condescending how some particualrily girls can be about it. i am a lad 22 yrs btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Papillon87 wrote:
    The day before I turned 20 (last month), I got on the bus for work, popped in my fare and said "One ninety please" to which the bus driver responded "Are you over 16, love?" I didn't know whether to be happy or insulted! Stupidly laughed that I was definitely over 16. Loads of people tell me I've a young face without make up...I think I look my age.

pic pic pic pic pic pic pic pic pic *rpt ad nauseaum*

Has to be fine. Bus and taxi drivers dont even bother conversationally interacting with anything that isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

I've always looked younger than my age, and when I was your age OP, it irritated the fcuk out of me when someone said I looked younger than I was, or when I was asked for ID and such, I was so self concious about it.
    I'm 31 now and since I was 27/28 it started to become something I enjoyed hearing, and now I absolutely love it when someone says I look younger than I am. I was told I look 22 the other day :) .
    Basically, the point I'm making is, it's natural you despise it now but there'll come a time when that'll change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Hey, what's wrong with 32! :confused: :mad:

Eh...did you click the link????

Nothing wrong with being any age... but being 32 and looking 12... ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Cunny-Funt wrote:
    Eh...did you click the link????

Nothing wrong with being any age... but being 32 and looking 12... ouch!

He can't be 32 is he? Takes some of the quality out of his videos:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Getting old wtf??? You turning 90 next year or something???

words.

Getting old wtf??? You turning 90 next year or something???
    Time is accelerating at an exponential rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I'm 21 and I still need ID to buy drink and some dvd's ffs.

It's nice in one way, my brother has a Jim Carrey rubber face and will look horrible when nature and gravity geta hold of him. It's just a bit of a pain that I have to carry ID with me when I go to the shop, just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭stratospheres

I get mistaken for 14/15 quite often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Picture so we can be the judge of whether or not you look young for your age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 little nell

my 34 yr. son is still asked for id in the pub .he has a 14yr old daughter and all her friends think he is her brother.ha ha

Caliden wrote:
    Picture so we can be the judge of whether or not you look young for your age
    Got a thing for teenagers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

If he did all he'd have to do was have a look at your sig...

Sandor wrote:
    If he did all he'd have to do was have a look at your sig...
    Ouch :p
    Well being 19 I technically still am a 'teen' but also an 'adult'
    Adult! Haha as if

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Ah, well I'm 19. With my beard people seem to think I'm in my middle twenties. Went and shaved recently and I look young as ****. I feel 'naked'. The beard won't be gone for long but I had to get rid of it for a bit.