Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nikon D300 & D3X - confirmed

• 22-08-2007 5:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭

Nikon are due to announce 2 new pro bodies tomorrow. The D300 & D3X. No official specs have been released yet but what is going around the various Nikon forums are:

D3X: 12.1MP FF CMOS @9fps, 11fps in DX crop mode. ISO 200-6400, Lo: ISO 100, Hi-2 ISO 25600, LIVEVIEW

D300: 12.3MP DX CMOS @6fps, 8fps when battery grip is used. ISO 200-3200, Lo: ISO 100, Hi-1 ISO 6400, LIVEVIEW

Looks like a D300 on my Santa letter. The Nikon nerd in me will be up early in the morning to check the Japanese site for the press release :D

Edit: now confirmed and tidied up message with correct details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Dr.Louis

Feck the D300, i'm getting me a discounted D200!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

jaysus.. 16mp Full Frame @ 9fps. I'll be interested to see what ISO 25600 looks like :D

edit; dropped to 12mp? Pah, I'm not so impressed anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Press releases have gone live on Nikon websites. Going to give them a good read before commenting further on them ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

rymus wrote:
    I'll be interested to see what ISO 25600 looks like
    cheap-golf-balls.jpg

...in full size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Darren,

any indication on ballpark prices here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

d300 vs d200 feature chart - D300 look sweeet!

http://www.digitalreview.ca/content/Nikon-D300-Digital-SLR-Camera.shtml

below from dpreview)

D300
    Guide price: D300 body only £1299.99 / €1980*
    *full list pricing, including lens, accessories and bundles will be available in September

D3 info

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0708/07082312nikond3.asp

Guide price: D3 body only £3399.99 / €5180*
    *full list pricing, including lens, accessories and bundles will be available in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Okay...

I'll cancel that heretical thought I had about switching from Canon to Nikon again.

A few things from looking over the press releases for the D3.

DX lenses are compatable. It will go from FX to DX mode at 24 x 16 (5.1 megapixels)
    2 CF card slots
    3-in, approx 920,000 dot (VGA) 170 degree wide-viewing angle, 100% frame coverage LCD

Looks like my photos will be going up in price this weekend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭DaireQuinlan

mmmm ... nikon full frame ... Its a pity I can't in my wildest dreams actually justify the price :-)

Although this means that the D200 will hopefully get heavily discounted. Might just have to pick one of them up if that happens. I hate those feature comparisons though. You can feel yourself getting sucked into body-acquisition syndrome, something thats never really plagued me film wise, I get film-acquisition syndrome instead, which is a whole pile cheaper. One second you're perfectly happy with the prospect of buying a D200 and then the very next second you're ooohing and aaaahing over the prospect of Liveview (with AF !! Thats one up over Canon right ?) and mechanical dust removal and the like. -sigh-

I wouldn't expect the a new d200 to get a heavy discount to be honest. The d70 prices stayed more or less level after the d80 was released. I guess the used market would throw up some deals. From what I understand D200 stock is already running quite low in some countries.

I personally won't be considering the d300 until next year sometime, if at all.

A few of the updates are impressive, but some don't interest me at the moment.

What I like most -
    - New CMOS Sensor sounds interesting, time will tell
    - 100% viewfinder
    _ 51 AF points (wow) 15 cross type (wow)
    _ 14-bit RAW

What I'm not sure about -

- Live View - I guess it has it's merits, be very handy for macro shooting, but not a big selling feature for me at the moment. That will probably change after I get a chance to use it.

What I could care less about -

Dust off - after 3 DSLRs I've never had problems with dust, hopefully never will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

ooohing and aaaahing over the prospect of Liveview (with AF !! Thats one up over Canon right ?)

Nope, not anymore :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Now! No more brand-bashing any of ye, take it outside!

Glad to see the rumours of full-frame sensor are no longer rumours. This whole DX thing was a big headache for those like me who have a few film lenses but couldn't use them to their fullest on a DSLR. But I'd have been much happier if they put the FF on the D300 too, it means DX will still be around for a while... <sigh>

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

6fps and 8fps with the battery grip, sounds like they are squeezing Hanhel out of the market for grips!!

Good competition = Good for us :)

eas wrote:

- New CMOS Sensor sounds interesting, time will tell

Yeah thats interesting all right, so far Canon low-light performance always seems to have been streets ahead of anyone elses, which was put down to their CMOS sensors instead of CCD, it'll be interesting to see samples from the d300 and d3 at high ISOs to compare.

There is one irritating thing though, the 5 new pro-lenses ...
    AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED, $1,799.95, November 2007.
    AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED, $1,699.95, November 2007.
    AF-S NIKKOR 400mm f/2.8G ED VR, $ $8,799.95, November 2007.
    AF-S NIKKOR 500mm f/4G ED VR, $7,899.95, November 2007.
    AF-S NIKKOR 600mm f/4G ED VR, $9,499.95 , November 2007.

All G lenses, so no aperture ring on the lens. I never understood why nikon actually did this. Up until now all their pro lenses still had the aperture rings and their mid range and consumer lens releases were increasingly becoming G lenses, looks like they've switched over completely now. So no buying new lenses for anything older than an F5, won't get aperture priority or manual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I almost bought a D200 a couple of weeks ago,glad I didn't now,the D300 seems very good on paper.

The only thing going on Nikon's past supply efforts if I order one today probably wont get it 'til this time next year !

Seven Worlds will Collide

this is a bit odd

"The D300 does not replace the D200, which will continue to be manufactured and sold, presumably at a lower price going forward."

taken from here -

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-8742-9084

@DaireQuinlan - you may see those big discounts after all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

Anyone know who actually makes the sensor in the FF camera?

Roen wrote:
    Anyone know who actually makes the sensor in the FF camera?

Yeah, I was curious about that myself. Sony made the CMOS sensor for the D2x so it could be sony again. OTOH Nikon might have gone off and gotten themselves a fab-plant.

Sony makes the Nikon sensor

So this pretty much means we'll be seeing a glut of FF cameras. Well in theory at least :)
    A bit of good competition never did anyone any harm.

this sounds promising on the D3 high ISO capabilities : SOURCE :

http://www.imaging-resource.com/NEWS/1187901361.html

"The D3's high ISO is really impressive I'll remain at least somewhat skeptical until we can get a D3 back in the lab and test it under controlled conditions, but Nikon showed some incredibly impressive prints at the event. They had enlargements that must have been 30x45 inches or more in size, comparing identical shots taken with the D3 and Canon EOS-1D Mark III at ISO 3,200 and 6,400.

After the disappointment of the D2H, I have to say I was taking Nikon's claims of low noise at high ISOs with a rather large grain of salt. When I saw the aforementioned prints though, I was literally flabbergasted. The D3 didn't just surpass the 1D Mark III, it far surpassed it. Well, that may be a little strong; the Mark III is a fantastic camera, but the difference between its images and those from the D3 was anything but subtle. As I say, I'll remain a skeptic until we can test a production sample of the D3 ourselves, but if the images shown had any basis in reality (and Nikon would be foolish to have doctored them in any way), it looks like there's a new leader in the high-ISO / low-noise derby, and it's the D3."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

aren't fuji SCCDs the better sensor though ? why not get sensors from them instead ?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

d300 for me very soon i thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Trogdor

Both look very good. I was looking to upgrade for my D50 within the next few months, or year at least. Does anyone know if the D80 is being replaced or if there's a new camera being released to run along side it as with the D200 aswell? as i don't think i'm quite ready(can't afford the D200/D300;))atm

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Borderfox wrote:
    Sony makes the Nikon sensor

This is not true.

Nobody knows who makes it. Nikon have said it is their design though.

We may never find out - as is/was the case with their LBCAST sensor (D2H(s)). They could be using Sony to manufacture it or they could be using one of many other companies with the capability.

Whenever the new Sony cameras are announced, we should have a better idea about the FX sensor.

Nikon do not just reuse stock Sony stuff though. They design and develop and get that thrown in to the Sony kit. (The recently announced Sony sensor that everyone believes is in the D300 did not include 14 bit A/D, for example)

People harp on about Nikon using the Sony kit all too much. You can trace back further and say that Sony use Nikon kit (which they do, Nikon manufacture the lenses used in the manufacturing equipment). It isn't that big a deal.

Anyway. Great new gear from both sides of the fence. Roll on announcements from Olympus and Sony.

And more importantly, roll on sampes from the D3. One person who had been testing the D3 said that it at 25,600 was like the D2X at 3200...which would be stunning, for such a high sensitivity.

Bjorn has priased the D3 high ISO very, very highly.

I wonder when the image embargo ends. Given that the factory is producing the bodies already, I'm hoping the pros are being given some actual bodies for shooting the Osaka Games (I can't see them taking prototypes and shooting an event that they can't publish images from!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

halenger wrote:
    This is not true.

Nobody knows who makes it. Nikon have said it is their design though.

We may never find out - as is/was the case with their LBCAST sensor (D2H(s)). They could be using Sony to manufacture it or they could be using one of many other companies with the capability.

Whenever the new Sony cameras are announced, we should have a better idea about the FX sensor.

Nikon do not just reuse stock Sony stuff though. They design and develop and get that thrown in to the Sony kit. (The recently announced Sony sensor that everyone believes is in the D300 did not include 14 bit A/D, for example)

You can take for granted that nikon's sensors are made using their own machines (steppers/scanners for example). They wouldn't have their own production fab to produce them so would just get another company who uses their machines to produce them, (Sony possibly). This makes it easier for them to create/test their own designs before production. I'd expect Canon would do the same? as they have experience in this industry also.

Still trying to find out how exactly these sensors are created (is it the same as IC's....photolithography?)

Note...I could be completely wrong, as I'm just thinking out loud :)

There's some info onhe new sensors here - although not much anything concrete

http://www.bythom.com/D3QA.htm

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭halenger

Canon make thier own sensors in thier own fabs, for the record. There are many well known manufacturers who could be making Nikon's sensors (e.g. Sony, Fuji, Kodak) and, from what I have read, many less well known (in terms of general public / names) also...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

DarrenG wrote:

Very very impressive.

A few vids here for the pornaholics out there.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=u1Bks3fYBeM&NR=1
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=f8Y47lXpOT4&mode=related&search=
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=QjG--kWz-L0&mode=related&search=

That level sensing gadget in the Japanese vid is a blast, I'd nearly get one to look at it all day long :)

well that's just all kindsa sexy

here's a link to supposed d3 shots from ISO 200 - 12800.

If they are what they say they are......wow.

http://review.fengniao.com/64/644874.html

penny pinching starts now.

very nice shots

The high ISO images are looking great from both the D3 & D300. I might invest in a D300 when the pop up on eBay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

ordered my d300 today,should have it in december!
    anyone for a D1X? :D

punchdrunk wrote: »
    ordered my d300 today,should have it in december!
    anyone for a D1X? :D

Who did you order it with Punchdrunk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭templeathea

I am desperately trying not to read reviews etc of the d300 as I just know i will get sucked into the buying fever. I did also hope that the d200 might become cheaper but then again I would probably regret not going the extra few bob.
    AAAAAAAAARGH! Its started! This is where I start justifying buying another camera in my head and usually ends with MBNA laughing their heads off :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Roen wrote: »
    Who did you order it with Punchdrunk?

I work for pixels so i ordered through the shop

The D3 is up on eBay for pre-orders. Not sure exactly how that works.

UR Galaxy have it listed for approx €3800 including shipping. Anyone know the retail price in Ireland yet and what the allocation is for here?

I've called around a few shops in Dublin.

Got quotes from 4470 to 5100 inc Vat. quite the gap there.

I've bought a good amount of camera gear from HK - I'm buying the D3 locally.

This will be the last camera I buy for a few years, the peace of mind is worth the difference in $$ to me.

That is a huge difference. I'm think I'm going to go with the D300 as it's everything I need and a hell of a lot cheaper.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

DarrenG wrote: »
    That is a huge difference. I'm think I'm going to go with the D300 as it's everything I need and a hell of a lot cheaper.

likewise... tho ebay this timefor the camera, i was a bit sceptical buying myd50 online, but after buying other stuff problemfree,i'm moreconfident that it'd be all cool

what do you have at the moment Darren?

2 x D200's. I was thinking about the D2Xs but the D300 with the grip will match it for speed and hopefully the high ISO on the D300 will be as good as people are saying.

What are your thoughts on a D2Hs? Very speedy and low noise. I personally love the shots that come from the D2Hs. If the quality is as good from the D3all the extra features will be gravy.

Do you have a D2Hs, if so what's it like at ISO 1600? I was actually looking at used ones in the UK and they are going for great prices.

Sorry, should have been clearer. I don't own one, only going on samples and reviews by others. I have the D200 now.

I do know that the D2Hs is meant to handle noise much better than the D2x, (thanks to it's 4mp sensor). How it compares to the D300, I don't know.

Some good samples up here from iso 200 to 25600. Linky.
    Some good stuff to see here, bear in mind these are probably pre production models.