Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So.....whats Rye Hall like?

• 22-08-2007 5:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭

Can anyone give me an opinion on this place?I've been given a room there for the coming year, and was just wondering what its like.I mentioned it to someone I know whose already going to NUIM, and she didn't seem to think much of it, saying that many people just try to switch to the River appartments (which in fairness I would have preferred, and seeing as how I applied for accomodation in like Febuary, should have been on the list for).

So whats it like?Are the appartments there really not very good, or is she just overreacting?Also if they're not great what are the chances I'd be able to get moved to the river place?Like I said I find it a bit unfair I didn't get the place i'd specified, especially seeing as how I applied as early as I could.

And I must say I find the fact that you could be in an appartment with 6 other people a bit much, 4 is grand, but 6 just seems like alot of people.....ah well.So opinions!Lets have 'em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

From what I've seen of them from being around the college myself they seem okay.The reports I've heard ain't so bad but then again they weren't the types to really give a sh1t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Jr.Hero

i've also been given a room in rye hall, and was wondering what its like also. i'm not too worried anyway. as long as i have internet in my room, and the flat mates arn't to bad, i should be able to cope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

Rye Hall is grand, wall are thick unlike the River Apartments where you can hear EVERYTHING. People with familys live there though but as I said you cant hear much becasue of the walls. Ah thinks its two bathrooms between 5 but I could be wrong.

Check out www.maynoothcampus.com

Village Apartments are crap but they are doing them up now.

River might be the best but the showers are terrible, you walk into the shower and you are dry there is a circle of water around you but you are bone dry. :D Ah I always used the sports team showers (not the gym ones but the ones for the soccer team ect) because they are way better!

that sounds grand. i don't mind the family thing and thick walls are always a bonus:D . think am in a 7 bedroom apartment which would scare few people but i'd say it would be good way to make few new friends, hopefully:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

theyre grand :)
    60 seconds walk from lectures etc, ya cant beat it.
    Sure, the river apartments are nicer but Rye is cheaper and is still much much better than 90% of houses close by to the university which are usually crap altogether.
    Theres a campus residence social club starting up this year which should be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Jr.Hero wrote:
    think am in a 7 bedroom apartment which would scare few people but i'd say it would be good way to make few new friends, hopefully:o
    Yes it appears that I too am in a 7 bedroom apartment......which isn't exactly what I wanted at all.I don't know, its just living with 6 other complete strangers seems like a big number to me, i'd have much preferred a 3 or 5 room apartment tro be honest.Ah well.I'm sure it'll all be grand, just hope I don't get complete *****s for room-mates.

And actually on that note, will all my room-mates be males, or is it a mixed kind of thing (ie males and females)?I asked the college, but they avoided the question by saying ''we do not have those details at the this time''......which I find IMPOSSIBLE to believe seeing as how they've already told me what apartment and even what room i'm staying in!

Yes it appears that I too am in a 7 bedroom apartment......which isn't exactly what I wanted at all.I don't know, its just living with 6 other complete strangers seems like a big number to me, i'd have much preferred a 3 or 5 room apartment tro be honest.Ah well.I'm sure it'll all be grand, just hope I don't get complete *****s for room-mates.

And actually on that note, will all my room-mates be males, or is it a mixed kind of thing (ie males and females)?I asked the college, but they avoided the question by saying ''we do not have those details at the this time''......which I find IMPOSSIBLE to believe seeing as how they've already told me what apartment and even what room i'm staying in!

TBH I would prefer living with 7 stranger rader than 5 mainly because last year me and my house mates didnt really run in the same social circle and there would be a greater chance of me getting along with one of them. But I can see where you are coming from.

Ah TBH I dont really know too much about Rye Hall but I know that most of the apartments in the Village Apts were single sex mainly down to the sharing of a toilet. But I have heard of mixed sex apartments in the village. Also one of my friends was in a single sex apartment in River but that did change in the 2nd sems.

would prefer a mixed apartment to be honest. and it would seem possible in 7 bedroom seeing as there are two bathrooms, ya could have one for the girls and one for the lads. 7 lads in one aprtment......that would be one hell of a place to try and keep tidy!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭qwertyface

awh reading this makes me want to move to maynooth now... I decided I'd do the commute instead since I wouldn't know anyone and don't really have enough money right now. I guess I'll have to wait til next year. Or do people ever move up during the year? I don't see why apartments would become free..but you never know...

qwertyface wrote:
    I guess I'll have to wait til next year. Or do people ever move up during the year? I don't see why apartments would become free..but you never know...

Lots of 1st years drop out and there is a lot of free apartments come the start of the 2nd sems.

yea getting quite excited about movin up there now, but when i do i know i'm bound to get slightly homesick, but sure its only about 5 hour bus journey back home. but wont' enjoy giving them the first installment for rent.

actually out of curiousity, can rent only be paid in 2 installments or is it possible to pay it weekly,monthly,etc....

qwertyface wrote:
    awh reading this makes me want to move to maynooth now... I decided I'd do the commute instead since I wouldn't know anyone and don't really have enough money right now. I guess I'll have to wait til next year. Or do people ever move up during the year? I don't see why apartments would become free..but you never know...
    phone the residence office on monday. there are lists of student houses looking for people to make up a full house.

eamoss wrote:
    TBH I would prefer living with 7 stranger rader than 5 mainly because last year me and my house mates didnt really run in the same social circle and there would be a greater chance of me getting along with one of them. But I can see where you are coming from.
    Ah I can see what you're saying, but I'd definitely prefer less than 6 people....ah well.I'm sure it'll be grand......hopefully..... ¬.¬
    eamoss wrote:
    Ah TBH I dont really know too much about Rye Hall but I know that most of the apartments in the Village Apts were single sex mainly down to the sharing of a toilet. But I have heard of mixed sex apartments in the village. Also one of my friends was in a single sex apartment in River but that did change in the 2nd sems.
    Ah I see......well I guess i'll find out on the 17th.Hmm....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    phone the residence office on monday. there are lists of student houses looking for people to make up a full house.

Even 4th year students have trouble finding houses in this kip...*moans*

Regarding on-campus and moving in day. is it possible to move in on the Sunday,
    as it isn't the most convient to try and get up there on a monday.

and a list of essential things to bring wouldn't be bad either..... ;)

Jr.Hero wrote:
    Regarding on-campus and moving in day. is it possible to move in on the Sunday,
    as it isn't the most convient to try and get up there on a monday.

and a list of essential things to bring wouldn't be bad either..... ;)
    Yeah its a complete balls isn't it?I think its ****ing ridiculous we can't actually move into our apartments until the day before we start.I mean whats up with that?

dude chill out
    First week is orientation.
    You have a week before lectures start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Haha, Enemy_of_Fate you seem desperate to move down here :p

i was only wondering because its just such a lovely journey to take from here at the top of donegal. ya know being crammed into a car with all your belongings with your parents, who will hide their emotions until they drive away and leave you there:rolleyes: . much rather do all that on a SUnday.

btw, out there on saturday night chatting to a mate who's also going to maynooth. he's in river, and then when i tell him 'o i'm in rye all' first words out of his mouth are 'HA!!! THATS A S**THOLE' :eek: i don't know if he was jokin, being sarcastic or just being a bit of a snob. i know there not as plush as river, but jeese they must be fit for humans at least. do ppl automatically disregard rye hall as being crap because they compare them to river.....:confused:
    i've seen a photo of a bedroom and kitchen in rye hall and i thought they look grand...nice even. but alas maybe my standards are too low!:D

Rozabeez wrote:
    Haha, Enemy_of_Fate you seem desperate to move down here :p
    I am!!!Can't wait to get out of this dump and begin being independent!!WOOOOOOO!!!!
    Jr.Hero wrote:
    i was only wondering because its just such a lovely journey to take from here at the top of donegal. ya know being crammed into a car with all your belongings with your parents, who will hide their emotions until they drive away and leave you there:rolleyes: . much rather do all that on a SUnday.
    Whereabouts in Donegal do you live Hero?I'm in good ole Ballybofey....AND I CAN'T WAIT TILL I LEAVE!!!Still though i'll probably be coming back up every 2nd weekend....which is a balls as theres no direct bus from Maynooth to here, so i'll probably end up just taking a train to Sligo and then getting a bus from there home.....which is far from ideal.Stupid Donegal and its lack of a railway system.
    Jr.Hero wrote:
    btw, out there on saturday night chatting to a mate who's also going to maynooth. he's in river, and then when i tell him 'o i'm in rye all' first words out of his mouth are 'HA!!! THATS A S**THOLE' :eek: i don't know if he was jokin, being sarcastic or just being a bit of a snob. i know there not as plush as river, but jeese they must be fit for humans at least. do ppl automatically disregard rye hall as being crap because they compare them to river.....:confused:
    i've seen a photo of a bedroom and kitchen in rye hall and i thought they look grand...nice even. but alas maybe my standards are too low!:D
    Yeah thats what I'm worried about too....Ah well as long as they're not too bad i'll be able to put up with them.And if they're really **** we can always just keep hounding the administration to move us into the river apartments!I mean I'm sure some places will free up when people will drop out due to **** room-mates/getting a course at a different college as a result of successful appeals/other random events etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

:Well Enemy of Fate, all the maps are up, it's all set for you down here....all it needs is you:D

Whereabouts in Donegal do you live Hero?I'm in good ole Ballybofey....AND I CAN'T WAIT TILL I LEAVE!!!Still though i'll probably be coming back up every 2nd weekend....which is a balls as theres no direct bus from Maynooth to here, so i'll probably end up just taking a train to Sligo and then getting a bus from there home.....which is far from ideal.Stupid Donegal and its lack of a railway system.

I'm on up in Carndonagh in the idilic Inishowen Peninsula, planning to come down every 2nd or third week aswell. getting up and down isn't a problem for me. Bus goes directly from carn to dublin and then heads on in to maynooth for the students. quite Handy actually.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Noodlehead

Does anyone have any photos of the campus places?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lor-Aine

does all theapartments have seven bedrooms, it seems like it i'm in a seven bed one too

Lor-Aine wrote:
    does all theapartments have seven bedrooms, it seems like it i'm in a seven bed one too
    Nope, apparently rye hall has 3, 5 and 7 room apartments, although i'm not sure how many of each it has.Maybe we're in the same apartment...although thats unlikely.I'm in apartment 22 anyways.And tomorrow week I shall finally be able to move in.WOOOOOOO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

im not going to maynoth but i rang up my university to see if it is posssible to move in a day early and they said it was ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭sunflowerz

just got my place in rye hall, it sounds am...lovely!
    anyways u can move in sunday if ur there between 2-6, i asked on the telephone 2day!

yea just asked myself today also so sunday here i come!!!!!

Interesting......Although I think I'll still be going down on Monday......Shall have to see how this develops.I can show up between 2 and 6 yeah sunflowerz?Is that what they told you as well Jr. Hero?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭sunflowerz

yup between 2 and 6 on sunday anyways, but i think u can move in anytime during the day on monday!
    i shud really start packing....

as sunflowerz says 2-6 sunday, but pretty sure its anytime monday. great, that gives me 3 days to sort out the crap i'm gonna take with me.

Don't forget to stop off somewhere up North and buy cheap booze for all of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭qwertyface

Rozabeez wrote:
    Don't forget to stop off somewhere up North and buy cheap booze for all of us.

i agree. also can i come and have sleepovers with all you on campus people? cos I live far away...
    it's difficult

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭petals

Can anyone give me an opinion on this place?I've been given a room there for the coming year, and was just wondering what its like.I mentioned it to someone I know whose already going to NUIM, and she didn't seem to think much of it, saying that many people just try to switch to the River appartments (which in fairness I would have preferred, and seeing as how I applied for accomodation in like Febuary, should have been on the list for).

So whats it like?Are the appartments there really not very good, or is she just overreacting?Also if they're not great what are the chances I'd be able to get moved to the river place?Like I said I find it a bit unfair I didn't get the place i'd specified, especially seeing as how I applied as early as I could.

And I must say I find the fact that you could be in an appartment with 6 other people a bit much, 4 is grand, but 6 just seems like alot of people.....ah well.So opinions!Lets have 'em!
    Rye Hall is Fine. It's livable.. Reminds me of a prison kind of in the way it's laid out but the rooms are a good size and it's nice in general!

petals wrote:
    Rye Hall is Fine. It's livable.. Reminds me of a prison kind of in the way it's laid out but the rooms are a good size and it's nice in general!
    Yeah the rooms are bigger than I thought they would be.And its definitely habitable.....but only after serious cleaning.I mean it took me like 2 and a half hours to clear all the weird stains and marks off the wall and floor of my room, and thats not even mentioning all the ****ing cobwebs.Now it looks grand like, but jesus i'd never spent that much time cleaning anything ever before.Also theres lots of stuff broken and the kitchen is almost as bad as my room was....but aside from that its all good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ringleader

And its definitely habitable.....but only after serious cleaning.

Same as any place you'd move into. I've had apartments that were only liveable after a days worth of cleaning.

I think it must be some psychological thing in your head about who might've lived there before you, too. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 irishlad0

im staying in rye hall.. wot day ye all moving up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

irishlad0 wrote: »
    im staying in rye hall.. wot day ye all moving up?
    Lmao sorry but I'd say they could be well moved up by now? Check th date :)

Awww! Memories, the OP of this thread ended up being one of my very good friends in college, a he moved into Rye the day before Orientation week and a friend of mine and I showed up with a bottle of vodka, sure enough the first day of orientation was very dodgy after that!

<3333

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

I have some really good memories from apartment 8 and 24 (which was quite the hotspot for those of you in first year in 2006/07). I didn't actually live there but the only bad thing I can really say is that the couches are flipping impossible to sleep on. Oh, and you'll need to get your own TV. One major thing I remember about them is the magic carpets where anything you spilled on them would be soaked up almost immediately, it really was magic :)

By the by, there are very few gems where accommodation is concerned, I happen to live in one of them but that's karma making up for the hole I lived in in first year.

I think the apartments are generally mixed with people that are of similar age, so it's a really cool way to make friends :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Rozabeez wrote: »
    Awww! Memories, the OP of this thread ended up being one of my very good friends in college, a he moved into Rye the day before Orientation week and a friend of mine and I showed up with a bottle of vodka, sure enough the first day of orientation was very dodgy after that!

<3333

i was wondering if the op was who i thought he was...

is the lad from carndonagh also one of your mates Ro?

The OP is the shorter of the pair hehe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 irishlad0

ontour wrote: »
    Lmao sorry but I'd say they could be well moved up by now? Check th date :)

hahaha.. just copped that now!:L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭ontour

irishlad0 wrote: »
    hahaha.. just copped that now!:L
    I was the same I just realised after I had thanked one of the posts!!!! :)

Rozabeez wrote: »

<3333

And what, i didn't Rozabeez :(

I think we know pretty much all there is to know about rye, personally my fav out of all on campus places

You never told me your username before!!

now you know so you can tell everyone what a wondeful person i am :)

Jr.Hero wrote: »
    now you know so you can tell everyone what a wondeful person i am :)

Roll up roll up, this is my walk-Roz-home-and-remind-her-what-she-did friend when I'm ****faced, he once found me wandering drunkenly towards an ATM on rag week and ran at me while dressed in a santa suit! Bahahah

i only remind you of the good things you do :P.
    ah the santa costumes awesome