Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity Hall

• 22-08-2007 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭

So, I'm about to apply for Trinity Hall and was just wondering whats it like? A few people have said to me its a bit far out from the city centre..did/does anyone find that a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Its 2.5 miles away and right on the luas line(at Milltown). In comparison to Griffith College(my second option) it's much easier! Walked from Trinity to South Circular Road yesterday! Never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭the flananator

And with regards to going out- would it be possible to walk from say, 21's or somewhere to Trinity Hall or would you have to get a taxi? How much would a taxi be? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

By right on the Luas line, Dan means a 7 minute walk down Temple Road.
    A taxi from the city centre to Trinity Halls is generally around 10 euro - obviously depending on how many people you have in the taxi (each person = one extra euro)
    It is a bit far out, but the walk is possible.. many people walk into college every day - I've heard anything from 30 to 45 minutes walk. The 14a - the only bus to stop right outside - is quite infrequent, but if you can time it right, it's usually good.

Hmmm...Ok thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

If you're a cyclist, that's definitely an option too - there are piles of people who cycle in and out (it's about 10-15 minutes depending on how many lights you stop at), although it's not the most fun in the nastier winter days and you'd want a good lock for parking it in TCD (Trinity Hall itself has a good record from what I've been told, but the city centre campus is Bike Theft Central).

In general, this older thread has loads of former residents talking about their experiences and it might help you to get more of a picture of what day-to-day life is like there.

On the bike stuff, if possible don't bring a shiny new bike into college without a decent lock (or two). In my experience the worse a bike looks the less likely it'll be that it'll be robbed. So if you're thinking about buying a bike, consider saving money and look for a second hand one. Plus give Bartley an e-mail at education@tcdsu.org, since he gets the Garda e-mails alerting him to the next bike auction that Kevin St. Garda Station do every year (they auction off all the unclaimed recovered bikes).

thanks well I applied anyway so hopefully I get it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

I've always walked home at night, very rarely bothered with a taxi. It's an okay walk for the most part, but if you're a girl don't do it on your own. Really, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

Well folks, just wondering when the offers for freshers come out? Rooms are up today, but that looks like 2nd/3rd years.... can't find the date on tcd.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭mizz.yelof!!!

halls is amazing, apply now if you havnt already, the whole living with 1200 other studnets is amazing experience.

as regards when you guys hear about getting halls, i rang up this morning for me sis and apparently its tomorrow! tho i remember when i applied for first year it was about 3 weeks after cao. but anyway just wait till tomorrow and ring those beautiful amazingly charming women that work for halls accomodation office and im sure they know something or other!

wish i was back in halls this year again, jean you guys staying again or ye all gone aswel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

Ah, naw.. I think everyone's gone, bar Nick and Annie?! Maybe?

To be honest, I'm glad to be gone. I haven't gone home for more than 2 weeks in 2 solid years. The same green and red doors are starting to get to me!

But seriously kids, Halls is awesome.
    Don't get on the wrong side of any security guards - most of them are lovely and they might turn a blind eye to a can in your hand when you're just down for a smoke if they know you, and know you're not a messer.
    Don't be a jerk to the security guards. They're nice guys, and they're here to make sure Halls is a nice place to live.
    Don't walk back from Aldi with your week shopping in bags - get the bus! (Carlos stonebaked pizzas in the fridge cabinet, vegetarian lasagne in the freezer cabinet, orange and mango smoothies.. fab.u.lous)
    If it's lashing rain outside college, and the 14a is nowhere to be seen, get on any 15, 65/65b or the 14 and get off in Rathgar - it's a 7 minute walk along the road with Villiers on it (I don't know what it's called) to halls, and saves ya a half hour standing in the rain, or walking up Grafton and then up Temple road!
    Don't be a jerk about noise. Keep your music/tv/sex down at all time - the walls ARE paper thin, and just because you don't get tired till 3am, doesn't mean everyone ELSE needs to listen to what you're getting up to in those wee hours. Just because YOU'RE in your room and bubbly and getting ready to go out at 8 some Friday night, doesn't mean everyone else is - someone could have an exam first thing Monday, or is desperately trying to get an essay finished. Keep it down!
    Don't lock yourself in your room all year. Go out there, get to know people. You'll meet a hundred people, at least, in the first weekend alone. You'll never see most of them again, but someone there might turn out to be your new best friend. Seriously. If at all possible, be there for that weekend - you start into college with at least a basic knowledge of a few people in your course. College is big. Like.. too big. Knowing a few people for your first few days is absolutely invaluable.
    Do your best to keep the apartment harmonious and clean. Have a bin rota, a kitty for cleaning supplies, an agreement that all plates will be washed up within 24/12/6 hours, as little noise as possible after 1.. Whatever works for your apartment. If someone else isn't being considerate, talk to them. Just like you, they are not the only person there. Certain compromises MUST be made, whether they like it or not..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Read the above. No, screw that... Read the following, because I've added in some line spacing:

But seriously kids, Halls is awesome.
    Don't get on the wrong side of any security guards - most of them are lovely and they might turn a blind eye to a can in your hand when you're just down for a smoke if they know you, and know you're not a messer.

Don't be a jerk to the security guards. They're nice guys, and they're here to make sure Halls is a nice place to live.

Don't walk back from Aldi with your week shopping in bags - get the bus! (Carlos stonebaked pizzas in the fridge cabinet, vegetarian lasagne in the freezer cabinet, orange and mango smoothies.. fab.u.lous)

If it's lashing rain outside college, and the 14a is nowhere to be seen, get on any 15, 65/65b or the 14 and get off in Rathgar - it's a 7 minute walk along the road with Villiers on it (I don't know what it's called) to halls, and saves ya a half hour standing in the rain, or walking up Grafton and then up Temple road!

Don't be a jerk about noise. Keep your music/tv/sex down at all time - the walls ARE paper thin, and just because you don't get tired till 3am, doesn't mean everyone ELSE needs to listen to what you're getting up to in those wee hours. Just because YOU'RE in your room and bubbly and getting ready to go out at 8 some Friday night, doesn't mean everyone else is - someone could have an exam first thing Monday, or is desperately trying to get an essay finished. Keep it down!

Don't lock yourself in your room all year. Go out there, get to know people. You'll meet a hundred people, at least, in the first weekend alone. You'll never see most of them again, but someone there might turn out to be your new best friend. Seriously.

If at all possible, be there for that weekend - you start into college with at least a basic knowledge of a few people in your course. College is big. Like.. too big. Knowing a few people for your first few days is absolutely invaluable.

Do your best to keep the apartment harmonious and clean. Have a bin rota, a kitty for cleaning supplies, an agreement that all plates will be washed up within 24/12/6 hours, as little noise as possible after 1.. Whatever works for your apartment.

If someone else isn't being considerate, talk to them. Just like you, they are not the only person there. Certain compromises MUST be made, whether they like it or not..!

Also, just to add - pretty much all of the wardens can be pretty sound once you're reasonable with them.
    If your party gets broken up sober up quick and sweet talk the wardens. Crowd control - hide a few people in bedrooms, and promise to keep the noise down.
    You might get a second chance but rarely a third.