Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HU Championship: THE FINAL!!!!

• 21-08-2007 2:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭

and so, with the corpses of 165 failed Boardsies piled high by the roadside, it has come to this....the only men left standing are ollyk1 and boogey man.

They have heroically invoked their superior poker powers to overcome the rest of us mere mortals and now the only thing standing in the way of them and the ultimate poker glory is each other.

This is bigger than Ali vs Foreman, Hitler vs Stalin, Basil vs Manuel, Tweety Bird vs Puddy Cat - people, this is probably the most high profile event to occur in the Boards poker forum (since Cardshark202 went rifling through bins in Vegas anyway).

Negotiations are underway between the various management teams to decide a time and place. Naturally, no Boardsie of sound mind and body will want to be without a ringside ticket.WATCH THIS SPACE....

Mods, please de-sticky the semi-finals thread and sticky this one so that people can post abuse and/or HU strategy advice. Not to mention all the various sick prop bets that will no doubt surely follow...

may the best man win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

1193683673_d9cb1a5f4e_o.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

^^ Brilliant Niall!!

I can hear the Rocky music now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

you don't really expect a prize, do you?

how about a nice bracelet??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Record it with camtasia or something. :-)

El S I was going to pm you this suggestion in relation to playing this live but maybe it's better to post here and get peoples views.

What if we have a boards only nl cash game/Horse game going on the side whilst the headsup final is taking place? It would add to the atmosphere and might encourage people to travel for this. I think if Boogeyman can arrange to come to Dublin to play live and we give Luke a ring next week (when he gets back from Chicago) he'd be happy to give us the third floor of the club for the headsup and for a cash game running on the side playing whatever games people wanted on some Saturday night.

If we could GJP involved with beer sponsorship we'd be a lock for a great night!

What do people think??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Up for this twould be great banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

ollyk1 wrote:
    El S I was going to pm you this suggestion in relation to playing this live but maybe it's better to post here and get peoples views.

What if we have a boards only nl cash game/Horse game going on the side whilst the headsup final is taking place? It would add to the atmosphere and might encourage people to travel for this. I think if Boogeyman can arrange to come to Dublin to play live and we give Luke a ring next week (when he gets back from Chicago) he'd be happy to give us the third floor of the club for the headsup and for a cash game running on the side playing whatever games people wanted on some Saturday night.

If we could GJP involved with beer sponsorship we'd be a lock for a great night!

What do people think??

Sounds like a great idea el stunt. I'd be up for it.

Best of luck to Boogman and Olly. May the best man win

ollyk1 wrote:

What do people think??

this sounds excellent, assuming boogey man will travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

cash side game required and i better run hot in it to fend off my creditors.

yes, I'm looking forward to taking 275 yoyos off you...

did all your debtors pay up?

just in case any of you degenerate sickos are considering a wager on the final, here's the formguide:

ollyk1 has defeated tipp86, Mellor, Spiritus, MisterMonkey, jacQues and luckylucky

boogey man has defeated eggie, Brayruit, Dub13, White Knight, aidankk and the Mouth of the South(East), bops

prices BCB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭boogey man

confession to make lads i cant play live phil ivey played all my games and now he is saying he wants the prestige of winning this any advice.

boogey man wrote:
    confession to make lads i cant play live phil ivey played all my games and now he is saying he wants the prestige of winning this any advice.

Bring Phil along!!

ollyk1 wrote:
    Bring Phil along!!

lol, just give Luke enough notice to sort out a million dollar limit and a craps table....

a yellow belly wexfordian with an english accent vs a hostile crowd,an away venue,and possible corruption. I LOVE IT im there I must be favourite
    ps.
    i expect travel allowance 6euro
    food allowance 2.75
    drink allowance 500000000
    hostility, suck out,donkey play, abuse allowance 14c
    these are my terms and are NON NEGOTIABLE .
    and oh yea spoke to phil he said he wanted a realistic chance of winning so he would rather if i played. he is getting coaching from bops for next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

boogey man wrote:
    blah blah blah....and oh yea spoke to phil he said he wanted a realistic chance of winning so he would rather if i played. he is getting coaching from bops for next year.

... i'm booked up solid 'til march

ps you better win - no pressure now, but i will beat you good looking (and that's a lot of beating) if you fk this one up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

^^ Bops can you change your signature to read "failue personified"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

This sounds pretty cool! Do we get to yell and whoop like crazy during the final?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

ionapaul wrote:
    This sounds pretty cool! Do we get to yell and whoop like crazy during the final?
    Are you back in Dublin Paul? Where are you hiding?

boogey man wrote:
    a yellow belly wexfordian with an english accent vs a hostile crowd,an away venue,and possible corruption. I LOVE IT im there I must be favourite
    ps.
    i expect travel allowance 6euro
    food allowance 2.75
    drink allowance 500000000
    hostility, suck out,donkey play, abuse allowance 14c
    these are my terms and are NON NEGOTIABLE .
    and oh yea spoke to phil he said he wanted a realistic chance of winning so he would rather if i played. he is getting coaching from bops for next year.

Fair play Boogey! What dates suit you? El S can enter into venue negotiations then. Also see if you can convince Bops to join you for the cash games.

Ionapaul wrote:

Absolutely mandatory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

rag2gar wrote:
    May the best man win

What have you against boogey man :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

well if it had to be bops or alex....i guess we have half a chance now that the south east wont be totally humiliated :p

then again........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Ill speak to Luke about this tonight, Im sure beer and food will be made available on a Saturday/Sunday afternoon. How about running a 50FO or crazy cheap rebuy tourney alongside it?

gee stotty was that a half hearted attempt at a compliment im impressed
    p.s. hows your ear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

5starpool wrote:
    Are you back in Dublin Paul? Where are you hiding?
    I'm staying in the family home in Galway for the moment Dom, only back a few weeks but managed a few good showings in the local tournaments so far - planning to move back up to the Big Smoke once I secure a job, it was possible to survive ok on live cash in Sydney but I think I'll be forced to get a 'real' job now.
    Will defo try to make the HU Final though if what is suggested in this thread works out, it will rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

boogey man wrote:
    gee stotty was that a half hearted attempt at a compliment im impressed
    p.s. hows your ear

alex when did you play the semi final, i left you at 2.15am this morning still playing in the club, :confused::confused:

don't tell me you went home and got Bops & the wife out of the feathers

Just looking at the dates, the 1st and 2nd clash with the emporium, how are the 8th/9th for the finalists?

not sure about an hour after i got in so i suppose 3.30 ish sleeping is a luxury dave are you back to the BA donkfest tonight

PROBLEMS 8th/9th are absolute no go for me then i am on holiday until the 17th

bohsman wrote:
    Just looking at the dates, the 1st and 2nd clash with the emporium, how are the 8th/9th for the finalists?

Oscar I'm good any weekend in Sept. Just please don't clash with any Irish rugby world cup games if you can help it! 50 fo sounds good but I think a lot of people would like a cash game lets's see what interest rolls in. I'm sure we can manage to organise a cash game as a minimum in any event.

I'm okay with playing it in the afternoon/evening say - what time were you thinking? 4ish or later?

There is already a 30FO on Sundays at 5pm, how about something like beer and food at 4, HU final sometime around then and we'll be more than happy to start a cash game whenever. Sunday the 23rd doesnt seem to clash with anything Rugby or poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

when i first saw this match and said to myself FISH against FISH so there will be at least 1 fish in the final i was full sure it was going to be bops and thats notting against u alex but bops its suck out king lately so on that note well done alex and the final is yours for the taking are u up in the club to night (i had backed bops at6/1 so i will b having words with him):mad:

^^ Bops can you change your signature to read "failue personified"

show me the money biatch

gigetheman wrote:
    when i first saw this match and said to myself FISH against FISH so there will be at least 1 fish in the final i was full sure it was going to be bops and thats notting against u alex but bops its suck out king lately so on that note well done alex and the final is yours for the taking are u up in the club to night (i had backed bops at6/1 so i will b having words with him):mad:

soz buddy - what can i tell you? - he's a dirty suckout mofo :(

bohsman wrote:
    There is already a 30FO on Sundays at 5pm, how about something like beer and food at 4, HU final sometime around then and we'll be more than happy to start a cash game whenever. Sunday the 23rd doesnt seem to clash with anything Rugby or poker.

this would be excellent Oscar assuming the protagonists are keen...(it also gives us a full month of Wexford vs Dublin trash talking to get the blood pumping. We can probably also arrange some kind of TV deal too...)

it also gives me some much-needed breathing space to procure a trophy! ;)

just thought of one potential fly in the ointment though - won't Dublin be winning the All-Ireland on this day at around that time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Well done to both players who crawled through five-hundred yards of sh!t smelling foulness I can't even imagine to get this far. Who can crawl those few yards more?.

Gwan ollyk1 your representing Dublin now. An honourary Dub if you win this!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Almost there Olly. Good luck in this man

just thought of one potential fly in the ointment though - won't Dublin be winning the All-Ireland on this day at around that time?

Not that Dublin will get there but its scheduled for the 16th

Lukes happy for this to go ahead whenever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭White Knight

Or a live mini HU tournament? 1st round losers can start the cash game and others join in after their exit?! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭OutOfPosition

Or a live mini HU tournament? 1st round losers can start the cash game and others join in after their exit?! :rolleyes:

this i like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

we did this for the HU charity games against UK/Wales/Scotland and it worked really well. You'd have loads of games going on around you could watch and i'm sure some interesting pairings would be made! only problem is dealers, but even without them i'd be up for this!

bohsman wrote:
    Not that Dublin will get there but its scheduled for the 16th

Lukes happy for this to go ahead whenever.

olly/boogey man, is the 23rd good for you both? Just say the word and we can line this up

I'm going to leave all the side event/cash game action down to the club itself to organise, no doubt with many suggestions from here.....

Flushdraw wrote:
    Almost there Olly. Good luck in this man

Cheers Tony.
    Gwan ollyk1 your representing Dublin now. An honourary Dub if you win this!.

IF I win it?? Typical fickle Dub supporter!! :rolleyes:
    olly/boogey man, is the 23rd good for you both? Just say the word and we can line this up

Word. The 23rd is fine by me.

Oscar I admire your enthusaism to get this thing going. Personally I think a mixed boards cash game with people dropping in and out could be very popular but if there is interest in a tournie or side headsup games all the better!

23rd should be ok for me 90% let you know for certain @the end of the week.
    few questions
    1. do i need a passport to get into dublin
    2. is there a helipad near lukes place
    3. are horse and carts allowed on the M50
    trying to round up a crowd but i think everyone is to embarrased to be seen with me so does any one have any info on crowd hire
    can i bring my own (special) lucky deck

LMFAO
    HA HA HA HA HEE HEE HEE (ACHING SIDES) GUFFAW HA HA HA
    (CANT BREATH) HA HA HA HA LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLMFFAO.
    YOUR WASTED YOU SHOULD BE A STAND UP COMEDIAN
    FUNNIEST THING I HAVE HEARD IN YEARS :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

boogey man wrote:

LMFAO
    HA HA HA HA HEE HEE HEE (ACHING SIDES) GUFFAW HA HA HA

Once again he punks me!.
    BTW he has a knack of making a 1/5 chip deficit sound like a 60/40 advantage!. If he's in speechtalk form your in for a treat!.

Once again he punks me!.
    BTW he has a knack of making a 1/5 chip deficit sound like a 60/40 advantage!. If he's in speechtalk form your in for a treat!.
    i have employed nicnicnic for speech play lessons

ollyk is no slouch in the talking stakes himself

earplugs may be required for this one...

So Olly whats your game plan for the final?
    ollyk1 wrote:
    You have to do everything possible to win.
    You know, no matter what. The day of the contest,
    if he comes with his best game and he's equally as good as l am...or if, let's say, he's a few percent better than l am...l spend one hour with him to help him for the contest. l will mix him up. He will come so ready to Dublin, so strong but by the time im finished he will be ready to lose. l mean l will just talk him into that, it's no problem to do. So, all those things are available. And if they're available, you might as well use them. So it doesn't matter if he comes in form, or out of form. lf he comes out of form, at least it's less hassle for me. And if he's in form....Fine, l hope he is.

For a minute there I thought this was an actual quote :o

No need to make stuff up Aidan I've given you plenty of ammo over the years.

Olly decides to speech play the ladies

P.S. I actually went looking for some more silly threads I've been involved in but it's tough to search for them as I can only find threads I started and not ones I responded to (since I killed my blog a lot of this stuff has disappeared as well).

P.P.S. Don't nobody go and get banned on my account either!! :)