Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yesterdays attendance.....

• 20-08-2007 09:27AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭

....was an absolute joke. 37,994 for a semi-final? What makes me laugh the most, is the way people go on about the only reason the Dubs fill croke park is because its on their doorstep. Meath isnt too far from Croker.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Was at the match yesterday and attendance was low from all sides, Meath was low enough but I suppose their population could only barely fill Croke Park whereas Dublin....
    Cork people generally just don't support football as much as Hurling and were used to the footballers been beaten in the semi's in recent years and were not expecting anything different this time around.
    Also there seemed to be very few neutrals around me for a semi-final. The attendance was always going to be low and you couldn't do much about it, it was overshadowed by the big semi next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 HankScorpio

Was in at the game supoprting the Royals & have to agree with you.....
    very poor turnout for a semi final. I take your point that Meath fans often don't travel but the vast majority of people at the game yesterday were from Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Was in at the game supoprting the Royals & have to agree with you.....
    very poor turnout for a semi final. I take your point that Meath fans often don't travel but the vast majority of people at the game yesterday were from Meath.
    One other thing I noticed yesterday and forgot to ask, Where was the band ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

TBH it was shocking.

In some ways I understand Cork - along way to travel, mainly a hurling county (so its more expensive with two teams too support), they've been in Croker with both hurling and football a fair bit in the last few years.

Meath should fill it on there own though - a fairly big population, haven't been in a semi in about 6 or 7 years, only down the road compared to most counties.

I mean I was at the Mayo Dub semi last year and there was prob more Mayo people there last year than either Cork or Meath yesterday and that was when Dub were playing.
    I remember a semi in 04 as well - replay against Fermanagh (hardly highly populated or close by) on a Bank Holiday Monday and there was about 55 - 60 K at it and we thought it was a poor enough turnout.

Cork people who have ticket stubs from this game and the Sligo one should get first pick of tickets for the final - others don't deserve them as much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

One other thing I noticed yesterday and forgot to ask, Where was the band ?

According to the TV coverage, the powers that be 'forgot to book the band!' Classic GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭TomMc

It was strange to see 10 - 12 stewards in the Hogan stand (upper deck) and not one punter. Very bad for an all-Ireland semi and an area the GAA should be concerned about.

It would appear that too many people in Irish society are now either couch potatoes, consumerist zombies (more interested in going shopping or watching L'pool, Man U, Chelsea on Sky/Setanta) or simply cultureless (in sporting terms) to appreciate how special Gaelic games really are.

I guess in Celtic tiger Ireland, people do not have an affinity with Gaelic games like they did in the past. The sense of cummunity it embodies does not seem to matter to most in society anymore. Lucily for the game, Northerners (now in relative peace time), still embrace it in a really big way - as a positive channel for them to express their identity and give them a real sense of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

It must be really, really gauling for people who moan about Dublin's "Fair Weather Supporters", so see that they themselves don't even have those to bulk their attendance figures.

Yesterday's attendance was criminal for an AI SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

I turned to my dad, and said that if the game ended in a draw it should be made a curtain raiser for the Dubs and the Kingdom next week.

A poor showing for a poor game

The Galway Kerry minor match was so good it was worth the 45 Euro alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

When you look at the population of counties in terms of supporter turnout, you really need to look at their population 10-15 years ago, which for Meath was about 100k. If they got 20k out to support their team yesterday, that's 1 in 5 people in the county, which is pretty darned good. Meath has a larger population now, but most people are what they'd call blow-ins. Look at all the Dubs and people originally from other counties who live there. Would all you lads stop supporting your own counties just because you had to move somewhere else due to circumstances?

I'd be more disappointed with the Cork support to be honest, but I have a feeling that's simply because the hurlers have done so well in recent years and Cork football has been overlooked. Much the same as Meath, there was no real excitement in either county about the match because over the last number of years, the football has been extremely poor. These people are not starved of footballing success remember and I think it was just a poor match-up and really not a match for the neutral either.

I'd like to think it was just a once off because of the crappy weather lately and the relative huge dip in form of both teams in recent years. This complaining about attendances is one of the most ridiculous arguments I've seen from other fans. You cannot give out about supporters not turning up, that is their right ... It's not a nice thing to see the stadium half empty, but it's up to the GAA to make sure that does not happen, it is their event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

It was just as bad for last years cork kerry semi.
    That match should have been played in Thurles

The thing is that the GAA just want to screw the fans again and again and again.
    Unforunately this will become more commonplace.

People dont have bottomless pits of money and time.
    For example one who lives on the beara peninsula could travel a hundred miles in the direction of Dublin and they would still be well inside the cork county boundry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

phil wrote:
    This complaining about attendances is one of the most ridiculous arguments I've seen from other fans. You cannot give out about supporters not turning up, that is their right ...

This is completely true. Alot of the opinions expressed here about the low attendance for Cork Vs Meath form a counterpoint to the "fair weather support" moaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

GalwayDub2 wrote:
    ....was an absolute joke. 37,994 for a semi-final? What makes me laugh the most, is the way people go on about the only reason the Dubs fill croke park is because its on their doorstep. Meath isnt too far from Croker.....

You must remember that while Meath has a population of c.120,000 most of them are Dubs and they're sure as hell not going to support Meath! Out of our small village everyone who usually goes to matches was there yesterday, a small number on holiday but not enough to explain small attendences. It was a disgrace. I can understand Cork fans siting costs and travel as reasons for not going but to say they didn't go becuase they expected to loose!! What kind of a stupid reason is that for not going to a game? You either support a team or you don't. From where I was sitting I saw very few Galway and Kerry fans, you'd usually get a much bigger attendence from the minor counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

It was a really bad turnout alright.

In Cork's case you have to take into account that most Cork football supporters are from West Cork so the trip to Dublin is a really big deal and not cheap. For anyone who made it to the two hurling quarter final ties and the Cork/Sligo football game, that's a lot of money to spend in a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭folkface

The GAA is taking the piss charging E45 for a tic.
    Thats why it wasn't filled.
    I have loads of friends who couldn't go just because they couldn't afford it.
    It cost me E100 just for myself and the missus.
    I also think Slane the night before might have broke a few banks with punters cash flow. I know the Tics for Slane were expensive but come on.....
    I went and to be honest i can't afford a tic for the final...... if the truth be told.

Here's a question for anybody. How much would it cost a family of 2 adults and 2 children to go to every game this year supporting their county? Including the 1/4, semi and final.

No wonder the GAA have the last laugh.

folkface wrote:
    The GAA is taking the piss charging E45 for a tic.
    Thats why it wasn't filled.
    I have loads of friends who couldn't go just because they couldn't afford it.
    It cost me E100 just for myself and the missus.
    I also think Slane the night before might have broke a few banks with punters cash flow. I know the Tics for Slane were expensive but come on.....
    I went and to be honest i can't afford a tic for the final...... if the truth be told.

Here's a question for anybody. How much would it cost a family of 2 adults and 2 children to go to every game this year supporting their county? Including the 1/4, semi and final.

No wonder the GAA have the last laugh.

If you buy tickets for the Cusack kids get a refund of about 15 euros, maybe more for the higher priced tickets. They just have to go in a separte turnstile at the end (D) but they don't have to buy different tickets or in a special area. A lot of people don't seem to know this or understand how it works. I know it's not much of a saving but it's something. 30 euros saving on two kids is not to be sneezed at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Meathlass wrote:
    If you buy tickets for the Cusack kids get a refund of about 15 euros, maybe more for the higher priced tickets. They just have to go in a separte turnstile at the end (D) but they don't have to buy different tickets or in a special area. A lot of people don't seem to know this or understand how it works. I know it's not much of a saving but it's something. 30 euros saving on two kids is not to be sneezed at.
    Its a joke really, the GAA should publicise this more. I brought my godson to the Leinster final and, never having brought kids to a match, I didnt know about this until someone told me afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭folkface

Meathlass wrote:

Don't get me wrong. I paid E5 with E1service charge for the kids tickets.
    We were in the canal end. (Family area) and to be honest their were sh1te seats compared to the seats that were empty (available) in the stands.
    We couldn't tell if points we in or wide :confused:
    We ended up having to watch the high lights last night to get any sort of aspect of the game.

Never again!

GalwayDub2 wrote:
    Its a joke really, the GAA should publicise this more. I brought my godson to the Leinster final and, never having brought kids to a match, I didnt know about this until someone told me afterwards.

But if you were bringing kids regularly wouldn't you make it your business to find out? It clearly says on Cusack tickets "Concession Refunds Block D1-5 of Cusack Stand" The GAA are always advertising their family tickets when people complain about the cost. Yes, 45 euros is alot of money and it means two quiet weekends for me after yesterday but I got two games for that and the minor was worth the price alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

Meathlass wrote:
    But if you were bringing kids regularly wouldn't you make it your business to find out? It clearly says on Cusack tickets "Concession Refunds Block D1-5 of Cusack Stand" The GAA are always advertising their family tickets when people complain about the cost. Yes, 45 euros is alot of money and it means two quiet weekends for me after yesterday but I got two games for that and the minor was worth the price alone.
    Of course I'd make it my business if I was bringing kids regularly! My point is, that I had never brought a child to Croker before, so I didnt know anything about a refund.

folkface wrote:
    We were in the canal end. (Family area) and to be honest their were sh1te seats compared to the seats that were empty (available) in the stands.
    We ended up having to watch the high lights last night to get any sort of aspect of the game.

Never again!

That's a fair point. I have heard before that the family tickets are rubbish in bad area. I suppose if you can afford the extra tenner for each child it is definately worth it to pay the full price and get the refund later. But I know that this just isn't feasible for some people. The GAA should definately consider moving the family tickets when there were so many empty seats. I was in Hogan yesterday, section 330 right behind the Meath bench and there were 8 empty seats beside me. I was 14 rows from the pitch, great seats but a pity to see them empty. I watched one game last year from the Canal End and hadn't a clue what was going on. As you said 'Never again'!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,010 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I have been in seats all over Croke Park, and I've yet to be in a bad one.

But if I wasnt happy with my view and there were a lot of empty seats with better views, I'd certainly have the cop on to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Trampas

With over a half empty stadium you could have sat anywhere and nobody would have complained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭Loadedscream

folkface wrote:

Never again!

I'd have just moved to the empty seats!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I have been in seats all over Croke Park, and I've yet to be in a bad one.

But if I wasnt happy with my view and there were a lot of empty seats with better views, I'd certainly have the cop on to move.

I agree with this, never really had a bad seat.

I was in block 303 - Cusack Stand near 45m line Hill 16 End (with 1 adult & a 5 EURO Juvenile ticket) and it was a great view. The large screens either side gave you a better view of certain plays if you really needed them and that was more down to the fact I was at pitch level (so no panoramic view). If you order tickets early enough you get good family ones as well (they are not all in the less desirable seats, like near a corner flag or the Davin Stand). Actually fair play to the GAA for these concessions and I'm not one to praise them (officialdom) very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

I had the last seat in the far upper corner of upper Cusack once... coudln't see a thing on the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Was in the Canal Stand area specified for student tickets for both Tyrone and Fermanagh games v Mayo in 2004. Didn't take away from my enjoyment I'll tell you that - I could see plenty to tell me we were going to win.

All this talk about not enough population in Meath is bullsh1t.
    Look at counties who have recently been to Croker after long periods away and brought great support.

Fermanagh 57,527 (approx 50% Protestant)
    Tyrone 166,516 (also high Loyalist pop)
    Armagh 141,000
    Monaghan 55,816
    Laois 69,012
    Sligo 60,894

Finally we have the populations of Meath (162,831) and Cork(480,909 - including city 361,766- excluding city)

Are you telling me that all the 650K people in Meath and Cork were too lazy, broke, disinterested, had something better to do or are too fond of hurling to bother turning up for a AI semi final

No excuses it was a shamefull attendence and was the fault of the people from these counties not of the GAA.

I'll bet the Dubs will fill it and they've paid high prices all year for tickets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 sarsfields

Meathlass wrote:
    You must remember that while Meath has a population of c.120,000 most of them are Dubs and they're sure as hell not going to support Meath! Out of our small village everyone who usually goes to matches was there yesterday, a small number on holiday but not enough to explain small attendences. It was a disgrace. I can understand Cork fans siting costs and travel as reasons for not going but to say they didn't go becuase they expected to loose!! What kind of a stupid reason is that for not going to a game? You either support a team or you don't. From where I was sitting I saw very few Galway and Kerry fans, you'd usually get a much bigger attendence from the minor counties.

Incredible, so now its the dubs fault there were so little meath supporters!!!
    First off, the population of your county was 162000+ in 2006 (central statistics office) not 120k and your going to tell me that "most" of that population are dubs..ludicrous. long before the celtic tiger urban sprawl there were alot more meath fans turning up at games less important than yesterday. You may be a true fan and most of your village too but at least have the decency to own up that alot of meath "fans" sat on their ars*es in pubs or at home instead of supporting their county players. it only cements what alot of us dub fans have known for a very long time who the real fairweather fans are.
    Also, you say "most of them are Dubs and they're sure as hell not going to support Meath!" So what? you sound as though they should be supporting meath? my relatives who have lived in dublin all their lives, naturally and quite rightly support the county they are originally from, so not sure what your point is.

Meathlass, dont be blaming dubliners for your fairweather fans. we beat you in the leinster now get over it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Cork County clearly has the population, and while the distance/cost to travel is a factor, you only need to look at the size of the crowd in the Munster finals to see that the tradition to support the football team is not there. People in West Cork go mental in support of their club, but you don't see the same with the county football team, as indicated by the figures yesterday and the usual attendance at Munster finals vs our greatest rivals. Barely 20,000 in Pairc Uí Caoimh last year - you nearly get that much at schools rugby Munster final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭killeoin

Ok, on my last trip to Croker for the Cork v Waterford match it cost me:

Tickets x 2 = 90
    Petrol = 40
    Food = 70 (2 meals for 2 people)
    Luas = 11
    2 pints = 10 (not for the driver!)
    =221 euro

That was my expenses for one day, include in that the hassle of an 8 hour drive. Check Ryanair now to see how far that would get me...

Also all this talk about the population sizes, lets not forget our EU and non-national friends who account for 20%(?) of the population, childern and OAP's who would be unable/have no interest in going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Heln

Meathlass wrote:

My parents has to pay €35 for a ticket for my 11 year old brother at the hurling quarter finals because he didn't have valid photo ID. Like what 11 year old carries ID? There was lots of other kids, even younger, the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

TomMc wrote:
    I guess in Celtic tiger Ireland, people do not have an affinity with Gaelic games like they did in the past. The sense of cummunity it embodies does not seem to matter to most in society anymore. Lucily for the game, Northerners (now in relative peace time), still embrace it in a really big way - as a positive channel for them to express their identity and give them a real sense of themselves.

What the hell are you talking about? Compare the attendances of now to ten years ago and say that nonsense again with a straight face.And you can come down to east cork and see how many people still turn up to support their local village or town playing in junior championship matches, or see the colours shown when your local club gets to a final or see the trojan work locals still do for the club at underage and adult level to see how strong the community spirit still is in GAA.

GAA continues to improve and grow in this country, even if pessimists enjoy saying otherwise.

Illkillya wrote:
    Cork County clearly has the population, and while the distance/cost to travel is a factor, you only need to look at the size of the crowd in the Munster finals to see that the tradition to support the football team is not there. People in West Cork go mental in support of their club, but you don't see the same with the county football team, as indicated by the figures yesterday and the usual attendance at Munster finals vs our greatest rivals. Barely 20,000 in Pairc Uí Caoimh last year - you nearly get that much at schools rugby Munster final.

Thing is I went to the all-Ireland semi two years ago went we were destroyed by a rampant Kerry team. A lot of people remember that and a lot of people know how mentally fickle and second rate Cork football has been for the past decade. The primary hurling fans in the city and east just don't expect a whole lot from the footballers, and to a certain extent it was down to Billy and the rest of the lads to restore our faith.

As well as that I've been to croker three times this year, plus a half a dozen munster games in both hurling and football. It takes its toll, especially when gaelic football tends to be behind hurling entertainment wise.

Where were they all yesterday. The Cork county football team have a pathetic following for the size of the county. May be some go to see Sunderland instead.:rolleyes:

As for years ago ... say '84 - I remember a bigger and very passionate crowd at the Meath Monaghan Centenary Cup Final and also at the '86 AI Semi between Meath & Kerry. I'm criticising modern Meath folk too. Considering tickets for the final (if Dublin get there) would be in very short supply and given the high prolife of the Meath team this year, you would think they would have attracted a bigger crowd to the match yesterday. In years gone by it would have been a certainty.

Orizio wrote:
    Thing is I went to the all-Ireland semi two years ago went we were destroyed by a rampant Kerry team. A lot of people remember that and a lot of people know how mentally fickle and second rate Cork football has been for the past decade. The primary hurling fans in the city and east just don't expect a whole lot from the footballers, and to a certain extent it was down to Billy and the rest of the lads to restore our faith.

As well as that I've been to croker three times this year, plus a half a dozen munster games in both hurling and football. It takes its toll, especially when gaelic football tends to be behind hurling entertainment wise.
    Seems the Cork football fans are as fickle as their team use to be. Rebels who decide not to turn up because they feel they will lose, can hardly be called fans at all. Real fans have hopes and dreams at least, even if overly optimistic at times.

Where were they all yesterday. The Cork county football team have a pathetic following for the size of the county. May be some go to see Sunderland instead.:rolleyes:

See my earlier post. We all don't have unlimited income to waste. I personally didn't go to the match because my local club was playing Hurling championship last night. Of course if I had have gone to croker yesterday no doubt I would have been accused of not showing my community spirit. :rolleyes:

West Cork is the only area in Cork county that puts football before hurling, the reality is the areas I live in interest in football only comes when we lose in the hurling, even if we are better at football then hurling.In some historic clubs like Cloyne people simply don't give a damn about football full stop.Its a hurling county and you saw that yesterday.Unless you are blind, you would have noticed to kind of support our hurlers(at all levels) get and the footballers will get plenty of support in the final as well.
    As for years ago ... say '84 - I remember a bigger and very passionate crowd at the Meath Monaghan Centenary Cup Final and also at the '86 AI Semi between Meath & Kerry. I'm criticising modern Meath folk too. Considering tickets for the final (if Dublin get there) would be in very short supply and given the high prolife of the Meath team this year, you would think they would have attracted a bigger crowd to the match yesterday. In years gone by it would have been a certainty.

I can't really explain why Meath fans didn't turn out. It might have been complacency. It might have been the scandalous prices the GAA charged.

Orizio wrote:
    What the hell are you talking about? Compare the attendances of now to ten years ago and say that nonsense again with a straight face.And you can come down to east cork and see how many people still turn up to support their local village or town playing in junior championship matches, or see the colours shown when your local club gets to a final or see the trojan work locals still do for the club at underage and adult level to see how strong the community spirit still is in GAA.

GAA continues to improve and grow in this country, even if pessimists enjoy saying otherwise.
    I was talking about Ireland in general. East Cork is hardly representative of the entire country's attitude towards Gaelic games. In fact participation in all things GAA is quite poor in lots of urban areas/towns around Ireland compared with more rural parishes, pro quo.

TomMc wrote:
    Seems the Cork football fans are as fickle as their team use to be. Rebels who decide not to turn up because they feel they will lose, can hardly be called fans at all. Real fans have hopes and dreams at least, even if overly optimistic at times.

Yawn.Plenty of people expected Cork to win yesterday, and their has been optimism in the county about the footballers for a while now. Problem is our footballers have been embarassing themselves and the county(unlike the hurlers)for too long and people lost patience.Yesterday's result will rightly change that as we have a team worthy of our time, money and support.Getting to semi's and getting hammered isn't good enough for the Cork supporters.Its not fickleness but high expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

Orizio wrote:
    I can't really explain why Meath fans didn't turn out. It might have been complacency. It might have been the scandalous prices the GAA charged.

Well if we all did what my dad did yesterday then we could save a bundle.....brought his underage club to the canal end (good sheltered seats in the lower tier)....30 of them!4 adults free (including myself) and €3 each for the children!My sister and her mate (both 23) got in on the junior tickets!

Still I dont think that would have persuaded the Cork fans to get up and bother to make the trip for what they suspected would be another semi final hiding!Slap it up them and I hope the genuine fans that were there enjoyed their day and please god each and every 1 of them gets tickets for the final!

TomMc wrote:
    I was talking about Ireland in general. East Cork is hardly representative of the entire country's attitude towards Gaelic games. In fact participation in all things GAA is quite poor in lots of urbans towns around Ireland compared with more rural parishes, pro quo.

I can only speak about my own area, but now I don't really see your point. The rural areas have always been strongholds for GAA, so nothing has changed with respect to the onslaught of the Celtic tiger.GAA seems only to be getting more popular, and I might add that Cork city has a very strong GAA base. If other urban areas are not the same then thats a shame, but I have seen nothing to suggest that the numbers watching and participating in GAA has fallen in recent years.Quite the opposite.

Well if we all did what my dad did yesterday then we could save a bundle.....brought his underage club to the canal end (good sheltered seats in the lower tier)....30 of them!4 adults free (including myself) and €3 each for the children!My sister and her mate (both 23) got in on the junior tickets!

Still I dont think that would have persuaded the Cork fans to get up and bother to make the trip for what they suspected would be another semi final hiding!Slap it up them and I hope the genuine fans that were there enjoyed their day and please god each and every 1 of them gets tickets for the final!

As I said I think expectations where high around the county that we would win. That was my observation anyway.

TomMc wrote:
    Where were they all yesterday. The Cork county football team have a pathetic following for the size of the county. May be some go to see Sunderland instead.:rolleyes: .

I find that mentality totally ridiculous Tom. I support an English soccer team, it has not effected my ability to support my county team. There is no ban anymore so get over yourself. Yes the attendance at the match yesterday was poor, however it was in line with GAA expectations, and they are not unhappy, so maybe that is where you should be looking for your explanations.

Dublin get damned for having sunshine supporters, other counties are now getting grief for not having enough sunshine supporters. Sometimes the people on this forum do my head in!

Around the rural areas you mention the GAA club is one of few social focal points so it is actually easier for the rural clubs to maintain this type of dedication. In the urban areas there are allot more social focal points and the GAA simply does not have the pull that it used to have as soccer clubs and rugby clubs are stronger and getting more support. I personally dont see this as a bad thing, in general GAA attendances are up on 10 years ago, I know you can pick out specific matches that may not fit in with that, but counties also have allot more matches with the advent of the qualifiers and attending these matches can be expensive affairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Orizio wrote:
    What the hell are you talking about? Compare the attendances of now to ten years ago and say that nonsense again with a straight face.

On a similar note, compare the prices ten years ago with those now and try keep a straight face. 45 euro is too much for a sport where the players arent paid. Besides, who cares how many people were at what match or how many blow ins or fairweather fans a county boasts. As long as a team puts in good performances and does themselves proud, what more can you ask. Its only a game. So what if Cork/Meath fans decided its too dear or they'd better things to do or watch, its not going to kill the GAA that attendances are down. Look at all the club games that go ahead with a handful of people watching, particularly on cold wet evenings in late November etc. Do the players feel devastated because no one came to watch them play? They play because they want to and as long as that continues so will the GAA, irrespective of attendances.

Waylander wrote:
    I find that mentality totally ridiculous Tom. I support an English soccer team, it has not effected my ability to support my county team. There is no ban anymore so get over yourself. Yes the attendance at the match yesterday was poor, however it was in line with GAA expectations, and they are not unhappy, so maybe that is where you should be looking for your explanations.

Dublin get damned for having sunshine supporters, other counties are now getting grief for not having enough sunshine supporters. Sometimes the people on this forum do my head in!

Around the rural areas you mention the GAA club is one of few social focal points so it is actually easier for the rural clubs to maintain this type of dedication. In the urban areas there are allot more social focal points and the GAA simply does not have the pull that it used to have as soccer clubs and rugby clubs are stronger and getting more support. I personally dont see this as a bad thing, in general GAA attendances are up on 10 years ago, I know you can pick out specific matches that may not fit in with that, but counties also have allot more matches with the advent of the qualifiers and attending these matches can be expensive affairs.

In truth, there are rugby and soccer clubs close to my rural area, while many of the lads I played GAA with played both rugby and soccer.Its almost as easy too play Rugby and soccer instead of GAA around here despite living in what would be seen as a rural area, and its a similar situation in much of the rural areas in Cork county as far as I can tell.

sarsfields wrote:
    Incredible, so now its the dubs fault there were so little meath supporters!!!
    First off, the population of your county was 162000+ in 2006 (central statistics office) not 120k and your going to tell me that "most" of that population are dubs..ludicrous. long before the celtic tiger urban sprawl there were alot more meath fans turning up at games less important than yesterday. You may be a true fan and most of your village too but at least have the decency to own up that alot of meath "fans" sat on their ars*es in pubs or at home instead of supporting their county players. it only cements what alot of us dub fans have known for a very long time who the real fairweather fans are.
    Also, you say "most of them are Dubs and they're sure as hell not going to support Meath!" So what? you sound as though they should be supporting meath? my relatives who have lived in dublin all their lives, naturally and quite rightly support the county they are originally from, so not sure what your point is.

Meathlass, dont be blaming dubliners for your fairweather fans. we beat you in the leinster now get over it.:D

Ok, I got the population wrong, to be honest I was taking a guess at it. My point was though that particulary with the commuter counties you can't just look at the total population of a county and say that a certain percentage should have been there. The same way that the total popluation of Dublin contains many foreigners and people from other counties. Of course Dublin people living in Navan won't and shoudn't support MEath, that's crazy. I know you beat us in Leinster, you were the better team and I never said that victory wasn't deserved so don't get your last comment at all. I never said anything either about the Dubs being fairweather fans either and I'm certainly not blaming them for the Meath fans not turning up. It's not like they came out of Johnstown and and put up a barrier blocking the main road to Dublin!!

As another poster said it's not the Gaa's fault but Meath and Cork supporters. I don't know why people didn't turn up but I have two theories. 1. Slane Concert may have meant that some older Meath fans decided to go to concert and not match, these are obviously not too interested in gaa if that's the case, maybe they decided they couldn't afford the two days out. Secondly it's sad to say but I think that some people thought they would save themsleves for the final and stayed at home to watch the soccer. We're never going to know becuase people as fickle as that wouldn't be on a forum like this. Any other Meath people got any ideas as to the low attendence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 sarsfields

Meathlass wrote:

As another poster said it's not the Gaa's fault but Meath and Cork supporters. I don't know why people didn't turn up but I have two theories. 1. Slane Concert may have meant that some older Meath fans decided to go to concert and not match, these are obviously not too interested in gaa if that's the case, maybe they decided they couldn't afford the two days out. Secondly it's sad to say but I think that some people thought they would save themsleves for the final and stayed at home to watch the soccer. We're never going to know becuase people as fickle as that wouldn't be on a forum like this. Any other Meath people got any ideas as to the low attendence?

hmmm, now its the slane concert..or saving themselves for the final...c'mon please.
    btw the the dig about beating u in leinster is just a bit of fun, note the smiley

sarsfields wrote:
    hmmm, now its the slane concert..or saving themselves for the final...c'mon please.
    btw the the dig about beating u in leinster is just a bit of fun, note the smiley

I know it was a joke but there's always next year. (Ye'll probably beat us again!!) I am the eternal optimist in regards to Meath football despite all evidence that should persuade me otherwise.

Obviously the main reason people didn't turn up was because they didn't bother their ar*es, there's no dening that, just trying to think of any particular reason.

Orizio wrote:
    In truth, there are rugby and soccer clubs close to my rural area, while many of the lads I played GAA with played both rugby and soccer.Its almost as easy too play Rugby and soccer instead of GAA around here despite living in what would be seen as a rural area, and its a similar situation in much of the rural areas in Cork county as far as I can tell.

Yeah that is true Orizio but the clubs will not take the GAA clubs place in the community. GAA clubs have been focal points in the rural community for decades in most areas, soccer and rugby clubs are relatively new, and would not be as established. The GAA clubs in Dublin would never have had as strong a grasp on the community spirit as say in a rural village.