Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny gym moments.

• 17-08-2007 11:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭

Surely you have witnessed or had something funny happen to you during your time at the gym.

My incident happened just two days ago, I was lifting 20 kg weights(IM HUGE) and I began to struggle. I put them on the rack(as in over my head) and just lay back for a second. Then I got up and smacked my head off the bar...I tried to play it off that I was fine, but damn was I hurting.

It happened in TF Sandyford, just in case by coincidence anyone was there to witness it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

I went through a period where I had no football shorts so all the pairs I had had those annoying knickers in them and they didn't stretch.

The results were lot's of torn shorts and me walking around doing my session with them still on!

That and the occasional very loud fart during squatting but I'll never apologise for those ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Nothing major ever really.
    Read a few absolute gems on a forum once, I'll try to dig up the link. A few months ago I was doing standing french presses in a gym and when I was finished my set I swung the ez curl bar in front of me to lay it down and SMACKED my nose with the middle of it.
    Bridge of my nose hurt like hell and I think I could sorta smell the blood I knew I was hurt, just played it off like nothin happened but jesus a few mins later I walked into the jacks and my nose was swellin already. Was sorta black for a few days NEARLY broke the ****in thing.

Actually come to think of it I have a better one. About 3 years ago I was doing pec deck in a rubbish gym in Clare and this hot chick walks in so I'm there pounding out reps with the full stack and she's facing me at the very moment the pin slips out and I squash my head in between the metal bars on the arms of the pec deck. Jesus but my temples were nearly burst open. Very, very embarrassing. Got up and put the pin back in andI just finished out my set with another 3-4 reps to pretend I wasn't hurt but man I was lucky I didn't mess myself right good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭crotalus667

Im sure this has happened to a lot of people , I was facing doing standing curls with the ez bar (20kg) any way there’s a bloke his misses and another lady behind me I was on my forth set going for broke struggling to get the bar up and then farrrrrrrrrrrt!!!!! one of those very loud foul protein farts , If Mr O was judged on farts I would of won hands down.

This might not happen to everyone I was going push ups and errrrr wells lets just say I forget to stop going down , that’s right I slammed my face into the floor:D

One thing that pisses me off is those people (usually GAA lads) that come into a gym and go straight for the ball and start doing all these extremely dangerous stability exercises with dumbbells. I've seen a few small slips on them but nothing major, it's only a matter of time for some of them who will fall off and smash their head while doing one-legged db squats on an exercise ball

walt0r wrote:
    One thing that pisses me off is those people (usually GAA lads) that come into a gym and go straight for the ball and start doing all these extremely dangerous stability exercises with dumbbells. I've seen a few small slips on them but nothing major, it's only a matter of time for some of them who will fall off and smash their head while doing one-legged db squats on an exercise ball

I read an article recently (I think it was in flex or M&M) that said that extensive research has shown that those of excises are all round bad for you , if not for the risk involved for the simple reason YOU HAVE TO USE LIGHTER WEIGHTS than you would use on a bench , the only excise I have ever used a ball for are back extensions and ab crunches

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I read an article recently (I think it was in flex or M&M) that said that extensive research has shown that those of excises are all round bad for you , if not for the risk involved for the simple reason YOU HAVE TO USE LIGHTER WEIGHTS than you would use on a bench , the only excise I have ever used a ball for are back extensions and ab crunches

Who woulda thought that heavy weight on big movements would help build joint and connective tissue better than trying to balance on a ball and risking falling off??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

i was doing a fairly hefty leg press in the gym on wednesday and as i pushed up for my last rep of 10, the tension was so great that this great big fart just exploded from my ass. this was no ordinary fart. i didnt even sound like one. it sounded more like the ripping of fabric or something like that and it was so loud. i looked around emabarrased as fcuk and to my eternal surprise nobody was looking at me. i can only assume that the sound was so unusual (it really was) that nobody clocked that it was even a fart. there were about 6 others in the free weights area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

When i started using the thread mill for the first time - i looked down and saw my lace was undone. The idiot in me decided to jump backwards off the threadmill. My foot hit the ground and the momentum i had generated from the threadmill threw me backwards into the mirror on the wall behind (dumb i know). I ended up in a crumpled heap on the ground, I got up, brushed myself down like nothing had happened and got back on the threadmill without even looking around. From the corner of my eye i could see a fair few people looking at me in disbelief!!!!

Hanley wrote:
    Who woulda thought that heavy weight on big movements would help build joint and connective tissue better than trying to balance on a ball and risking falling off??

The study showed that the subject’s (collage football players) fowling the ball excise routine not only did they not grow any new mussel but they lost significant amounts of mussel (I think it was over a period of 10 weeks)

lol "mussel"

cryin cockles and mussels, ehhh ehhh

walt0r wrote:
    lol "mussel"

That would be the spellcheck on ms word :rolleyes:
    (I am mildly dyslexic)

ah sorry, man, didn't mean to offend

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I've occasionaly failed on my last heavy rep on the smith machine without a spotter and been completely unable to move the bar off my chest.Cue wriggling out from underneath it with lots of furtive looking around to check for witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Degsy wrote:
    I've occasionaly failed on my last heavy rep on the smith machine without a spotter and been completely unable to move the bar off my chest.Cue wriggling out from underneath it with lots of furtive looking around to check for witnesses.

:D:D

Big huge Polish dude nearly had to come to my rescue on the becnh press couple of weeks ago, he was walkin past and must've saw me trying to squeeze out an ambitious final rep and knew I'd now chance so he paused, ready to come to my rescue... I just about got it back on the rack while narrowly avoiding a mild case of death :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Degsy wrote:

This happened me recently enough, some guy walked over and stood beside my head and asked did I need a spot, I replied "yes please" :D

Few years ago I went to the gyn with a friend of mine. She was on the treadmill and tripped fell on her stomach and flew backwards onto the floor. It was kind of like a backwards supergirl impression...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

forbesii wrote:
    i was doing a fairly hefty leg press in the gym on wednesday and as i pushed up for my last rep of 10, the tension was so great that this great big fart just exploded from my ass. this was no ordinary fart. i didnt even sound like one. it sounded more like the ripping of fabric or something like that and it was so loud. i looked around emabarrased as fcuk and to my eternal surprise nobody was looking at me. i can only assume that the sound was so unusual (it really was) that nobody clocked that it was even a fart. there were about 6 others in the free weights area.

Hahaha. Brilliant! This thread is great. I thought I was the only one that had gaseous issues in the gym. I used always run on the road and never thought about not farting. It took me a while to install some mechanism in my brain to adjust to being indoors. A few horrendous moments where the cloud enveloped everyone on the mills.

By the way - why do some people think it's ok to let one out in the changing rooms when you're standing right next to them? It's just not on. No excuse for that. Next time somebody does that to me I'm going to wait until they hit the shower and then pooh in their shoe. Actually that would be pretty embarassing if somebody walked in to the changing room and a caught you at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭cavanmaniac

Gumbyman wrote:
    Next time somebody does that to me I'm going to wait until they hit the shower and then pooh in their shoe. Actually that would be pretty embarassing if somebody walked in to the changing room and a caught you at that.

Gym farters are gross. I udnerstand alot of guys eat things that make them fart and the squats and what have you don't make it easy so those farts you can just about accept, but the dirty feckers that just cock leg and trumpet with no good exscuse...grrrrr!!!

Too many of those in the gym, one particularly portly lady being a repeat offender every time she gets sweated up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Friend of mine was trying to do a 60kg incline and we knew he couldn't do it, but he still insisted on trying. He wanted two spotters, one for each side of the bar. So he goes 'ready?' to which I replied 'no'. He lifted it anyway. Because I wasn't holding the other side, with the fact he just didn't have the strength, it just went vertical straight away and all the weights fell off. The noise was so seriously loud, like explosions, that everyone upstairs rushed over thinking someone had killed themselves, and people even started rushing up the stairs as well....big pause as everyone stared for about 15 seconds, doesn't sound that long but I'm sure it felt like eternity for him....:D

I've never really done anything too stupid though. Definitely never farted or even felt like it, maybe I should be lifting heavier!! Although once or twice, in my gym (kingfisher) there's a sort of sloped ceiling beside the dumbells rack - It's a stupid location but anyway - I've whacked my head off it when getting up. Only once lifted more then I could manage (which is only 70kg :() and couldn't get the bar back up, had to have my girlfriend rescue me, that was sort of embarrassing but nothing to loose any sleep over.

What's the kingfisher in galway like? You should join a man's gym like GCG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭qwytre

Recently saw a guy, dressed in the best and most expensive looking gear I have eveer seen, stride confidently up to a threadmill. After a few mins of complicated stretching excerises he starts to jog on the threadmill.

Two mins later he ups the pace and is feeling like Ben Johnson on...well you know the rest.

Then clearly struggling he hits the emergency STOP on the machine and hops off. Bends over and puts his hands on his knees and proceeds to casually vomit up all over the lovely wooden floor on the GYM. Doesnt seems to really care much and walks off.

Also last week I saw a sign on the pool door to say its closed for maintenance. They must be cleaning out the pool I thought to myself. As I walk past the reception area I hear the lifeguard say someone left a "floater" behind them. Nasty.

A newbie came into my gym,loaded the oly bar with ten kilos each side,hoisted it onto his chest,sat down on a bench and managed ONE rep before letting out strangled "somebody get this off me" as he struggled to stop the bar from keeling sideways and taking his head off.He never came back.
    I also remember a time i'd been using 100kilos to shrug with and kind of abandoned the bar when i was finished(probably bad form but hey)..anyhoo,Mr Tasty-Bolloks the instructor comes ambling over to try and impress some girl he'd been talking to..grabs the bar and tries to power-clean it,he got it to scrotum height and had to abandon the effort with the look of somebody who'd just ruptured themselves.

Degsy wrote:
    ... Mr Tasty-Bolloks the instructor...

Funny that, he works in my gym too! Spiky-haired guy with cheesey grin, about yay high?

walt0r wrote:
    What's the kingfisher in galway like? You should join a man's gym like GCG

I think it's pretty decent. Never been to gcg actually. My parents bought some diamond membership to the kingfisher when I was small, I can't remember exactly but its a decade or something at least, maybe 15 years, so I have alot of free gym time left in the kingfisher! :)

WHIP IT! wrote:
    Funny that, he works in my gym too! Spiky-haired guy with cheesey grin, about yay high?

nah,this clown had sort of longish hair.I think there's one in every g ym.

Degsy wrote:
    nah,this clown had sort of longish hair.I think there's one in every g ym.

That was sorta my point. C'mon Degs, keep up mate ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

One guy was on the bike(must have been training for somethin serious). Anyway he's sweating a lot, so much so that the receptionist has to get a mop and start mopping up the puddle of sweat surrounding the bike! :D
    Also seen an aul one on the treadmill, gets off, goes to the toilet but leaves the treadmill going while she's gone, steps back on, then gets off again to sort out her music, again while leaving the treadmill running....talk about foolin herself! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

2 gems for you

In the gym one day waiting on the squating rack. When the guy ahead finishes we tell him to just leave on the weight we'll take it off. I then bend down to re-tie my shoes when my friend Matt proceeds to take all the weight off one side of the bar only. Needless to say the bar does a complete flip due to about 50kg on the other side nearly taking Matt's head off and making the loudest noise ever.

Another day another mate Alex was running on treadmill and his towel was hangin over the front railing of the treadmill. The towel falls on the track and he bends to pick it up. It makes him do a complete front flip and dumps him on his arse on the ground behind the machine. We all laughed and pointed of course

Oh and yeah I am always farting in the gym while squating

HavoK wrote:
    I think it's pretty decent. Never been to gcg actually. My parents bought some diamond membership to the kingfisher when I was small, I can't remember exactly but its a decade or something at least, maybe 15 years, so I have alot of free gym time left in the kingfisher! :)

Ah fair play to ya, good old free membership. Maybe we can hook up sometime and train together. Rub each others muscles in the sauna to relieve the aches and pains of training. Mmmm...

walt0r wrote:
    Ah fair play to ya, good old free membership. Maybe we can hook up sometime and train together. Rub each others muscles in the sauna to relieve the aches and pains of training. Mmmm...

Funny enough I was on bebo one of those rare times and added a completely random guy I found on the profile of a friend, of a friend just because I enjoyed his rant about fat women....ya know how ya wander off the time on that ****ing site....anyway long story short it was you. fate i tell ya...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

get a room you 2 ;):p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I love these threads, the last one was brilliant (about a year ago)

Friend decided to get into the habit of going to the gym early morning before work, but he found he wasn't fully awake most of the time.
    Jogging away on the treadmill, he felt a bit 'breezy' and looked down to see he had forgotten to put his shorts on and had been jogging in his boxers for 20 minutes. :D

Thankfully I've escaped the really embarrassing moments. On a couple of occasions when I'm belting away on the rower I've found myself singing along out loud to the iPod, resulting in strange looks from people around me. Same thing happens if there's a match on the TV and I'm grumbling aloud at the telly.

Friend decided to get into the habit of going to the gym early morning before work, but he found he wasn't fully awake most of the time.
    Jogging away on the treadmill, he felt a bit 'breezy' and looked down to see he had forgotten to put his shorts on and had been jogging in his boxers for 20 minutes. :D

Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

This thread would have been great had I not spelled gym, gm, but maby that added to the overall humour of the thread...*walks away*

When I made this thread I was expecting about 6 replies, but like a botched experiment it has developed into a relative monster.

There's a similar thread on T-Nation with about 10,000 replies!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭someothername

haha great one this........
    went into the gym last night and a guy ( i can only guess was staying in the hotel) was in there in a suit trying to lift weights! nearly pissed on myself laughing - anyways after about 10 mins the manager comes in an explains to the fella that he cant workout in that gear - so i lash on with my workout and when im finished decide to go into the sauna for a few mins..... and you guessed it..... here is the tool sitting in there sweating his boll!x off - STILL IN THE SUIT! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Quiff81 wrote:
    when im finished decide to go into the sauna for a few mins..... and you guessed it..... here is the tool sitting in there sweating his boll!x off - STILL IN THE SUIT! :D

Pull the other one, it's got bells on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭someothername

no messin - in the seven oaks in carlow last night

I've seena bloke in my gym several times,he comes in wearing a sort of windcheater jacket zipped up to the chin,tracksuit bottoms and a wooly hat.The first time i saw him he was standing beside a treadmill watching a girl jogging,he then started walking round the gym windmilling his arms in the mirror before sodding off (ten minutes from the time he came in).Another time i saw him he had two 7 kilo dumbells in his hands(still in his snorkel jacket) and was doing a sort of goose-step around the backs of the machines.He did ten minutes of that and then left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭Gumbyman

Hahaha. These last two sound like hidden camera efforts. The first one definitely has Jake Stevens written all over it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Funniest would have to be when some kid was shaking his drink and it exploded all over him he had just done a rep of 100kg on the bench [in which he lifted the bar off the rest went down litreally 2 inches and racked it] and was looking around nodding his head in approval at everyone who was facing him. He then turns to his mate and goes ''man did you see that benched 100kg with ease'' loudly so everyone in the gym could hear when suddenly boom drink went all over him, then the funniest part straight after that happened this lad went over to him and goes ''you weren't doing proper reps, nobody cares what you lift and that couldn't of happened to a bigger tosser''

had to be there kind of moment.

SpAcEd OuT wrote:
    Funniest would have to be when some kid was shaking his drink and it exploded all over him he had just done a rep of 100kg on the bench [in which he lifted the bar off the rest went down litreally 2 inches and racked it] and was looking around nodding his head in approval at everyone who was facing him. He then turns to his mate and goes ''man did you see that benched 100kg with ease'' loudly so everyone in the gym could hear when suddenly boom drink went all over him, then the funniest part straight after that happened this lad went over to him and goes ''you weren't doing proper reps, nobody cares what you lift and that couldn't of happened to a bigger tosser''

:D I'd like to buy this lad a drink, fair play :D

SpAcEd OuT wrote:

That's probably one of hte best pwns I've ever heard!

Hanley are you a machine? 915 posts since March, wow.

I'm suprised people show off when lifting weights, I know when I'm finished I walk away as quicky as possible to avoid any attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

It's a pity that people feel as though they have to put on a shw every time they go to the gym. I know this is a fun thread etc but I'm really amazed at the amount of people (misguided fools) that go to a gym, try to lift way beyond their capacity and basically have no structure to their workout whatsoever. It is a pity. I think people in general would enjoy the gym a lot if they would stop looking at it like it was some complex machine instead of being a set of movements that make you look mint.

Funny moments eh...hrm...I was in the gym in Rochestown once and I saw this woman, typical gym bunny with everything matching + the obligatory matching colour ipod. Anyway she is running away on the treadmill, obviously loses her focus and suddenly flies off it onto the floor behind it. I have never seen anybody so embarassed.

hahaha havok, I didn't see your reply until now, I love to write those rants it's like a form of stress-relief