Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20lbs gone in 4 months - diet hasn't changed

• 15-08-2007 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭

Have lost 1 and a 1/2 stone since April.
    Just wanted to post my diet as I see so much crap here about perfect diets etc. and it goes to show you can eat to your own need/tastes as long as the exercise is there.

Exercise per week:
    4 runs adding to 30 miles combined
    1 or 2 rounds of p&p
    1hr indoor soccer

Diet:
    Monday - Friday
    Brekkie: Cereal (Kellogs) & Yogurt (Petit Flous large)

Lunch: Brown bread & cheese / Noodles & cheese & brown soda / Potato farls & sliced cheese - with Cereal Bar & yogurt

Dinner: Noodles & toast if not had earlier / Southern fried chicken&Waffles / Eggs & toast (wholemeal bread)

pint of milk per day
    1 to 1.5 ltrs of water
    vitamin c suppliment

Weekend:
    Plenty of sweets and a good dinner on a Sunday

No fags
    No drink (by choice, not a diet requirement)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Congrats on the weightloss!!! :)

I'd be similar to you...still eats crap but continues to get leaner and leaner!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

congrats on the loss man.

the only thing id say is that alot of the people who would ask for advice dont seem to want to wait 4 months to lose their weight not to mind the 20 or so months it would take to lose 5st

:D on a side note..........southern fried chicken and waffles????? are they american waffles or birdseye waffles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Congrats on the weight loss.

I really don't want to burst your bubble here but it has to be said your diet has barely any protein in it, which means a good chunk of the weight you lost is muscle, which is heavier than fat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Just wanted to post my diet as I see so much crap here about perfect diets etc. and it goes to show you can eat to your own need/tastes as long as the exercise is there.

Okay so, I'm gonna say this for the second time in the same day.

This is the fitness thread, not the "weight loss thread."

If you don't want to read "crap about perfect diets" then don't read it? Sure, you lost weight, and fair play to you, tis many a person's goals. Basically what you cracked is the not even remotely new "calories in being less that calories out" and you will lose weight. So fair play to you. It's only been going around for a few decades now.

From a health and fitness point of few, your diet is still ****. No veg, no fruit, no real vitamins or minerals from any kind of natural source, no healthy fats, no decent proteins etc.

There is far more to "diet" that just being a certain weight, and it helps if you look at long term health as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

And just think, if you had changed your diet you could have lost maybe twice that weight in the same time.

Dragan said what I said better.

This is one of the reason's that I'm skeptical about the diet forum if it goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Have lost 1 and a 1/2 stone since April.

Exercise per week:
    4 runs adding to 30 miles combined
    1 or 2 rounds of p&p
    1hr indoor soccer

Diet:
    Monday - Friday
    Brekkie: Cereal (Kellogs) & Yogurt (Petit Flous large)

Lunch: Brown bread & cheese / Noodles & cheese & brown soda / Potato farls & sliced cheese - with Cereal Bar & yogurt

Dinner: Noodles & toast if not had earlier / Southern fried chicken&Waffles / Eggs & toast (wholemeal bread)

pint of milk per day
    1 to 1.5 ltrs of water
    vitamin c suppliment

Weekend:
    Plenty of sweets and a good dinner on a Sunday

No fags
    No drink (by choice, not a diet requirement)

Im no expert but thats a lot of carbs!

TheGooner wrote:

I think thats the point, his diet is clearly crap but he's losing weight on it anyway, simply by upping the level of exercise!!

If i ate that many carbs I'd die.

I cant even handle bread tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

TheGooner wrote:
    The carb requirements for someone doing endurance training are different though to your average person.
    Anyhow congrats on the weightloss, though i do think it is possible to out-train a bad diet its not the easiest thing in the world to do nor is it always health promoting. When i cleaned up my diet my strenght went through the roof whereas when it was crap i found it very hard to get stronger. So your diet may or may not be promoting the best performance you could manage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Sangre wrote:
    And just think, if you had changed your diet you could have lost maybe twice that weight in the same time.

agreed

OP you don't tell us what your starting weight/BF was and what your current stats are, you also don't state whether you were able to maintain the same levels of weightloss throughout the 4 months.

Sangre wrote:
    JSB wrote:
    agreed

I'm pretty sure if he did lose twice as much in the same time a lot of people here would be still giving out to him, telling him that he lost waaayyy too much weight in too short a time.

Malteaser! wrote:
    I'm pretty sure if he did lose twice as much in the same time a lot of people here would be still giving out to him, telling him that he lost waaayyy too much weight in too short a time.

Doubtful. Accepted healthy weight lose is about 2lbs a week. 4 months is roughly 16 weeks so that could happily be roughly 32 pounds or so that you could lose quite healthily in that time, in my opinion.

Thats pretty much been the consistent opinion on the board since i have been here anyway.

Dragan wrote:
    Doubtful. Accepted healthy weight lose is about 2lbs a week. 4 months is roughly 16 weeks so that could happily be roughly 32 pounds or so that you could lose quite healthily in that time, in my opinion.

Thats pretty much been the consistent opinion on the board since i have been here anyway.

True, You could lose 32lbs in that time, but what Sangre was suggesting and what Jsb agreed with is that if he had changed his diet he could have lost twice as much as he did. 32lbs is not twice as much as he lost.

Malteaser! wrote:
    True, You could lose 32lbs in that time, but what Sangre was suggesting and what Jsb agreed with is that if he had changed his diet he could have lost twice as much as he did. 32lbs is not twice as much as he lost.

I assume they were using "twice" as a simple indicator of the extra weightloss, as opposed to the exact mathmathical calculation as to how much they think he should have lost?

Or am i giving people too much credit for assuming that not everything needs to be taken in it's literal sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I've lost a stone in just over two months (keeping in mind I don't know nor care for exact measurements) and considering I've clearly gained a substantial amount of muscle in that time, I'm going to stick with the idea that diet is important.

Ps I like Dragon's approch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Started off at 12st 7lbs
    Am now 11st on the button.
    Edit: Height 5ft 9.

Was well overweight and targeting 10st 10lbs or so.
    My muscle mass is far greater now too, legs are toned, no fat.
    Arms are also starting to become lean.

Didn't mean to sound aggressive but a lot of people here are obsessed with diets, as for protein:

Milk - pint a day
    Cheese - reasonable protien content
    Chicken - it's often birdeye but it's decent chicken, i.e. you can tell it's a chicken breast cut.

I take on most carbs in the morning/lunchtime and run between 3 and 6 pm everyday.
    Also eat just after exercise so probably burn most of it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Dragan wrote:
    There is far more to "diet" that just being a certain weight, and it helps if you look at long term health as well.

I think I know what you mean but could you elaborate a bit?

nesf wrote:
    I think I know what you mean but could you elaborate a bit?

Lets look at any "diet system". The majority of them will, in some way, assist you to lose weight. Alternatively, just like the OP you can pretty much eat a poor range of foods and still lose weight , just as he did.

However, when a diet is that sparse and lacking in vitamins and minerals then long term health WILL be affected. It's like sitting down to eat with a "bodybuilder" who feels they eat healthy but they really just eat chicken and rice. Are they lean? Sure they are. Are the healthy? Thats the real question.

Dragan wrote:
    Lets look at any "diet system". The majority of them will, in some way, assist you to lose weight. Alternatively, just like the OP you can pretty much eat a poor range of foods and still lose weight , just as he did.

However, when a diet is that sparse and lacking in vitamins and minerals then long term health WILL be affected. It's like sitting down to eat with a "bodybuilder" who feels they eat healthy but they really just eat chicken and rice. Are they lean? Sure they are. Are the healthy? Thats the real question.

What's healthy though? (I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, this question has been bothering me for a bit)

Didn't mean to sound aggressive but a lot of people here are obsessed with diets.

LOL!!
    Chicken - it's often birdeye but it's decent chicken, i.e. you can tell it's a chicken breast cut.

Cause of the shape? its usually all ground up, water and a heap of salt added and chucked into a chicken fillet shaped mould.

TheGooner wrote:
    Cause of the shape? its usually all ground up, water and a heap of salt added and chucked into a chicken fillet shaped mould.

Birds eye have been making a big deal about how their "Simply Chicken" range is a breast of chicken and not "reshaped", to be fair.

nesf wrote:
    Birds eye have been making a big deal about how their "Simply Chicken" range is a breast of chicken and not "reshaped", to be fair.

Ah I didnt know that. Still cant beat 10 fillets for a tenner from my butcher. At least i KNOW what I am eating then.

nesf wrote:
    What's healthy though? (I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, this question has been bothering me for a bit)

healthy to me would be going to the doctor having a physical and him saying everythings grand.

Didn't mean to sound aggressive but a lot of people here are obsessed with diets, as for protein:

Milk - pint a day
    Cheese - reasonable protien content

Laughable tbh!!!! :rolleyes:

TheGooner wrote:
    Ah I didnt know that. Still cant beat 10 fillets for a tenner from my butcher. At least i KNOW what I am eating then.

You can still get fillets that have plenty of water added to them as a butchers though. I agree and much prefer meat from our butchers too, but just because it's laid out on a meat counter doesn't mean it's "better" necessarily. Ditto with "organic" stuff.

nesf wrote:
    You can still get fillets that have plenty of water added to them as a butchers though. I agree and much prefer meat from our butchers too, but just because it's laid out on a meat counter doesn't mean it's "better" necessarily. Ditto with "organic" stuff.

Huh? How can butchers add water to a butchered chicken fillet? I'm not being smart I'm just a bit boggled by that.

TheGooner wrote:
    Huh? How can butchers add water to a butchered chicken fillet? I'm not being smart I'm just a bit boggled by that.

This kind of thing happening:
    http://www.foodproductiondaily.com/news/ng.asp?id=64596-poultry-fsa-water-retention-agents

There was some scandal about it a few years back because the water was being added outside of the EU before the chicken was shipped in (which got around some regulation or something). It's not the butcher themselves that were doing it but their suppliers. All very messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭depadz

Dragan wrote:

qft.

balanced diet is the grail. plenty of fresh green vegetables, fruit etc. along with the building blocks for your pursuit (carbs for cardio, protein for muscle).

you can be lean and look fit but you could be in trouble once you hit middle age (heart/arse).

The Gooner - if water is the only thing in the 10 fillets for 10 quid, you'll be lucky. Didn't they find medical waste injected into them a while ago in holland? How do you think they can produce and sell chickens that cheaply? I'd be interested to know how much protein is actually in them.

fwedrest wrote:
    qft.
    The Gooner - if water is the only thing in the 10 fillets for 10 quid, you'll be lucky. Didn't they find medical waste injected into them a while ago in holland? How do you think they can produce and sell chickens that cheaply? I'd be interested to know how much protein is actually in them.

Ok...

In my butchers the chickens come in whole and are then butchered into the various pieces.

The chickens themselves are Irish and there is a large sign on the counter saying the exact farm they come from.

The fillets I get are small to be fair but I'd sooner eat them than anything mashed into a chicken mould.

As regards chickens being pumped full of medical waste.

WHY would some one want to do this?

This is all way OT btw....

The point is the OP has learnt nothing about nutrition at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I started reading this thread with bemusement, but as it's got longer and more contributions have been made, quite frankly the whole topic is pi$$ing me off.

OP - you lost 20lb in 4 months and I congratulate you for that. You are excercising a reasonable amount and seem to be relatively in control of what you're eating, even if what you're eating is a long way from optimal.

Are there faults with what you've done? God yeah, gazillions. But you don't particularly want to know about them and that's your choice. If you don't like the diet advice that's posted, don't read it. As for your comment about people here being "obsessed with diets" - dude, it's a fitness forum - are all the people who talk about movies on the Films threads obsessed too?

Your exercise is cardio based and your diet is full of processed carbs. You lost weight by making sure that your caclorie expenditure was greater than your calorie intake - simple mathematics dictates that you will therefore lose body mass - this will include both fat AND muscle. However you don't give details as to what your starting and ending bodyfat % were, you don't give details about changes in LDL/ HDL count, Vo2 max, resting heart rate, BMI, hip-to-waist ratio, triglycerides, glucose or haemoglobin counts so I can't actually say what sort of effects your 'diet' has actually had on your body.

And why *would* you know anything about any of these things? Most people don't. But losing weight is about a lot mroe than just looking good nekkid. It's about your body's ability to stave off disease, function normally and without stress, live a long, happy and easy life. These are the reasons we advocate healthy eating, we just don't bang on about it all the time because it would bore the pants off everyone. But by following the suggestions that are repeatedly laid out, you can ensure that you can change how well you function internally without even being aware of it.

Eating nutrient rich, vitamin and mineral packed, unprocessed, chemical-free foods results in healthy internal (lungs, liver, kidney, heart, brain) organ function and external (hair, nails, skin) organ function, not to mention enjoying deep sleep, sense of well-being, lower stress levels, and a happy state of mind. There's a bloody reason why certain foods and eating habits are advocated, why is that so difficult to understand?

g'em wrote:
    Eating nutrient rich, vitamin and mineral packed, unprocessed, chemical-free foods results in healthy internal (lungs, liver, kidney, heart, brain) organ function and external (hair, nails, skin) organ function, not to mention enjoying deep sleep, sense of well-being, lower stress levels, and a happy state of mind. There's a bloody reason why certain foods and eating habits are advocated, why is that so difficult to understand?

Well said yet again g'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Ok try something out for us hotshot, go away and eat the same diet for the next three months and try and put all the weight back on in muscle. id like to see the smile on your face then. your diet is crap and your health is probably crap. are you trying to agravate people by saying you ate like sh1t and lost weight? Dragan is right. I've seen guys drink Guinness and eat takeaways every night for a year and still lose weight. You haven't broken new ground or anything and if your just judging yourself by the scales then your seriously misleading yourself. stop trying to corrupt people into eating like you and go away and have a protein shake for yourself. you deserve it after all that hard work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

nesf wrote:

And are people with "healthy" diets lean?

I know for a fact that alot of the people who postulate about having to eat healthy fats , veg etc to be look good, be fit, strong, "Healthy" etc... but don't themselves show any significant muscle mass or below average leaness levels (and since this all seems to be about apperance I'm using them as indicators). Those that are lean still don't show any major amount of muscle or come close to the mens health ideal that seems to be in vogue at the moment.

Sure alot of people use diet to manipulate their appearacne (think dieting/cutting) but how many retain this apperance year round? Maybe it's just me but I know as many people that eat "junk" ie fast food and the dreaded starchy carbs year round but still look jacked, as I do those who eat "healthy" and look the same.

Now personally... I eat ****e. Today I ate a bowl of special K, a chicken fillet, 2 scoops of protein, a ham cheese and chicken roll, bag of crisps, small bar of green and blacks, a venti frapp from starbucks, and I just had steak and chips. I'll probably have a nutella crepe later, a chicken fillet and a pint of milk.

That's pretty indicative of my gerneal eating habits since May. In this time I've gone from about 89kg and 11%bf to 95kg and 13% bf now. That's a lean muscle gain of about 3kg, put at least 10kg onto my bench, probably 15+ on my squat and about 30 on my deadlift.

Should I have expected better results if I ate "clean"?

forbesii wrote:
    Ok try something out for us hotshot, go away and eat the same diet for the next three months and try and put all the weight back on in muscle. id like to see the smile on your face then. your diet is crap and your health is probably crap. are you trying to agravate people by saying you ate like sh1t and lost weight? Dragan is right. I've seen guys drink Guinness and eat takeaways every night for a year and still lose weight. You haven't broken new ground or anything and if your just judging yourself by the scales then your seriously misleading yourself. stop trying to corrupt people into eating like you and go away and have a protein shake for yourself. you deserve it after all that hard work.

Story with all the anger and resentment? I can only guess you're doing everything "right" but not getting the results you want.

Hanley wrote:

Do you need to be lean to be healthy? Is being healthy about life expectancy etc.

*shrugs*

I fully take your point, genetics + work done + diet = results and the exact spread depends on the individual.

For me, being "healthy" isn't just about the here and now, it's a holistic term - it's about what I do today influencing how happy I'll be in days, months, years to come. I could eat sh!te all day long, but manipulate it in such a way that it doesn't affect or even reduces my weight. But I know it'll have knock-on effects on my general health.

I could give examples of people I know who eat crap and stay lean, people who eat crap and get fat, people who eat clean as a whistle and their physique rewards them for it, and people who just seem to be destined to be a little on the more rotund side irrespective of what their diets look like.

But at the end of the day the only health I really care about is mine. I know how *I* feel when I eat junk, and I don't like it. Strangely enough, I'm not the only one who thinks there's a link between "health" and nutrition...

Chronic consumption of a low-fat diet leads to increased hypothalamic agouti-related protein and reduced leptin

Hormonal responses to a fast-food meal compared with nutritionally comparable meals of different composition

High glycemic index foods, overeating, and obesity

Prolongation of satiety after low versus moderately high glycemic index meals in obese adolescents.

Effects of four meals with different kinds of dietary fibre on glucose metabolism in healthy subjects and non-insulin-dependent diabetic patients.

Nutrition and genome health

Effects of nutrients (in food) on the structure and function of the nervous system: update on dietary requirements for brain. Part 1: micronutrients.

Nutrition and development: other micronutrients' effect on growth and cognition.

Hanley wrote:

I know for a fact that alot of the people who postulate about having to eat healthy fats , veg etc to be look good, be fit, strong, "Healthy" etc... but don't themselves show any significant muscle mass or below average leaness levels (and since this all seems to be about apperance I'm using them as indicators). Those that are lean still don't show any major amount of muscle or come close to the mens health ideal that seems to be in vogue at the moment.
    Right so if you took a randomn sample of the population, % wise more of those with good clean diets and who excercise regularly would in my opinion be leaner than your average beer goozling fast food eating machine. Do you disagree with that? cause from what i see walking down the street i see more and more obese/ extremely overweight people.
    Hanley wrote:

Now personally... I eat ****e. Today I ate a bowl of special K, a chicken fillet, 2 scoops of protein, a ham cheese and chicken roll, bag of crisps, small bar of green and blacks, a venti frapp from starbucks, and I just had steak and chips. I'll probably have a nutella crepe later, a chicken fillet and a pint of milk.

That's pretty indicative of my gerneal eating habits since May. In this time I've gone from about 89kg and 11%bf to 95kg and 13% bf now. That's a lean muscle gain of about 3kg, put at least 10kg onto my bench, probably 15+ on my squat and about 30 on my deadlift.

Should I have expected better results if I ate "clean"?
    I was going to discect your post a little bit, but meh its all relevant it. its utter bull**** that you dont pay attention to nutrion, sure you posted a picture of your supplement stock in your journal. Granted there is some crap in your diet, but you train pretty hard and you get a decent intake of protein. How many of your average joes eat chicken fillet for breakfast? Also whilst you dont pay uber attention to your macro breakdowns, if you look at it its actually not that bad.

As to whether you would achieve the same results or not with a cleaner diet, your eating for strenght and growth from what i can see, not weightloss or health. Therefore its not comparable with someone who is trying to lose weight.

If i am not mistaken yourself and malt followed the high protein low carb clean diet to lose weight and it worked very successfully for yous? Also neither of you were overweight to begin with. Surely the best way to advise someone looking for weightloss is to give them the info to get the quickest results. Advice that the two of yous followed and got pretty dramatic results so whats wrong with that?
    Hanley wrote:
    Story with all the anger and resentment? I can only guess you're doing everything "right" but not getting the results you want.
    Maybe just maybe he has a point. Come on coming on here saying i ate crap and lost weight is kinda like saying no one here knows what they are saying to all the people who give up their time to give advice no?

Bottom line is its all about context, can the obese/overweigh person run 30 mile a week, in most cases i seriously doubt it. or undergo a gruelling power-lifting training session i doubt that also. Quoting snippets of info out of context is misleading IMO

On the health issue i completely agree with g'em, eating good clean food makes me feel good and allows my body to do things i didnt think were possible.

P.S @Malt, if you get any leaner there wont be anything left :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Hanley wrote:
    Should I have expected better results if I ate "clean"

Yes
    Hanley wrote:

No.

ali.c wrote:

If i am not mistaken yourself and malt followed the high protein low carb clean diet to lose weight and it worked very successfully for yous? Also neither of you were overweight to begin with. Surely the best way to advise someone looking for weightloss is to give them the info to get the quickest results. Advice that the two of yous followed and got pretty dramatic results so whats wrong with that?

Maybe just maybe he has a point. Come on coming on here saying i ate crap and lost weight is kinda like saying no one here knows what they are saying to all the people who give up their time to give advice no?

On the health issue i completely agree with g'em, eating good clean food makes me feel good and allows my body to do things i didnt think were possible.

P.S @Malt, if you get any leaner there wont be anything left :eek:

Too tired, to write back to everything so I'll do it in the morning!!

Just on the first thing there, I lost weight by cutting out junkfood and full fat fizzy drinks. To suggest I'm on anything close to a high protein diet is laughable, in fact if i posted what i ate I'd be probably be getting slated just as much as the OP right now. I'd be lucky if I get half a chicken fillet in daily, just to give you a rough idea of how much protein i take in like!! And a low carb diet?? lol, my diet is made up of pasta, rice and bread!!

As for the OP saying that no-one here knows what they're talking about?? I don't think that was the point of the thread, merely that the over-analylis of diets that is done by a lot of the posters sometimes is unneccessry! Not that they're wrong, just that it can get a little excessive.

I'm not saying this in a smart alacky way or anything and I don't mean to be picking on just you'se two and I don't know of anyone else in the thread who does it...But Ali and G'em, you both smoke right?? IMO, thats just as bad as having an 'unclean' diet and just as unhealthy...It's a known carcinogen. I'm not trying to compare something like cancer to obesity but for two ladies trying so hard advocate clean and healthy lifestyles it seems awfully hypocritical!! (correct me if I'm wrong like, you'se may have stopped since I read either of your journals last!!)

i think the only reason we/yous are giving out to the op is that he seems to be trying to advocate how he lost his weight as the best way to do it and everyone else is talking crap.

great the op lost weight could he of done it healthier and faster yes he could but it worked for him and it will work for alot of other people his only mistake was posting in a kind of "ha ha ha i did it this just to spite you and everyone else should too" kind of way

PeakOutput wrote:
    i think the only reason we/yous are giving out to the op is that he seems to be trying to advocate how he lost his weight as the best way to do it and everyone else is talking crap.

great the op lost weight could he of done it healthier and fast yes he could but it worked for him and it will work for alot of other people his only mistake was posting in a kind of "ha ha ha i did it this was to spite you and everyone else should to" kind of way

Thats very true.

I think he knows its not the be all and end all of fantastic diets, just that it is possible to do and not die of malnutrition!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

So some of the people here who are critical of me smoke?
    Ah come on lads in fairness, are ye taking the piss?

So some of the people here who are critical of me smoke?
    Ah come on lads in fairness, are ye taking the piss?

Exactly. Puts a whole new slant on things doesn't it? They're not the only 2 either (but they may have stopped since I last heard). To be honest I think the idea laughable and find it hard to take anyone who smokes sersiously when they talk about eating a diet to promote their "health".

Now, if anyone else was to post a days eating like this...
    hanley wrote:
    "Now personally... I eat ****e. Today I ate a bowl of special K, a chicken fillet, 2 scoops of protein, a ham cheese and chicken roll, bag of crisps, small bar of green and blacks, a venti frapp from starbucks, and I just had steak and chips. And before bed I had a double buger and chips fro mthe chipper"

They'd get absolutely SLATED. But suddenlt according to Ali it's ok for me cos I train for strength and muscle??? But I still stay lean with it too. Funny that.

If I wasn't so pushed for time before work I'd point out the numerous flaws in what Ali said (one that jumped out was about fat people being unfit/unable to get thru a powerlifting session. Just look at this guy, 2nd highers squat ever http://asp.elitefts.com/images/upload/qa/Day2-134.jpg).

Malteaser! wrote:
    Too tired, to write back to everything so I'll do it in the morning!!

Just on the first thing there, I lost weight by cutting out junkfood and full fat fizzy drinks. To suggest I'm on anything close to a high protein diet is laughable, in fact if i posted what i ate I'd be probably be getting slated just as much as the OP right now. I'd be lucky if I get half a chicken fillet in daily, just to give you a rough idea of how much protein i take in like!! And a low carb diet?? lol, my diet is made up of pasta, rice and bread!!
    I used the past tense, that when you first lost weight (prior to you weight training you did clean up your diet) at least you said you did. Hanley dropped his body fat that way too? Neither one of you wasnt exactly overweight to begin with.
    Hanley wrote:
    They'd get absolutely SLATED. But suddenlt according to Ali it's ok for me cos I train for strength and muscle??? But I still stay lean with it too. Funny that.
    No what i said was you macro split isnt actually that bad, and i dont think that you would supplement and eat chicken for breakfast if you didnt give a ****e about nutrition? Eating for maintenance when you are already lean is different that eating to lose a significant amount of body fat. again i think thats valid.

And my reference about the average overweight/obesse person undertaking the kind of training that you do, I think is valid.

Sure there are acceptions, people who you know train and what not and just carry some extra weight. Same way as an overweight person can run a marathon. I havent seen any chronically obese people do it though.

Oh and as for comparing what a competitive power lifter can eat and stay lean with and what your average person can, is still out of context IMO.

On the smoking comment, I do smoke but you dont seem me advocating it on a fitness forum:rolleyes:, apparantely eating junk is okay to advocate though? Give me a break.

Hanley and Malteaser, get off your high horses will you. My business is my own, I have never denied being a smoker nor have I ever tried to justify it. Less of the personal attacks, I thought you were beyond that by now.

Right now I'm in the process of giving up cigarettes and it's one of the most difficult things I've ever done, especially given that I've smoked since my early teens. This of course was a long time before I started lifting and educating myself on good nutrition and diet. I know that smoking is a dirty, disgusting, filthy habit and I would *never* suggest otherwise. It's also an addiction, and it's one I'm fighting very hard to beat.

But that is MY business and I would kindly ask neither of you to discuss my (or ali's) business like that on this board in future. If you so desperately feel the need to justify your own crappy food habits, try and do it with a modicum of intelligence and dignity, and not drag other people into it. None of my posts on this thread were directed at either of you, so why you felt the need to get me involved, other than to make clumsy stabs at me, is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Malteaser! wrote:

Wow, I really didn't think you were going to take me quite so seriously:rolleyes: and that I meant that he could of lost 42lbs exactly since April.
    But just to put your little pretty head to rest I will say that yes he could of even lost 42lbs since april.
    I assumed that he started at april, so that is just over 19 weeks ago. So 19x2= 38lb however as in the first couple of weeks people can lose aditonal couple of lbs through water retention that makes, so in the first 2 weeks an additional 2 lbs each week from water bring us nicely to the 42lb.

Now people seriously can we draw a line between people eating to be healthy and people eating to be lean. They are not the same thing. Also being lean doesn't also mean that you are healthier. Hurray your not fat but that doesn't actually mean on the inside you are healthy.

Eating well can have many benefits, like reducing cancer risks, blood pressure, avoiding sugar crashes, having better nails an hair etc etc etc and this is why people on here advocate healthy diets rather then just diets that will see you lose weight.

Also before a load of yous that jumping on the well I saw you eat this and I saw you eat that so how come you don't give that advise in your posts. well we try and give the best case scenario diets because we know people are going to add in more and eat other crap we are just trying to get the backbone of their diet right. Hell last night I had over a bottle of wine, tonight I will be drinking whiskey at a game of poker and tomorrow I will be getting pissed out my head probably. However I know where the vast majority of my pitfalls are so I can accomadate for that in the rest of my diet, that and the fact I am not chasing a 6 pack at the moment means I can keep within a healthy BF range quite easily while still adding lean mass which is my current goal.

Oh and here is soem salt can you please take some with eveything you read here
    windsor_salt_canadian_design.jpg

This thread is descending into an insane degree of bull****.

I actually think it's funny and just a little pathetic that we have come to the point where we now have people trying to actually DISCREDIT other posters. I am actually chuckling to myself right now.

I don't want to see that type of **** pulled here ever again. By anyone. And if i do your gone for good.

Hanley, Malteaser, how come you two have never come down on the likes of Odysseus for smoking? Should you not have pointed out to him a long time ago that surely smoking is not good for his health, and will impact his Ultra Marathon times?

I actually don't think that either of you are so much worried about anything other than trying to discredit the two people you see as disagreeing with you?

This thread is being locked, because it's only going to descend into another pointless argument. People need to improve their behaviour and their attitude pretty rapidly around this forum from what i've seen over the last few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl