Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA Forum v Soccer Forum

• 13-08-2007 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Well,this stems from Boards Beers 17 in Messrs on Sat night and seen as how access is denied for me on the soccer forum,I am challenging the soccer forum on behalf of the GAA forum to accept our proposal on having challenge matches in both codes.

Heres the deal,you soccer heads choose your venue and we'll show up and play you at soccer.Then some other time,we'll choose our venue and we'll meet you there and play GAA.I really think it would be interesting.In fact I trained on Sunday and this morning at 6am.:D

Anyway,I think it will take a few weeks or months even.We have to rally the troops,get our jersies made and train.We wouldn't go in unprepared you know.

Anybody interested,please PM me or The Pope and we'll get organised.You never know,we could have games against other companies and groups.In such a case,I'm more than happy to organise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Here, ill quote your message on the soccer forum to make sure they will see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Cheers Nalced,

I actually have three groups in mind to play some challenge matches in both codes if we get enough interest.I'm urging other counties boardsies to get involved.We need/want more reps from other counties too.Have I taken off my blue tinted glasses?:D

Flukey would make a good coach/manager in my opinion.Going to CP before we were even born suggests that he'll have a good understanding and experience of how teams gel together etc.The challenge matches before will see how far we can go and who is best in what position.

I have plans for the forum to be more interactive and if we defeat the soccer forum,we will have bragging rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

By GAA I hope you mean a hurling match;

That would be fun!!

I may come out of football retirement for this

As i said gerire, if i was to play Hurling, it would want to be against someone who isnt a first-timer who is going to be swinging wildly all over the place :) Something tells me most of the soccer forum may not have played Hurling before and i like my bones in one piece :)

blackbelt wrote:
    Going to CP before we were even born
    Hehe, the oldie! Only buzzin Flukey ;) Would be good to get people from everywhere to play. Different style ect can only help. Altho of course, folks who live far from Dublin would find it difficult to get here regularly but maybe something could be arranged. Now, where do you think the problem could arise on all this eh? Jersy colours!! Well, Dublin dont have a say as the soccer guys wear sky blue so were out. All we ask is that its not green and gold ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

blackbelt wrote:
    In fact I trained on Sunday and this morning at 6am.:D

Oh to be your age again :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Or to cut it down so people can make it do what my uni did and have half a football match and half a soccer match (though we did 2 halfs of 35 rather then one 35 other 45) was some craic

Added a nice little signature pic ;)

GAAman wrote:
    Or to cut it down so people can make it do what my uni did and have half a football match and half a soccer match (though we did 2 halfs of 35 rather then one 35 other 45) was some craic

Actually, that was my original idea on Saturday night, think it has mutated a bit.

We would have a big advantage there tho. If we managed to win by say 6/7 points, we can just defend like crazy and avoid letting in 2 goals....altho these guys play regularly so id say we would need a good 12-15 point lead before the soccer starts. :(

Yes but the problem lies with the goals etc.St Annes Park in Raheny or Alsaa near the airport are obvious venues that spring to mind as they have pitches for both but I'd prefer if we spread it out..let the losing team regroup etc

Anyway,I think our colours should be either red and green like Mayo or yellow and blue like Clare or red and white.

BTW,I actually went out training on Sunday to release the toxins from the night before but I was taking the mick with the whole 6am thing this morning.I set my alarm for 6 and did my stretch which consisted of leaning over to press the snooze button.I wonder how many calories I burned doing that?:D

blackbelt wrote:
    I wonder how many calories I burned doing that?:D
    2.53 :D

I am now starting my training Regine. I have looked closely at Arsene Wengers complex carbohydrates nutrition plans.

So I'm off for a large fresh cod and chips form the chipper across the road for lunch.

Ummmmm............. grease............

I am now starting my training Regine. I have looked closely at Arsene Wengers complex carbohydrates nutrition plans.

So I'm off for a large fresh cod and chips form the chipper across the road for lunch.

Ummmmm............. grease............
    Thats ok but you dont want to upset things so make sure not to have anything too healthy with it.

Well lads,I just had lunch which consisted of lettuce,beetroot,tuna,cucumber,coleslaw and just a little small portion of tortilla crisps accompanied by a glass of water.I'm now a health freak and its all thanks to our buddies on the soccer forum.:)

Later on its baaaycon and cabbage.Can't beat it.I feel much better.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I may watch a lot of matches, but I am not so good at observing specific players and tactics, like some people do. If we do pull this off, we could do it for charity, namely the one I am trying to raise money for at present. See my signature. I am going to Malawi in Africa at the end of October for two weeks to teach computer courses for an Irish-based and sport-related charity. The charity is Playing for Life and the specific project I will be involved in is this one in Zomba in Malawi. The charity has connections to both the FAI and the GAA, as well as other sports. I depart on October 30th, and I am meant to have as much of the €5500 that I have to raise by the end of September. I have about €1400 so far.

This is the poster I was sent, and I have other documentation:
    PFLPoster.JPG
    If anyone can help in any way, please contact me, as every euro helps. I have set up an online page that you can donate to by credit card, which you can access through my signature.
    PFLPoster.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nalced_irl wrote:
    We would have a big advantage there tho. If we managed to win by say 6/7 points, we can just defend like crazy and avoid letting in 2 goals....altho these guys play regularly so id say we would need a good 12-15 point lead before the soccer starts. :(
    Three words.

Bring. It. On.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

blackbelt wrote:
    Well,this stems from Boards Beers 17 in Messrs on Sat night and seen as how access is denied for me on the soccer forum,I am challenging the soccer forum on behalf of the GAA forum to accept our proposal on having challenge matches in both codes.

Heres the deal,you soccer heads choose your venue and we'll show up and play you at soccer.Then some other time,we'll choose our venue and we'll meet you there and play GAA.I really think it would be interesting.In fact I trained on Sunday and this morning at 6am.:D

Anyway,I think it will take a few weeks or months even.We have to rally the troops,get our jersies made and train.We wouldn't go in unprepared you know.

Anybody interested,please PM me or The Pope and we'll get organised.You never know,we could have games against other companies and groups.In such a case,I'm more than happy to organise it.

I would prefer the Phoenix park as a venue. If we played there I would join in.

DesF wrote:
    Three words.

Bring. It. On.

You seem to be proud to play a pansy ass English game!! We will show you who is the boss.

Dont say that to Vinny Jones ;) Pheonix Park would be good actually as its quite central. Its not like there is a lack of grounds that have both pitches anyway so we can look at all options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I am game for this.

Good stuff. Were getting some numbers now i think but we need more. We should set up a post with players and edit it to add as people join so we know exactly who we have.

Lads, are we going with 15-a-side for the Gaelic and 11-a-side for the actual football?

Nah, i say 15 a side for both ;)

DesF wrote:
    Lads, are we going with 15-a-side for the Gaelic and 11-a-side for the actual football?

Methinks he is trying to goad us with this post. Am impressed that he is aware how many players there are on a Gaelic Football team:D

One issue actually, what about a ref. All joking aside, GAA is alot more physical than soccer, and I think the soccer lads will think that they are being fouled in the GAA match when they are not. We should try to organise proper refs for both matches so the soft soccer boys cant whine too much

hehe, i was thinking that also Waylander. Im sure we could both get an experienced ref for our respective games and sure it might cost a few quid each to pay him but wouldnt be too much. I personally dont know any GAA refs well, but im sure someone here should and the "Them accross the water" guys probably do too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Waylander wrote:
    All joking aside, GAA is alot more physical than soccer, and I think the soccer lads will think that they are being fouled in the GAA match when they are not. We should try to organise proper refs for both matches so the soft soccer boys cant whine too much

You might find a few of us "soft soccer boys" have played a fair bit of GAA in our time ;)

If you have we should add Hurling into the mix also :)

Waylander wrote:
    I think the soccer lads will think that they are being fouled in the GAA match when they are not
    lol.

My lads have been playing for a year now, with our uber-fitness and skill we will just evade the clumsy neck-high tackles, uppercuts and rib-digs that the unskilled peasants you have playing for you will resort to.
    Nalced_irl wrote:
    few quid each to pay him
    Typical Gah tbh, already planning to bribe the refs, I didn't realise corruption went right down to this level lads. Sure it'll probably be a draw so yiz can milk the good natured, charity giving public for as much as you can :D

You can't call it a soft English game,its them from across the water don't you know.:D

I might be able to sort some referees out but I am just thinking that it will be a while before this happens.We need to build the GAA team.Most of us have never met each other so the advantage is with the soccer crew.

DesF wrote:
    lol.

with our uber-fitness and skill we will just evade the clumsy neck-high tackles, uppercuts and rib-digs that the unskilled peasants you have playing for you will resort to.
    Got it, no one from Meath then :D (meath heads, just a joke btw ;) )
    DesF wrote:
    Typical Gah tbh, already planning to bribe the refs, I didn't realise corruption went right down to this level lads. Sure it'll probably be a draw so yiz can milk the good natured, charity giving public for as much as you can :D
    We dont need to bribe a ref, all we gotta do is tell him its GAA against that English game....also make sure the ref is from Cork or Kerry ;)

Ruggiebear should be ref, he is the overlord of all sports here after all.

(and being a rugby lad wont be impressed by the rolling around and crying form the soccer lads)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Hey , that's a pansy ass Scottish game !!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/north_east/5076326.stm

(and being a rugby lad wont be impressed by the rolling around and crying form the soccer lads)
    Answer yer bleedin PMs will ya?

Actually, I replied to your pm yesterday.

DesF wrote:
    lol.

My lads have been playing for a year now, with our uber-fitness and skill we will just evade the clumsy neck-high tackles, uppercuts and rib-digs that the unskilled peasants you have playing for you will resort to.

Hmm, I have been intermittently keeping an eye on the soccer team threads, I did not pick up on this uber fitness and skill levels, I think more of what I saw was, "sorry lads I cant make it for a few weeks, I stubbed my toe and am out injured for a month":)

This could turn into something huge.So far for GAA we have the following

1.Myself
    2.Nalced
    3.PopeBenny16
    4.Waylander
    5.Gerire

This thread is only 24 hrs old and we have 5 already.I maintain that because you "from across the water" have the advantage,that we are given time to train together etc.You've been at it for a year while most of us on here haven't even met apart from the Dublin crew.Phoenix Park sounds perfect.I might have some warm up matches arranged in the meantime to get rid of the rust.We'll build and then take you on.

Actually, I replied to your pm yesterday.

Well, must be some glitch in the matrix then, because I ain't got it?

yeah, something is up, because its not in my sent folder. It was a big long reply and all lol.

Firefox has been timing out on boards since lunchtme yesterday and IE just says server cannot be found and then takes an age to load.

I'll re-do it after lunch.

Thought it might be that alright, having problems myself.

Nah, he'd have Blackbelt sent off in minutes. :rolleyes:

Flukey wrote:

Hehe yeah little ol me getting sent off.I've never been sent off in my life actually,oh well first time for everything.Might get carried away playing soccer and use the hands.:)

Time is of the essence from my perspective. I depart for Malawi on October 30th, but ideally I am meant to have my target met by the end of September. That is €5500 of which I have about €1645 already and with more definitely coming. So if we are going to do this for my charity, we do have to move quickly. :(

We don't have to do it for charity. It was just a novel idea I had. Seeing as I am a computer person, going to train people to use computers for a sports-related charity, a sports event with computer connections sort of fits nicely as a possible way to raise funds. People here can donate online through the link I have below in any case, whether we do this for charity or not.

If we do do it for charity and it goes well, Boards.ie could do it for others on a regular basis. We could probably bring in some of the other special interest forums, sporting or non-sporting, to do things. The music heads might do a small concert for example.

Anyway, we have 5 people so far. Where are the regulars when you need them? As to players and other roles, I can do water carrier. :)

Ah, we can do it whenever really. Its just a bit of fun so we dont need to be in peak physical shape for it. Would be good to get it in time for your trip tho.

Also, can i be the coach? I just want to be addressed as Coach and relive some Any Given Sunday moments ;)

blackbelt wrote:
    This could turn into something huge.So far for GAA we have the following

1.Myself
    2.Nalced
    3.PopeBenny16
    4.Waylander
    5.Gerire

This thread is only 24 hrs old and we have 5 already.I maintain that because you "from across the water" have the advantage,that we are given time to train together etc.You've been at it for a year while most of us on here haven't even met apart from the Dublin crew.Phoenix Park sounds perfect.I might have some warm up matches arranged in the meantime to get rid of the rust.We'll build and then take you on.

Make that 6. I PM'd you blackbelt. Its time to finally show those Christiano Ronaldo diver lovers who is the King of spherical ball sports!!

Right the war is on and the numbers are increasing.I'd urge everybody thats interested and that can make it to join in.Some of us rip the p1ss out of each other here and give out etc but I'm calling on everybody to unite to defeat the soccer team for a good cause.Flukey will be going away in October so anytime before then is ideal.

Meathman,Lemlin,Aedh Baclamh or anybody from outside Dublin etc are all invited to join us to represent the GAA team.I'm sure some of you may be living in Dublin.We'll need to train together and have matches in which I have a few companies in mind,mainly my own.

We'll also need to get jersies made for the GAA team,we can't have the soccer team putting us to shame.

Pride,I replied to your PM and your on board.I'll get your contact details if you can PM.As Flukey says,we need to get moving.Summer is coming to an end,the days are getting shorter and we need people to get match fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Flukey wrote:
    now now....

Eh lets not get too carried away BB. I am a pretty copmpetitiive guy, but match fit etc? These are a team who have played together for a full season, it would take alot of training to make up that advantage, and I am not sure I can dedicate that much time. I am happy to turn up to a freindly game or two, and a couple of warm up kickabouts but I dont have time for a full pre season tour I am afraid:D

Ah wheres the spirit Waylander?Basically,we'll be expecting them to beat us at soccer but I have no intention of losing the GAA I can tell you that.

blackbelt wrote:
    Ah wheres the spirit Waylander?Basically,we'll be expecting them to beat us at soccer but I have no intention of losing the GAA I can tell you that.

Dont get me wrong, I am not sating I am expecting to get whupped, not my style at all. Just you were talking like we were going to be training 3 nights a week etc. Sure the GAA will be easy, a few of the soccer girls will break their nails when they try to play a real game, and go off injured, then its in the bag:)